Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Glen Wyllin Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Isle of Man > Kirk Michael > Glen Wyllin Campsite Reviews

Glen Wyllin Campsite
Main Road
Kirk Michael
Isle of Man   (Browse area)
IM6 1AL
Tel: 07624 330360  or  01624 878231
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 90
Open: 01/04/2021 to 30/09/2021
           01/04/2022 to 30/09/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 28 Reviews
                6/10 from 28 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  28 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Jimbobagins1980 1 review from this member

 What a magical place. The staff were brilliant and I found the site very clean and the toilets were to donít know what standards these other people want but for a campsite toilet and showers I thought the were bang on.

They were cleaned twice a day Some times 3 when me and my 3 children stayed and the team down there couldnít do enough for us they were amazing nothing was a problem.

Also there was always one of them on site so even if the shop was closed they would come down and open it for us

Highly highly recommend this place 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bodie1 2 reviews from this member

 Horrendous site, do not believe the photos on the website! It is more like Steptoeís yard. Abandoned caravans with broken furniture and windbreaks everywhere.

No one on reception to inform us of codes for elsan or toilet or showers, or even the gate to get out! We paid for a week, escaped after 2 nights.

Toilet block is a disgrace, unusable due to being blocked, if you can actually find someone to give you the code to get in!

Worst site Iíve ever been to. Spoke with other campers who were equally appalled. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: ChartersCR 1 review from this member

 I wish I had seen these reviews as I would never have booked the site it is a very different site from the one we stayed on a few years ago.

While the setting of the site is lovely the hygiene is awful in 1 week the toilets and shower got cleaned once, and not well, it was so bad I purchased and used my own cleaner and a mat in the shower so I wasn't standing on the floor.

I walked in the laundry room and straight back out I would not have put my clothes in the washing machine and the smell was awful.

My partner said the men's shower and toilet as bad it really put a damper on our stay.

The pitches are big but no privacy and we had got settled then asked to move we spent the last two days of our stay getting glared at by the regular stayers our van hit by balls and bikes rode over our pitch! In short DONT STAY HERE! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Roadtrippers8 1 review from this member

 Fabulous location for tents & campers, level grass pitches for tents & secure gated field for campers with EHU & water points & some permanent caravans on site.

Beach & Glen all within a few minutes of walking from site.

Friendly wardens but they don't live on site yet it state on IOM tourist page "a First Aid room with qualified First Aider" on site? We didn't use the laundry or shop. This site has huge potential to be amazing but is let down by the poor condition of the toilet block that was cleaned only once during our visit & the shower block which wasn't cleaned at all. A family of black leech like worms were all creeping on the shower cubicle and the floor was dirty. Yet, on the IOM tourist website it stated "The toilet and shower block has been completely refurbished" hence our booking. We are well traveled campers and these facilities in our opinion are very basic and in need of refurbishing! then cleaned every day. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Camper98 1 review from this member

 We thought the camp site was beautiful. The staff were lovely. The only problem we had was the toilet and shower area.

The lady's toilets were not clean the 3 days we were there, there was bugs in the disabled toilet sink that didn't move for our stay, there was no hand soap for 2 days and the hand dryer was broken and one of the locks had broken on the toilet door.

Other than the toilets we found our stay to be peaceful and pleasant for the children 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: IOM local 1 review from this member

 Just stayed for 4 nights at Glen Willan Campsite. The location is great especially a short walk to the beach and local facilities. My concerns were the Toilet block and Showers they were awful. Only cleaned once in our 4 day stay and the bins near our tent was not emptied once so the rubbish spilled over so this attracted Seagulls and Vermin. The Toilet block needs a complete revamp. Location brilliant. Just one thing you could look along the lines of Ballaugh Campsite Facilities spotless and a Communal room for Wifi and plugging in Chargers and Fridge freezers for storing meat etc. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lance Malton 1 review from this member

 This was our first Trip to the Isle of Man, the camp site is kept really nice, but the showers could do with a make over.

The Managers who run this site are very friendly and welcoming.

A very biker friendly site.

Thank you for our pleasant stay.

Lance Malton 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Barwise1 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed for three nights in a tent and enjoyed it very much. We pitched down the Glen towards the sea and it was very peaceful. The weather wasn't too good, but it's a sheltered site. The amenities are more than adequate with plenty of hot water for washing and washing-up. The showers are good, too. Please be aware that cars are parked on the roadway and cannot get to the pitch, so everything has to be carried to the tent. Also, you can't connect a light to the car battery, because it's too far. Good job we took a free-standing one as well. My sons and I are already planning a second visit next year. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bowr1 1 review from this member

 I have stayed at glen wyillin for the last ten years. I have always enjoyed the stay. This year the wardens cara an chris were really good, nothing was too much trouble. Get back late they would make you brew same in the morning. They opened the shop early. Can't failt both of them. Chris up and cleaning toilets and showers 7ish. Very clean at all times. 10 out of 10 for the warden this year. Just hope that they are back next year. All the best to cara &chris. Graham curry man. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Norfolk an Good TT 1 review from this member

 Just spent the weekend at Glen Wyllin. Found them by pure luck while hunting for a place to stay on the Island at the last minute

The family that run the camp were really friendly, pleasant and helpful

The site is clean and kept very tidy, regular bin cleaning etc

The toilets and showers were clean and presentable, the water in the showers was great, not cold!

They gave us lots of info about local routes, taxis etc. I didn't even know the lane led to a beach, we were over for the bikes!

The tent was a 6 man with living area and all the cooking gear and lights were supplied

They also charge your phones if you can't do it in your tent, a small donation to RNLI (Optional) is all that is suggested in return

If we are back next year this will be where I will be looking for, really pleased with how it turned out! 


Previous     28 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Glen Wyllin Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Glen Wyllin Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Glen Wyllin Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kirk Michael      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle of Man

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3127 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement