Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Coldingham Bay Leisure Park (formerly Crosslaw Caravan Park )

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Berwickshire > St Abbs > Coldingham Bay Leisure Park (formerly Crosslaw Caravan Park ) Reviews

Coldingham Bay Leisure Park (formerly Crosslaw Caravan Park )
School Road
Coldingham
St Abbs
Berwickshire   (Browse area)
TD14 5NT
Tel: 01890 771316
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/03/2021 to 30/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 31 Reviews
                8/10 from 31 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  31 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wally69 8 reviews from this member

 We decided to try the tent out before the season began & chose this site because of the area which we love. On arrival the ease in which we were booked in was great. Our pitch was large & made more private because of the hedges marking the pitches out. Each pitch had a picnic bench and a hardstand for Bbq's. The only down side was the ground which was quite stony in places.

The toilet block & shower facilities were second to none, with the added bonus of having a key fob entry for extra security. They were spotless every time we used them. The dishwashing & laundry facilities were superb.

Everyone on site was so friendly & helpful, & always had a smile on their faces. The bar area was quite busy on a night time, but there was always seating to be had & the service was quick & easy.

The surrounding area has so much to offer, whether you enjoy lying on the beach, or visiting places of interest. (although the weather wasn't right for sunbathing). All the amenities you need are just in the village, including pubs, restaurants, convenience stores etc.

All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay in Crosslaw. We tried booking straight up for Aug Bank Hol but unfortunately was told it was booked up already. Try earlier next year I think! 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pinga 3 reviews from this member

 I have stayed here in the past and always rated it highly but I was a bit disappointed this year. Not so much with the facilities but with the people it now attracts.

This seems to be a child friendly campsite and particularly families who let their noisy children run loose at all hours. So bear this is mind. There is in theory silence after 11 pm although not everyone seems to follow this. With electric hookups available, there were several loud TVs too.

The toilets and showers are very good, which is what I like about the site. There is a washing machine and dryer. Tokens from reception. The washing up sinks take forever to dispense enough hot water. There doesn't appear to be a freezer for ice blocks.

The site is well set up for caravans but tents seem more of an afterthought.

The pitches are large with plenty of space for one large or two smaller tents and a car. A small picnic table is provided, which is nice.

There's a cafe bar on site which serves drinks. No shop but the town has a convenience store.

WiFi is available in some areas. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Squince39 14 reviews from this member

 This was our first venture out in our new tourer, so we decided to go somewhere that we had been and enjoyed before with our tent.

When we arrived we were welcomed by a nice young lady at reception, who got us promptly organised.

This is a well kept park located in a quiet village. Eyemouth is a short drive away and Berwick is only 11 miles away.

Last time I left a review I had a rant about the toilets. Although the toilets and showers are of a good standard they could just do with having the floors mopped a little better I feel, as they always look as if mud has been dragged in.

Bearing in mind that Sunday is a busy day for going home I felt a bit uncomfortable to have two females from the cleaning contractors trying to mop a floor at 8 a. M. This morning whilst

There was myself and another two gents trying to get showers and a wash.

Maybe toilets should either be cleaned before 8 am. Or after 11. 30 am. Once the weekenders have all gone home.

A nice and well kept park with some lovely scenery roundabout and a lovely village only 5 mins walk away where you will find a couple of pub's and the local Spar shop. The area is home to some fantastic coastline.

We will return again for another weekend in the near future. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Squince39 14 reviews from this member

 We are just back from a three night Easter weekend stay with our tent at Crosslaw Caravan Park.

The caravan park itself is situated in the small village of Coldingham, which is about five miles outside Eyemouth.

The park itself is very nice and the grounds are very well maintained.

We booked in at reception by a friendly chap but didn't have much explained to us. For e.G. We weren't told how to obtain drinking water or where the bins where situated.

The tent pitch was a very good size although not totally flat. But the picnic bench that we got was welcome and the hedge separating the pitches made it more private.

The toilet block was warm. The toilets and sinks where very clean. However the floor always seemed dirty with outside muck being dragged in, even in the shower area.

The showers were hot, although having to keep pressing the button every ten seconds to maintain a hot water flow was a bit of a pain.

All in all we found the staff very helpful and answered a question when asked.

Just a pity that maybe the toilet block wasn't cleaned more often during the day than the once that we witnessed. This may help the look of the floor.

We found it a very relaxing and quiet venue and we will return again sometime in the future. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Karrin 2 reviews from this member

 This site has lovely pitches with hedges separating each pitch making it more private and a park bench on each pitch too. The toilet/shower block was clean enough, not the best I've seen but I found them ok. The showers were far too hot for my children though.

I liked the small conservatory adjoining the washing up room which had chairs and magazines and a rotary clothes dryer outside was very handy. There is a bar which I didn't visit.

There are several small play parks dotted around the site however these were quite basic and there is no area for ball games etc and not enough room on my pitch for my children to play. Because of this I wouldn't return to this site as there wasn't enough to keep my children busy without having a chunk of grass to play on which is a shame as apart from that I loved the site.

The surrounding area is lovely, Coldingham bay is beautiful and we loved feeding the seals at Eyemouth! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Almaz 37 reviews from this member

 After all the extremely positive views posted before I was really looking forward to this visit. I have to say that overall I was disappointed!

Several little things niggled. We were supposed to have a 'super' pitch. It wasn't even big enough to fit our van plus porch awning and car. The car had to be parked across the front.

The toilets were cleanish. Certainly not to CC or C&CC standard.

Our pitch backed straight on to the surprisingly busy and noisy road through the village.

Other campers showed a surprising lack of respect for other people's pleasure, letting their dogs mess all over the place, not keeping them on leads, etc.

Friends who asked to be pitched alongside us were told is wasn't possible even though through the time we were there a vacant space was available.

Positives - lovely area, handy for village shops and pubs, and the site could be a gem.

For us though, you can get better sites and service for the same charge. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sparkey1957 2 reviews from this member

 Just got back from this site and I can recommend it unreservedly.

Nice location for touring round the borders and only about an hour from Edinburgh.

Nice flat/level hard standing, but do bring some strong pegs for your awning or you will struggle to tie it down. Wash rooms are large and clean, my only gripe being the showers are on a push tap and knock of after seven seconds. Would love to return here sometime lovely area of the country. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Arcadia 11 reviews from this member

 Great site, clean & cosy facilities with a woodland walk to take the dog on an after dinner stroll.

A 5 min drive or 40 min walk takes you down to Coldingham Bay which has fine sand and great rock pools to keep the kids happy for hours.

Walk along the coastal path from here to sample the award winning fish & chips followed by the even more delicious ice cream in Eyemouth. Well you will have earned it as the walk is around an hour each way.

We will be back! 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: John+Kate 7 reviews from this member

 Clean well laid out site.

Given verbal directions to our pitch - which was large but slightly sloping and in an open area. There was a water point with the hook up which was good. Bins were located close by.

Shower blocks/toilets were clean and warm.

Very limited food available but the bar and entertainment areas were spacious and obviously well maintained.

A short walk into the village and at least a 5/10 min drive to the beach. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Namanga 18 reviews from this member

 Large beautifully kept site.

Third time we have stayed here.

Pitches are large, hard standing and each with a pic-nic bench. Sense of privacy owning to strategically placed hedges and trees.

Wash rooms are immaculate, warm, with plenty of hot water, showers are free and plentiful with lots of hanging space and a chair, even a shelf to put shampoo etc on. Other sites could certainly take a lesson from them.

Great location with pubs and shops within walking distance.

Lovely dog walk down to Coldingham Bay and easy access onto the coastal paths.

Highly recommend. Will def visit again. 


Previous     31 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Coldingham Bay Leisure Park (formerly Crosslaw Caravan Park ) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Coldingham Bay Leisure Park (formerly Crosslaw Caravan Park )?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Coldingham Bay Leisure Park (formerly Crosslaw Caravan Park ) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near St Abbs      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Berwickshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Campervan Show, Peterborough 11/06 to 13/06
Browse new and used motorhomes for sale from a huge range of local and national dealers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3982 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement