Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Glen Wyllin Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Isle of Man > Kirk Michael > Glen Wyllin Campsite Reviews

Glen Wyllin Campsite
Main Road
Kirk Michael
Isle of Man   (Browse area)
IM6 1AL
Tel: 07624 330360  or  01624 878231
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 90
Open: 01/04/2021 to 30/09/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 28 Reviews
                6/10 from 28 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  28 in total, now showing 21 to 28                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Kevin hawkins 3 reviews from this member

 Just returned from this campsite and sorry to say that we were sorely disappointed. Admittedly the weather didn't help matters.

We found the toilets old and shabby and not very clean (even the sanitary bins in the ladies toilets were overflowing). We were there four days before the rubbish bin outside our campervan was emptied. I must admit that things did improve when the warden changed and at that point both bins were emptied and the toilets were cleaner. It was only then that I decided that the showers were now clean enough to use.

To say they have a shop is an overstatement. There was hardly anything in it!

There was a general store, a butchers and a Post Office in the village and a pub in the other direction. However, the pub didn't do meals on either the Sunday or the Monday and a local resident advised us not to go there anyway as the meals weren't very good.

On the plus side, there is a supermarket in Peel which is six miles away which is fairly well stocked and there is a Tesco in Douglas just behind the steam railway station. We also found that Marks & Spencer in Douglas had a food hall, which was nice for a treat.

Back to the site - the best pitches were used by the site's own tents. Only about a third of the site has electric hook ups and some are not very flat. Due to the poor weather the ground got very muddy and no attempt was made to make it any better. Although the toilet block was in the centre of the campsite, it seemed to be a long walk away from any of the fields - especially in the rain.

The warden who was on duty at the beginning of our stay wasn't very helpful. He didn't seem to have much local knowledge of the island.

We would only use this site again for an overnight stop and feel we couldn't recommend it. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: GSXtrekker 1 review from this member

 Just got home from one of the friendliest sites I have visited.

The site wardens, (Pam and John), do an amazing job. They are there to greet you in the early hours and still there past midnight cleaning toilets and showers, (still having time to chat to everyone and ask about their day).

The facilities are by far the best on the Island, (having tried at least 5 others in previous years). Showers are hot and free and, (see above) clean as a whistle.

The shop is well stocked with campers essentials, plus the obligatory ice creams and souveniers, all at very reasonable prices. In fact, the hot drinks are the cheapest I found.

This is a MUST visit campsite. 


Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Garvey2003 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely location and very easy to find.

Pam and John looked after myself and the three other bikers staying before the TT.

Well equipped, couple of minutes from local pub and shop (open till 8.30), a couple of minutes walk to the sea and coffee on tap at a resonable price. Service for a campsite is second to none!

I would HIGHLY recommend staying here and look forward to going back and staying at the site once again.

Thank you for the loan of the kids airbed too. :) 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bluekittymisty 2 reviews from this member

 We were recommended this campsite by family who live in Douglas. We love camping and stayed in one of the site own tents. The location is fantastic ideal for exploring the island and we used it only as a base.

The camp warden was very friendly and my kids loved playing in the small stream that ran through the site down to a beautiful beach. Camp has everything you need and being experience campers I loved the shower block was code access so that only campers could use them.
The only downside I had was the tents being up for so long we had earwigs and I got a nasty nip

I would use this site again and recommend it especially if you want to see if camping is for you without wasting your money on all the gear.

The campsite is very quiet at night we stayed during the castletown 100 and there was a few bikers on site but they were very friendly telling us where to go to see the best action of the racin,g which we did one afternoon by taking the steam railway to castletown and home again from Douglas. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Ardotcom2 2 reviews from this member

 Nice location with flat camping areas (which they should be as I'm told they were Bowling Greens in a fomer life).
 
Site is in a lovely area and you can walk through the site and down to the beach which has no restrictions for dog walking.  On the way down to the beach there is a picnic area.
 
At the time of our visit the site was relatively quiet with only an influx of local people arriving to spend the weekend at their permanently sited motorhomes.
 
Staff were friendly and extremely helpful and accommodating.  There's a small shop on site for basics plus hot drinks and ices.  There's a designated play area for children opposite it.  Facilities were good, with a 'washing up' area, small laundry room, toilet blocks and separate shower blocks including hair dryers.  Our only criticism was that the showers felt a little on the cool side to us, but we do like "hot" showers.  Having said that, they were not "cold" and they did the job.
 
You can walk the old railway line which is situated near the site.
 
We liked the site and will be booking again for 2008.  

Advertisement

Reviewer: Fleck 2 reviews from this member

 August 2004
Very friendly and helpful warden team. Gleaned lots of information about the island and the weather! Facilities good despite very full campsite, Manx GP week. Beautiful situation but the downside is you might miss out on some sun because of tall trees and steep sides to glen. Pub up the road, reasonable. We had a great cycling holiday using Glen Wyllin as base and using the designated cycle trails available from Tourist Info (free). We all want to win the lottery and open a tea shop on the island, definite shortage for tired cyclists. Met Norman Wisdom on first day and nearly ran over 6' blonde policewoman wearing pvc uniform as we left the ferry. Great island, sorry to be back home with all the traffic and noise... 


Reviewer: SUZY HOLT 2 reviews from this member

 July 2004
We have recently returned from two weeks on this site.It is a lovely setting in a wooded valley close to a long sandy beach. The shower block is luxurious (considering some others we've been to).There are laundry facilities and access to fridge, freezer and microwave. But if there's a good weather forecast it gets absolutely mobbed. There isn't much notice taken of the 6m rule, we ended up with another tent inches from our tent door! However it is an excellent site with good access to the island. There is a good pub, child friendly, excellent menu five minutes away. 


Reviewer: Theclampits 4 reviews from this member

 June 2004
Having visited this site during our annual pilgrimage to the TT races, we were not expecting total peace and quiet! Having said that, this site is probably one of the most pleasant sites we have ever stayed at. Nestling in the Glen this site is clean, tidy, beautiful and friendly and at only £9 per night for two adults and a car, it is very reasonable. The site is run during the summer by a husband and wife warden team, yet we booked direct with the Commissioners via a very efficient online service during the winter months.

There are all the usual amenities, toilet block, showers, laundry etc and there is also a kitchen and TV room - all of which were immaculately kept. The site has a small shop (although I didn't check out the stock as I went prepared and a mobile take away that served decent "chippy" food that you could eat at the picnic tables along the trickling stream.

Steeped in history, there was once a railway that ran crossways to the site and now provides a great level path for walking or cycling, this enabled us to get to loads of parts of the TT course on our pushbikes with ease. Magnificent.

Play area for the kids, access to the lovely sandy beach (5mins walk) we reckon this is a haven where only the birds will wake you up.

We can't wait to have our family holiday there next year and have already booked for TT. 


Previous     28 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 28     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Glen Wyllin Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Glen Wyllin Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Glen Wyllin Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kirk Michael      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle of Man

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4901 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement