Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Tyn Y Mur Touring & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

Tyn Y Mur Touring & Camping Park
Lon Garmon
Abersoch
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL53 7UL
Tel: 01758 712328
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 103
Open: Mid March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 26 Reviews
                8/10 from 26 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  26 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Shirleymark 2 reviews from this member

We loved this site, really nice facilities, reasonably flat ground. Great views, short drive into Abersoch itself. Catering van most morning. Small playground for children and football pitch. It was expensive but we went back again two weeks later for a few more days.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Raineyday 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from our family summer holiday. Great site with good facilities. Plenty of toilets and very hot showers, despite the site being very busy I never had to wait. Play area is brilliant for the children, very family friendly site. Clean washer/dryer room. Fabulous views and a lovely walk down to the river at the side of the site.

Our electric hook up went off, we phoned the site number and it was sorted within 5 minutes.

Would recommend for short/long breaks

Thank you

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Deminotaur 4 reviews from this member

What can I say about this site. It's fabulous. It's our third visit to tyn y mur, jackie and kenny are helpful, friendly lovely people. The site is kept beautifully. The grass is kept short and the grass cuttings are not left on the ground. (Pet hate getting to a site and they cut grass and leave it, messy tent and carpet being taken out daily). Thankfully this doesn't happen at tyn y mur.

The shower block is extremely clean, the cleaning lady is in there all afternoon every day. The previous comments about the plugs??? There is a single plug in the shower area with the sinks and mirrors, then there are a further 4 plugs with 3 mirrors around the corner. People use these for charging phones iPads etc as well as using hair dryers. We have never had to queue or wait for a plug there. As for the showers I'm not small and I have no issues with the size of the cubicle. My clothes and bag hang on the back of the door, the curtain has never let water through and my clothes have always stayed dry. I change in the shower cubicle before and after with no issues.

We absolutely love this site, our 3 children aged 2, 3 and 12 all have fun there. The football pitch is good as I've stayed at other sites where there no areas for the kids. Tyn y mur is very child friendly.

All in all a great week and can't wait to book for next year. Thanks guys for a wonderful week despite the weather.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Wifeofstan 6 reviews from this member

The views from this site are beautiful, particularly as it's at the top of a hill. The down side to this being it is very very windy. So windy, it damaged our awning, but the wardens are very friendly and helpful, and loaned us tools and thread etc to repair it.

The site it's self is very nice, a new drive was laid whilst we were there. It's the most expensive we've paid to date (and we camp a lot!) but we were so disappointed by the quality of facilities on site. They were clean enough, just tired and in need of an update. There were no hairdryers, and only one socket which you had to queue for in the ladies showers. The shower cubicles were very small with only hanging facilities for clothes upon the back of the door. As the water reached the door, a shower curtain had been installed on the back of the door to pull across your clothes, but it didn't keep them dry. There is communal changing area, but that's not for most people, for that price, I would expect privacy.

There is also a shower for your dog or wet suit.

They have a large Anderson Shelter type shed which the Wardens put a TV and chairs in to watch the World Cup Fianal. The owner provided the beers! It wasn't luxurious in any way but it resulted in a very friendly atmosphere enjoyed by staff, season guests and tourers like us.

It's a little further to the beach than the web site would have you believe, and it's quite steep too, but worth it for the views. The pitches are a generous size, with a hook up point between two and a tap each for tourers. Don't know about tents though.

There's a little fast food van on site serving breakfasts and icecreams etc. We didn't use it, but it's convenient. It's quite a drive to the nearest Asda, and the local convenience stores were extortionately expensive, so try to take what you need.

It's a great little site for exploring the Llyn Peninsula and the Wardens are a mine of information about where to go and what to expect.

All in all, a great little site, with friendly and helpful staff, but the toilets/showers need some investment to match the site fees.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sharon ian 1 review from this member

We have camped at many sites from Cornwall to Inverness but Tyn y mur had the most welcoming wardens and cleanest facilities by far. The extra cloths to help campers maintain the cleanliness of the sinks is a nice touch too.

It is a beautiful location with stunning views and only a 15min walk into Abersoch to enjoy the shops, pubs and restaurants there. The other campers were also friendly and we had lovely neighbours.

We'll be back!

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chappers78 1 review from this member

First time camping for my family. Myself and my husband took our 4 children to this site on a last minute booking and we were really impressed. As a first time camper I loved everything about this place, the views, the atmosphere, the cleanliness and the play area was loved by our children that played on it constantly while we were there for our 2 night stay.

My husband had forgot to pack our gas (Ooops) but the staff helped us out by supplying us with some! we were so thankful. The beach is stunning and we sent most of our first full day there. We all loved it so much that we are planning on going back as much as we can. Highly recommended place with some great memories.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Listers82 3 reviews from this member

A last minute booking due to a good weather forecast. Campsite is extremely clean. The toilet block and shower facilities have cloths to encourage you to keep the areas clean. We did not have a hook up and managed comfortably, there are plenty of plug sockets in the toilet for use for drying your hair etc. Staff are very welcoming. It is advertised as close to Abersoch however it would be a very high climb on return. The restaurant nearby has excellent food although during peak times you do have a long wait, however it is worth it. Pitches are identified by numbers with ample room between tents. The play area is excellent for children and the football pitch is ideal for bigger kids and encourages socialising. I would return to this site with no hesitation. The views are spectacular.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Danielle M 2 reviews from this member

Literally just returned home from (what I would say is) a luxurious stay at this campsite (we came before years ago so knew this). They have a wonderful safe park for children with picnic tables, gorgeous views regardless of caravan or tent, very clean showers and toilets always with loo roll (bring a hairdryer though!), really helpful wardens and staff (and I thought the welsh guy on the phone was quite funny).

The times/walking distances we found were further than it said in the brochure but you can't go anywhere camping and hoping not to walk! Also the cans of beer from the shops are quite expensive so bring more than you would normally.

The lights in the showers/toilets go off at a certain time, which is terrifying trying to find your clothes in the dark and I wish I'd have known but found out the next day there is an emergency light (would have been useful).

It does get pretty windy regardless of the weather as it is high up a hill but again you expect all weather when camping - much more fun! We were very lucky as it had been the sunniest weekend yet and it is apparently fully booked next weekend (jubilee).

They have a useful freezer pack swap service and bits to buy from their hardware shop, also good football pitch.

Two nice sandy beaches 25-30 min walk in opposite directions once you get down the hill - left is big and bit quieter, right through Abersoch is more crowded but more water sports and a cafe, harbour and town 15-20 min walk, also 'Hells Mouth' a great surfer beach but very pebbly (which brings flies with it) is a 10 min drive. And well sign-posted.

Best restaurant - Fresh Bar and Grill

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: San 123 1 review from this member

We had a fabulous time at the campsite at Tyn Y Mur. The views from the site are breath taking. The site was lovely and clean especially the shower block. The wardens are probably the friendliest wardens we have ever come across, and we have visited quite a few sites in the area. Abersoch has a lovely beach, and Hells Mouth is a must for surfers.

We can't wait to return again in the summer.

We cannot recommend this site highly enough.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Takalaka 1 review from this member

The site is very clean with beautiful views. Our pitch was fairly flat, good ground for tent pegs and a good size as the Warden ensured the 5 Metre gap around our perimeter was enforced.

The Toilet facilities were mostly clean but water runs between shower cubicles and washes over your feet if you are 'downstream'.

There are combination locks on both the Ladies and Gents door entrances which require a sequence of door shaking, number punching and knob twiddling to operate. The warden forgot to tell us any of this, including the existence of the stupid locks, so we spent the 1st night without being able to gain access to toilet or shower facilities.

Price is per tent or 'Unit' and our large family tent was 25.00 per night - had we instead taken two 2-Man tents it would have cost an eye-watering 36.00 per night. Credit or Debit cards are not accepted so take wads of notes or a cheque book. There are 2 banks in Abersoch including an HSBC.

Previous     26 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Gwynedd   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1961 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019