Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Veryan Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Truro > Veryan Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Veryan Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Tretheake
Veryan
Truro
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR2 5PP
Tel: 01872 501658
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 145
Open: 01/04/2021 to 28/09/2021
           01/04/2022 to 28/09/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 32 Reviews
                8/10 from 32 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  32 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Brian Carr 3 reviews from this member

 This site is the usual C & CC fayre. The toilets, showers & washing areas were kept to an immaculate standard. The laundry room has 3 washing machines & 2 dryers. Close to the amenity block is a games room & a TV room, (I can't comment on these as I never used them). There is also a kiddies play area on the main field with swings, slide etc.

The shop sold the basic items, however, there's a garage with a supermarket attached about a mile from the site where you can get all the usual items.

They now have a cabin which sells hot sandwiches in the mornings, a chip van which calls on a Mon evening & a curry night on Saturdays.

On the whole I found this to be a very well run site, the amenities were kept to a very high standard & you are pretty close to the coast with its excellent beaches. Falmouth, Truro & St Mawes are about half an hour away by car, so in conclusion I would think this site has everything for both young & old. 


Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: 1_man_+_his_dob(lo) 34 reviews from this member

 Spent 1 night here in late October just as the first cold snap arrived. Not good when you're not on EHU (mind you, low season standard pitches were only about 6) and your Campingaz bottle doesn't work in the low temperatures!

Fortunately the shower/toilet block was nice and warm first thing in the morning. Plenty of showers and toilets (though some were closed), with a small washing-up area and laundry room with one washing machine and tumble dryer. There is also a TV room which apparently has mobile/3G coverage, though the only place I found with a good enough signal was the information room next to reception.

A long way to carry my laptop from where I pitched up, on the (overflow) field at the bottom of the site. Plenty of room but finding a level spot that was also dry was tricky.

A lot of the hard-standing pitches seemed to be taken up by empty caravans, presumably on seasonal rates, so most of the people actually staying overnight were on standard pitches and it was pretty quiet.

Recycling bins are near the entrance and the reception block has a small shop. The staff were friendly and helpful. Beyond the bottom of the site there is a fishing lake.

Travelling eastbound from The Lizard, the site was not far from a stop at Truro and I was at the Eden Project by mid-morning the next day. My overnight stop did not allow me to explore the area much but it did appear that places of interest required at least 2 wheels to reach them. I am planning on returning. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Henshawcapes 13 reviews from this member

 Veryan is a nice site in a great location. We visited during the school summer holidays and the site was full. We had a great holiday and had a quiet pitch down near the fishing lake. However, the facilities struggle to cope when full, in our opinion.

Plus points:

The site has plenty of trees and hedges to give it character

The top field is very versatile as it was used as a cricket / football pitch and kite flying field. It is also the designated dog walking field and all dog owners appeared to be responsible and use the bins. My wife and I also used it to run around instead of braving the narrow lanes!

There is a fantastic footpath off the site that takes you to Portloe which is a quaint fishing village with a great pub (huge portions and sensibly priced) and tea room

There are some fantastic beaches Towan is our favourite although Porthluney is a close second

St Mawes is a lovely place to walk round and catch the ferry to Falmouth. Although carry a life jacket or oar to fit in!

The local garage has a well stocked supermarket and a cash machine the one in Portscatho is often empty!

Wardens were very friendly and unobtrusive

The play area is well maintained although only suitable for younger children

Recycling facilities are very good although they were all by the entrance which resulted in a few long walks to drop it all off. Other big sites have numerous refuge / recycling areas?

Negatives:

The toilet block felt tired and can not cope with a full site cubicles were often full with people queuing for showers and toilets

The washing area is very cramped with only 6 sinks which is ridiculous for such a big site. You ended up washing each other's cups and saucers as they inevitably end up falling into the adjacent sink

There was only one washing machine and tumble drier which was comical there were bundles of washing in a queue and with our inclement weather, they need more to cope

The shop was very sparse only basic supplies stocked

They evidently have an issue with the septic tanks we could regularly smell them

There is a large fishing lake at the bottom of the site parents be aware

The road does not do a full loop around the site therefore, when it rained, the mud at the lower end of the site became really bad and a camper van ended up getting stuck until we pushed it out

There is no fresh bread or fish man visiting which we have experienced with other local sites

Do not try walking to Veryan by road as a previous post had mentioned we found the traffic went too fast and steep hedges do not give room to safely get off the road

Would we go back? If quiet, we would but as we are governed by school holidays, probably not. We have booked the private site 5 miles down the St Mawes road for next year!

Veryan is another example of how the C+CC caters for their customers who can visit out of school holidays! We have to cope with higher prices and facilities that can not cope. 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gazmister123 32 reviews from this member

 Veryan is an excellent site, There are lots of beaches (most doggy friendly) all within about 10 minutes drive,

You can walk to Veryan village where there is a pub (closed from 3pm-6pm) and a little shop however there is no proper path and you walk next to the road, we did not find this a problem even with 3 dogs and a baby in a baby carrier on my back.

Its about a 20 minute drive to truro and about 15 minutes to to the pretty village of ST Mawes where you can get a boat, (with discount coupons off from the sit office) to Falmouth, (Probably cheaper than driving round)

There is a Tesco in Truro and an Asda and a Tesco in St Austell (about half an hour) Nearest local shop (Londis) is about 3 miles away at the Petrol station when you turn off main road to go towards site.

Mevagissey is also not that far, great place.

Site itself is quite spacious, Great toilet block, it even has a TV Room and a little games room with a ping pong table in, Big dog walking field although you can't let the dogs off.

Facilities are the usual excellent club standard

We absolutely loved it and are hoping to go back next year. (Just finding a break to fit it in!) 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Peteandval 1 review from this member

 Arrived on site on a wet day. The staff gave us a warm welcome and showed us to our pitch in the top field. The entrance and field were pretty muddy, but we got down to the business of setting up our tent.

We told the staff that we were due to be married during our stay and they seemed pleased. However, to our surprise when we returned to our tent after the wedding, there were banners and a bottle of bubbly inside the tent from all of the staff.

The staff are a lovely bunch and the site was kept in pristine condition, the loos being very clean. My only criticism is that there was only 1 washing machine in the laundry and there were constant queues making it nearly impossible to plan washing.

The staff made time to chat with us and were very helpful. My new wife and I would definitely return to Veryan and would like to thank everyone who works there 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Digger07 5 reviews from this member

 Arrived and found that even though we had booked we were put on the overflow field. Told it would be quiet then found that they put a group of teenagers next to us.

Very muddy and the entrance to the field cut up badly meaning that anyone leaving the pitch for the day could not get back with their car. Nothing was done about it and no help from staff while we were there.

ALL toilets closed while cleaning and they were at least 300m from our pitch. Shop shut most of the day. Many days saw 3 or more units waiting at the entrance.

Overall not a good experience, we have resigned from CCC as a result as tents do not seem to be welcome at many of their sites. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Riocx 3 reviews from this member

 A large busy site - very well maintained with lovely shower blocks. The shop was useful for bread & milk, and the staff were very organised & efficient.

It rained loads while we were there so the laundry was a problem. One washing machine & one tumble dryer couldn't keep pace with demand, especially as the tumble dryer wasn't very reliable.

Some great pubs/villages/beaches within easy distance and the footpaths were well maintained. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Geeljay 11 reviews from this member

 We went with all 3. Tourer/awning, trailer tent and large family tent. We arrived after 17 lovely sunny days, to a misty wet site. Wardens were cheerful, friendly and they managed to locate all of us in close proximity, with electrics and all. Plenty of space between, 6 metre plus.
Good toilet/shower block. The local village has a nice family friendly pub, and quite a good post office / store. Limited shop on site, with milk, bread news etc. Swings for the kids, and table tennis / pool room, which was kept good and tidy.
Carne beach not far, good parking, with toilets, and nice for the family. We also visited St Mawes, easy access to Truro (markets) or St Austell.
Enjoyed our week, in spite of the rain. 


Date of Visit: October 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Achilles 3 reviews from this member

 I have camped here twice on both occasions for several nights. Once in a solo tent and the second time in a small camper van with my family. Both were out of peak period so there was plenty of room. This a very well kept site the loos and showers are amongst the best I have seen - including some hotels I have stayed in. There is an overflow field for busy periods. Hard standing is available but the whole site is generally level.

The site shop is very limited but there is a well stocked garage type shop -20 -25 mins walk away (15 min run if you are late for the bus it does stop there if you wave it down!) The bus takes you into St Mawes and it is a lovely days walk back to the site along the coast path from there. There is a fish and chip van on site at least once a week ( although it failed to turn up the night I was relying on it!)

Some good pubs locally - the one in Tregony about 5 10 mins away by car takes dogs, does good basic food and seems to have more locals than tourists 


Date of Visit: August 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jek3 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed on this site for nearly two weeks. Disappointed when we arrived to be put on overflow tent field rather than the main well-groomed area. The main site seemed to be kept solely for vans or other wanting electric hookup. The advantage of the field we were in was that it was less crowded (the main area was pretty packed in) and it was adjacent to the games field which was good for children, however it was pretty rough (definitely 'a field'), sloped a fair bit, had electricity poles crossing part of it and there wasn't much privacy.

The wardens were friendly enough but didn't chat a lot, though I suppose they were very busy at that time of year. The shop in reception was poorly stocked apart from basics - it ran out of sweets for children for example in first week and wasn't restocked which seemed silly in school holidays. Also they stuck very much to their limited opening hours and were shut between 10.30am and, I think, 4.30 pm and then again from 6.30pm so no mid afternoon or after-dinner icecreams.

Toilets & showers were clean, given how busy the site was, but there were queues for the showers and often the washing cubicles every morning. Site not as isolated as it looks on the map so some traffic noise on site during the day but some great beaches within easy drive and overall a reasonable base for exploring the Roseland Peninsula and further afield in Cornwall.  


Previous     32 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Veryan Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Veryan Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Truro      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2526 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement