Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Daleview Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Co Durham > Durham > Daleview Caravan Park Reviews

Daleview Caravan Park
Station Bank
Middleton In Teesdale
Durham
Co Durham   (Browse area)
DL12 0NG
Tel: 01833 640233  or  07788 245975
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: Tent field with 8 electric hook ups
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 32 Reviews
                7/10 from 32 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  32 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Loverton 4 reviews from this member

 We booked this site for 3 nights early in June 2012, but only stayed for only 2. The sign at the entrance to the site should have given us an insight to what lay ahead and unfortunately, I didn’t read the reviews before I booked.

I booked after reading the brochure which states:

1. “All Camping and Touring Caravan pitches are level hard stands. ” In fact, the pitches are all grass and the one we eventually used had a tree stump at the back of it, which meant that our motorhome was parked almost on the road! The other vacant pitches were very muddy and had been churned up.

2. “Daleview is a modern caravan park”. In fact, the site is long overdue for a facelift.

· The toilet block is very dated – the ladies had only 3 loos and 2 showers and the sanitary ware was old and tired and very dingy.

· The block is also situated near to the entrance to the site and is a very long walk from the touring pitches. It is also used by the pub clients and the pub gets very busy at the week-end, so it is well used!

· The site has a large number of “longstay” caravans as well as statics and as such the grassed areas are quite untidy.

3. “Panoramic view of Teesdale and the River Tees” - Perhaps at one time you could see the views, but the trees surrounding the site are now too high to allow this.

Something that the brochure doesn’t mention is that it is next door to a recycling plant!

Not worth £23 per night!

The pitches are very close together and the caravan on the pitch next to us was surrounded by green plastic fencing. We were puzzled about this until we realised that there were 4 (very large) dogs occupying the caravan with their owners. Not a pleasant sight when you are eating your tea to look through the window and see a dog doing it’s business so close (not entirely the site's fault, but they should not allow unsightly 'fencing')

The TV signal for Freeview was very poor and mobile phone/Internet reception almost non-existent.

The on-site pub was packed when we went in on Sunday night and it was obvious that most of the people in there were regulars and as some of the other reviewers stated, we felt a bit like intruders.

Middleton village is about a 10 minute walk and is quite picturesque and has a Co-op / pub / café / hotel / gift shops and tourist information office

The surrounding area is beautiful and if the site was modernised would be the perfect place for touring and walking. However, we will definitely not be visiting again. All in all a very disappointing visit. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Flozypots 6 reviews from this member

 This was the second time we'd stay here but first time in tent. The site for tents is small but ok

There is a pub on site, is nice and the meals they serve are great, real home made portions

Middleton village is only about a 5-10 min walk and high force is about a 10-15 min drive.

The only thing l think could maybe improved is the toilet block as they look a bit dated, but they are clean we would definitely go back, but with a tourer

Thy staff were friendly and welcoming. The surrounding area as plenty of walks 


Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Riddlers duffy 10 reviews from this member

 The rates were reasonable, toilets adequate and the place was nice and quiet.

although only a small tent field it was no hardship as we were the only tent on the ground the night we stayed but in busier times it may prove problematic.

only a short walk into the town of middleton in teesdale where their are numerous cafes, bars and shops.

The night we stopped it was quite cold and I think we would have benefited from a fire pit but this is not allowed on the site, which is a pity.

Overall the site was friendly and despite the lack of fires was still a nice place with some great views. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Deanhoughton 1 review from this member

 Site had a lovely friendly pub on site meals were fantastic. Only problem was the site was set up for statics so our tourer was quite a walk from toilets and showers.

Also the showers were freezing pleased we only had two with being there two days. I was also told pub wasn't open during the week if this is true a week would be hard work.

We would go back but hopefully showers will be sorted.

It is only a short walk into the village were there was only one pub and a hotel the locals are quite friendly.

Barnard Castle is also only a short drive away. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hazysunshine 2 reviews from this member

 Overnight stop, so I could forgive many things but there is no way I would go for more than one night.

The tent field is very small and also had some touring caravans stored on it. It is right next to the road to Barnard Castle (but well shielded from it) and I was surprised at the amount of traffic on it. I felt that the owners were being a bit greedy trying to get so many tents on it - around 14!

The toilets were a long walk from the field and looked like they had been fitted out in the 80's and not had much done to them since. There was a note behind the door asking you to please flush the toilet, I felt like adding to it - I would if it worked properly. They were not particularly clean and doubled up as the pub toilets, the following morning saw shreds of toilet paper all over the floor.

We had a meal in the pub which I could not fault and the bar staff were very friendly, but I felt we would have overstayed our welcome if we had stayed for the bingo. Our plates were taken with the comment - you'll not be stopping for the bingo will you? 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note, as from 2011, this site no longer takes family tents. Hikers, school and college groups when supervised are welcome. 


Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Alitone 27 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Dale View for one night in April 2010 and had been here before so aware of the facilities. This site has great potential but its mostly focussed on Statics so tents and tourers take second place. The electrics are poor( 6 amp) if you need hook up and the grass areas were quiet boggy for our motorhome. Its full of lovely people who are friendly in the on site club house but don't sit in the wrong seat at bingo time!

Short walk into the village which has all you need. The Tent area is quite small. Prices are a little high for whats on offer and the entrance sign needs updating as it gives the wrong impression. Used our motorhome for showers etc as it was a long way from our pitch to the toilets which seem to be basic but adequate. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Awilko1 2 reviews from this member

 I left the wife to book up on this occasion and she booked Daleview, I read the reviews the night before departure and they scared me to be honest!

But we arrived the Friday to a pleasant Reception which told us to go set up and call later to sort payments out etc, the views and surrounding villages are very pleasant and the people very friendly.

Only little problem encountered was the electric hookup kept tripping as it was only 6 amp, the facilities are well maintained and kept clean.Deffo 8 out of 10 and we will go back for sure. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Trampervan 5 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 2 night stay at this site, must say I wish we had looked at previous reviews on this site before we went. The site is very run down.

Touring pitches at far end of site are quite away from the toilets / showers (doubled up as pub wc) and we would recommend you only use them if you have to. 6 amp electric supply iffy ie if you use more than 1500watts (travel kettle) and you may be plunged into darkness.

Pub a little bit cliquey but a good pint and the food looked reasonable. If I had small children I would be mindful of letting them play on the outdoor play park it is a bit worn and looks like it should be took down.

Owners and staff all helpful

The small town of Teesdale ok if you like that sort of thing (walking, sitting on benches reading books etc) but a great location for some stunning drive outs.

All in all I would not return to this site unless a modern toilet / shower block was located next to the touring section and the electricity supply was improved (10amps please). 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mouseybrown 11 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site for 2 nights.

The site caters mainly for caravans and there are lots of statics here.

The tent field is very small and with just 8 tents pitched on it during our stay seemed pretty full.

The children's play area was small and quite worn, having said that our 3 still had a great time climbing on the playframe and made lots of new little pals from the caravans.

Toilets/shower rooms were small but adequate and always clean. There was no family bathroom.

The site was very friendly and there is a lively club room.

The area is beautiful. Middleton itself has some nice pubs and tearooms and there's also a co-op for all your grocery needs.

It seems that the tent field is mainly used by walkers and cyclists pitching their tents for just one night but we still enjoyed a nice family weekend here with our 3 children. 


Previous     32 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Daleview Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Daleview Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Durham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Co Durham

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3319 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement