Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Great Yarmouth Racecourse Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth > Great Yarmouth Racecourse Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Great Yarmouth Racecourse Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Jellicoe Road
Great Yarmouth
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR30 4AU
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 122
Open: 16/03/2024 to 05/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 36 Reviews
                8/10 from 36 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  36 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Graham1405 10 reviews from this member

 The site is characterless, bland and lacks personality. Lighting at night is poor and only bollards providing lighting. Waste bins are in your face as you drive around the site, and need to be more discreet and out of view. Pitches are too close together, with little room for vehicles moving around between units. Foliage was growing from the guttering on the toilet block suggesting a lack of maintenance. There is no dog walking facility on site, yet the site allows dogs on, and we could see dog fouling on the site on vacant pitches. Yes it was picked up, but a site without designated dog walking facilities shouldn't allow dogs on it in my opinion. Toilets were very clean and well looked after and the showers were free with plenty of hot water. Location is great for race goers, and close to Great Yarmouth centre with frequent bus services about 150 metres to the nearest bus stop. Nearby we found 'The Avenue' pub with a great selection of food and drink at good prices, and an excellent Chinese takeaway who deliver to the site gates 'Tasty China'. Excellent location to discover the Norfolk Broads. Overall a great position, but with very basic facilities, and needing some character injecting into it, and control over the dog situation and maintenance of the site. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dixter 25 reviews from this member

 Warm welcome from the wardens despite us not being CC members. Cost was just over £22 for the night, which wasn't too bad for what the site offered.

The site wasn't that busy while we were there but looking at how the pitches are set-out, it could be very cheek-by-jowl during the kids holidays, I imagine.

Toilet block was immaculate and cubicles adequate. Entry/exit by way of barrier with swipe card. Plenty of waste bins and easy-access water and disposal points. Fire equipment well-signed, as it should be. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Elaine.g6 1 review from this member

 Third visit to this site. Lovely welcome from wardens. Always like to pitch looking out onto course. Grass pitches well maintained.

Toilet facilities always spotless.

Five minute easy walk to beach. Well situated for cycling into Yarmouth either along the coast or along the river.

Fish and Chip van calls on site. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sellyservice 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a 3 day stay, it was a bank holiday so very busy, the wardens were very friendly and gave any help needed the toilets and showers were spotless and a good number of showers, we were there for race day and enjoyed the afternoon there, downsides I would say are the site has to many pitches, is near a busy road so was quite a bit of road noise also quite a bit of housing round the site so we felt a bit like we were stopping on a housing estate, also no views and not within walking distance of anywhere that nice to eat and drink. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Daffodil1941 45 reviews from this member

 Our second visit to this site which is in the centre of the race course. The toilet block was clean all the time we were there and there was plenty of hot water for personal use and washing up did not use the laundry. The reception stocked a few bits and pieces milk bread eggs and tinned products and you could order news papers, there was a fish and chip van one night and it seemed to be very busy we did not have any so can not comment on them, but the ice cream man came every day the ice cream was lovely and the portions big yum. The walk into town was a long one for us wrinkles but nearly all by the sea so very pleasant. If you are like us in a motor home I would make sure you have all you need to eat with you did not see a shop in walking distance the staff flowering tubs were very pretty all tended y the staff. We were there on race day and had a great afternoon at the races no winners though but a glass of wine and a burger was nice. There was a pub up the road for OH about 5 min walk 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Upshaw 5 reviews from this member

 We spent a Friday and Saturday night at this site. When we arrived we admitted to staff that this was our very first outing with our caravan so they told us if we had any problems to let them know.

We were able to pick our own pitch so we placed ourselves near the play area. The facilities were A+ on this site for the toilets/showers etc. We did experience very high winds on the Friday night.

The location of this site is perfect if you enjoy the races and come when races are on. We picked this site as it was close to the centre of Great Yarmouth.

All in all it is a site we would certainly recommend. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tintop 8 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 6 nights. Whilst the site is immaculate kept, with excellent facilities you would expect from a caravan club site, I like other reviewers found the site characterless and bland. Being in the middle of a race course though, I was expecting it to be somewhat this way and it did not disappoint.

As a base to tour the local area though it was fine. This was not a site where the battle between staying around the van to drink in the scenery and getting out and about to drink in the scenery was any sort of contest: getting out and about won hands down. I personally was not overly enamoured by the local area but there is nothing that the site could do about that.

Although there is a play area for children, I felt that this could prove to be an expensive site for young families because most of the things that they would want to do off site cost money.

Pitches were tightly packed together and we were thankful that we were staying before the half term break as we had plenty of room. I felt sorry for dog walkers as they had to cross the race track to take their dogs for the toilet run and as you would expect from a race course, the race course had strict signs up regarding no fouling on the course: how owners were supposed to get their dogs from the site to outside of the grounds without any mishaps is anyone's guess.

Great flat area of the country so definitely take your bikes.

On the last day we had car trouble & the wardens were very gracious in allowing us to still be there after the usual vacating time. They didn't hassle us once which we were very grateful about as it was stressful enough.

So a nice site in an area where we would only stay for a couple of nights. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sparkiesdad 7 reviews from this member

 Just returned from an 8 day trip to this site which was our first time there. Overall impression was good. We arrived on the Tuesday before Good Friday and there were only 6 outfits that night.

We were able to get a slightly sheltered pitch almost opposite the shower block but by the weekend it was full and quite cosy! Saturday evening our viewing of 'Voice' and later BGT was interrupted by a general power failure of about 10/15 minutes. We put this down to a cold evening where everyone was pulling lecky for TV and heating.

Certain wardens are a bit leery about dog walking and it seemed to me that the racecourse are very hot about dog walking even on the carpark. At first this unsettled me as I have a very energetic springer but once I had found the way down to the dunes and beach this soon solved our problem.

Facilities are of the highest standard and with a bitter wind blowing mostly we appreciated the warm. The helicopters were coming and going from the nearby airfield from about 6.45am but I didn't find it an intrusion.

On race days the gates close to vehicles from 12.00 to 6.00pm, there are pedestrian pass outs available (no charge) if you wish to walk out of the site. You could buy a ticket to the course proper for £7.50 but if you remained on site, as we did, there is not a lot to see.

We only ate out once at the Avenue public house just down the road and this was quite good. 


Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rik666 24 reviews from this member

 As with most Caravan Club sites, the facility's are spotless, the service is great, but it lacks personality

Location - Sited within the Great Yarmouth horse Race Coarse, this site is pretty close to the airfield so expect so noise from small planes / helicopters

Pitches - The pitches are all flat & well kept, my only criticism would be how packed in the caravans are.

Toilets / Showers - Absolutely Perfect, The shower block is spotlessly clean, no queues & well heated, what more can I say. Perfect

Facilities - The shop is stocked with the basics, there are 3 service points(water & waste) on site, the motor-home point is located just outside the WC block, there is also an indoor washing up area & laundry facility

Children’s Entertainment -There is a small children's park, the beach is about 1/3 mile with 1 road to cross.

Staff - Friendly & helpful

WI-FI - No WI-FI is available

Bar / Food - No food on site

TV Reception - Fantastic reception

Phone Reception - No problems with Orange or T-mobile mobile broadband

Fishing - Nothing on site

Out & About - If you like a the hustle and bustle of a large sea side town then Great Yarmouth (which is about 20 minutes walk) is for you, I promise you will not be board here, I would also recommend a visit to Hemsby 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: NorfolkDave 3 reviews from this member

 My son summed this site up nicely, not a lot to do on the site, but very good facilities, plenty to do nearby.

The pitches are fairly tight, but fine for us, we spend most of our time away doing things.

Small play area for kids.

Nowhere for dog walking, but no problem, plenty off the site.

Staff that we met were very good, friendly,

Toilet block etc. Immaculate, can't find anything negative there.

There was noise from helicopters, race track and stock cars, but none of it really bothered us. This is a major seaside town and there is going to be a bit of background.

Bike into town, 10 mins, walk 30. Plenty of bus options. Taxi on meter around a fiver.

Plenty to do; Marina swimming pool (check it's not full beforehand), pitch and put five minute walk away, lot's of good museums in the south Quay area, free firework display 10pm on wednesdays throughout August on sea front, Dog racing, stcok car racing, horse racing.

Went to the races, lousy luck, but good fun. Stayed for the Pink tribute act afterwards. Felt this was a bit of an afterthought, but included in the price of the race ticket (Half price from site office, kids free), so effectively free. The singer put everything into it and was good. But no band and only about an hour long. If I wanted to go for the races and it's on great, but I wouldn't go specifically for the entertainment. Nothing to do with the campsite I hasten to add.

Places to eat that we have tried, Berlenga, seafood restaurant, excellent for an authentic portuguese experience. Othellos, greek bias, very good, the meze is excellent. South quay plaza, good range of lunches and evening meals, nice atmosphere. Same people run the cafe at The time and tide museum, best museum cafe I've ever been in, great staff.

Overall a good stay for four days, we get up early, move around and come back when we're tired. Suited us down to the ground. 


Previous     36 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Great Yarmouth Racecourse Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Great Yarmouth Racecourse Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Great Yarmouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3367 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement