Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Spring Lea Caravan & Leisure Centre

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Maryport > Spring Lea Caravan & Leisure Centre Reviews

Spring Lea Caravan & Leisure Centre
Allonby
(Lake District)
Maryport
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA15 6QF
Tel: 01900 881331
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 35
Open: End March To 1st November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 37 Reviews
                8/10 from 37 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  37 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bournster 13 reviews from this member

 To start with we arrived at about 8pm and were directed to a pitch by a helpful member of staff in the leisure centre (we did find all the staff to be helpful). The pitches are very even but are a little cramped especially if you have a large tent (ours is 7.5mtrs by 4.5mtrs), plenty of water taps are available on the camp site.

Moving on to the toilet block, as other reviewers have stated we did not have to wait for a shower all week, it is only a small site and the facilities are quite adequate, plenty of hot water and shower cubicles are a decent size. The dish wash room is excellent, it is a ROOM, indoors and kept in a good order as is the laundry.

The children's play area is in the 'static' area of the site, is quite basic though it kept our 10 year old daughter amused for quite a long time. The car boot sale is really a locals thing but different all the same and not really intrusive to the camp site.

The leisure centre, amusement area is not that good but has got 2 pool tables and a few varied gaming machines, the swimming pool is not for swimmers, it is just a bit of a fun pool and good for that purpose. Upstairs is the bar area and the food is excellent, plenty of it and nice, the entertainment though left a lot to be desired, karaoke and bingo being the main part of the week.

The local village of allonby is picturesque and has all you need while camping, 2 local 'hotel/pubs' the first being the ship which in all honesty we found the owner quite rude so went to the other pub 'the surf bar' where the staff were very friendly and the food super, they also welcomed children and do have children's menus. The village has a play area, post office, chippy, cafe and twenty-mans ice cream and general store.

Short drives away are other coastal resorts and ports while within 30 mins drive are plenty of attractions to keep families busy for a week or longer. This is a site I would recommend and will be going back at some time. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Elvirablack 9 reviews from this member

 We use this site quite a bit, arrived in a downpour to find our reserved pitch under water, this happens a lot here when it has rained for a while.

Kids playground flooded, so unusable.

We where pitched on a gravel access road at back of leisure centre, not somewhere you can pitch an awning or sit out.

Swimming pool, water cold, rubbish in pool inc old blue plasters, my wife put these on side of pool. Then next morning all the rubbish still there on the side where she left it.

Toilet block not too clean either.

We where booked on for three days, but we left the morning of the second day.

On a whole the site needs to address the flooding problem which over the seven years we have visited has not changed. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Camp-Man-09 1 review from this member

 This Site Is Very Nice I realy Liked My Stay Here. Food was Great We Where served By A Very Nice Young Waiter And A Nice Bar Man Who Was Also Young. Downstairs Staff Are Ok.

Swimming Pool Very Cold And Was Not Happy On The 1.60 Charge For The Spa

The Singer ON the Saturday was fab but The Quiz Was A bit Two Hard On The Sunday 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Elvirablack 9 reviews from this member

 We use this site quite a lot as we live down the coast from it.

Great for family fun, beach, pool, allonby play park and Twentymans ice creams.

Yes there are the odd niggles but overall we like it here.But not when its windy should I say very windy, because it's rare to have a day without a Solway breeze.

Lots of things to do in the local area.

Carlisle not too far away or the Plaza cinema at Dunmail Park on a wet day.

There are problems with the toilet blocks but often find it's kids nicking stuff or blocking sinks ect seen it often, more so after dark.

Yes I have kids but they behave. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Debs3036 4 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 2 nights stay at this site. Had a brilliant weekend due to some very nice weather but the site didn't do anything to contribute. We were told to go and find a pitch with a very confusing site map showing how the pitches were laid out. Someone came round later on and told one of our friends that they had pitched the wrong way and was a bit funny with us.
Thought it was very expensive for the facilities on offer. Pool was ok but very cold. There was an additional charge for the use of the sauna (1.60 per person) which we thought was a bit over the top.
Facilities were very dated and could do with a refurb. Woke up on Saturday morning and the site was flooded with car booters flogging stuff. We had been warned about this so stuck to the top of the site. Wouldn't go back to this site as it did not offer value for money. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LoopyLu81 2 reviews from this member

 We camped at Spring Lea for 4 nights over bank holiday weekend in a large tent (Outwell Hartford XXL) as a family group of 4 adults & 5 children. Because we had such a large tent we were put at the bottom of the field, where they hold a car boot on a Saturday. This suited us as the standard pitches looked quite close together.

The toilets, washing up room and laundry room and situated close to the camping field. We found them to be clean, most of the time! (There were no sanitary bins in the ladies individual toilets, some women found it too difficult to put their used pads in the bin in the main toilet area). In the toilet block there were plenty of toilets, 2 washing rooms and 4 showers. We never had to queue once. The washing up room had 3 sinks in and again we never had to queue once.

The main leisure centre building has a swimming pool & games room downstairs and the bar / restaurant upstairs.

The swimming pool is not massive but big enough to swim around and never too busy while we were there. There are changing rooms and lockers available. Lockers are 20p and 1 deposit which is returned when you hand in the key. We only went swimming once as we found that the pool had too much chlorine in for us!

The games room had a pool table, fruit machines, teddy grabbers and the usual arcade games. Again not massive but did the job! There are also drink & snack vending machines and they sell ice creams too.

The bar/restaurant was open every day 12-2 & 6-9 for food. We ate there every night and found the food to be good value for money and massive portions. However we stayed away from the chips, as they were not too our liking! They had entertainment Fri / Sat / Sun / Mon over the bank holiday weekend.

The site is situated across the road from the beach which was lovely and clean. Although very windy! Allonby is a few minutes walk down the road. There is a large play area for the kids, Post Office, Fish & Chip shop and ice cream stall. Further down the road is Twentymans shop which sells the famous Twentymans ice cream. However we can't comment on it as we got ice cream from the stall outside the post office, which was lovely!
About a 10-15min drive away is Maryport which has a lovely harbour, Aquarium and some pubs which do meals. We highly recommend the Nelson pub for something to eat. For a day out with the kids we would recommend Walby Farm Park - Plenty for the kids to do here and they even get to feed some lambs!

Overall we would recommend this site if you are looking for a quiet holiday relaxing. The site is a wind magnet so make sure your tent is sturdy or pack storm pegs! 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Normannbelson 9 reviews from this member

 This is a smashing site, each pitch has its own ehu, water tap and waste. The toilets and showers were spotless when we were there. The swimming pool is free to campers on site and the club serves meals every night, and sunday lunch. Very good value for money. Friday night was bingo,and karoke Saturday. They had a turn on and Sunday it was a quiz. The only downside was kids playing around the caravans, but hey it was Easter bank hols. Allonby is a very nice seaside village, great fish and chips in the chip shop. And twentymans ice cream is delicious. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mooshooh 1 review from this member

 Arrived at the campsite and disappointed to find a very bland leisure centre that was bare due to no flowers or plants at the front of the centre. Inside it was like something from the 70s. Was directed to our field and we could pick where we wanted to go,so we picked close to the toilet block. Wasn't disturbed being so close to it so that was good. Toilet facilities quite good and kept clean, showers very roomy. Play area set amongst the static caravans for children was good. There needs to be trees to take some of the wind from the camping field, as the campsite was very close to the beach. Only one family who played music all day and night and had to contact the staff to ask them to turn it off at 10. It was good that the owners (on request)enforced the no noise rule after 10 o clock. Staff extremely pleasant and helpful .

Village of Allonby was lovely though not a lot there but the ice cream parlour made up for it. If you want a quietish relaxing holiday then this would be ideal. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Skattikat 5 reviews from this member

 This campsite was okay but not great. If you like being herded like a sardine, with no room between the neighbouring tents then this is the site for you. There is apparently a no noise rule after 11 pm which is great for us having a young daughter but unfortunately there was no one to enforce this as I have seen on better sites. We had to endure the large lager swilling family who partied well into the night,every night for our Friday to Monday holiday. Not great. The toilets are okay with free hot water but not good if you need to wash your hands after using the facilities. There was no liquid soap, only a small, glob of what used to be soap and I decided not to use it. New soap did not arrive during our stay either. Not great. Also the toilets didn't seem to be cleaned very well during our whole weekend. On the plus side, yes there is one, the kids loved the pool and used it every day. Also the games room kept them occupied. The restaurant is okay, a bit of a throwback to 1975 but nonetheless, if your into that kind of thing, is okay. We did eat in the restaurant and again it is okay. The portions are huge and it is good if you are stuck or like us, just arrived. They had bingo and a family quiz in the leisure centre which is good fun. When you arrive, make sure you have the necessities as there is no shop on the site which I think is dreadful. You can walk into the village of Allbony which is nice. The larger town of Maryport is only 4 miles away and is very nice and Keswick is also a lovely place to visit. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Welovecaravans 5 reviews from this member

 We have just came home from this caravan site after spending 3 nights there. (Me, my husband, and 2 kids age 9 and 2)

This is the best site we've visited yet.

We love Allonby, its a beautiful place. The site is a minutes walk from the beach.

The leisure centre is great, we swam every day in the pool which was never too busy, and was lovely and clean.

We ate in the bar every night, the food is amazing. Its cheap and you get huge portions of food.

The staff are very nice and friendly.

The toilet and shower blocks were fresh, clean and spacious. Hot showers are free.

This is our new favourite site!

Allonby is timeless! We love it. There's a shop called Twentymans, they sell great ice cream.

The beach is lovely and clean. 


Previous     37 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Spring Lea Caravan & Leisure Centre child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Spring Lea Caravan & Leisure Centre have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Spring Lea Caravan & Leisure Centre?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Spring Lea Caravan & Leisure Centre dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Maryport      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2311 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement