Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Daleview Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > Co Durham > Site Reviews

Daleview Caravan Park
Station Bank
Middleton In Teesdale
Durham
Co Durham   (Browse area)
DL12 0NG
Tel: 01833 640233  or  07788 245975
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: Tent field with 8 electric hook ups
Open: March 1st To October 31st

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 28 Reviews
                6/10 from 28 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  28 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hazysunshine 2 reviews from this member

Overnight stop, so I could forgive many things but there is no way I would go for more than one night.

The tent field is very small and also had some touring caravans stored on it. It is right next to the road to Barnard Castle (but well shielded from it) and I was surprised at the amount of traffic on it. I felt that the owners were being a bit greedy trying to get so many tents on it - around 14!

The toilets were a long walk from the field and looked like they had been fitted out in the 80's and not had much done to them since. There was a note behind the door asking you to please flush the toilet, I felt like adding to it - I would if it worked properly. They were not particularly clean and doubled up as the pub toilets, the following morning saw shreds of toilet paper all over the floor.

We had a meal in the pub which I could not fault and the bar staff were very friendly, but I felt we would have overstayed our welcome if we had stayed for the bingo. Our plates were taken with the comment - you'll not be stopping for the bingo will you?

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

Please note, as from 2011, this site no longer takes family tents. Hikers, school and college groups when supervised are welcome.

Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Alitone 24 reviews from this member

We stayed at Dale View for one night in April 2010 and had been here before so aware of the facilities. This site has great potential but its mostly focussed on Statics so tents and tourers take second place. The electrics are poor( 6 amp) if you need hook up and the grass areas were quiet boggy for our motorhome. Its full of lovely people who are friendly in the on site club house but don't sit in the wrong seat at bingo time!

Short walk into the village which has all you need. The Tent area is quite small. Prices are a little high for whats on offer and the entrance sign needs updating as it gives the wrong impression. Used our motorhome for showers etc as it was a long way from our pitch to the toilets which seem to be basic but adequate.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Awilko1 2 reviews from this member

I left the wife to book up on this occasion and she booked Daleview, I read the reviews the night before departure and they scared me to be honest!

But we arrived the Friday to a pleasant Reception which told us to go set up and call later to sort payments out etc, the views and surrounding villages are very pleasant and the people very friendly.

Only little problem encountered was the electric hookup kept tripping as it was only 6 amp, the facilities are well maintained and kept clean.Deffo 8 out of 10 and we will go back for sure.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Trampervan 5 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 2 night stay at this site, must say I wish we had looked at previous reviews on this site before we went. The site is very run down.

Touring pitches at far end of site are quite away from the toilets / showers (doubled up as pub wc) and we would recommend you only use them if you have to. 6 amp electric supply iffy ie if you use more than 1500watts (travel kettle) and you may be plunged into darkness.

Pub a little bit cliquey but a good pint and the food looked reasonable. If I had small children I would be mindful of letting them play on the outdoor play park it is a bit worn and looks like it should be took down.

Owners and staff all helpful

The small town of Teesdale ok if you like that sort of thing (walking, sitting on benches reading books etc) but a great location for some stunning drive outs.

All in all I would not return to this site unless a modern toilet / shower block was located next to the touring section and the electricity supply was improved (10amps please).

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mouseybrown 10 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site for 2 nights.

The site caters mainly for caravans and there are lots of statics here.

The tent field is very small and with just 8 tents pitched on it during our stay seemed pretty full.

The children's play area was small and quite worn, having said that our 3 still had a great time climbing on the playframe and made lots of new little pals from the caravans.

Toilets/shower rooms were small but adequate and always clean. There was no family bathroom.

The site was very friendly and there is a lively club room.

The area is beautiful. Middleton itself has some nice pubs and tearooms and there's also a co-op for all your grocery needs.

It seems that the tent field is mainly used by walkers and cyclists pitching their tents for just one night but we still enjoyed a nice family weekend here with our 3 children.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gazza449 5 reviews from this member

Stayed here in july with our caravan. The site is a little tatty looking when you first drive in. Toilet blocks are very dated, and not that clean,
The electric trips all the time, I would advise on taking a kettle for the gas hob. The pub on the site was ok if you have a static there very clicky. 10 mins walk into the village which was really nice. Fantastic fish shop there. Three pubs which were friendly. I will not be returning to the site.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kazmickey 1 review from this member

What a lovely friendly site, we stayed two nights over the weekend. Shower and toilet blocks where very clean. The tent pitches where up above the static caravans with plenty of space.

There was a fresh water pipe, so no need to carry water too far, plenty of refuse bins.

The club house is very nice, food was nice we had burger salad and chips, the coleslaw was to die for. The prices in the bar where cheaper than our local at home. There was bingo at night 9didn't play it this time)

We enjoyed it so much that we have booked for next weekend already

The only problem was the midges, they like to bite so take some insect replant.

The walk into Middleton took us 5 minutes from the campsite, there is only 1 pub at the present not that you need one, there is a Co-op in the village not bad prices cold beer and wine in the fridges, disposable BB Q's, butchers, bakery, A few touristy shops,

Plenty of walks in the area (3 1/2 mile to low force if you like walking)

Can't wait for next weekend

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sjdennis22 12 reviews from this member

We rang and booked a pitch on the Friday morning for 2 nights. Unfortunately after a long drive we arrive only to be told that there might not be any space and to go and check. There wasn't any on the small camping area. Went back to the office to explain, but couldn't find anyone anywhere. Left rather annoyed.

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Warbulator 10 reviews from this member

As reviewed earlier, only a few touring pitches (grass not hard stand) and all others statics or pretty much permanently pitched tourers. Long thin site with 250mtr walk from tourer pitches to old / tired / dingy toilet block / showers like and old behind a pub bog!. Wash up /laundry room a joke with one sink and plaster falling off walls in an old outhouse behind what was the the old village station.

Looks like a place packed with regulars fri to sun and dead (bar etc shut) during the week. Tv signal for freeview is iffy (check out some of the MASSIVE aerials on the perm tourers)

We ain't posh with an old van and n reg car but this site got 4/10 from my wife, quite picturesque but getting tatty and no staff around. Disappointing place really as earlier reviews painted a nice picture.

Village pubs were not the modern welcoming bar meals experience now found round most towns, almost weird especially the Teedale Hotel and its bizarre 1970s dining arrangements!.

Wouldn't go again

Previous     28 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Co Durham

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2257 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019