Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Spring Lea Caravan & Leisure Centre

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Maryport > Spring Lea Caravan & Leisure Centre Reviews

Spring Lea Caravan & Leisure Centre
Allonby
(Lake District)
Maryport
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA15 6QF
Tel: 01900 881331
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 35
Open: End March To 1st November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 37 Reviews
                8/10 from 37 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  37 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nikki82 1 review from this member

 We visited the site after looking at this website for 2 nights, what a fab place and website because if it wasn't for this website we would never have found it.
The entire site was clean and safe for children and found local pub very welcoming including to dogs which was great if you fancy a drink away from the tent. We loved it so much we going to book up for next week hoping weather a bit better but no-one can predict british weather.
Also agree that food was fab and prices was reasonable cater for all as we had two children aged 10 and 6 and they found something they liked Would recommend this site to everyone as FAB! 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wegottrailertent 2 reviews from this member

 We really enjoyed our stay despite the very very windy weather. You pick your own pitch when you arrive, there’s no one to mollycoddle you here! Spacious nice flat pitches with water/electric hook up very near.

A lovely club, great for families, very family orientated. The leisure centre is open to the public but still was never too busy. Would recommend the bingo, we had a good time and the beer in the club was scrumptious and cheap as chips !

The toilet blocks and showers were free and very spacious and clean. Our children loved the swimming pool, it was never crowded and lovely & clean.

Only saw 2 members of staff who were both very friendly & helpful.

We would come back again when the weathers not as windy. There is a carboot sale on Saturday mornings onsite which was only small but good. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Moonfrog 12 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic camp site, everyone helpful and friendly. Showers and toilet block clean and warm. It was very quiet when we were there and got to pick where we parked. Very level pitches, and easy access to water and hookup.

The pool was a bonus and never to busy, changing rooms are warm and clean.

The food is excellent with very large portions, not to pricy at all, we tried to work our way though the menu and never had a bad meal.

We were booked for 4 nights but ended up staying for 6 and we will be going back again, hopefully soon.

Pleasant walk into Allonby to the paper shop, post office and store as well as a couple of pubs.

The sun sets are not to be missed.

This is a family run site and a credit to the family. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: AllanBT 1 review from this member

 We only stayed for one night but we will go back for a weekend later this year. The site has a really nice swimming pool that's very clean. The amusement arcade could be a lot better, there is a good sized bar upstairs but it really could do to have entertainment on, on a Saturday night.

The grass pitches are a good size and level. The toilets where clean and the showers are free the only problem is that the showers only stay on for approx 30 seconds and then you have to press the button again (its not really a problem just a pit of a pain). Cant say anything about the playgroud because my 13 year old never used it he was in the pool most of the time. There is also a laundertte, dish washing area and cemical toilet disposal all of which where very clean.

In Allonby it's self there is a post office/shop

And a really good mini market both providing the basics there is also 2 hotels both serve good food and beer. 


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Annebmorgan 4 reviews from this member

 We called into this site without booking, towards the end of the day. The staff were helpful and friendly but the site itself was very soulless and without as much as a tree or shrub to break up the field we stayed in at the back of the leisure centre.

A very chilly wind blew across the site and as I said earlier there was no greenery to block it. The toilets and shower block were clean. There's a laundry room and a washing up room with hot water. I didn't use the showers because when I turned them on there wasn't much water power and there's nothing worse than a trickling shower in cold weather.

We didn't use the swimming pool or the bar so can't comment on those.

If you need a site at short notice then this one will do but I wouldn't go out of my way to visit again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 8iceman 4 reviews from this member

 Arrived on the Friday afternoon of the August Bank Holiday weekend. We were asked to pitch close to the generators and refused as we knew it would be noisy and the car boot sale was due to arrive early the next morning. After a tussle we got what we wanted and were allowed to pitch over the other side of the field.

The manager/owner did not organise the field well and caravans were pitched at the side of tents which made for some difficult manoeuvring. The electric hook-ups were stranded in the middle of the field and it's a good job that we have a long lead.

The toilets and showers were primitive at best and were always dirty - no matter what time of day we visited. We avoided them and showered in the pool area, which wasn't much better in terms of cleanliness.

The 10pm 'no noise' rule was never enforced and several inconsiderate guests were very loud until late into the evening. The noise from the club went on until after midnight.

The playground is dangerous with much of the equipment being broken.

We went over to the beach but abandoned this as dog owners have allowed their dogs to foul all over the place and this is not nice with 2 small children trying to fly a kite - you can imagine!

On a positive note the food is good in the bar. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lancs71 6 reviews from this member

 We recently booked a three night break at Spring Lea over the August bank holiday weekend.  Unfortunately I was not very keen on this site, the toilet and shower facilities were always dirty and looked like they hadn't been cleaned for quite some time.  We were told where to pitch and unfortunately for us we appeared to be in a wind tunnel, directly behind the leisure centre with a generator that clicked on and off loudly all night, the bins for the leisure centre were also stored behind our tent and were overflowing.
 
On a good point the food in the bar is really nice and plentiful and the staff were pleasant, the swimming pool was also good fun for my children, however it was disappointing that there was no shop on site for the basics.
 
Unfortunately we will not be returning to this site. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dezzie 16 reviews from this member

 The site is neat and tidy, and the shower block is clean - although its the shower type that you virtually have to hold the button in to keep the water running. The showers are in close proximity to the touring areas too. The ground is level throughout the site, and despite recent bad weather, the ground wasn't boggy in anyway.

The facilities are very good for the size of the site, however there is no baby changing other than upstairs in the club / restaurant area. This was a problem in the swimming pool too, as there are no cubicles, just a bench to get changed on. Lockers are cheap at 20p and swimming is free to campers during thier stay. The pool isnt the biggest in the world, but you can get a satisfying swim in it as its not too busy. Theres a sauna and jacuzzi that you can use for an extra £1.40 - well worth it.
The club / restaurant is upstairs, and the food served is both fresh and delicious. I felt at first the menu was a little pricey, but when we got lunch the portions were enormous and well worth the money.
The evening entertainment was adequate, although one table seemed to hog the karaoke all night. Prices were very reasonable too, nothing was overpriced - as you sometimes find at holiday locations.

One negative was the lack of a shop on site. There is a local shop along the road, but it didnt really have much in it on our visit. The other negative is the lack of baby facilities (although there is a small but adequate soft play area in the leisure centre.)

The beach in Allonby is idyllic, however its not a beach for setting up the deckchairs on, (they'd just blow away). Its more of an explorers beach, and beware as its easy to slip on the rocks - our son got reallly badly cut after slipping on rocks.
Allonby is a very small village and has a couple of pubs and a couple of shops in it. It makes a really good base for exploring the northern lakes.

I'd go back!
 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Themummy 1 review from this member

 FANTASTIC little site! Well worth a visit. We stayed on the field behind the leisure centre and was very quiet. N noise after ten pm but, to be honest, there was very little noise before that either.

The toilets very clean, nice laundry block with dishwashing facilities and great little swimming pool. The first night we were there, there was an extended family of adults/teens in the pool playing water polo and not caring one jot where they jumped or landed for the ball (therefore nearly drowning younger children). This was very quickly stopped by the pool attendants though and then families could swim again!

Try a butterfly house called Bank Mill between Allonby and Silloth - lovely and the kids will be thrilled when the butterflies land on them!

All in all a great campsite with very reasonable rates. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: CLAIRE20 2 reviews from this member

 Excellent little site, lovely and clean, not too noisy or over crowded even on a bank holiday. Toilet and shower block basic but clean, choice of electric showers or push button(which are more powerful), 4 showers and about 8 loos in the ladies block was suffice, never had to queue. Free swimming in pool, small but warm, entertainment on a weekend - great. But most of all the food in the restaurant is out of this world!.
We live in Carlisle and have often popped to Spring Lea for Sunday Dinner, got to get there early before it all goes although the menu selection is fantastic, all home made, generous portions (chicken curry is best I've tasted). Excellent value at £14.50 per night bank holiday rate. Intend to return in the summer for a week. Plenty of places to visit, Maryport, Workington, Keswick and the Lakes, Carlisle, Silloth and of course don't go home without having an ice-cream from Twentymans. Allonby beach is just across the road, and ample dog walking along miles of beach. 


Previous     37 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Spring Lea Caravan & Leisure Centre child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Spring Lea Caravan & Leisure Centre have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Spring Lea Caravan & Leisure Centre?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Spring Lea Caravan & Leisure Centre dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Maryport      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2424 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement