Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Veryan Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Truro > Veryan Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Veryan Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Tretheake
Veryan
Truro
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR2 5PP
Tel: 01872 501658
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 145
Open: 01/04 to 03/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 30 Reviews
                8/10 from 30 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  30 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Pillsley 24 reviews from this member

This is a lovely site with everything you could need. We were on a pitch, as requested, near the facilities block and it was just a little crowded for my taste, but there were loads of pitches which would have easily met my standards of isolation so they don't lose a star for it.

The grounds are exceedingly well kept and the facilities block was immaculate. I didn't check out the disabled loo as I don't currently need it but I'm sure it's as good as the rest of the site. There were loads of dogs there and they all seemed to have a good time as well as the humans.

The only quibble I have is that the water in the taps in the ladies was VERY hot so children should be supervised.

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 12 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Dug1911 7 reviews from this member

There nothing much more to say about this site WiFi is now free

The fish and chip van serves terrific fish and chips cooked to order

All the staff smile all the time and have taken to calling me by name which is nice makes you feel youíre not just another tourist

Shop stocks the oh Iíve run out things but is never intended to be a serious weekly shop

The site is clean mown tidy and above all quiet with just the sheep in the next field to listen to

I recommend this site for relaxation if you want night life donít come here but if you want a chilled holiday then this is for you

Places of interest are very near I recommend Cornish birds of prey 15 or so miles away @ winnern perch

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Amos86 5 reviews from this member

What a fantastic site! We stayed here for a week at the beginning of August and had a fantastic time. The staff are awesome - helpful, friendly, knowledgeable and take great care of the site. Facilities are fab: plenty of really clean toilets and showers, good amount of sinks for washing up, washer and dryer, recreation room (we didn't use but saw many people in there), information room with lots about the local area. There is a fish and chip van that stops on Thurs (I think!) and pizza on Mondays. The site itself is tidy and pitches are pretty flat. We stayed on the half grass/half hardstanding and loved being in the middle of the grassy area at the heart of the site. It felt like a real communal place and everyone abided by the rules of the site. It is based well for exploring the south west coast and much of West Cornwall. We went to Lizard Point which was a particular highlight. Places to visit include: Lost Gardens of Helion, Lands End (quite a journey due to traffic!), St Mawes and Truro is lovely for a little wander. Plenty of shops nearby, we used the Tesco in Truro for ease. We would highly recommend this site to all people!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Matt+Jane 3 reviews from this member

This was our first time on a c&cc site and we weren't disappointed!

The park was immaculate as you would expect. We were greeted upon arrival by a cheery warden who walked us around the available pitches. We had chosen a grass pitch with electric. The grass pitches are not marked and as long as you are 6m away from your neighbour (they pace it out for you) then that's fine. The toilet &shower block were spotless and didn't get crowded.

The site facilities are basic. There are no pools or bar etc. There is a rec room with table tennis and pool table and a tv room which our kids found ample enough.

As we went in half term there were a lot of kids around and ours ( 10, 8 and 4) found plenty of friends to play with.

There are a couple of dog friendly beaches nearby, both national trust with plenty of rock pools at low tide as well as plenty of walks.

There is a petrol station nearby which has a decent shop although a bit pricey.

All in all a great site which we would return to again.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fran1000 12 reviews from this member

The site has 2 fields: the main field has hard standings, EHU etc and, where grassed, is mostly sloping. It's surrounded by trees and has small groups of mature trees for shade. The 'back field' is level, surrounded by mature mixed trees, and non-EHU. There is a 3rd field that is the dog walk, this is accessed through the back field. We stayed in the back field, which was sheltered and quiet.

The whole site is very well maintained, grass cut regularly, very clean and tidy. Very quiet, and no man-made noise at night at all.

Toilets and showers are all in one block, immaculately clean and well maintained. Even the hand driers are very efficient. Ladies has 6 or 8 cubicles with basins, 2 showers and ten toilets. There is a separate section with another 5 or so showers, this has its own entrance. Never any hint of a queue, and Mr Fran says the provision for men was the same. All free, and although the showers are the sort where you press a button every couple of minutes to keep the water flowing, this wasn't a problem and the pressure was good. There's also a full wetroom for people with mobility problems and a family bathroom near reception.

Washing up facilities were excellent, 8 big sinks, all under cover, and there are laundry facilities too (£3. 50 for a load of washing, not sure about the cost of the driers).

For kids, there are swings and a slide near reception and a mown area in the centre of the dog field for ball games. The dog field is left quite wild, with wide mown paths along the edges and one across the middle for walking the dog. While we were there, dog owners were very respectful of the play area and kept their dogs off it. There's also a tv lounge and a games room with pool and table tennis tables.

