Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Glen Wyllin Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Isle of Man > Site Reviews

Glen Wyllin Campsite
Main Road
Kirk Michael
Isle of Man   (Browse area)
IM6 1AL
Tel: 07624 330360  or  01624 878231
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 90
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 25 Reviews
                7/10 from 25 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   Wild Swimming 1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  25 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Roadtrippers8 1 review from this member

Fabulous location for tents & campers, level grass pitches for tents & secure gated field for campers with EHU & water points & some permanent caravans on site.

Beach & Glen all within a few minutes of walking from site.

Friendly wardens but they don't live on site yet it state on IOM tourist page "a First Aid room with qualified First Aider" on site? We didn't use the laundry or shop. This site has huge potential to be amazing but is let down by the poor condition of the toilet block that was cleaned only once during our visit & the shower block which wasn't cleaned at all. A family of black leech like worms were all creeping on the shower cubicle and the floor was dirty. Yet, on the IOM tourist website it stated "The toilet and shower block has been completely refurbished" hence our booking. We are well traveled campers and these facilities in our opinion are very basic and in need of refurbishing! then cleaned every day.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Camper98 1 review from this member

We thought the camp site was beautiful. the staff were lovely. the only problem we had was the toilet and shower area. The lady's toilets were not clean the 3 days we were there, there was bugs in the disabled toilet sink that didn't move for our stay, there was no hand soap for 2 days and the hand dryer was broken and one of the locks had broken on the toilet door. Other than the toilets we found our stay to be peaceful and pleasant for the children

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: IOM local 1 review from this member

Just stayed for 4 nights at Glen Willan Campsite. The location is great especially a short walk to the beach and local facilities. My concerns were the Toilet block and Showers they were awful. Only cleaned once in our 4 day stay and the bins near our tent was not emptied once so the rubbish spilled over so this attracted Seagulls and Vermin. The Toilet block needs a complete revamp. Location brilliant. Just one thing you could look along the lines of Ballaugh Campsite Facilities spotless and a Communal room for Wifi and plugging in Chargers and Fridge freezers for storing meat etc.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lance Malton 1 review from this member

This was our first Trip to the Isle of Man, the camp site is kept really nice, but the showers could do with a make over.

The Managers who run this site are very friendly and welcoming.

A very biker friendly site.

Thank you for our pleasant stay.

Lance Malton

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Barwise1 3 reviews from this member

We stayed for three nights in a tent and enjoyed it very much. We pitched down the Glen towards the sea and it was very peaceful. The weather wasn't too good, but it's a sheltered site. The amenities are more than adequate with plenty of hot water for washing and washing-up. The showers are good, too. Please be aware that cars are parked on the roadway and cannot get to the pitch, so everything has to be carried to the tent. Also, you can't connect a light to the car battery, because it's too far. Good job we took a free-standing one as well. My sons and I are already planning a second visit next year.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bowr1 1 review from this member

I have stayed at glen wyillin for the last ten years. I have always enjoyed the stay. This year the wardens cara an chris were really good, nothing was too much trouble. Get back late they would make you brew same in the morning. They opened the shop early. Can't failt both of them. Chris up and cleaning toilets and showers 7ish. Very clean at all times. 10 out of 10 for the warden this year. Just hope that they are back next year. All the best to cara &chris. Graham curry man.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Norfolk an Good TT 1 review from this member

Just spent the weekend at Glen Wyllin. Found them by pure luck while hunting for a place to stay on the Island at the last minute

The family that run the camp were really friendly, pleasant and helpful

The site is clean and kept very tidy, regular bin cleaning etc

The toilets and showers were clean and presentable, the water in the showers was great, not cold!

They gave us lots of info about local routes, taxis etc. I didn't even know the lane led to a beach, we were over for the bikes!

The tent was a 6 man with living area and all the cooking gear and lights were supplied

They also charge your phones if you can't do it in your tent, a small donation to RNLI (Optional) is all that is suggested in return

If we are back next year this will be where I will be looking for, really pleased with how it turned out!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Willowsa72 2 reviews from this member

My husband, myself and son stayed here with friends. We booked ahead and I ask for details about accessibility. I am disabled and a wheelchair user. I am also mobile with crutches. I was advised there was a disabled toilet and requested a pitch as near to he facilities as possible. Upon arrival we were advised it was extremely busy and we were given pitches in a quieter position, however this meant we were further away from the facilities. This campsite is in a lovely position however the biggest let down was he toilet facilities. They were very old and absolutely filthy. I was very reluctant to let my son use the toilets. The floors were soaking wet and therefore I had no choice but to use my wheelchair. This was very difficult as the entrance into the toilets was very tight and I had to have assistance to get in and out. The toilets facilities were not cleaned at all during our stay and were so bad you would not even want to brush your teeth there. The next morning they were full of empty beer cans and the the disabled toilet was really disgusting. Therefore although the position of the site is great, because of the disgusting facilities we would not camp here again.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Malane 4 reviews from this member

We stayed at Glen Wyllin for two nights at the begining of September. The campsite is in a beautiful location with a stream flowing through the middle of the site to the beach. There is also a nice little play park which the children enjoyed and a small shop on site which was very convenient. However we were very dismayed about the state of the shower/ toilet block. Bluntly put it was revolting! On the door of the ladies toilets there was a sheet that was to be signed and dated by the staff when they cleaned it. On our arrival they had not been cleaned for three days and they still had not been cleaned when we left two days later!

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Whiskywhiskymac 10 reviews from this member

We mainly wild camped or used our two small backpacking tents whilst walking the Raad ny Foillan Isle of Man Coastal, however when we got to Kirk Michael we were wet, cold and tired. So rather than hunker down in the rain we decided to splash out and hire one of the static family tents at Glen Wyllin - at 55. 00 a bit steep for two people. However on the plus side we were dry, warm and the unit come with a cooker, the gas and all utensils - and you gain some comfort.

The site is in a lovely setting - although the midges were present in July (another good reason to be in the larger tent). The valley runs down to a beautiful sandy beach, there is a stream and waterfalls.

However the site and facilities were extremely disappointing. The wash blocks were filthy - and remained so for most of our stay. Two of the toilets were blocked - one was the disabled cubicle. I would not have entertained taking a person in a wheel chair into it. The showers needed a good hose down and also needed to be cleared of all the empty bottles and detritus that littered the floor.

The rubbish bins were overflowing, the laundry room was a disgrace, the shop was very lacking in supplies. All in all the site was a shambles - and it wasn't even busy.

If you want to stay in a fabulous site try the one at Laxey - staff and management at Glen Wyllin should go and stay there to see how a camp ground should be run.

Previous     25 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle of Man

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3464 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019