Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Tyn Y Mur Touring & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Abersoch > Tyn Y Mur Touring & Camping Park Reviews

Tyn Y Mur Touring & Camping Park
Lon Garmon
Abersoch
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL53 7UL
Tel: 01758 712328
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 14/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 30 Reviews
                8/10 from 30 Reviews

Photos (11)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  30 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pmo195 4 reviews from this member

 Chosen for location close to Abersoch. On a hill, so exposed to wind - high winds at the time due to Storm Francis!

Friendly welcome and shown in person to pitch. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Mancfaith 1 review from this member

 Lovely campsite, shower blocks spotless and the shower was better than home. Playground and football pitch. Little food van serving breakfasts in the mornings and pizzas at night which mean when arriving after a long drive we didn't have to go in search of food. Ice blocks for hire and bags of ice sold.

No noise after about 10 which meant lovely nights sleep for families.

The location is up a steep hill and we found we needed a car to get anywhere (maybe laziness on our part).

Abersoch is nice but you have to pay for parking everywhere cost us a tenner one day as we wanted to see various beaches. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Stan on tour 48 reviews from this member

 We chose this campsite as it was the nearest to the centre of Abersoch, which it is but it's almost a mile up a steep hill.

The position on the hill does however give fantastic views. It was very windy when we were there and the site was very quiet there really was no protection from the wind.

Facilities etc were all excellent and there was free wifi.

The site is really geared to families and as a couple visiting outside of school holidays

We found the site rather uninspiring and would probably choose somewhere else if visiting the area again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Campbrooks 4 reviews from this member

 What a great site. Facilities are great, lovely clean hot showers.

Really helpful staff, who made sure we were all together, pitches were great size, with hook up and water tap.

Lots of tents and season tourers. Very tidy everywhere.

You can walk into town on the lane but no path.

Ice cream van comes round, lovely park for the kids.

They put on an egg hunt for the kids as it was Easter weekend which they all loved.

A great find. Fab weather too, couldn’t ask for more. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shirleymark 2 reviews from this member

 We loved this site, really nice facilities, reasonably flat ground. Great views, short drive into Abersoch itself.

Catering van most morning. Small playground for children and football pitch.

It was expensive but we went back again two weeks later for a few more days. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Raineyday 3 reviews from this member

 Just returned from our family summer holiday. Great site with good facilities. Plenty of toilets and very hot showers, despite the site being very busy I never had to wait.

Play area is brilliant for the children, very family friendly site. Clean washer/dryer room. Fabulous views and a lovely walk down to the river at the side of the site.

Our electric hook up went off, we phoned the site number and it was sorted within 5 minutes.

Would recommend for short/long breaks

Thank you 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Deminotaur 4 reviews from this member

 What can I say about this site. It's fabulous. It's our third visit to tyn y mur, jackie and kenny are helpful, friendly lovely people. The site is kept beautifully.

The grass is kept short and the grass cuttings are not left on the ground. (Pet hate getting to a site and they cut grass and leave it, messy tent and carpet being taken out daily). Thankfully this doesn't happen at tyn y mur.

The shower block is extremely clean, the cleaning lady is in there all afternoon every day. The previous comments about the plugs??? There is a single plug in the shower area with the sinks and mirrors, then there are a further 4 plugs with 3 mirrors around the corner.

People use these for charging phones iPads etc as well as using hair dryers. We have never had to queue or wait for a plug there. As for the showers I'm not small and I have no issues with the size of the cubicle. My clothes and bag hang on the back of the door, the curtain has never let water through and my clothes have always stayed dry. I change in the shower cubicle before and after with no issues.

We absolutely love this site, our 3 children aged 2, 3 and 12 all have fun there. The football pitch is good as I've stayed at other sites where there no areas for the kids. Tyn y mur is very child friendly.

All in all a great week and can't wait to book for next year. Thanks guys for a wonderful week despite the weather. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Wifeofstan 6 reviews from this member

 The views from this site are beautiful, particularly as it's at the top of a hill. The down side to this being it is very very windy. So windy, it damaged our awning, but the wardens are very friendly and helpful, and loaned us tools and thread etc to repair it.

The site it's self is very nice, a new drive was laid whilst we were there. It's the most expensive we've paid to date (and we camp a lot!) but we were so disappointed by the quality of facilities on site.

They were clean enough, just tired and in need of an update. There were no hairdryers, and only one socket which you had to queue for in the ladies showers.

The shower cubicles were very small with only hanging facilities for clothes upon the back of the door. As the water reached the door, a shower curtain had been installed on the back of the door to pull across your clothes, but it didn't keep them dry. There is communal changing area, but that's not for most people, for that price, I would expect privacy.

There is also a shower for your dog or wet suit.

They have a large Anderson Shelter type shed which the Wardens put a TV and chairs in to watch the World Cup Fianal. The owner provided the beers! It wasn't luxurious in any way but it resulted in a very friendly atmosphere enjoyed by staff, season guests and tourers like us.

It's a little further to the beach than the web site would have you believe, and it's quite steep too, but worth it for the views. The pitches are a generous size, with a hook up point between two and a tap each for tourers. Don't know about tents though.

There's a little fast food van on site serving breakfasts and icecreams etc. We didn't use it, but it's convenient. It's quite a drive to the nearest Asda, and the local convenience stores were extortionately expensive, so try to take what you need.

It's a great little site for exploring the Llyn Peninsula and the Wardens are a mine of information about where to go and what to expect.

All in all, a great little site, with friendly and helpful staff, but the toilets/showers need some investment to match the site fees. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sharon ian 1 review from this member

 We have camped at many sites from Cornwall to Inverness but Tyn y mur had the most welcoming wardens and cleanest facilities by far. The extra cloths to help campers maintain the cleanliness of the sinks is a nice touch too.

It is a beautiful location with stunning views and only a 15min walk into Abersoch to enjoy the shops, pubs and restaurants there. The other campers were also friendly and we had lovely neighbours.

We'll be back! 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chappers78 1 review from this member

 First time camping for my family. Myself and my husband took our 4 children to this site on a last minute booking and we were really impressed. As a first time camper I loved everything about this place, the views, the atmosphere, the cleanliness and the play area was loved by our children that played on it constantly while we were there for our 2 night stay.

My husband had forgot to pack our gas (Ooops) but the staff helped us out by supplying us with some! we were so thankful.

The beach is stunning and we sent most of our first full day there. We all loved it so much that we are planning on going back as much as we can. Highly recommended place with some great memories. 


Previous     30 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Tyn Y Mur Touring & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Tyn Y Mur Touring & Camping Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Tyn Y Mur Touring & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Abersoch      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5001 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement