Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Murmur Yr Afon Touring Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

Murmur Yr Afon Touring Caravan & Camping Park
Murmur Yr Afon
Dyffryn Ardudwy
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL44 2BE
Tel: 01341 247353
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 33 Reviews
                9/10 from 33 Reviews

Photos (4)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  33 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Shasam 2 reviews from this member

Had 3 nights on this site with the grandsons. Lovely site. Will be staying on here again. The boys loved it on there. Within walking distance to shops. Able to use my mobility scooter. Owners very helpful & friendly.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ian cobden 8 reviews from this member

We stayed here for a week and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The site is sheltered, an important consideration for us after having previously had a tent blown down on a less sheltered site in the past. We had a couple of very windy days but our tent hardly even rustled. The facilities are good but feel the shower token machine needs to be inside the shower cubicle rather than outside as it's difficult when taking a shower if the token runs out as you have to go outside the cubicle. The owner is helpful and let us choose our pitch although we did find it difficult to find him when we arrived so perhaps a notice explaining to new arrivals what to do if the owner isn't in the office as it doesn't give a good first impression. As there is a bad phone signal generally in this area we couldn't phone and let him know that we were there. Other than this we loved this site and would certainly go back in the future.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Slj76 6 reviews from this member

A really lovely quiet sheltered site well located for Barmouth and Harlech. The site has a stream running along one side of it.

Extremely helpful owner who helped us tremendously after we had a near disaster with our hitch on the way down. Sorted it all out for us whilst we were there so we were able to get on with our holiday worry free.

We were pitched on grass at the bottom section of the site but there are further hardstanding pitches and further grass pitches at the top. We were happy with our location as it was a real sun trap in the late afternoon and our boys were not too far from the playground and the toilet block.

The toilet block was clean though a bit dated and though water was warm it wasn't as hot as I prefer. The shower cubicles had both a sink and a toilet in them. The showers are token operated. There was also a disabled toilet and shower which the owner said we could use with the children.

No on site shop but there is a Spar in the village and a lovely pub literally next door. We didn't attempt to walk down to the beach but it is do-able.

All in all a lovely friendly site where our children made friends easily and had a really good holiday. We would definitely return.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hebbie 3 reviews from this member

We have just had our first camping trip as a family and I have to say that I'm so pleased we chose this campsite.

Pros

Owners were lovely - very friendly and present on the site without being intrusive.

Very well kept pitches and excellent access to water and EHU points.

The stream running past the site kept our children very well entertained as did the playground.

The facilities were good (laundry with washer dryer) and the toilets were kept clean and tidy.

The site was quiet and well laid out.

Cons

The water in the washing up facilities and in the showers could have been warmer but this is a small thing.

We will definitely be returning to this site in the future.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kylen78 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here over the bank holiday weekend and what a lovely friendly site this is. The site is nice and quiet with a small stream running along side. The location is lovely and safe for the kids to play out and a lovely sun trap when the sunshine is out, very clean and tidy facility's all round all you could want for a small site, the play area was well maintained as were all the pitches hard standing and grass alike, the owners are very friendly and couldn't have been anymore accommodating. Big Thank you to Nicholas for a lovely stay and warm welcome. Our son had a lovely birthday weekend. The Vic pub nearby was a must for food although this was a 10min drive by car it's well worth the visit! An ideal site if you want to be situated not to far from Shell Island and Barmouth. We will definitely be returning again soon!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Djc1 2 reviews from this member

Stayed on this site over the august bank holiday and found it be a lovely site. The site is set on different levels with plenty of room although the pitch I was given on the upper level had a lot of stones just below surface which bent a few pegs.

The welcome was warm and unlike other reviews I found the steward easy to find as he made regular drives around the site.

The facilities had everything we needed and were very clean( strong smell of bleach in the mornings). The showers were fine, the tokens were long enough to wash one person but had to use more than one for the kids which you have to go out of the shower to do.

The beach is a bit of a walk away especially with kids, more like 30mins.

All in all a good site for the money

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pat2604 1 review from this member

I paid a fleeting, one night visit to this site during the heat wave of July 2013 and came away pretty impressed. The site has a quiet location, level enough pitches and is about 20 minutes walk from the beach and 2 minutes from a pleasant pub which did decent bar food. A stream runs through the camp site so you go to sleep to the sound of a babbling brook.

If I had any criticism it would be with the showers. While they are clean enough and boast central heating radiators and piped music you need tokens to operate them at 40p a go. Make sure you get some when you check in (I didn’t and then had to modge about finding mine host). Also they are on a timer and cut off with no warning – just the job when you have a hair full of shampoo. Make sure you have a spare token with you. I also found the shower floor very slippery and could have done with a grab handle. Take care……

However, these are relatively minor criticisms and I would certainly visit this site again.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Martin3520 9 reviews from this member

Good points

Easy access and easy to find, very friendly owner, the site is flat and very well maintained. Shops are a 10 minute walk away. Showers and toilets were always clean and there is a nice stream flowing through the site and a park. The price I thought was quite reasonable. There are quite a few seasonals here but they all seemed friendly as were their kid.

Bad point

Shower block a bit dated and you have to get undressed then come outside the cubicle to put the tokens in. Also there is a toilet in the shower cubicle which I did not like. The park is too far away from the touring field and next to a busy main road. Behind the site they were chain sawing from 7. 30am. No sea views.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Maggy4 3 reviews from this member

Beautiful, quite and very well kept site, with good size pitches and nice location. Handy for both Harlech and Barmouth. We were greeted by Nick the owner, who was both helpful and very friendly. We will definitely go back.

The only down point were the showers, they were clean but a little tired and bearing in mind the site fees, I thought they were a little expensive. You also had to get undressed and go outside the cubical to put your token in the meter, as the water starts immediately.

There is a Spar supermarket in the village and a nice restaurant/pub next door.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Olls294 1 review from this member

This is a nice, reasonably quiet site a short way from Barmouth, there are a few local shops for essentials in the village.

It was easy to find, and we were welcomed warmly. The playground is in great condition, our only negative for this is that it is right by the entrance, so wouldn't let the kids go alone.

Everything was clean, despite the rain, we often got a warm hello each evening from the lady cleaning the facilities.

Our main criticism for the site would be the showers - it was quite odd to find a toilet and sink in with the shower, so when the shower was on the loo got soaked as well, the loo isnt needed as there are 3 opposite! The water wasn't always very warm and tokens didn't last long when trying to shower a child as well. Every time I turned round I bumped into the loo or sink as there is limited positioning of the shower head. Take the loo out and it would be ideal!

Having a dishwashing sink open next to a chemical waste disposal point wasn't great - I think they should be separated a bit more.

All in all I liked the site as it was sheltered and had a lovely stream running alongside, it was also quite sheltered, which was a bonus when the weather was bad

Previous     33 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Gwynedd   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4106 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019