Numerous poo bins were emptied at least twice during our 9 day stay.

Site shop is basic and not open long, but there is a very good Spar type shop at the petrol station on the main road just a couple of miles away. The staff will order newspapers on request, and a fish and chip van calls one or 2 nights a week.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, and there was no sense of them acting like bossy park-keepers.

There are lots of lovely beaches (Carne, Pendower and Porthcurnick are favourites and doog-friendly) nearby, a couple of great pubs (the Ship at Portloe and the Plume of Feathers at Portscatho) that are both dog-friendly and do excellent food. Also great pasties from the deli at Portscatho! Loads to do and see: the maritime museum at Falmouth, Eden Project, Heligan, boat trips on the Fal and lovely coastal towns and villages to visit.

The site may be interesting for those who love birds. There were lots of birds I couldn't identify, but we saw loads of swifts, chaffinches, bullfinches and loads more. Heard but not seen were owls and a spotted woodpecker.

For us (CCC members who qualify for the age discount) the site was great value at £10. 50 per night.

My only slight criticism is that there's nowhere within easy walking distance to shop or eat, but then that's the price you pay for being somewhere so tranquil. A village with a pub near enough to walk to would have made this a solid 10.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MOWWD 6 reviews from this member

This a a very nice site. The C+CC describe it as gently sloping but I would say it's a bit more than that, however I got a pitch that wasn't too bad. Had a good bit of rain a couple of days but the site seemed to remain well drained. Facilities block was clean and tidy. Six showers for the ladies but probably at least a dozen loos and wash cubicles so no waiting at this time of year. I didn't investigate the fishing lake but the playing field with the dog walk around the perimeter was very large. Shop on site with small amount of supplies although Truro not far where there is a Sainsburys and Tesco. Truro is a pain to get through though in rush hour so avoid then. Plenty to do and visit in area and a good beach within a few minutes drive (down narrow lane).

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Betty Wrexham 2 reviews from this member

We stayed at your caravan site the site was very well keptand the staff very pleasant and helpful. I wanted to go fishing on the lake for an hour or so was told it was £6 50 a day.

The lake was full of weeds so if you cought a fish you'd have a job to land it, as a member of your club this fishing should be free or just a nominal fee of about £2.

Kind Regards

Ron Hughes

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nick Renn 5 reviews from this member

On a warm sunny day in September we turned into the site and were greeted by a mass of hydrangeas and as I wondered quite what we'd booked into there was a thud in the pit of my stomach. But beyond the gate it was obvious that this is a well-run pretty site. Friendly people checked my in at the shop and we were show all of the available pitches with EHU's and chose the one in the sunniest position.

The shower blocks were in good condition, spotless and were cleaned every morning when they were closed between 10. 45 and 12. 00. There was also a club house, but we never prevailed on this facility.

We paid for WiFi which was either 2. 00 per day for up to 500 mb of 10. 00 per week for the same daily down load. But the service was very intermittent and left us wondering how they could change for such an unreliable signal.

Others have said about the distance to food shops and we do agree but that was easily accommodated when we were out and about.

The only real note of caution is that in our eagerness to pitch out of the shade of the trees, we didn't notice that we ended up on the highest point of the site, which seemed fundamental on reflection. As the wind picked up I was glad that Penrose Outdoors in Truro had a stock of extra guy lines. My advice would be to pitch either in the field dedicated to tents, which may only have one or two EHUs, or go down to the bottom of the slope by the trees.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mirabelle 37 reviews from this member

Lovely quiet site, well maintained and secure. Although kept clean the toilet/shower block was a bit tired and could do with an overall, I noticed peeling paint and mould on the ceiling in one of the showers. Friendly staff and lovely owner's home made pasties delivered(best ones we had!), chip van came on Thursday. Nearest shop was the Londis at the garage up the road, or drive to Tesco at Truro or Asda/Tesco at St Austall. Ideal for gorgeous dog friendly beaches and exploring southern Cornwall. We'll be back!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nwragg 2 reviews from this member

The best Camping and Caravan Club site we've ever stayed on as a family - and we've stayed on quite a few now.

Spacious, well laid out pitches, providing a nice view of the open grassed area in the centre of the the site. No regular row upon row of uniform pitches here but a pleasant variety giving a more informal, less regimental feel to the place.

A nice welcome from the many staff on hand and a choice of pitch location offered even with our stay included the bank holiday weekend.

Facilities were spotless and well maintained. Plenty of showers available and lots of hot water even on the Bank Holiday Sunday when the site was very full.

Nice location with a lovely beach just a short bike ride away - although the steep hills on the coast line did make it a little harder to ride back to the site.

All in all a perfect family holiday. Would we stay again.

Yes!

Previous     30 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Truro      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3733 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019