Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Virginia Lake Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Cambridgeshire > Kings Lynn > Virginia Lake Caravan Park Reviews

Virginia Lake Caravan Park
Smeeth Road
St Johns Fen End
Wisbech
Kings Lynn
Cambridgeshire   (Browse area)
PE14 8JF
Tel: 01945 430167  or  07919 810603
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 45 Reviews
                9/10 from 45 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (19)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  45 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KathleenC 3 reviews from this member

 This truly is a fantastic site, really friendly helpful staff, the boys loved the fishing and as newcomers to fishing welcomed the advise from the staff. The amenities are spotless, the club reasonably priced with great entertainment and well stocked bar!the dog walk area is great, the scenery is lovely with lots of wildlife, Can't wait to go back this year. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Karanxszia 3 reviews from this member

 We have stayed here several times this year. It's a great site, with very good facilities. The owners can't do enough to help you, they are such lovely people. There's a great fishing lake for those that like to fish. They can also arrange clay pigeon shooting (off site). The bar is open Thurs-Sat (may be open extra nights over bank holidays) and offers good beer and food. Sometimes there's also entertainment.

Just so that you are aware, the further half of the site is for seasonal pitches. There are a few seasonal pitches on the touring side of the site, but they are not a problem in any way, and you shouldn't be put off by this.

The site is easy to get to, and is in easy reach of Wisbech and Kings Lynn.

Will be be going back? You bet we will. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tripletdad 1 review from this member

 This was our first caravan outing.

We picked this site due to location and the fishing.

The staff were so helpful and friendly the stay was great brilliant facilities always clean and tidy.

The best part for myself and my son was the fishing !

It was the best lake we have ever fished and the fish were top quality that's down to the excellent fishery management. Cant wait to return hopefully later this year 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Rosiehome 1 review from this member

 Visited Virginia Lake this weekend and have to say it is one of the nicest sites we have stayed on so far. We visited with a motorhome and had plenty of space to put up the awning. Louise and Andy made you feel very welcome. The toilet and shower facilities are very clean and the showers are free. We ate in the clubhouse on Saturday night and the food was fantastic and very good value for money. If you like to fish then the lake is superb and even if you are a beginner you will not be disappointed, we caught at least 10 to 15 carp between us in two hours, between the thunderstorms. Clay pigeon shooting is also arranged on site. This is a very nice campsite, with good facilities and is set in very pleasant surroundings. We will be going back very soon. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sarahns 3 reviews from this member

 Had a great 4 days at this site, very friendly and and welcoming owners.

Very well stocked lake with large fish which was great, it kept my eight year old interested and busy for most of the weekend, his biggest catch was 10lb, we had a couple of nice peaceful days sat around it.

Toilets, showers and facilities were lovely and very clean, plenty of room in the shower cubicles and nice hot water.

Nice little shop on site which sold a bit of everything, catered from fisherman's needs to basic bits of grocery's.

The Clubhouse had a nice friendly welcoming atmosphere, the weekend we stayed it had an artist on one evening, bingo and a disco on other evenings, my eight year old thought it was fab, he got to play pool and darts, it also serves reasonable meals which were delicious and would definitely recommend.

We visited King's Lynn and Wisbech during our stay both nice towns with plenty of shops and supermarkets and didn't find it hard finding somewhere to park our motorhome which was an added bonus.

Overall view, loved the site and would recommend it, for us it was worth the four hour drive to get there, can't wait for another long weekend to go back. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Madammedusa 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for a long weekend and the site is lovely with excellent toilets and shower blocks.

The shop is mainly stocked up for fisherman although there is a small amount of basics i. E. Tea, coffee, loo roll etc.

We had a meal in the clubhouse on Friday night and the food was fabulous and very reasonable too.My only negative was, as we had enjoyed our meal so much we had decided to go back for tea on Sunday night only to eventually find out it was not going to be opened! There was not even a note in the window, we sat outside for 45 mins until another camper came over and told us it was not opening. We were not the only one hoping to eat in there that night. Being a Sunday night the nearby pubs were closed or not doing food but we did find a very good chippy near by! Overall I would recommend this site. But if you are planning to use the clubhouse make sure it will be open Fri, Sat and Sun as advertised. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vario600 8 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 3 nights in April, friendly reception on arrival from site owner and allowed to pitch our 3 tents where we wanted, good level grass area which drained well in heavy rain !

Very clean toilet and showers amongst the best we've experienced, site is well lit at night and very peaceful with no road noise, well sheltered from wind with surrounding tree's.

Good clubhouse with a good choice of beer's and food and open at weekends, the only downside for us was that we were planning to eat there on the Sunday evening and after waiting for it to open we were told by another camper that the owner was not opening tonight as it was not busy enough !would not have been a problem but there is very little open in the vicinity on a Sunday evening to either shop or go to to eat in.

Overall a good site and facilities but if planning to eat at the clubhouse you might want to check it is opening ! 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chrisnpete 3 reviews from this member

 What can I say, this is an excellent site for all ages. The owners are helpful, friendly and we liked the site so much we have now pitched our caravan there permanently.

The facilities are first class and very clean. There is fishing for those who fancy it and the Clay pigeon shooting is a must. Andy is an excellent teacher and even helped me choose a shotgun of my own. I have the bug now.

There is a club/pub on site, with excellent food at the weekend, and Bingo!

I can't recommend this site enough, nothing is too much trouble for the owners and everyone on site is so friendly.

Definitely worth a visit. You will be back that's for sure. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Zegalin 1 review from this member

 We have just got back from a thoroughly enjoyable break at the Virginia Lake Campsite, From the very beginning we were made to feel very welcome and comfortable by all the owners and the staff.

We were allowed to select our EHU pitch for our huge tent and two cars. Pitching area is level; grass is well kept; very pretty area with lots of trees and shelter. There seem to be quite a few seasonal pitches and everyone seem to be very quiet and respectful - no traffic noise and a chorus of birds to wake you in the morning.

Plenty of excellent toilet facilities with hand dryers, soap and toilet tissue. Showers are free with heating - lots of hot water with real taps - not timed button and very clean.

Washing up area has two washing machines and lots of hot water for the dishes.

The clubhouse, which is open on weekend evening only, has a warm very friendly atmosphere with a very well stocked bar and lots of machines with two pool tables and darts. The food is absolutely first class and is very reasonably priced - We decided not to bother with our BBQ because the food was so much better with no washing up ! A definite plus for me! We played Bingo on Saturday night which was great fun. There were a selection of second hand books on sale for 50p each - very handy as I’d left mine at home!

The highlight of the stay for my son was the clay pigeon shooting on Sunday morning which was very reasonably priced and great fun - he says this was the highlight of his year … Big thanks to Andy for his guidance.

Although we didn’t do any fishing I believe the lake is very well stocked with good sized and healthy fish.

There is a small camp shop which sells the very basics - no perishables and lots of fishing supplies. There is a Chippy about 3 miles up the road and a small off licence about 2 miles away.

There is no playground for the children so you will need to take something for their entertainment. Plenty of nearly places to visit - we spent a lovely afternoon out at the Butterfly and Wildlife Park which is near Kings Lynn about 10 miles away. There are lots of leaflets in the office listing the local attractions.

There was a nice dog walk which we tried out - even though we don't have a dog the girls enjoyed the walk.

In summary, Virginia Lake is perfect for a relaxing break with very friendly people, who are always around to help you. We, like many others on the site, will definitely be going back for another visit.  


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Johnjory 124 reviews from this member

 Very happy to agree with previous complimentary reviews.

Pitching area is level; well mown; attractively landscaped with mature trees and well sheltered in all directions. Site is very quiet in respect of both outside traffic noise and internal movements as many of the pitches seemed to be permanently set up for the season.

Entrance gate is closed late evening, but parking just outside it is no problem. There is also an EHU pitch and toilets for late arrivals.

Main toilet facilities are excellent. Showers are free; have ‘proper’ taps (ie not 20 sec push buttons!); large cubicles and substantially heated in winter.

Dogs are not charged for.

Customer service is excellent with help to locate ‘van on pitch.

Clubhouse looked nice but was not open during our midweek stay.

Not a criticism, but whilst not designated as “Adults Only”, there is not much for children. So perhaps Virginia Lake is better suited to families where children have a definite interest in the fishing.

To sum up: Virginia Lake is just as good as any ‘Club’ site, but on a smaller scale. 


Previous     45 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Virginia Lake Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Virginia Lake Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Virginia Lake Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kings Lynn      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cambridgeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5770 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement