Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Tyn Y Mur Touring & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Abersoch > Tyn Y Mur Touring & Camping Park > Reviews

Tyn Y Mur Touring & Camping Park
Lon Garmon
Abersoch
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL53 7UL
Tel: 01758 712328
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 14/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 33 Reviews
                9/10 from 33 Reviews

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  33 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Wifeofstan 6 reviews from this member

 The views from this site are beautiful, particularly as it's at the top of a hill. The down side to this being it is very very windy. So windy, it damaged our awning, but the wardens are very friendly and helpful, and loaned us tools and thread etc to repair it.

The site it's self is very nice, a new drive was laid whilst we were there. It's the most expensive we've paid to date (and we camp a lot!) but we were so disappointed by the quality of facilities on site.

They were clean enough, just tired and in need of an update. There were no hairdryers, and only one socket which you had to queue for in the ladies showers.

The shower cubicles were very small with only hanging facilities for clothes upon the back of the door. As the water reached the door, a shower curtain had been installed on the back of the door to pull across your clothes, but it didn't keep them dry. There is communal changing area, but that's not for most people, for that price, I would expect privacy.

There is also a shower for your dog or wet suit.

They have a large Anderson Shelter type shed which the Wardens put a TV and chairs in to watch the World Cup Fianal. The owner provided the beers! It wasn't luxurious in any way but it resulted in a very friendly atmosphere enjoyed by staff, season guests and tourers like us.

It's a little further to the beach than the web site would have you believe, and it's quite steep too, but worth it for the views. The pitches are a generous size, with a hook up point between two and a tap each for tourers. Don't know about tents though.

There's a little fast food van on site serving breakfasts and icecreams etc. We didn't use it, but it's convenient. It's quite a drive to the nearest Asda, and the local convenience stores were extortionately expensive, so try to take what you need.

It's a great little site for exploring the Llyn Peninsula and the Wardens are a mine of information about where to go and what to expect.

All in all, a great little site, with friendly and helpful staff, but the toilets/showers need some investment to match the site fees. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sharon ian 1 review from this member

 We have camped at many sites from Cornwall to Inverness but Tyn y mur had the most welcoming wardens and cleanest facilities by far. The extra cloths to help campers maintain the cleanliness of the sinks is a nice touch too.

It is a beautiful location with stunning views and only a 15min walk into Abersoch to enjoy the shops, pubs and restaurants there. The other campers were also friendly and we had lovely neighbours.

We'll be back! 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chappers78 1 review from this member

 First time camping for my family. Myself and my husband took our 4 children to this site on a last minute booking and we were really impressed. As a first time camper I loved everything about this place, the views, the atmosphere, the cleanliness and the play area was loved by our children that played on it constantly while we were there for our 2 night stay.

My husband had forgot to pack our gas (Ooops) but the staff helped us out by supplying us with some! we were so thankful.

The beach is stunning and we sent most of our first full day there. We all loved it so much that we are planning on going back as much as we can. Highly recommended place with some great memories. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Listers82 3 reviews from this member

 A last minute booking due to a good weather forecast. Campsite is extremely clean. The toilet block and shower facilities have cloths to encourage you to keep the areas clean.

We did not have a hook up and managed comfortably, there are plenty of plug sockets in the toilet for use for drying your hair etc.

Staff are very welcoming. It is advertised as close to Abersoch however it would be a very high climb on return. The restaurant nearby has excellent food although during peak times you do have a long wait, however it is worth it.

Pitches are identified by numbers with ample room between tents. The play area is excellent for children and the football pitch is ideal for bigger kids and encourages socialising.

I would return to this site with no hesitation. The views are spectacular. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Danielle M 2 reviews from this member

 Literally just returned home from (what I would say is) a luxurious stay at this campsite (we came before years ago so knew this). They have a wonderful safe park for children with picnic tables, gorgeous views regardless of caravan or tent, very clean showers and toilets always with loo roll (bring a hairdryer though!), really helpful wardens and staff (and I thought the welsh guy on the phone was quite funny).

The times/walking distances we found were further than it said in the brochure but you can't go anywhere camping and hoping not to walk! Also the cans of beer from the shops are quite expensive so bring more than you would normally.

The lights in the showers/toilets go off at a certain time, which is terrifying trying to find your clothes in the dark and I wish I'd have known but found out the next day there is an emergency light (would have been useful).

It does get pretty windy regardless of the weather as it is high up a hill but again you expect all weather when camping - much more fun! We were very lucky as it had been the sunniest weekend yet and it is apparently fully booked next weekend (jubilee).

They have a useful freezer pack swap service and bits to buy from their hardware shop, also good football pitch.

Two nice sandy beaches 25-30 min walk in opposite directions once you get down the hill - left is big and bit quieter, right through Abersoch is more crowded but more water sports and a cafe, harbour and town 15-20 min walk, also 'Hells Mouth' a great surfer beach but very pebbly (which brings flies with it) is a 10 min drive. And well sign-posted.

Best restaurant - Fresh Bar and Grill 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: San 123 1 review from this member

 We had a fabulous time at the campsite at Tyn Y Mur. The views from the site are breath taking. The site was lovely and clean especially the shower block.

The wardens are probably the friendliest wardens we have ever come across, and we have visited quite a few sites in the area. Abersoch has a lovely beach, and Hells Mouth is a must for surfers.

We can't wait to return again in the summer.

We cannot recommend this site highly enough. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Takalaka 1 review from this member

 The site is very clean with beautiful views. Our pitch was fairly flat, good ground for tent pegs and a good size as the Warden ensured the 5 Metre gap around our perimeter was enforced.

The Toilet facilities were mostly clean but water runs between shower cubicles and washes over your feet if you are 'downstream'.

There are combination locks on both the Ladies and Gents door entrances which require a sequence of door shaking, number punching and knob twiddling to operate. The warden forgot to tell us any of this, including the existence of the stupid locks, so we spent the 1st night without being able to gain access to toilet or shower facilities.

Price is per tent or 'Unit' and our large family tent was 25.00 per night - had we instead taken two 2-Man tents it would have cost an eye-watering 36.00 per night. Credit or Debit cards are not accepted so take wads of notes or a cheque book. There are 2 banks in Abersoch including an HSBC. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mark69blackpool 1 review from this member

 First impressions when you phone to book isn't good as you speak to a very blunt Welsh Man, however when you get there you are greeted by a friendly couple or wardens from Warrington.

The site is good if you are going with friends and you can make your own entertainment, if you are going alone and want something to do then don't go here as there is nothing to do on site.

The toilet blocks are clean and in good order but are not the easiest to get into with the tricky door locks. There is a little play area and a takeaway food hut which opens periodically.

There is a couple of small supermarkets in Abersoch and an Asda in Pwllheli. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Magpie09 3 reviews from this member

 Firstly I'd like to say that I have been a little critical of this site to friends in the past, due to the showers not being as clean as they could be. I am happy to say that is no longer the case and they are as clean as anywhere else we have stayed. The field as always was in superb condition and it looked like the kids playground had recently been upgraded.

The Views from the site are worth the fee alone, and can also be enjoyed as you walk down the lane into Abersoch village (about 15 min).

We found the on site catering van useful for breakfast, and the food was decent and reasonably priced. The village has a number of restaurants, my favourite being Angelina's, the local Italian. If you want to be sure of a table at weekend book during the week before you go. The Ship Inn at Llanbedrogg is also worth noting for its food, and you don't need to book.

There are some of the best beaches in the UK around the area and safe for families.

And to finish I must mention that the site wardens were very helpful, polite and hardworking. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Inthmurm 1 review from this member

 I have just returned from a short three night stay at the Tyn y Mur camp site in Abersoch. I must say I was very impressed with the site. The couple who run it were extremely approachable, friendly and helpful (including showing us to our pitch). The tent pitching area is clean with good even firm turf. Although a little exposed, so take a good tent, this is a good trade off for the views across to the coast which are breath taking. The toilet and shower block although basic were well kept and the free showers 'hot' and comfortable. The laundrette and dish wash area is similarly well presented. The children's play area was clean, well maintained and came in handy for entertaining the little one.

Abersoch village is only a short 20 minute walk away although the journey can be a little hair raising as there is no path down the busy lane. There is a great 'chippy' and Thai restaurant nearby and a small catering van at the site entrance. There is also a small on site shop selling basic camping kit BBQs', toys ect but no food stuffs. All in all a very pleasant and comfortable stay and I would recommend this site, we will definitely be returning. 


Previous     33 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Tyn Y Mur Touring & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Tyn Y Mur Touring & Camping Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Tyn Y Mur Touring & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Abersoch      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3641 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement