Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Tyn Y Mur Touring & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Abersoch > Tyn Y Mur Touring & Camping Park Reviews

Tyn Y Mur Touring & Camping Park
Lon Garmon
Abersoch
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL53 7UL
Tel: 01758 712328
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: Mid March To End Of October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 27 Reviews
                9/10 from 27 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Campbrooks 4 reviews from this member

What a great site. Facilities are great, lovely clean hot showers.

Really helpful staff, who made sure we were all together, pitches were great size, with hook up and water tap.

Lots of tents and season tourers. Very tidy everywhere.

You can walk into town on the lane but no path.

Ice cream van comes round, lovely park for the kids.

They put on an egg hunt for the kids as it was Easter weekend which they all loved.

A great find. Fab weather too, couldn’t ask for more.
via mobile

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Shirleymark 2 reviews from this member

We loved this site, really nice facilities, reasonably flat ground. Great views, short drive into Abersoch itself.

Catering van most morning. Small playground for children and football pitch.

It was expensive but we went back again two weeks later for a few more days.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Raineyday 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from our family summer holiday. Great site with good facilities. Plenty of toilets and very hot showers, despite the site being very busy I never had to wait.

Play area is brilliant for the children, very family friendly site. Clean washer/dryer room. Fabulous views and a lovely walk down to the river at the side of the site.

Our electric hook up went off, we phoned the site number and it was sorted within 5 minutes.

Would recommend for short/long breaks

Thank you

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Deminotaur 4 reviews from this member

What can I say about this site. It's fabulous. It's our third visit to tyn y mur, jackie and kenny are helpful, friendly lovely people. The site is kept beautifully.

The grass is kept short and the grass cuttings are not left on the ground. (Pet hate getting to a site and they cut grass and leave it, messy tent and carpet being taken out daily). Thankfully this doesn't happen at tyn y mur.

The shower block is extremely clean, the cleaning lady is in there all afternoon every day. The previous comments about the plugs??? There is a single plug in the shower area with the sinks and mirrors, then there are a further 4 plugs with 3 mirrors around the corner.

People use these for charging phones iPads etc as well as using hair dryers. We have never had to queue or wait for a plug there. As for the showers I'm not small and I have no issues with the size of the cubicle. My clothes and bag hang on the back of the door, the curtain has never let water through and my clothes have always stayed dry. I change in the shower cubicle before and after with no issues.

We absolutely love this site, our 3 children aged 2, 3 and 12 all have fun there. The football pitch is good as I've stayed at other sites where there no areas for the kids. Tyn y mur is very child friendly.

All in all a great week and can't wait to book for next year. Thanks guys for a wonderful week despite the weather.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Wifeofstan 6 reviews from this member

The views from this site are beautiful, particularly as it's at the top of a hill. The down side to this being it is very very windy. So windy, it damaged our awning, but the wardens are very friendly and helpful, and loaned us tools and thread etc to repair it.

The site it's self is very nice, a new drive was laid whilst we were there. It's the most expensive we've paid to date (and we camp a lot!) but we were so disappointed by the quality of facilities on site.

They were clean enough, just tired and in need of an update. There were no hairdryers, and only one socket which you had to queue for in the ladies showers.

The shower cubicles were very small with only hanging facilities for clothes upon the back of the door. As the water reached the door, a shower curtain had been installed on the back of the door to pull across your clothes, but it didn't keep them dry. There is communal changing area, but that's not for most people, for that price, I would expect privacy.

There is also a shower for your dog or wet suit.

They have a large Anderson Shelter type shed which the Wardens put a TV and chairs in to watch the World Cup Fianal. The owner provided the beers! It wasn't luxurious in any way but it resulted in a very friendly atmosphere enjoyed by staff, season guests and tourers like us.

It's a little further to the beach than the web site would have you believe, and it's quite steep too, but worth it for the views. The pitches are a generous size, with a hook up point between two and a tap each for tourers. Don't know about tents though.

There's a little fast food van on site serving breakfasts and icecreams etc. We didn't use it, but it's convenient. It's quite a drive to the nearest Asda, and the local convenience stores were extortionately expensive, so try to take what you need.

It's a great little site for exploring the Llyn Peninsula and the Wardens are a mine of information about where to go and what to expect.

All in all, a great little site, with friendly and helpful staff, but the toilets/showers need some investment to match the site fees.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sharon ian 1 review from this member

We have camped at many sites from Cornwall to Inverness but Tyn y mur had the most welcoming wardens and cleanest facilities by far. The extra cloths to help campers maintain the cleanliness of the sinks is a nice touch too.

It is a beautiful location with stunning views and only a 15min walk into Abersoch to enjoy the shops, pubs and restaurants there. The other campers were also friendly and we had lovely neighbours.

We'll be back!

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chappers78 1 review from this member

First time camping for my family. Myself and my husband took our 4 children to this site on a last minute booking and we were really impressed. As a first time camper I loved everything about this place, the views, the atmosphere, the cleanliness and the play area was loved by our children that played on it constantly while we were there for our 2 night stay.

My husband had forgot to pack our gas (Ooops) but the staff helped us out by supplying us with some! we were so thankful.

The beach is stunning and we sent most of our first full day there. We all loved it so much that we are planning on going back as much as we can. Highly recommended place with some great memories.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Listers82 3 reviews from this member

A last minute booking due to a good weather forecast. Campsite is extremely clean. The toilet block and shower facilities have cloths to encourage you to keep the areas clean.

We did not have a hook up and managed comfortably, there are plenty of plug sockets in the toilet for use for drying your hair etc.

Staff are very welcoming. It is advertised as close to Abersoch however it would be a very high climb on return. The restaurant nearby has excellent food although during peak times you do have a long wait, however it is worth it.

Pitches are identified by numbers with ample room between tents. The play area is excellent for children and the football pitch is ideal for bigger kids and encourages socialising.

I would return to this site with no hesitation. The views are spectacular.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Danielle M 2 reviews from this member

Literally just returned home from (what I would say is) a luxurious stay at this campsite (we came before years ago so knew this). They have a wonderful safe park for children with picnic tables, gorgeous views regardless of caravan or tent, very clean showers and toilets always with loo roll (bring a hairdryer though!), really helpful wardens and staff (and I thought the welsh guy on the phone was quite funny).

The times/walking distances we found were further than it said in the brochure but you can't go anywhere camping and hoping not to walk! Also the cans of beer from the shops are quite expensive so bring more than you would normally.

The lights in the showers/toilets go off at a certain time, which is terrifying trying to find your clothes in the dark and I wish I'd have known but found out the next day there is an emergency light (would have been useful).

It does get pretty windy regardless of the weather as it is high up a hill but again you expect all weather when camping - much more fun! We were very lucky as it had been the sunniest weekend yet and it is apparently fully booked next weekend (jubilee).

They have a useful freezer pack swap service and bits to buy from their hardware shop, also good football pitch.

Two nice sandy beaches 25-30 min walk in opposite directions once you get down the hill - left is big and bit quieter, right through Abersoch is more crowded but more water sports and a cafe, harbour and town 15-20 min walk, also 'Hells Mouth' a great surfer beach but very pebbly (which brings flies with it) is a 10 min drive. And well sign-posted.

Best restaurant - Fresh Bar and Grill

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: San 123 1 review from this member

We had a fabulous time at the campsite at Tyn Y Mur. The views from the site are breath taking. The site was lovely and clean especially the shower block.

The wardens are probably the friendliest wardens we have ever come across, and we have visited quite a few sites in the area. Abersoch has a lovely beach, and Hells Mouth is a must for surfers.

We can't wait to return again in the summer.

We cannot recommend this site highly enough.

Previous     27 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3873 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019