Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Glen Wyllin Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Isle of Man > Kirk Michael > Glen Wyllin Campsite Reviews

Glen Wyllin Campsite
Main Road
Kirk Michael
Isle of Man   (Browse area)
IM6 1AL
Tel: 07624 330360  or  01624 878231
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 90
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 25 Reviews
                7/10 from 25 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   Wild Swimming 1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  25 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Holmese 1 review from this member

We (myself, husband, 2 children age 2 and 5) have just returned from visiting this site. It is set in a beautiful Glen with a stream running through and a waterfall.

Its road running through the centre ends at golden beach. We were really lucky with the weather and on the most part enjoyed our stay,

The negative things that stick out however are

1. the midgies, trees and stream = lots of bites!
2. Twice the loos were out of paper
3. the loos weren't particularly clean.
4. the showers were far too hot for my 2 year old.
5. the embankment down to the flat part of bottom field is very steep and very slippery when wet with morning dew ( I slipped and hurt my shoulder)

All in all wouldn't use this site again.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: M+MGalliers 19 reviews from this member

Good points:-

Near beach and near village with shop, pub (The Mitre) and Post Office.

Sheltered site surrounded by trees and with a stream going through the site. Several separate fields in which to pitch, either side of the lane. Flat fields, and there is a fantastic tent pitch overlooking the sea (already taken when we got there!)

Plenty of loos and free, hot showers.

Small shop on site that sells basic refreshments and has seating outside. Friendly service.

Childrens play park on site, but you can pitch away from this if you don't want to be near it.

Bad points:-

Showers, loos and kitchen area were not very clean

Site is situated either side of a public lane which goes to beach. Therefore, people use it for dog walking, or going to the beach. Some people drive through with surfing gear etc and park at the end of the lane near one of the tent fields

The field we pitched in had some large boggy patches

You can't drive your car onto the tent field nearest the beach and you have to park it at side of public lane.

Shop not well stocked (eg didn't sell milk!)

Limited menu in Mitre pub and no food on a Sun or Mon evening.

We stayed one night and this was our least favourite of the three sites we used.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Paddyandchris 10 reviews from this member

We stayed at Glen Wyllin campsite for 10 nights over the TT period. We selected the site via this website and the reports already shown. As we are not early risers, so we also needed a site which was not shut-off when the roads are closed for racing and practice. So on paper, this site seemed to fit our requirements. We were not disappointed at all.

We arrived by motorbike and trailer-tent. We had pre-booked with (hook-up) and were shown to our pitch. The site is split into a few areas – not all in one big field, and the part we were in was well sheltered by hills and trees, but still allowed sunshine throughout the day. The ground was quite level and tent-pegs went in easily.

The site is well equipped with adequate water and waste points. There is an on-site shop with most basic equipment (although not gas). Over the TT period there was also a mobile van doing bacon butties in the morning and baked potatoes in the evening.

The on-site toilets and showers are basic but clean, well maintained and there were no queues at the times we needed them. The showers were always hot and powerful and the loo-roll holders were nearly always full.

The site also seemed to have many I.O.M. Residents visiting – a sign that his site is preferred by the ‘locals’. There was one issue with late night noise but this was dealt with very efficiently by the site and without a bad atmosphere.

Both the beach and the TT circuit are within five minutes walking distance, and ‘The Mitre’ pub is just ten minutes walk away. The pub has traditional ales and good meals. There is also occasional live music. The village shop has an extensive selection of groceries, etc. Apart from the racing, the Isle of Man has tremendous history, with its own government and laws. A good selection of castles, museums and other attractions are available.

Would we use this site again?? Most definitely!

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Matthewdhudson 2 reviews from this member

Being a virgin camper, I decided to take my 3 year old son camping while we were on holiday for a week in the isle.

I choose this site because it was the closest, and it had been recommended to me by some friends who have been before.

We went on the Monday morning, and it seemed quite busy so I would imagine booking would be essential for weekends.

The site had plenty of flat pitches, which were at the side of a stream which me and my son had great fun walking through from our pitch, to the waterfall further up the campsite.

The beach was a very short walk from out tent, when we arrived the tide was in and the waves looked quite menacing, but later that day, when the tide had gone out it exposed a huge pebble/sandy beach which was great for walking and exploring.

There are also woodland paths that lead up the hillside close to the tents which was another place to explore.

The large children's playground was very welcome and was great for my son to play in when I was washing the pots or using the toilet as it is right next to the facilities.

As we were only staying one night, I didn't use the showers but the toilets seemed clean enough(as long as your not expecting 5* but I wouldn't think you would be camping if you were!)

The room at the back of the shop has a sink, a fridge and a freezer which was essential to keep our sausages in for breakfast the next day!

There was also a room with a dryer and washing machine but we didn't use these. There was also a tv room which we never went in to.

All in all this seemed like a very good campsite, with plenty of places to explore. The facilities were more than adequate and although I did see a bit of rubbish lying around, the site overall was clean.

The shop sold the bare essentials, and plenty of kids toys, which I suppose is there way of making money because my sons eyes lit up when we walked in there!

I would go back again, but as I am new to camping I had nothing to compare it to.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Janeao 1 review from this member

The glen is really lovely. What they don't tell you is your on a public road with the world and their wife driving, walking cycling past at all times of the day. The bins were hardly every emptied and no drinking water, do remember to take your own

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stolt Bikers 1 review from this member

Glen Wyllin Campsite is one of the best I have ever stayed at.

I took a party of 9 Bikers there for the TT in 2008 (from various parts of Europe and the UK) and all found it ideal for not only watching the TT racing, but also as a good central base for exploring the Islands many attractions.

The facilities were of a good standard with 90% of the pitches being ideally located and bike friendly.

Showers and toilets are sufficient in number and clean, parking is plentiful and even during the TT fortnight, the site is quiet of an evening.

We found that Pam and John gave us a friendly receiption on arrival and ensured that everything was ok throughout our stay.

Shop facilities are minimal but since you are on an Island, it is only a short distance to get to any of the numerous stores.

With all of the above in mind, my wife, myself and friends from Germany have already booked for June 2009.

Keep up the good work and don't let the local forestry commission restrict it's use.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Camper12350 1 review from this member

The site is in a nice location, set in a glen with a river running through the centre. The campsite leads down to the sea and is very nice for a relaxing stroll along the beach at dusk.

We stayed here during August 2008 during the Manx GP. The site was fairly water logged (we had heavy rain the week before in all fairness) but we almost got stuck one night with our car.

The toilets and showers could be better although the showers are hot and where never busy when I used them (early and late). Good washing up facilities in a room in behind the shop.

The warden wasn't welcoming at all. I felt that I was causing hassle by just paying to stay for 5 nights!

Avoid the tumble dryer as this is expensive and next to useless.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Kevin hawkins 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from this campsite and sorry to say that we were sorely disappointed. Admittedly the weather didn't help matters.

We found the toilets old and shabby and not very clean (even the sanitary bins in the ladies toilets were overflowing). We were there four days before the rubbish bin outside our campervan was emptied. I must admit that things did improve when the warden changed and at that point both bins were emptied and the toilets were cleaner. It was only then that I decided that the showers were now clean enough to use.

To say they have a shop is an overstatement. There was hardly anything in it!

There was a general store, a butchers and a Post Office in the village and a pub in the other direction. However, the pub didn't do meals on either the Sunday or the Monday and a local resident advised us not to go there anyway as the meals weren't very good.

On the plus side, there is a supermarket in Peel which is six miles away which is fairly well stocked and there is a Tesco in Douglas just behind the steam railway station. We also found that Marks & Spencer in Douglas had a food hall, which was nice for a treat.

Back to the site - the best pitches were used by the site's own tents. Only about a third of the site has electric hook ups and some are not very flat. Due to the poor weather the ground got very muddy and no attempt was made to make it any better. Although the toilet block was in the centre of the campsite, it seemed to be a long walk away from any of the fields - especially in the rain.

The warden who was on duty at the beginning of our stay wasn't very helpful. He didn't seem to have much local knowledge of the island.

We would only use this site again for an overnight stop and feel we couldn't recommend it.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: GSXtrekker 1 review from this member

Just got home from one of the friendliest sites I have visited.

The site wardens, (Pam and John), do an amazing job. They are there to greet you in the early hours and still there past midnight cleaning toilets and showers, (still having time to chat to everyone and ask about their day).

The facilities are by far the best on the Island, (having tried at least 5 others in previous years). Showers are hot and free and, (see above) clean as a whistle.

The shop is well stocked with campers essentials, plus the obligatory ice creams and souveniers, all at very reasonable prices. In fact, the hot drinks are the cheapest I found.

This is a MUST visit campsite.

Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Garvey2003 3 reviews from this member

Lovely location and very easy to find.

Pam and John looked after myself and the three other bikers staying before the TT.

Well equipped, couple of minutes from local pub and shop (open till 8.30), a couple of minutes walk to the sea and coffee on tap at a resonable price. Service for a campsite is second to none!

I would HIGHLY recommend staying here and look forward to going back and staying at the site once again.

Thank you for the loan of the kids airbed too. :)

Previous     25 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle of Man

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3253 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019