Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Virginia Lake Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Cambridgeshire > Kings Lynn > Virginia Lake Caravan Park Reviews

Virginia Lake Caravan Park
Smeeth Road
St Johns Fen End
Wisbech
Kings Lynn
Cambridgeshire   (Browse area)
PE14 8JF
Tel: 01945 430167  or  07919 810603
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 45 Reviews
                9/10 from 45 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (19)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  45 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Coe Clan 9 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for the weekend with our two children and 2 dogs. We came with another family who were able to camp next to us.

The site was only half full so there was loads of room for the children to run around.

The showers were the best we have seen so far, not only were they spotless the area was centrally heated which makes such a difference when getting dressed.

The dog walking area was a must just enough for the dogs to stretch there legs.

The clubhouse was great and the food is delicious, highly recommend the pie.

It does back onto a farm and the dogs barking can be a little disturbing at times.

A definate 10/10 and we will be back again soon.

Louise and everyone made us feel welcome. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Dgeohegan 7 reviews from this member

 A brilliant site, staff were all very friendly & welcoming, especially Andy!
Great bar with great food. Wish I lived closer as I definitely would have a van sited there. The atmospheres very good, showers are spotless, just can not fault it. We will go back next year. 


Date of Visit: October 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JacquiL 3 reviews from this member

 Smaller sized but immaculate site. We were only staying one night but were welcomed even though they had a motorhome rally booked also. There had been a lot of rain previously and some areas were a bit boggy but we were shown to a nice drier patch. Our 3 year old loved the play area. Showers and toilets were 1st class considering the wet ground and the food in the bar was good.
Only gripe was we thought £20 / night out of season was a bit on the pricey side.
All in all a lovely site. 9/10 


Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fuel_t4nk 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here this week end what a fantastic place.
VERY:
Clean - site and especially toilets and showers
Tidy - Every where
Friendly - Staff, Owners and regulars
 
Virginia Lake is so good we've left our caravan there and booked it in for the next 6 months.
 
Keep up the good work ALL at Virginia Lake.
 
10/10 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Site Owner

 In reply to the review about our campsite by Lorraine Woodrow, we feel obliged to answer some of her comments in the following way: -

The campsite is not smaller than advertised. It is in a horseshoe shape totalling over seven acres. Half of the site given to long stay pitches and the other half to touring and camping pitches.

Pitches are a mixture of hard standing and grass. Pitches also vary in size depending on what part of the site they are because of various factors like trees and electric points etc. Therefore it is impossible to operate a first come pick your own pitch service during the height of the summer season when obviously weekends and school holiday dates are extremely busy and demand the greatest.

It is essential that the pitches be allocated appropriately with large units on the big pitches, small on the small, disabled requirements taken into consideration and group bookings being pitched together when requested. It may appear to be an inflexible system but in reality it is necessary to ensure the correct pitching of the units booked that are yet still to arrive. Outside of peak times people are able to pick their own pitch.

The children’s play area is not in view of all pitches on site and neither would we wish it to be as not every visitor wishes to be in close proximity to it. On the vast majority of campsites throughout the country this is the same.

Barbeques were indeed not being allowed on grass pitches this summer simply because of the tinder dry conditions caused by the tremendously hot weather and the driest of summers. Because there is a purpose built brick barbeque area provided on site it was felt that it was far more safe and appropriate to limit the use of all barbeques to this area rather than risk endangering the trees, vegetation and indeed the people staying on site.

The said restriction was lifted, as soon as was possible when at long last there was some rainfall.

The only occasion on which it was not possible to use the site barbeque was on the evening of Saturday 29th July when a fundraising function was held for our chosen charity of the Air Ambulance.
People were made fully aware in advance of booking about the evening and were given the opportunity to participate in the festivities and partake of the barbeque.

The water pumps in the lake are in fact fountains (electricity powered so the only noise is the sound of the water splashing) and are designed to aerate the water in the lake. They are essential to oxygenate the water in the early hours when oxygen levels are at their lowest. This is a necessity in order to keep the fish not only alive but also healthy.

Finally pricing. All our pitches are supplied with electric hook-up and priced regardless as to whether it is used or not. Other relevant factors that can affect a charged price are: 1) the size of unit, 2) the number of occupants in the unit, 3) if there are any pets and also when the booking was made as prices can be subject to change.

Therefore it is inappropriate and not possible to make a direct comparison to the price the people on the adjacent pitch may have been charged.

We hope this clarifies some of the points raised in the review. Constructive and fair criticism is welcomed, unreasonable and unjust is not 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lorrainewoodrow 1 review from this member

 Upon arrival, the site appeared to be a lot smaller as they advertised 98 pitches, however, these pitches are not 6mtrs apart therefore very cramped. The pitches are not on a first come first serve basis and we found the owner not flexible with where you would prefer to pitch your tent. The childrens park is not in view from all pitches unless the site is empty. BBQ were not permitted, you had to use their bbq however, not if they want to use them! The lake has water pumps that come on at 3am until around 7am then they go off, so it can be noisy if you are in tent. They charged us £5 a night more than those who had trailer tents that were bigger than our tent and we never even had electric hook up

Toilets and showers were excellent need proper washing up facilties, with more than one draining board. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 100%veritas 5 reviews from this member

 Spent two weekends at this site during July.
The first one was very quiet and there was plenty of space but the second one was very busy and tents seemed a little too closely pitched for comfort and safety. 
The toilet / shower blocks are modern and on both visits were found to be very clean. (the kind that you don't worry about using!). 
Good play area to keep the children entertained.
Can be a bit noisy at night due to passing traffic and the barking of the local dogs.
Friendly and helpful management.
Will visit again.  


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Barleytwist1 1 review from this member

 We have just spent another lovely weekend at this site ( the 3rd this season), and have to compliment the staff and owners on such a well managed site. They keep it spotlessly clean, are very friendly and helpful at anytime day or night. The clubhouse is really welcoming with various activities, this week there was a barbeque auction and bingo session in aid of the East Anglian Air Ambulance which we supported. The food is more than you can eat with the prices on a par with outside pubs and other eateries. We are already booked for the next bank holiday weekend, and although extremely busy is always clean and welcoming the moment you drive in and meet Andy or Ted (the owner) who escort you to your pitch with regular return visits to see if everything is o.k. 10/10 from barleytwist1 (Margaret and Tony) who are not easily pleased  


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Adamcraigscott 42 reviews from this member

 As always a very friendly welcome on site. Excellent facilities always warm and clean. Used the clubhouse regularly for food and beer never found it expensive in fact good value for money. Ideal location for the coast in between Wisbech and Kings Lynn there is a good car boot / market on Weds, Fri and Sunday in Wisbech. Will definately be returning 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chris gay 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here over the spring bank holiday weekend. As expected it was very busy. On the plus side the staff were very friendly, the toilets and showers were clean with plenty of hot water and the dog walk was handy and nicely done around the perimeter of the site.
 
On the down side, do not go to the site if there has been any quantities of rain. It is very boggy and you are likely to spend the weekend squelching through mud. Also we were squeezed very close to the pitch next door. There were less than six feet between our awning door and the door of the trailer tent next door. The management really need to exercise a bit more control over how people set up on their pitch. It just all felt a little too crowded. Finally, although the showers and toilets were clean, there are just not enough wash basins on a busy weekend, we only found three for the gents.
 
In all quite a nice site but I am unsure as to whether it deserved it' 'four stars'. 


Previous     45 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Virginia Lake Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Virginia Lake Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Virginia Lake Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kings Lynn      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cambridgeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4787 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement