Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Spring Lea Caravan & Leisure Centre

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Maryport > Spring Lea Caravan & Leisure Centre Reviews

Spring Lea Caravan & Leisure Centre
Allonby
(Lake District)
Maryport
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA15 6QF
Tel: 01900 881331
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 35
Open: End March To 1st November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 37 Reviews
                8/10 from 37 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  37 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Keeleylove 2 reviews from this member

 We Love Springlea as it has something for all of the Love family! The pool, sauna and jacuzzi are fab for us all. The bar and restaurant great prices and good old fashioned pub food. Entertainment for the kids and adults such as sports days, there was an egg competition and easter bonnet parade when we were here. Evening disco and an act are on at the weekends. A good mix of tourers and statics who are very friendly and welcoming unlike some sites. Great play area for the younger kids and no kids allowed on park I think after 9pm. The beach is a five minute walk. It can get windy but we have had some fab weather when we have been. Easy to reach Whitehaven Workington where there is a jump mania trampoline park, plenty of shops etc. Maryport is a historic town with a little harbour and aquarium. We just cant fault it and Springlea is one of our faves. John and his family do a fantastic job of running Springlea and just want to make sure everyone has a great time while you are there with them. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Jackdiggerb 3 reviews from this member

 Everything you need for a camping holiday. People ok. If you want entertaining its the ideal place with a leisure centre.

Toilets ok with personal wash units. Showers very good and very clean. Would come again if I was that way 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gini17 6 reviews from this member

 I was a little bit worried about this site as I saw that the last review was in 2014.

Upon arriving it was a simple book in procedure with no hassle. Your given your swimming passes which are included in the price. This we found to be a good idea as having a five year old and wet weather goes nicely.

Please be aware that Allonby can be very very windy which upon reading the reviews it was not mentioned. Not that wind bothers us but when you just go a few miles up the road and it is so calm, then you get back to site and you wonder if your going to loose your tent while your asleep it can be daunting.

There is not much to do in the village of Allonby which once again was not a problem but be prepared to cycle or take your car if you want to do any activities other than the beach, as for us the weather was wet or very very windy.

We did cycle into Maryport and stopped for lunch in a pub called Captain Nelson which is well worth a visit. The meals are very reasonable and huge, try Sunday carvery it could feed you for a week.

Be aware if you cycle on Hadrian's Wall, it is a cycle route but you may find walkers who will not stand aside to let cyclists pass. I know this is not the fault of the campsite, but I feel I should warn you as it resulted me falling off my bike and needing emergency ER treatment.

Back to the campsite, the showers they have four for men and women with plenty of toilets and a couple of wash cubicles, I never saw a cleaner and I have seen some dirty places, here wasn't dirty but there was a wet tissue in the shower and it was there for three days in a row. So yes I think it could be cleaner. While talking about cleaner note to the owners if you put a mop and bucket in the showers you will find that most campers will mop up after themselves. There is a laundry room with iron, wash machine and dryer but didn't use so can't comment. Also bins could do with being emptied more than once a week or provide a lot more bins. Because with the statics and campers the bins got full very quick and there was rubbish blowing around the site due to this.

Pool was good for an hour, busy periods not much room I would think, but it did us well.

Didn't use the entertainment room so can't comment.

There is a play area on the campers side and it was great for our five year old. However the site does have static caravans and the children of these caravans do think the park belongs to them. Resulting in our five year old being chased by two eleven year olds who were threading to punch her in the face. Also no noise is supposed to be adhere on the site but a couple of nights static caravan children were still playing well past 10. 30 even though a camper had asked politely to keep the noise down.

Also on the review site in was not mentioned about the site being next too a working farm, so be aware of noisy farming vehicles late at night and early in the morning.

Would I return not to this site but nearer to Lake Windermere yes. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cane 1 review from this member

 We arrived on the Friday with our friends. 2 caravans pitched up very easily. Plenty of water points. The showers and toilets were lovely and clean. Club on site doing meals and a small clean swimming pool. We arrived at tea time so decided to go to the chippy in town, the fish was large and absolutely lovely, would go there again. For anyone wanting to eat in there is Jacks surf bar in town, always packed with people eating and very reasonable prices. Close to the sea as well. Lovely little place, would go again. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Fathead1dad 3 reviews from this member

 Visited with my partner and two children aged 12 and 3 and what a fantastic site this is, the pool and changing areas were very clean and was especially happy with a bit of chlorine to assure you of this cleanliness.

Alondy and surrounding area's are very much the unspoilt hidden gems of Cumbria and very close for a day trip into to Scotland.

Sampled the food and hospitality in Jacks surf bar in the village, very large portions and good wholesome food.

We will be going again! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bryoak1958 35 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this nice site on the end of may with all of the family. 4 caravans and we also rented a house off the owners. Prices were not bad and the site itself was very nice, with lovely swimming pool and games room. There was pub with sky sports, but it was a bit expensive for beers 3. 20, this kept the static people out and it was mostly empty. The toilets ands showers were spot on and clean. Outside of the camp the area was very nice for dog walks etc, Surf bar down the rd was ok, but NOT doggy friendly. We booked a whole dining room in the Queens head for a meal, Sixteen people all together and two dogs, you could not fault the management and staff here. All in all a pleasant stay 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Joe Newell 1 review from this member

 Great flat site, lovely clean shower block and toilets. Plenty of space in the cubicles. Brilliant swimming pool, nice and clean and warm. Friendly staff, brilliant receptionist. The kids loved the playground. Pricing could be looked at if you have a large family it becomes a dear do. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TheZoots 3 reviews from this member

 Had 3 nights here over the Easter weekend. Overall not a bad site.

The ehu pitches were a bit cramped but we had no bother at all. The toilets and showers had plenty of hot water and were clean(ish)as was the dishwashing area.

The playground was a hit with the kids, they also enjoyed the leisure facilities which comprised of a pool, jacuzzi and sauna, mini soft play area and an arcade room.

Didn't use the bar or restaurant so cant comment but there was entertainment on every night which by the sounds of things was singing/karaoke.

Site could benefit from more staff to keep the toilets/facilities cleaner.

However, the guy on reception/pool was very helpful but an extra attendant at the pool would help as the changing rooms were swimming with water and grass and not very pleasant.

Local area was lovely but was raining so much we didn't get to see so much of it and the wind is unreal, would strongly recommend storm straps and pegs. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nicki77 1 review from this member

 We've just spent the bank holiday weekend here and loved it, the site was kept very clean and showers were always hot. The swimming pool was always quiet and the evening entertainment was quite nice (please don't be put-off with it having a 'club house', it's not like a big company holiday park with people dressed up as fluffy animals making you do the hokey cokey!).

We camped next to the children's play area which my five children loved.

Allonby is a pleasant little village with a few cafes, pubs, although be warned there isn't a cash machine available the nearest is in Maryport (about five miles away) which has petrol stations and a large co-op.

One of the best things was the location, we travelled into Scotland and the Lake district.

All in all a lovely small site with excellent amenities given its size with lovely staff, the rates were also great, they weren't much more expensive than some of the fields with portaloos were charging. Also we took a large 8 man Khyam XXL excelsior and my parent's took a two man tent pod style tent but we were allowed to just use one pitch (which saved us 15 a night) 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Al and Julie 1 review from this member

 We very much enjoyed our holiday at this site. The site was quiet at night although it was quite windy when we were there. Level ground with good drainage and plenty of water taps available. The toilets and showers were adequate and there was provision for the disabled.

The food at the leisure centre was excellent and plenty of it! The bar area was nice and clean and all the staff were friendly and helpful. We didn't use the pool as it wasn't big enough for swimming but ideal for children. The beach is only a very short walk away.

The village was very nice and had shops and pubs. We spent time in Jack's Surf Bar where the food was great and the staff were very friendly and we had Sunday lunch at Westwinds which was lovely.

Around and about we recommend a visit to the butterfly/reptile house/nature reserve/garden centre just north of the campsite (can't remember the name sorry!), Keswick was great we really enjoyed 'Cars of the Stars' and 'The Puzzling Place.' There was loads to do in the area and the site was well positioned as a touring base.

This is a site I would recommend and will be going back at some time. 


Previous     37 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Spring Lea Caravan & Leisure Centre child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Spring Lea Caravan & Leisure Centre have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Spring Lea Caravan & Leisure Centre?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Spring Lea Caravan & Leisure Centre dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Maryport      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6439 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement