Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Tyn Y Mur Touring & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Abersoch > Tyn Y Mur Touring & Camping Park > Reviews

Tyn Y Mur Touring & Camping Park
Lon Garmon
Abersoch
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL53 7UL
Tel: 01758 712328
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 14/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 33 Reviews
                9/10 from 33 Reviews

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  33 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: ROLINSTONE 2 reviews from this member

 Camped in a tent in 2008 went back 2009 in a campervan with a group of friends with sailing on their minds

On both visits we thought campsite was on the pricey side but it is the height of the season the views are very easy on the eye !

A pleasant town it is as well, plenty of places to eat and drink

Cycled to hells mouth beech well worth a vist!

As are the many other beeches in the area

The campsite was tidy and the toilet and showers blocks were always clean

It was nice having on site catering van for a breakfast bacon/sausage sandwich to start the day! 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bouler 1 review from this member

 A very well run campsite. The facilities were kept clean, everything worked as it should and the laundry equipment was reasonably priced. We had a look at the other sites in the area and it looks like if you want to stay close to a small town on the peninsular, this was one of the more civilised locations. Pitches were carefully monitored by the extremely pleasant and friendly stewards and it didn't get terribly busy despite being peak time. Firebreaks zones were enforced and plenty of room was allocated for us. Very family orientated, there is a large football pitch/play area for the kids as well as swings and playground equipment in front of the ablution block. The views from the pitches are simply beautiful. Snags: It's very exposed. It rained for six of our eight days and was very windy indeed. A flimsy tent could be extremely uncomfortable here. Take a good one and storm-rig it. The most sheltered pitches are up by the west fence but are all hookups and on a slight slope. If it's windy and you want one, ask the chap who leads you in in his 4x4, he seems quite flexible. Also, the road you need to walk down to get into Abersoch is a country lane with no footpath for much of its length and surprisingly busy. The National Trust beach to the left of the river mouth is really lovely, fish & chips from 'The Codfather' at the foot of the lane are pretty good too. The Londis in Abersoch has everything you need and here you can rub shoulders with all the well off 'Jonty's' who are staying in the exclusive statics in the gated villages nearby and have a boat moored in the bay. Disguise yourself as one of them by draping a pale yellow jumper over your shoulders, placing wraparound sunglasses on your head and talking loudly in a fake posh accent. Avoid shopping at the ASDA in Pwllheli if you have high blood pressure or don't like busy supermarkets! 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Garrygrimshaw 2 reviews from this member

 This campsite is by far and away the best campsite I have been to. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly and the facilities are second to none. The showers are amazingly clean with constant hot water and no charge either!
The washing areas are spotless too, people are encouraged to leave it in a clean state after using, and everybody does, even I class myself as sometimes being a lazy cleaner but I made the extra effort to leave the sink etc spotless. In fact, the whole campsite is very clean.

To give you an example of how accommodating the owners are, we (me and my mate) turned up unannounced not knowing it was a family park. We are two blokes in our mid 20's. The owners could easily have refused us to stay but instead they took our word that we wouldn't cause any problems (which we didn't) and let us stay! In return we made no noise, kept our pitch clean and tidy - even on the early morning we left it was raining extremely hard and we got soaked but we still made sure we left no trace of being there.

If it rains for a good period then the camping field can get a bit muddy and boggy towards the entrance, but just take some wellies or something. The owners section off driving 'roads' if this happens so that people can't cause a mess by driving across soft turf.

The campsite is located quite a way up a country road just outside of town, with a 20-25 minute walk back down to the town. It's a nice scenic walk though so it's no problem. Walking back is uphill but with some flat bits. Apparently there's a bus which stops right outside the campsite that takes you into town.

Overall, this is an excellent campsite which still retains the main qualities of how a campsite should be. You can tell the owners take a lot of pride in caring for their campsite and also their paying guests. 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lynn75 1 review from this member

 This is a very open field but the views are breathtaking the toilet and shower block was warm and very clean which if your anything like me who has two showers a day its a godsend the play area is a good size and as is the football pitch the beach is a good 10 minute drive but worth it the manager is very friendly and helpful I think the price is a bit steep but overall a good family friendly site and me,my partner and 3 children enjoyed our stay and will be returning 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Woo moma n popa 3 reviews from this member

 Unlike some other sites in the area is easy to find and on a decent road (not a narrow one track road in the middle of nowhere). Well located, about two miles from hells mouth and about a mile from Abersoch both can be viewed from the site. The village of Langian is just a short walk away it has a small shop and a hovercraft flying center !

On arrival at the site we were greeted by the owner who advised us of the best places to pitch on what was quite a busy weekend.
The site is mostly flat with a slight slope at the back although nearby bushes does provide some wind shelter. On past experience we would have expected better facilities for the £20 per night but the toilets and showers were very clean as was generally the rest of the site (no keys needed anymore for the showers and loo) and each pitch had a hook up if req'd.

Children are well catered for with a well maintained park and a football pitch/playing field. There is a newly introduced catering van on site offering take away thai food although can't comment on this as it was closed the whole of our stay. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: E_port_ranger 15 reviews from this member

 Camped here for four nights during Whit. The site is a bit windy but the views more than make up for it. The facilities are modern,clean and well looked after, couldn't fault the place really. Found the wardens to be very helpful on the phone and in person.
The park is great for younger kids and the football pitch seems to occupy everyone else. There seemed to be a constant 'everyone invited' game every night. On our last night there did seem to be a group of 'Hooray Henry' teenagers hanging round the park, as mentioned by other reviewers. There are a lot of static tourers on the site so they may well be the same group who appear most weekends.

As an added bonus there is a decent bar hidden within walking distance called 5 Degrees West. They have a decked area, park, pool table open to families and friendly staff, the food looked a bit pricey but you can't have everything.

Will using this site for future Abersoch holidays. 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tracet thomas 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a 5 day visit to this site. Yes it is located in a windy spot but the view is fantastic.The play area is good and you can see the children from the tent, good size pitches we didn't have any problems with our 9 man tent. Dog friendly but could do with a bin for you know what. The wardens are very friendly although we did find the reception never manned and had to go and search for the wardens. Toilet block is cleaned regularly, but no soap to wash your hands after the loo.

10 Min's in the car from the beach, we did walk several times, took us about 35mins but the road is very dangerous at certain points, and the kids could not ride bikes due to the speed of the traffic. Nice pub close by, but during busy times struggles with the amount of food orders and is really slow, dogs only allowed outside. 
Overall a very quiet site not suited to teenagers, good for the kids bikes 


Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Graemetbell 1 review from this member

 I read with interest the previous reviews of this site and giggled that people find trivial matters to moan about. Make no mistake, this site is surrounded by 360 degrees of outstanding views, no, breathtaking Welsh scenery would better describe.

The toilet block and all its facilities are more than adequate. The children's play area was well frequented by my youngest and the football pitch used to excess by my eldest (my washing machine is breaking down half of the pitch as I type!).

The owner is very friendly and the wardens equally amiable, with a very family orientated feel.

Yes, the wind can get up a little, so what! To wake up to those gorgeous views, fresh air and the sound of the wildlife is second to none. Please do not make this site too commercial as it has everything a real camping family could wish for! 


Reviewer: Suejarvis 9 reviews from this member

 August 2005
The campsite is in a truly beautiful location, with wonderful views across the sea & mountains. There was an abundance of wildlife around the site; buzzards, many other birds, bats, huge may bugs (I think) and many others.

Unfortunately, the pitches were cramped, and many seemed to break the 6m fire hazard rule. The childrens outdoor play area was open until 11pm. The play area was for younger children, but from about 9pm onwards groups of noisy teenagers would be on the equipment. Several times we saw children of about 14 drinking beer & alcopops on the swings/climbing frame, often well past the supposed 11pm curfew. There was plenty of swearing & some inappropriate behaviour, as there were still often much younger children around. The warden did mention to us that he had problems in removing the children/teenagers after this time & that they were often riding round on bikes after 11pm. Supervising parents to adhere to this rule were conspicuous in their absence.

As the tents were pitched so close together, it was very noticeable that many families/groups had no consideration for others camping. Whilst my family & I enjoy a fun & enjoyable holiday, we don't want to be woken up by groups returning back to the campsite past midnight & shouting at one another, nor people sitting outside of their tents past 11pm playing loud games.

The grass was not cut at all during our stay & particularly around the edge of the field this was too long & unkempt.

Although listed on the park facilities for Tyn y Mur, there is no food shop on site, and no games room. The family Pub shown within 300yds was a caravan park club house, which I would not class as a Family Pub.

In summing up, this site has so much to offer, but is completely ruined by many thoughtless families allowing their children/teenagers to run amok whilst no consideration is shown for other campers. 


Date of Visit: August 2004
Reviewer: Mary noon 1 review from this member

 I cant exactly select dates for my visit as I tend to go to this campsite twice a year, and I have been doing for the whole EIGHTEEN YEARS of my life.

Its the best campsite I have ever been to. You may think that its slightly more expensive than any other campsites you have visited but you get what you pay for - the facilities are excellent.

The views of the sea and just the general atmosphere really make you feel as if you are on holiday. I love it!

The staff are friendly and are always up for a chat. They even show you to your pitch.

The thing with the keys for the toilet/ shower block is a good idea I think. That way you dont get people from other sites just coming to use the facilities that you are paying for. Plus its been that way for as long as I can remember and its not put us off. If you forget your key - just dont be lazy and go back and get it.

The play area. I used to use that when I was little (ignore the creaking swings. They've always been like that). But I think the comments made by 'NedKelly' are ridiculous! Whenever im there I hang out with my friends around the play area at night because its the safest place for us to hang out at night. Plus thats where all the older kids (15-18) make friends. Its right next to the toilets too which is handy!

Talking about closing it at night though is ridiculous. People my age. On a camping holiday. Wooooo. Not. At least let us have something fun to do - which I've been doing for years. I admit, some of the other teens get a bit loud, but its not too bad.

No offence 'NedKelly' but ive been going there for years of my life and so have a lot of friends of mine that I've made there. But for you to just go a few times and suggest closing areas and things. I personally dont think thats very fair and I suggest that if you dont like it, then go somewhere else next time. Because thousands of people go back to that campsite every year, and they dont complain. 


Previous     33 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Tyn Y Mur Touring & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Tyn Y Mur Touring & Camping Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Tyn Y Mur Touring & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Abersoch      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2811 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement