Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Coldingham Bay Leisure Park (formerly Crosslaw Caravan Park )

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Berwickshire > St Abbs > Coldingham Bay Leisure Park (formerly Crosslaw Caravan Park ) > Reviews

Coldingham Bay Leisure Park (formerly Crosslaw Caravan Park )
School Road
Coldingham
St Abbs
Berwickshire   (Browse area)
TD14 5NT
Tel: 01890 771316
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/03/2023 to 30/11/2023
           01/03/2024 to 30/11/2024

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 32 Reviews
                8/10 from 32 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  32 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: March 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Grumpy D 3 reviews from this member

 After having this site highly recommended, we decided to travel to Coldingham Bay to check it out.

We were allocated a pitch in the top corner. Not my preferred choice but it was OK. All the pitches (as far as I could tell) had electric, water and waste.

There is a (slightly dated) shower block that dies the job. The elsan is located on the same building.

At the time of writing, there wasn't any entertainment facilities on site as construction on the new building was nearing competition.

The beach is a short 5 minute drive or a long 15 to 20 minute walk.

The Coldingham beach is a popular area for surfers. There is a seasonal cafe on the beach but there is a permanent shop which offers hot and cold drinks and some snacks next to the carpark, just as you approach the beach. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Martin 1 review from this member

 We stayed for one night and there was no hot water in the toilet blocks and my wife said out of the three toilets, two of them was blocked with paper and waste

Other than that it was ok 
via mobile


Date of Visit: November 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Yvonne 1 review from this member

 Our first time in our own campervan.

Everyone was very welcoming and had great advice, so helpful.

Lovely clean facilities,

We will definitely be back again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Johnnys149 2 reviews from this member

 Decent sized pitches, all fully serviced. Some of the pitches are a bit tight to reverse into. I have had to unhitch and push the caravan in once or twice.

Small kids play area in the middle of the touring area.

Coldingham Bay beach is a short drive away. Excellent for days out on a sunny day, and there are lifeguards on duty at busy times.

Onsite club serves snacks.

Eyemouth is close by and has a couple of good restaurants and takeaways. Berwick is around a 20 minute drive along the A1. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Stuart l 90 reviews from this member

 Not really our 'cup of tea' type of site, but was convenient to come and see family at Eyemouth. 50 pitches on the edge of a large static holiday park - but we counted 22 at least as being long term sites. Site was quiet during the week, but filled up on Friday evening.

Facility block at bottom of site with adequate toilets & showers, washing up and elsan disposal. Generally clean although not always fully equipped with toilet rolls!

Static park has a lounge bar which serves some basic food - but not inspiring.

Two pubs in the village = the Anchor was the better of the two.

Eyemouth has small selection of basic shops and is a pleasant little port town. Berwick on Tweed is only 20 minutes drive with much more facilities.

Plenty to explore in the area - but do be prepared to travel.

Would we go again? Yes if necessary - but at 30 a night, we won't be rushing. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kevthewev 1 review from this member

 Site is located on the outskirts of Coldingham and is mainly full of static caravans with the tourers and tents tucked away in a corner field next to the main road. This of course means that you are subject to a lot of road noise as vehicles are either slowing down or speeding up depending upon if they are leaving or entering the village.

The reception is within the clubhouse, which is a sizeable, relatively modern building. The staff were all friendly and we were quickly settled onto our pitch. It wasn't level but that was easily sorted, it is fully serviced but the grey waste is emptied from the caravan into a pipe coming out of the ground so make sure you have a long enough, flexible pipe to shove down it!

Our pitch was very close to the play area which is roughly in the middle of the field, this is also where the rubbish bins are kept. Unfortunately this was a magnet for children of all ages and the noise was ridiculous going on until 11pm most nights, on top of all this one of the swings was badly in need of some grease as it squeaked on every ascent/descent.

The shower block was a couple of minutes walk away and was generally kept clean however one morning in the mens section someone had locked one shower cubicle from the outside and had emptied what looked like half a beach full of sand in the other and the water drain cover was broken too with all the sharp pieces exposed. I complained but was told that it was quite common for the children to use the showers as a play area at night when they were less frequented.

This isn't a quiet, peaceful site so if that is what you are after look elsewhere, but it is in a great area, just a shame that the owners let minor infringements spoil an otherwise good park. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rosegarden 3 reviews from this member

 We have just visited this site, but must say that the road noise was too much to stay for the week. The area is very pleasant and worth the visit but this is more a site for caravans as the noise when they leave the site bar is unavoidable in a tent but not with the insulation of a caravan.

The facilities were clean and tidy but the early hours which they were cleaned was obtrusive as this happened between 7. 00 and 8. 30 am every morning. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Patbill 10 reviews from this member

 Although the weather wasn't good at the beginning of our stay the site was quite pleasant. As we had a fully serviced pitch we used the showers in our caravan as there were only two showers in the facilities. The facilities were clean and tidy. There is a club house where you could go for a drink and entertainment

A short walk from the site took you into the village where there were two pubs, a shop and a bus stop where you could catch a bus to Berwick and local villages. A beach was about 1 mile away and there are coastal walks into Eyemouth or over to St Abbs Head and beyond. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mozchops 1 review from this member

 We chose to stay at the Crosslaw Caravan park, and we're so glad we did. The park is well maintained, with a good sized pitch for our caravan, complete with picnic bench which was a bonus. The toilet facilities were clean and kept locked, but you are given a keyfob to use the toilet block, which in my opinion is a great idea, keeping the facilities for guests to a good standard.

The clubhouse is very welcoming, nice and airy with bar and a pool table and darts area. There is also a small soft play section for the younger children, great for young families. There is plenty to do in the village and St Abbs beach a very short drive or a nice walk away. All in all a really nice relaxing break, and I look forward to coming back again very soon. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Leeds Loiners 7 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 2 nights on a large pitch with picnic table and slab for bbq with hedges giving some shelter and privacy. The tent pitches had electrics which we didn't use. Key fob entry into showers and toilets which were exceptionally clean all day long.

Plenty of hot water and plenty of hooks in shower cubicle to hang clothes along with a shower tidy to put your shower gel etc in. Indoor wash up area and laundry were very good and clean.

All in all a nice site and friendly people. 10. 25 per person per night in September seems quite high but by judging by the loads of statics on well manicured grass it may be that they don't really want tents on site. Beach close by and shops pubs etc close.

St Abbs fishing village is well worth a visit and the food in the old school house is fantastic. 


Previous     32 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Coldingham Bay Leisure Park (formerly Crosslaw Caravan Park ) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Coldingham Bay Leisure Park (formerly Crosslaw Caravan Park )?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Coldingham Bay Leisure Park (formerly Crosslaw Caravan Park ) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near St Abbs      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Berwickshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan Motorhome and Holiday Home Show 01/02 to 04/02
Held in Feb 2024, caravans, motorhomes, campervans, holiday homes, lodges, tents, boats and accessories all in one destination. Find out more!

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5716 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2023


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
2023 Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £200 each PLUS a 2023 Christmas Day Star Prize worth £919

Open Today's Window



Advertisement