Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Veryan Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Truro > Veryan Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Veryan Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Tretheake
Veryan
Truro
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR2 5PP
Tel: 01872 501658
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 145
Open: 01/04/2021 to 28/09/2021
           01/04/2022 to 28/09/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 32 Reviews
                8/10 from 32 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  32 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mirabelle 37 reviews from this member

 Lovely quiet site, well maintained and secure. Although kept clean the toilet/shower block was a bit tired and could do with an overall, I noticed peeling paint and mould on the ceiling in one of the showers. Friendly staff and lovely owner's home made pasties delivered(best ones we had!), chip van came on Thursday. Nearest shop was the Londis at the garage up the road, or drive to Tesco at Truro or Asda/Tesco at St Austall. Ideal for gorgeous dog friendly beaches and exploring southern Cornwall. We'll be back! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nwragg 4 reviews from this member

 The best Camping and Caravan Club site we've ever stayed on as a family - and we've stayed on quite a few now.

Spacious, well laid out pitches, providing a nice view of the open grassed area in the centre of the the site. No regular row upon row of uniform pitches here but a pleasant variety giving a more informal, less regimental feel to the place.

A nice welcome from the many staff on hand and a choice of pitch location offered even with our stay included the bank holiday weekend.

Facilities were spotless and well maintained. Plenty of showers available and lots of hot water even on the Bank Holiday Sunday when the site was very full.

Nice location with a lovely beach just a short bike ride away - although the steep hills on the coast line did make it a little harder to ride back to the site.

All in all a perfect family holiday. Would we stay again.

Yes! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 6mantent 11 reviews from this member

 Excellent club site, much typical of the standard offered by most of not all of the Camping & Caravanning Club.

The site itself is located about 10 minutes drive from the coast - Carne Beach and a beach with good parking near Caerhays Castle. Beware be prepared to navigate the very narrow roads. A good OS and a competent navigator in the passenger seat are very useful - don't rely on GPS ! Some pitches are slightly sloping with plenty of space on site, plus a fishing lake.

I trekked to Truro for a couple of larger food and 'refreshment' stops, however this should only be attempted maybe once for a typical stay. Due to the topography and rivers in the area you will spend 2 hours of your holiday travelling there and back as well as the shopping. There are Londis supermarkets in Treyvan and also at a garage nearby the site - however bear in mind the opening hours are limited and they can run low on things like chicken, bread and the like in peak season (as I experienced). The site itself does stock a limited range of items such as eggs and milk, but this is very limited too, .

A fish and chip van visits the site on Thursday night. Get there early in the queue (7. 30pm) as the wait is long even for someone who arrives just after 7. 30 (I waited 1hr 20m). The chips are fried but are from prep'd potatoes in plastic bags, but the cod is dipped in batter and fried on site. The second Thursday we were there, they ran out of everything but chips in the first hour disappointing a few campers ! I feel sorry for the owners as this spoiled a night for a few residents but it was no fault of the site.

Washrooms are always clean and never crowded. Inspected on a regular basis they are closed between 2-3pm. The showers are push button and if anything are a little too warm on a nice August summers day ! Would be lovely in spring and autumn!

The site owners are always helpful, and run a very tight ship.

Would recommend St Mawes, Mevagissey, Eden Project and local beaches (but note roads and parking!).

Playground on site - kids are sure to make friends - just watch the 9. 30 playground curfew :) 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dubdogs 147 reviews from this member

 Stayed for three nights whilst walking parts of the coast path.

A really peaceful site with very clean and tidy facilities and the staff were friendly. There is plenty of open space for pitching and a field for giving the dogs a quick stroll before bed.

The only slight downside is the two local pubs aren't really a convenient walking distance. You can walk but it's a long way if you only fancy a quick pint!

Other than that I really enjoyed the stay and will return again hopefully later in the year. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Zinzan74 13 reviews from this member

 Great site, so good we stayed longer than we planned.

Toilet block and shower block were spotless every time I/family visited.

The site although on a slight slope was ideal for us and the kids. Great play area with slide and swings, and plenty of open space for the kids to play. The games room and tv room were also great for the kids.

The shop was to be fair basic, but had the typical milk, bread and eggs, and of course ice cream. The pasties were great too.

The site was spotless and peaceful at all times.

The one downside was the lake, although there were signs stating that children shouldn't enter, it was to easy for the kids to get to the side of the lake - this is just as much our fault for not keeping an eye on them, but still worth warning others.

The laundry room and wash up area were also great, particularly the use of the large washing line.

Overall, one of the best sites, I've visited in the UK. We'll be back. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Gingawarrior 82 reviews from this member

 Sometimes I have issues with Camping and Caravanning Club sites, they are often a bit ‘rulesy’, regimented and prosaic, however, Veryan bucked this trend and I really liked the site.

The welcome was very friendly, so great start, pleasantly maintained site and quite large and in no way was it set out in regimented lines making you think you were in an army camp. We met a friend who was already there, and when we decided to move it was no problem.

Being in Cornwall it wasn’t particularly flat and we therefore, had to pitch on a bit of a slope, but we were close to the facilities which were excellent, very clean and ample for what is quite a large site. There is a decent sized washing up area under cover and there is a TV/games room, that while a little dated served its purpose.

The surrounding countryside is very pleasant and rural, with the coast being a good mile away and out of site. There is however, very little close to the site, a petrol station about 1. 5 miles away being the closest, meaning to spend any time here you would need the use of a vehicle.

We were walking the Coast Path and this site is ok for that, but as I said it is quite a long way from the coast and the walk to and from is quite tough, which isn’t really something you want before or after a days coastal path walking. The coast path in this area is fairly tough, particularly the stretch between Portloe and Mevagissey, I found it one of the harder sections, maybe because it was at the end of weeks walking and because it was quite hot.

In conclusion, Veryan is a very good, well established site that I could quite happily stay at again if the need arose, however, simply because of its remote location and lack of anything nearby I probably won’t. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Campingcaz 28 reviews from this member

 This is a great campsite. Loads of green space in the centre of main field with generous pitches set around. No overcrowding so typical of non C&CC sites.

Excellent facilities that have been modernised and a games/TV room which was great for wet weather or when the Olympics were on.

Internet access (charged). Staff are very friendly and helpful. There is a shop on site and a bigger one at garage nearby.

The area is also very good with coastal paths and walks from the campsite. Highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ct955 50 reviews from this member

 Spent a fantastic week here on hardstanding with EHU. A very good reception, everything explained and given a choice of pitch. The wardens were all very helpful and friendly.

A medium sized site with usual C&CC rules. Very tidy and clean facilities. There were extra showers to side of block. We never had to queue.

TV room and small games room with pool and table tennis. Site shop sells basics but plenty of shopping in area if you use car. Also lots of places to visit for all age groups within an hours drive.

Pub in Veryan does excellent food but suggest you book a table as it is quite small. (new inn) Small outdoor play area for kids. Dog walk through large tent field. Would definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Scallytaylor 2 reviews from this member

 The Caravan and Camping Club for me let us down. They advertised an offer of 30% off, which we couldn't take advantage of because of their opening hours and a 48hour policy. Will say the guy on desk at actual campsite was very nice though.

The site is quite, spacious but very expensive for what's on offer if your not a member of the club.

The showers were excellent in the toilet block. Cant comment on the others as did not use.

Although there cleaning in the toilets of the ladies was not as good as I've seen elsewhere. Not sure whether to blame that on campers with their rug-rats wiping faeces on the toilets walls or the cleaner for not noticing it for the 4 days I was there.

Their shop was not very good if I'm honest no bread and no butter/spread, but the garage up the road is 5 minutes in the car, be careful as not 24hours.

The tv room and pool room was a nice touch though.

Nothing to do with the site but in and around the area. Bus service terrible. We decided to have a trip to truro on the bus rather than the car so we could have a meal and a few drinks (have done this many times from the north coast to all of bigger towns with no problems)bus driver very unhelpful not a good advert for your area. And last bus is around 6ish in the evening. We had to get a bus to the nearest village it stopped and get a cab back not long after 8. 30.

Oh also the gates shut at 11 on the site so don't be late he he.

Nearest pub in Veryan village is also over priced and food is only fair. But worse the hooray Henry's gafawing all night is enough to turn your beer sour.

Finally we found at least 3 better sites within 5 and 10 miles away.

On a positive note best thing about this site is it's peaceful. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: StixJimbo 8 reviews from this member

 What a gem of a site!

We arrived mid afternoon to a very warm welcome and a short notice telephone request of pitch change was absolutely no problem for the wardens.

The site is situated in a quiet area of Cornwall and there was hardly any noise for the length of our stay (4 days).

The facilities were spotless, and warm in the mornings, and whilst the site wasn't too busy there were no problems with queueing for showers etc.

The site is situated in a great location for visiting various parts of Cornwall (as already stated in other reviews) and as I say it is very quiet at night.

The pub in Veryan village does fantastic food but it is advisable to book as they don't have masses of tables.

All in all a great site and we will go there again. 


Previous     32 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Veryan Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Veryan Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Truro      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3236 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement