Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Great Yarmouth Racecourse Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth > Great Yarmouth Racecourse Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Great Yarmouth Racecourse Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Jellicoe Road
Great Yarmouth
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR30 4AU
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 122
Open: 16/03/2024 to 05/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 36 Reviews
                8/10 from 36 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  36 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Derbylass 12 reviews from this member

 A well sited camp site with good access to Yarmouth sea front, the wardens were extremely friendly and very helpful and should be proud of such a clean site. The toilet block really was second to none, it was spotlessley clean and not once did I notice anything in there that disappointed me.

Something totally beyond the control of the site was the constant noise from helicopters flying in and out of North Denes air field.

Despite that it was a busy bank holiday weekend and the whole site was immaculate, our arrival was easy despite us arriving later on in the evening, we would more than likely return at some point in the future 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fingerprince 1 review from this member

 We were well received by the wonderful, friendly wardens on duty. Our booking was efficiently handled and we were soon able to select a pitch from those available.

We had a wonderful stay in Great Yarmouth. The facilities on this site were of an impeccable standard.

The on-site info room was extremely well stocked and we were given further useful information about the local area by the well informed (and extremely cheerful) wardens.

The only slight downside was the occasional helicopter noise and that some inconsiderate dog owners spoilt it for others by allowing their dogs to foul the grass. This was a shame considering the adequate signage stating that no dogs should be exercised on-site.

The site is well situated for a family holiday in Yarmouth or touring the Broads. There is also a regular bus service run from outside the site.

I would highly recommend this site to all caravan owners. The attention to detail from the excellent wardens made this an exceptional break. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mike whiskey 3 reviews from this member

 A nice site, up to the Caravan Club's usual high standards.

Feels a little 'snug' when full, but this only happened on one night of our trip (Easter bank hol).

Within walking distance of the town and sea front, but far enough out to be relatively peaceful.

We did find that the groundsmen had decided to water the racecourse, driving a tractor around towing a big watering rig, and this seemed to start very early some days, and if the wind is in the right (wrong?) direction you can hear the bigger ships, and the fog horn on the Scroby Sands windfarm.

Playpark is good for younger children, but there is no-where for older children.

The Avenue pub is only a few hundred yards away and well worth a visit for food.

This was our second visit, and we feel we have 'done' the area now, but will be happy to come back again at some point in the future. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Val Ryall 4 reviews from this member

 Very nice open site on the racecourse, within walking distance of the beach. Although you have to walk through sand dunes to get down to the sea, it is well worth the walk.

Wardens were very pleasant, toilet block was spotlessly clean and had plenty of showers.

There are plenty of attractions for every age group nearby. Horsey Windpump, a National Trust windmill, is worth a visit as is their recommended walk which took us down to the nearest beach, where we saw seals playing in the surf.

A good campsite to stay at to tour Norfolk. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lynn j 1 review from this member

 Stayed at site in august. On arrival the warden was not as friendly as others, seemed a chore to welcome us. Chose a pitch away from the play area as we had no children as recommended on other reviews. The ground was not great and got a bit muddy when it rained. We were not affected by helicopter noise and had a quiet stay. Was pleased that the toilet block was closed for cleaning in the afternoon so we could have a lie in and leisuely breakfast before getting showered. The sand was too far away to walk to so we used the bus to go into great yarmouth.

Was worried by other reviews that I had read but did not find any problems. We left on race day which was a pity as I would have liked to experience the races but we had no problems leaving the site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lillybeez 3 reviews from this member

 When we arrived to site we were rudely greeted by a female wardon who abruptly told us we'd have to wait 10 minutes as she was eating her chips - even though we arrived at our allocated time!

We were eventually seen to and given a pitch - we drove to it to find somebody was already on it so had to go back and ask for another pitch.

We were given another pitch which was quite close to the play area - very loud screaming children running riot. I have 2 children but they don't act like those ones!

We pitched up and then noticed the awful stench -thankfully it was the car side that stunk! I have no idea what it was but possibly dog wee as there is no dog exercise area! We had to buy disinfectant to try and ease the smell.

The whole site was dust - yes its been dry but other sites we've visited lately do have grass - this site did not!

The helicopter woke us several times as did the seagulls and police sirens.

Toilet/shower block immaculate!

Beach was further away than expected. We didn't try the local pub advertised on the gates.

We were there on a race day which was a lovely day out - but next time I think we'd try Newmarket - they might have grass on the pitches!

We would not visit again and that's a great shame. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: 11peewee 5 reviews from this member

 This is a Caravan Club site in the middle of Great Yarmouth Racecourse. The pitches are fairly level with EHU and a good size. I found all the staff very friendly and helpful. The toilet/shower block is excellent spotlessly clean with great showers. There are two areas for getting water and liquid waste disposal both very good.

Although the site has no entertainment except a children's play area (swing & slides) it's still the best site I've been to. Just outside the entrance are bus stops to go into Yarmouth or Caister (every ten minutes) so there's masses to do. For a nice quiet day on the beach turn left at the entrance walk 0ver the bridge to the sea wall then across the grass to the R.S.P.B. Hut to the left there's a long clean beach ideal for a picnic, a paddle and building sand castles. If you are really lucky you might see a shore bird, I didn't but heard loads of them. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lilyvan 17 reviews from this member

 The site was busy on arrival at 12 o'clock and a bit of a bottle neck in the gateway with the other caravans leaving. Given a map to choose from the empty pitches and sent off on our own - then had to go back and tell them where we were and receive a gate scanner key to get in and out of barriers with the car. It would be a good base to tour the area with a car but we were just staying the night and walked into Great Yarmouth - it is an awful long way! There is a pub (signposted from the main gate) quite close and a corner shop a bit further on, but other than that nothing is nearby only the sea five minutes walk over the bridge. Yes the helicopter did wake us up in the morning early, we did not get any noise from the racecourse waterer or grass cutting as we were not near the track. There was a children's play area it did not look very big. There is no dog walk on site.

The best thing about the site was the toilet block (the ladies especially) its new there are loads of toilets, showers (free) and wash basins all private. And there are two hair dryers (free) at the toilet handbasins. There is a separate toilet at the front when the toilet block is being cleaned. A great veg/washing up area and laundry, and disabled toilet. Also the water, waste water and elsan point brilliant and all wonderfully clean. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cufcbarside 68 reviews from this member

 Not so good bits ! ! !

Very close to airport, helicopter landing zone, its an envigorating wake up call !

Pitches not in brilliant condition but ok

Good bits

Nicely located for the town, not a walk though, close to main road and misses out the town when accessing with caravan.

Not far from beach

Nice facilities, toilets clean and tidy, showers nice and hot, powerful as well.

EHU on pitches,

If you like racing the obvious discounted rates, no racing on when we visited

Wardens were reasonable and visible most of the time.

Note restrictions on access during race days check out when booking

Overall would we go again

Definitely. We are looking for return on raceday to get some racing in as well. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mrs Steward 3 reviews from this member

 We found this site to be very disappointing having stayed at another caravan club site recently. To be fair it was a bank holiday so very busy, however, the pitches meant you had someone in front of you and to the sides of you -very closed in. In my opinion it is not that suitable for children as there is not playing space for them and they were not really allowed to bike/scooter on the paths either. There is a playground (which states for toddlers in their leaflet)but says on gate for 5-10yrs only and it is great for 5-10 yrs but no room for ball games etc.

Im afraid to say that I agree with others that the noise of the cars/races on the track did grate on us in the end.

The site was very windy and not sheltered at all. On the up side the toilet block was always clean and plenty of space in the showers, we never had a problem with availability of the showers either.It was hard work not having dog walk on site but we managed . 


Previous     36 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Great Yarmouth Racecourse Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Great Yarmouth Racecourse Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Great Yarmouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4166 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement