Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Drumshademuir Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Angus > Forfar > Drumshademuir Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Drumshademuir Caravan And Camping Park
Roundyhill
Glamis
Forfar
Angus   (Browse area)
DD8 1QT
Tel: 01575 573284
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 29 Reviews
                8/10 from 29 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (16)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  29 in total, now showing 21 to 29                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Davsmith 5 reviews from this member

Just had 2 nights at this great site. Toilet and Shower facilities were great, it is nice to go to a site where there is paper towels in the loo to dry your hands on! There is a small playpark where the kids can play ball games, a putting green and a woodland walk which is not too far too walk for little legs. There is a restaurant on site which we ate at one night, food was very good with a good children's menu. All in all would definitely recommend this site and will be going back to it.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: W11buc 2 reviews from this member

Booked to stay two nights and ended up staying the week. This is a great site. Well laid out and in a great location.

The owner Ian, was very helpful and a nice cheery bloke with it.

The park was quiet when we arrived so we had plenty pitches to choose from. The toilet block is very clean.

There is a shop and a wee bar/ restaurant on site so that was a nice option for a change on an evening.

There is a kids playground area and this is the only place they are allowed to play ball games.

It's in a great location for touring around Angus and Perthsire.

I'd go back there again with no hesitation.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JohnandKirst 4 reviews from this member

Designed mainly for static caravans, but provided area for tents nearest the road. This was not too noticeable, but during high season may be annoying.

Facilities provided were good and clean, but the site we were pitched on was a bit marshy and in a dark corner. Benches were provided, but the weather did not permit for their use.

By the rear of the site, there is an enjoyable walk, and we visited Glamis Castle as part of our one night stay. The castle was excellent, and we would highly recommend as the main attraction to this area.

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ProfessorB 8 reviews from this member

Here for 2 nights in May - weather extremely windy - and we found we had chosen an exposed spot. Had problems pitching and keeping the tent pegged down because of extremely strong gusts of wind. Ground also stoney.
Good dog walk as part of the site through small woodland area.
Site almost full and busy including statics but the 2 large toilet/shower blocks were always clean.
Can recommend the food at the Park Tavern - the pub next to the site - little noise from the pub but the site is next to a busy main road and this was very noticeable.

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: VangoMan02 21 reviews from this member

Excellent site in great location, couple of miles from Glamis Castle one way and Kirriemuir the other way. We spent 3 nights here 24th-27th June. Our tent was 6mtrs x 2.4 mtrs and we were given a caravan pitch on grass with 16 amp hookup. We were the only tent there so don't know if same would apply at really busy times. There is plenty space for tents but not all have hookup and are near the main road which is busy during the day but less so later on in the day. Good facilities all close at hand.
Toilets were spotless and there are 2 toilet blocks one close to tent area and other nearer middle of site ,closer for tourers.There are some statics which to be honest you hardly notice and they are all fairly new and well looked after.
There is a woodland walk from the site and several other walks in the area.The site has a small shop for basics and we ordered our paper and rolls for next day.There is a tavern/ restaurant at site entrance where we had a nice bar meal,good size helpings and prices were par for bar food.Lots to do in the area and we will definitely return soon.

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dangerousbryman 14 reviews from this member

A pleasant site within a nice location. The pitches were a wee bit close together but the price is very reasonable, and the toilet blocks clean, though a bit dated. Only two showers in the one block as well so a bit of a wait in the morning, but no real complaints. A small but thoughtfully stocked shop, nice restaurant nearby (independently run) and a fun wee putting green at 40p a go (as many gos as you like). The woodland walk was pleasant too, if a bit small, but the sign as you approach it is a bit severe and warns you not to do anything at all in the woods, don't stray from the path, don't snap tree branches, don't disturb anything, don't let your dog off a lead, don't enjoy yourself. Etc. How can you NOT let your dog off a lead in the woods?
Kirriemuir, the Birthplace of J.M. Barrie is a couple of miles up the road. There are plenty of wee local shops but a noticeable lack of any decent supermarket if you needed to stock up. The Chinese takeaway at the top of the hill on the right just as you come into the town is superb and very friendly.
Overall, a good site, but if you like to walk your dog in the woods without choking it on a lead you'll need to get into the car to go somewhere else.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Whitewing 4 reviews from this member

We stopped here for a couple of nights in our tent on our tour around Scotland on our motorbike. It was a very friendly site, lovely facilities and perfect food in the restaurant next door.
 
It was really clean and tidy with a children's play area which all the children seemed to stick to.

Reviewer: Tom Taylor 1 review from this member

Various dates
All of the above revue is correct. My wife Sheila & I have been going there for a few years now. Being no longer able to tow, We were glad to use the storage facilities. It costs us £129.25 inc. VAT for a year. This includes our van being sited when required & stored away again at the end of our visit. Ideal also for family members who do not tow. There is also an option for permanent siting.
Price on application. The restaurant is leased by a restauranteur and provides excellent food at an amazing price. Like the site itself, booking is recommended. There are also excellent Hotel meals to be had nearby.
Nothing is too much trouble for Ian & Pat.

Reviewer: Alison+family 6 reviews from this member

February 2004
Very friendly site, and very busy, as it is one of very few open all year in the area. The two toilet blocks are clean and warm in winter. The play area is safe and well maintained. The shop stock is limited, but may have more in the summer. It does have things like tent pegs and other spares which could be handy.
There is a pub/restaurant on-site, which we didn't visit and is also used by locals. The menu looked good and reasonably priced, and they supplied meals as takeaway, if you wish.
There is a woodland walk in part of the site and very nice views. Glen Prosen and Glen Clova are beautiful drives just north of the pretty village of Kirriemuir (2 miles from site). Kirriemuir is where JM Barrie, who wrote Peter Pan, grew up. You can visit his home there, as well as several other museums.

Previous     29 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 29     Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Angus

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4903 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019