Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Eden Valley Holidays

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Penrith > Eden Valley Holidays Reviews

Eden Valley Holidays
Newby End Farm
Newby
Penrith
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA10 3EX
Tel: 01931 714 338
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 12
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 27 Reviews
                9/10 from 27 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <10 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Effnboots 16 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site over Easter and found it to be lovely and quiet and clean. We set up next to a delightful stream and were given a very warm welcome by the owners and other people on the site (who were regulars in statics). Facilities clean, just 2 loos and 2 showers (for both men and women) but great hot powerful shower. I really placed to visit rest of Eden valley.

Pleasant walk into Morland along stream. A walk up to High Cup Nick is a must too. Very dog friendly area.

Would definitely use the site again. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sixpurplemoons 1 review from this member

 I'm a bit reluctant to leave a review as it was lovely and quiet even on a bank holiday and it would be nice if it stayed that way but we thought the facilities were excellent and the campsite is in a great location for the lakes while being reasonably priced.

The stream running past is charming, the showers although in an old building were lovely and warm and rarely occupied as there were two for a small site. Two of our dogs are young and can be a bit over-enthusiastic but they were made very welcome, there is a footpath off the rally field where they can let off steam if there is no livestock in the field.

We were in the rally field which I think other reviewers have found a bit out of the way but for us it was ideal, for most of the week we had it to ourselves. There's a tap at the field gate and it's right next to the other field. The other field was full of regular customers who obviously keep their vans there and it may seem a bit exclusive but that's to be expected, everyone was very friendly. The children loved our dogs. I've put 8/10 for child friendliness as I think there could have been access to the stream and a set of swings or something but that didn't affect us. There is a lane in between the farm and camping field but it's very small, overall the site is very compact.

A lovely site, well done, Lindsay. 


Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Locator 4 reviews from this member

 Booked at short notice via email. Fast and efficient response. Postcode covers the whole parish, so the directions are really useful. The small site is across the road from the farmhouse, but the 'road' probably has 1 car an hour if you are lucky, so not the M1.

The facilities aren't all in one place, the toilets are in a different building from the shower, but they are very close by. The plus for us was the quietness and the free WiFi so I could plan the next travels. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sparraventure 1 review from this member

 This is our second visit to this delightful site. It is quiet and secluded. We have 4 kids and they absolutely love it. We spent a week here this time. For the kids, there is plenty of space to run, ride and play. We had a few family come up with us and again everybody thought it a very good site.

All of the facilities are superbly clean, the hot water is pleantyful (and free) and the wifi is great.

There is loads to do in the local area and even further afield. This site is a fab base for us and we will definitely be coming back! 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Wilko124 38 reviews from this member

 We came upon this caravan site while looking for a different one just wanted somewhere for the night. The site is lovely and quiet you han hear the river but cannot see it unless you go on the road. The site is a bit of a mixture the toilets are across the road as is the elsan disposal

The shower is in the old pig pen looked ok but cannot comment as didn't use good little campsite we will call again if in the area 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: IanMartin1960 4 reviews from this member

 This site is tucked away in a very quiet location, a small site but never the less well kept, clean and run by very friendly and helpful owners David and Jenny. The shower block is an old pig pen so I am told, but don't let that mental image put you off as the 2 in number shower stalls are very clean, water hot and no having to put 20 or 50 pence pieces in like you get at some sites. The toilet block is across the road in the main farm house annex, again these were very clean and well kept. The local vilage of Morland has a lovely cafe and pub opposite so food and drink are catered for, just a good walk along the stream to the village (short cut) or a short drive around the roads instead. This is an excellent location as a base from which to explore the Lakes. In summary, a nice dog friendly site, small and with basic facilities but definitely recommended. No shop on site but a local guy calls round with fresh eggs for sale at a very cheap price. No play park or anything for kids unless they can amuse themselves playing in the stream or adjacent field. We had excellent digital TV reception but mobile phone signal was poor. There is free WIFI though which worked brilliantly so we could Skype talk instead where the mobiles wouldn't work. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Siandali 5 reviews from this member

 We arrived Saturday early afternoon. No problem finding our pitch, map at reception with list of pitches with your name, on great idea we thought, as nobody was available, it was Easter.

Great flat and well drained pitch, foot paths through gate at end of site(great site for dogs), open spaces for the kids to play very clean well kept site,

Showers hot and powerful. Enjoyed our 3 night stay will be visiting again.

Check out the chippy in shap fish, cumberland sausage and home made chicken nuggets recommend. Bulls head has some good beers too.

Looking forward to our next visit. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Janfold 5 reviews from this member

 I stayed on this site last week of June this year. What a delight.

Excellent points:-

The owners could not be more helpful. I asked for the remotest of sites because of my dogs and was given exactly that. They run an electric extension out for me too. The site is nice and level and well secluded and has adjoining foot paths that take you from a 2 mile loop out to the Pennine way. This site has everything for the nature lover, babbling brook, badgers, birds, wildlife. The shower block is basic and warm with free hot showers. There is also a wash up area here too. All nice and clean and tidy. The site is well mown and the grass cuttings removed so you don't trample the cuttings into the caravan. I paid for 1 adult and electric which was very reasonable considering I had an awning and enclosure for the dogs too. A short drive takes you to the nearest supermarket and Carlisle is only 9 miles distant with everything you need. The recycling on site is impressive and green issues are encouraged. The annex to the farmhouse holds lots of literature on the surrounding area and washing machine facilities and toilets. A plan on the window tells you your pitch when you arrive.

Could be better points:

The shower block is located in the first field. This field is solely for permanent caravans, not statics though. The elsan disposal point is behind the main farm buildings and is some distance carrying the cassette, I put mine in the back of the car and drove it up there. The toilet facilities if you need them are in the annex of the main farm house the other side of the road. I used my caravan for those facilities. The entrance into the field is a bit tight if you have never been before you have to swing out very wide to get in off the road.

All in all I really enjoyed this site. I was on my own (54 woman and 3 dogs) but felt very safe and knew if I had a problem Jenny or David would certainly help. This is the type of remote un spoilt site I love. If your looking for up to the minute facilities, lots of activities, things for children to do, this may not be the site for you, but for those of us who love nature and peace and quiet. Its a BIG YES 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: David McCrudden 5 reviews from this member

 The site is split into 2 parts, the first field is full of seasonal vans permanently sited, the second one for tourers and tents with 8 10A hook ups. For 6 nights we were the only people on site, which was fortunate in a way.

There are only 2 showers on site both in the same building, which also has a sink for washing up, and for other hygiene uses eg shaving or just washing which means that there is not much privacy. There are 2 toilets within the main building, with another sink and a washing machine which costs 2, quite reasonable.

The site has good recycling facilities within the barn. The site is not really suitable for children as there are no facilities for them. There is a good range of literature about the surrounding area.

The nearest pub is at Morland a 2 minute drive or 10 minutes walk across the fields, also at Morland is a cafe with a small shop.

The owner could not been more helpful lending me a mast for my aerial. All in all a good quiet relaxing site, although a bit remote. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Lou Mid 8 reviews from this member

 This is our second visit to this peaceful site on a very quite country lane, with lots of great walks around. The facilities are basic but always clean and the showers are hot and powerful.

Arrived late Fri evening and was going to picth our awning Sat afternoon, but arrived back from Penrith market on Sat to find a caravan pitched so close there wasn't room, so could do with some pitch markers.

There is a great pub about 4 miles away called The Eden Vale Inn at Bolton, good food at a good price. Abbott Lodge Jersey ice cream at Clifton is also well worth a visit. 


Previous     27 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Eden Valley Holidays child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Eden Valley Holidays?  There is a shop within 10 miles  View all facilities

Is Eden Valley Holidays dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Penrith      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3013 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement