Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Drumshademuir Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Angus > Forfar > Drumshademuir Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Drumshademuir Caravan And Camping Park
Roundyhill
Glamis
Forfar
Angus   (Browse area)
DD8 1QT
Tel: 01575 573284
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 29 Reviews
                8/10 from 29 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (16)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  29 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: November 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: HelenMenzies 1 review from this member

Having purchased a newer touring caravan we were looking for storage, when we came across Drumshademuir. You can book your van in for 6 or 12 months we opted for 6 months to start with, turned out to be one of our better ideas. We spent our first weekend here in May, when we called we were told by the owner that he would bring the van out and set it on the pitch for us, great service! All we had to do was wind down the legs, great not having to manoeuvre the van in and out of a tricky storage space.

Facilities on the park are great; showers have plenty of hot water and are always well heated(great in the cooler months), play park is great for our children even an area to play football, walking for the dog in the wood connected to the park also great for the children playing. Laundry and dish washing facilities are available too. No extra charge for showers and no queues.

There is a small shop at reception with various supplies and a restaurant adjacent to the park serving lovely meals.

We have enjoyed the summer so much we have taken a winter season the first one we have tried. You will not be disappointed with the warm welcome you will receive here!

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Hilary C 30 reviews from this member

We were met by a lovely lady with a great sense of humour and told how to get to our pitch and if we needed any help then don't hesitate to ask. A strange site with no definite divide between statics and tourer's but nice and clean and hard standing pitches with electric hook up and a lovely looking children's play park. The toilets were clean but smelt rather like a damp mop and the showers a bit gloomy and off putting. We ate in the Park Tavern which is independently owned, I had a roast dinner and my husband had steak, both meals were very nice and we sat with our tea/coffee in the bar on nice comfy sofa's, they also have a take away menu, the food was also reasonably priced. A good site if you want to visit Glamis Castle as it is inly a 5 minute drive away.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: The Bag 5 reviews from this member

On our way home from a fab weekend at drumshademuir. Only complaint is that 3 nights not enough! Even 2 grumpy teenagers have given it an 8. Toilets and showers clean and piping hot. Warden friendly and welcoming. Wee shop stocked with some basics and the essential ice creams and sweeties that every five year old needs! Play park fab and we were lucky to get a pitch looking on to it, but not too near that we could hear them! Woodland walk at corner of campsite, very peaceful, apparently very early walkers have seen the odd deer. Visited glamis castle grounds only and it was worth the entrance fee. Great local routes for keen cyclists. Good base for audax weekend. Took a pleasant drive to broughty ferry beach for some shells. Disappointed by chip shop at kirriemuir, this didn't spoil our weekend, hope to try the tavern (no noise heard from it) on our return visit.

Date of Visit: November 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Al9600mc 1 review from this member

We just got back from this site tonight after a weekend away. We went up to visit this site as we were looking for a seasonal pitch to put our caravan onto over the winter to get the use of it without towing it, however they had none available but did have storage available and with a phone call to book a pitch the owner will put our caravan onto the pitch for us so all we need do is drive up and pay the nightly rate so we went for that option.

The site itself is as already stated on this website is excellent the toilet block was always clean; the park was tidy as well, however a few lights at night around the park would not go amiss.

The owner was very helpful

Location wise is as already mentioned is good for visiting the surrounding area (Glamis Castle, Forfar, Kirriemuir, )

The Park Tavern, we only had a drink in it, we got talking to the owner and he seemed nice and friendly so will be trying it for food next time.

So looking forward to our next visit soon I hope.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gracol 5 reviews from this member

Lovely site well cared for appears to be kept in top condition. Toilets clean and tidy and more than adequate, but lacks heating and lighting in late afternoon and early morning. Also site lighting lacking somewhat on dark nights. Staff very friendly and well informed. We will be back to sample this delightful site again. Only criticism why the additional charge for a car with a motorhome, feels like a rip off as a car and caravan is not that different from a motorhome and car.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: GPDJP 13 reviews from this member

We read the previous reviews which gave an accurate summary of this site. The young lady on reception was very cheerful and helpful. As mentioned in earlier reviews, the facilities are a bit dated but OK.

The site is ideally located for visiting Glamis Castle which is well worth while.

The site has many statics and what appeared to be seasonal touring caravans. There is an on site bar and restaurant but we did not sample these.

But, oh dear! The site is under new management this year (2012) and the lovely couple who were there before have gone. The new management team seemed, to us, to be much more interested in taking money from you rather than giving friendly customer service. Such a shame. We will not be going back.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Daftlass 3 reviews from this member

Yet again my husband and I returned to this site we cant seem to keep away. We have always found this site to be friendly, clean, well kept all round. We like the idea of a key for the toilet/shower blocks, always plenty of hot water no matter what time of day or night you go to wash pots ect. There is a good laundry area with proper iron and board.

There is a restaurant near the entrance to the site 'park tavern' the food is wonderful and very good value for your money they even do a takeaway menu for those staying on the site, we have always been made welcome even if we have just popped in for a drink.

You can order morning papers and rolls and the reception sells basic essentials but its not far to forfar or kirrimuir for shops or if you want to get away from things go to the angus glens wonderful for walking or just having picnic near river would highly recommend this site.

The only draw back with tents is the traffic noise as you are close to a busy road but we keep going back seem to have got used to the noise of the road.

Children are not permitted in tents only in caravans and tourers

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mr+mrs 4 reviews from this member

We came across this site by accident and were pleasantly surprised. We received a very warm welcome and a good sized pitch for our caravan & awning.

Well maintained site with plenty of hookup points and water & waste access. There is a nice park for the little ones and a short woodland walk marked out.

Although out of town there is the Park Tavern on site which provides a cool beer and a good meal at a reasonable cost and the reception has a small shop which seemed very well equipped and fresh rolls and newspapers are available to order.

I hope we will have many a happy repeat visit.

Date of Visit: March 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Commander7738 1 review from this member

The site is small and the pitches too close together for my personal liking. Most are hard standing and whilst this appears to be the modern way I prefer a nice piece of grass which gets me in the countryside mood. In addition I find it almost impossible to get a peg in for my awning.

The facilities are dated but clean. There are only 2 gents showers in the block which was open, the other block didn't open until the following week. This was fine in March but I would imagine that it gets crowded in high season. There is a nice enclosed wash-up area. Best part is the pub and restaurant next to the site where we had a great evening meal.

The nearby woodland walk is lauded by other reviewers but I found it uninteresting and altogether far too small to justify calling it either a woodland or a walk. It is a circular walk which will take 5-10 minutes to complete. Many rules and regulations posted at the entrance, mostly detailing what you can't do in the 'woodland', to make you feel welcome. I did spot a woodpecker though and enjoyed my few minutes following it with my binoculars. I took them with me specifically to look for it as I had heard it from my caravan.

There is a small children's play area on the site and a putting green.

Kirriemuir is close by. As is Forfar.

Glamis Castle is a wonderful visit.

In short, nothing inspiring about the site but good location.

Date of Visit: January 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: MineIs29ft 3 reviews from this member

Great site with Ian, the owner, helpful during heavy snow and ice. Site ideal for the huge 29ft motorhome we brought and the hook up never tripped even when we used normal household appliances. Lots of signs, don't do this, don't do that - which I guess is for the benefit of all - however felt a little dictatorial. Toilets were superbly clean and the showers the best on our visit across Scotland - however would have been better if the amenity block was heated at this time of year.

Woodland walks were a little restrictive as we brought a Doberman and a short haired lurcher and had to be kept on leads. However going to the woodland past the site we let them off. Be warned however - depending on your choice of canine - our short haired lurcher killed a hare which luckily we only saw [the whole site and woodlands are full of rabbits for info]. Childrens play area is not amazing but this was the winter and we did not expect much as it was base to visit the coast.

I also brought my shotgun as I did some shooting in the Highlands, but firearms are not permitted on site which I could not find in any site T&C's until we got there. Would go back, but not a 'must return' site.

Location is a great base for the Glens.

Previous     29 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Angus

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2876 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019