Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Great Yarmouth Racecourse Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth > Great Yarmouth Racecourse Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Great Yarmouth Racecourse Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Jellicoe Road
Great Yarmouth
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR30 4AU
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 122
Open: 16/03/2022 to 05/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 34 Reviews
                8/10 from 34 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  34 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sonja5 1 review from this member

 Nice location and quiet

Only 40 minute walk to the town, well depends how quick you walk,

Well maintained showers could do with updating,

There is a shop 5 mins down the road 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Davidandrews 15 reviews from this member

 Two thrilling nights in Great Yarmouth, a place one has not been to for years and really not had a desire to return.

But. A big but. I was pleasantly surprised by how clean and tidy the town is now especially along the front. It's a good walk from the campsite, more enjoyable walking along the beach. The fun fairs are both open and the snails, tubs and roller coaster all still working! How wizard! Great fun what?!

Back to the campsite, usual camc facilities although I choose not to use them. Reasonably priced, polite wardens, pitch a bit gritty but it's on the racecourse. An enjoyable couple of days.

Would I return you may wonder?

Yes! I would when back in Norfolk.

Jolly good fun!

Would be a right hoot to stay when the horses are running. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 17 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Shelle 1 review from this member

 The wardens were very polite and also very helpful, the toilets and showers were very good and always cleaned to a very high standard.

The site itself was okay but very uneven, due to COVID restrictions we sometimes had to wait for a while to use the washing up facilities as there was only one sink for the whole site, I think a couple more could have been opened 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Suefield 3 reviews from this member

 What a disappointment! CMC sites are usually far better than this! The site wardens are lovely & very helpful. The toilet block & water facilities are excellent too. But, the park itself is poor! It’s fairly level but completely characterless.

The small amount of hedging/trees occupy only a very small area of the park, the rest is flat, exposed and very cramped with units very close together (sides, front and back) the location is good, just north of the town centre. You can walk to the beach.

There is no dog walking area & with units so close together I did not feel comfortable allowing my dog to wee anywhere on site - as it was always outside so someone’s caravan! I couldn’t find a patch of grass anywhere where a discreet toilet stop could take place!

There was virtually nothing for children - no space to play. Sorry CMC you can (and do) much better than this! 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Explore with Dora 16 reviews from this member

 We had 1 night to spare so decided on this site as we are members of the CMC. Access is easy even for large units and all the pitches are on grass in the centre of the race course. Note that the site cannot accept arrivals on a race day but you can still stay on the site. Pitches are marked out, are of a very generous size and although generally level, you will need ramps on some. The facilities block is kept spotless and is of a high standard. It is a short walk to the sea front from where the prom leads all the way to the main seafront area which is a pleasant walk of around 40 minutes. If you plan your trip for a race event, you certainly couldn't be closer. The wardens are very helpful and there is also an excellent information shed, so finding plenty to do is certainly not a problem. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jaydreamers 51 reviews from this member

 Arrived to find the site was almost full because of a large rally. It would have been nice to have some notification of the Rally when we booked or when we phoned to request pitch near to toilet block (because of 2 new knee replacements)as we would have booked alternative date, because we can.

As it happened we were given a pitch at the top of the site amongst the rally. This worked out fine and we were offered pitch nearer to the toilet block 2 days later but decided to stay put.

Two days of racing when we were there which was a bonus.

Grass very sun scorched as had very little rain.

Shame there is no Wi-Fi to book our next stop but managed with good old books, fone and memory.

Bus stop across the road takes you into Great Yarmouth and an open top bus along the seafront will bring you back to corner of Jellicoe road if you wish.

Despite being full the site was still kept very clean as usual by friendly wardens. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Paul@Bank 138 reviews from this member

 Situated in the centre of Great Yarmouth racecourse 1 ½ miles from the town centre.

Site is flat, basic grass pitches with views of the inner racetrack! The site is also very exposed and open to the elements, during the time of our stay was windswept for four continuous days!

Could imagine the site gets very busy on race meetings.

The site facilities are very good and amongst the best of the Club site, with industrial quality and sized washing up sinks, good toilets and shower, and the friendliest site wardens I have ever encountered on a Caravan Club site.

Nothing at all for kids to do on the site (a very small playground exists at top edge of site – mainly unused). No dog walking area; the nearest dog walk is ½ mile from the site in the sand dunes. No site Wi-Fi, apparently an issue with the racetrack having Wi-Fi in such a location during race meetings – bizarre as 3G internet connection available when using iPhones?

Norfolk Broads are easily accessed from this area. A visit to delightful city of Norwich is a must and a 33 minute train journey takes you directly into the city centre with no parking issues.

Site and location, not really my bag, when returning to the area will choose a better rural location nearer the Broads/Norfolk. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fussypants69 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely little gem, ideal if you like to bet on the horses (check race days before booking) we stayed fri and sat night, no racing this weekend, site was lovely and clean, warden was very helpful. We arrived late so she just let us on and we paid etc the saturday morning. Toilets and showers were spotless, we stayed on a windy weekend, our air awning was fine but a fellow caravan-er with a pole awning was not so lucky. Wind does whip round at this site. Not sure how child friendly as mine have all flown the nest.

Approximately 1 mile from the food and arcades - perfect! will definitely stay again. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Graham1405 10 reviews from this member

 The site is characterless, bland and lacks personality. Lighting at night is poor and only bollards providing lighting. Waste bins are in your face as you drive around the site, and need to be more discreet and out of view. Pitches are too close together, with little room for vehicles moving around between units. Foliage was growing from the guttering on the toilet block suggesting a lack of maintenance. There is no dog walking facility on site, yet the site allows dogs on, and we could see dog fouling on the site on vacant pitches. Yes it was picked up, but a site without designated dog walking facilities shouldn't allow dogs on it in my opinion. Toilets were very clean and well looked after and the showers were free with plenty of hot water. Location is great for race goers, and close to Great Yarmouth centre with frequent bus services about 150 metres to the nearest bus stop. Nearby we found 'The Avenue' pub with a great selection of food and drink at good prices, and an excellent Chinese takeaway who deliver to the site gates 'Tasty China'. Excellent location to discover the Norfolk Broads. Overall a great position, but with very basic facilities, and needing some character injecting into it, and control over the dog situation and maintenance of the site. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dixter 25 reviews from this member

 Warm welcome from the wardens despite us not being CC members. Cost was just over £22 for the night, which wasn't too bad for what the site offered.

The site wasn't that busy while we were there but looking at how the pitches are set-out, it could be very cheek-by-jowl during the kids holidays, I imagine.

Toilet block was immaculate and cubicles adequate. Entry/exit by way of barrier with swipe card. Plenty of waste bins and easy-access water and disposal points. Fire equipment well-signed, as it should be. 


Previous     34 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Great Yarmouth Racecourse Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Great Yarmouth Racecourse Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Great Yarmouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1417 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement