Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Daleview Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Co Durham > Durham > Daleview Caravan Park Reviews

Daleview Caravan Park
Station Bank
Middleton In Teesdale
Durham
Co Durham   (Browse area)
DL12 0NG
Tel: 01833 640233  or  07788 245975
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: Tent field with 8 electric hook ups
Open: March 1st To October 31st

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 31 Reviews
                7/10 from 31 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  31 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We regret that our site is currently closed because of the advice and implications surrounding the outbreak of Coronavirus.

To enquire about a booking later in the season or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Davidav 1 review from this member

 Maybe not the smartest tidiest site we have been been to, that being down to the fact that the current management are awaiting the finalising of a take over from the council, and are biting at the bit to get started on a range of improvements.

Saying that the overriding feeling from me and my wife is that it is by far and away the friendliest site we have ever visited. Not just the staff but other visitors. Instead of the usual hello on passing they will take the time to get have a good chinwag with you.

If you're taking the kids there's a small park outdoors and a playroom indoors too. Site pub and Middleton in Tessdale 5 mins walk away. We will be going back for a longer stay when we can. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Blinxter 11 reviews from this member

 Really friendly hosts, excellent value for money, pleasant fellow campers in the static units. Very handy village just down the road with lots to offer.

The club house is great when open but just a shame that opening hours are so restricted. Would possibly benefit from some form of daytime hours staffing/opening so that people can come and go as they please and get help/advice/snacks etc throughout the day.

The toilet and shower block does what it needs to do. It's quite basic but it is kept very clean and well stocked and you can't ask for more really. I've been to sites with super modern toilet blocks but they do the same job at the end of the day.

Main road runs alongside which can have the occasional loud motorbike or wagon go along. I know some people have mentioned this but it really isn't that big a deal as it's not like it's a heavily populated traffic area.

Also seen reference to the recycling plant located nearby. You literally have no clue that it is there unless you pass it on the road.

Whilst I didn't have the kids with me, they would have loved this, there were plenty of other children about of varying ages and all seemed to be having a great time. There's a small play area and 5 chickens to talk to which seemed to keep them all entertained.

I especially liked the camping WiFi which is available for a small fee throughout the site so I could catch up with the world from the comfort of my tent (note, without this, there isn'y much phone signal available in this peaceful valley :) 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Kerrie1714 1 review from this member

 We stayed here on may bank holiday weekend and there were a large group of us all with kids of varied ages. Every single one of us loved it and can’t wait to go back.

The tent field isn’t the biggest but we found it perfect for us, honestly never had a single problem with it, there are a few electric points and a couple of picnic benches also. The bins were emptied every morning, ready for us to refill lol.

The owners of the site are really lovely people and couldn’t help us enough! There is a lovely club house on site that serves food at night which was very tasty and well priced, the drinks were also well priced, we enjoyed a few pints in there and the kids loved the pizza meal deal they do.

There is also a small games room for the kids, they were never out of it and they had a pool table and a tv for the football which a couple of us enjoyed watching on the Sunday.

The toilets and showers were spotlessly clean every time we went in and always fully stocked of toilet paper. There was a wash room on site but can’t comment on that as I never went in, also a nice little play park for the kids but could see a collection bottle on the bar for funds to upgrade it, although the kids were more than happy with it.

We really did enjoy our time here, you can see the owners are constantly working on upgrading the facilities but we never had a issue with anything. Also just a short walk into Middleton-in-Teesdale and the river so everything you need! 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Creelo 3 reviews from this member

 On arrival at the site we we greeted by the warden, we were told where we could pitch our motor home which was in a tiny space, which if we were lucky there was about 3 foot between caravans so we were looking straight down into next caravan (this was a permanent one). There was no TV reception which we wouldn't mind if it was stated.

We were told that the on site pub only opened Friday, Saturday and Sunday nights, with a minimal food menu, as the warden told us people that come here are drinkers not eaters and that it didn't open until 7pm which we were very disappointed with as we eat well before that so we ended up going to the village to eat which was a very good, but we purposely booked this camp so we didn't have to eat off site.

The resident people on site were very welcoming and friendly.

The site itself was to be honest quite shabby, the grass was well cut but by reception was really unloved needs a bit of tlc and the toilets and showers were not very clean, tiles off the walls just not very welcoming.

Sadly this is one site I wouldn't return to as there are other sites that provide minimal amenities but are so well kept 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Craig D 1 review from this member

 Had a fabulous time at this new managed family owned park the staff and owners are very helpful and friendly and are obliviously trying to bring new entertainment to the park which everyone appears to like. The club house is clean and offers good home made food which is very nice and presented well. The owners are carrying out lots of repairs to boundary fencing and cutting back trees which will take time. The drives have been repaired which is an improvement and toilets blocks are nice and clean. WIFI is available in the club house. This park is situated in an excellent location for walks and fishing with High force very close by and the village a small stroll away offering lots of amenities such as pubs, cafe's/ co=op, clothing shops etc. There is lots of attractions and villages in close proximity to enjoy hours of walking with Barnard Castle 15 minutes away with all of it delights including bowes museum. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Fults 1 review from this member

 Spent a weekend here after a friend recommended it. On arrival I was greeted by very friendly owners and shown my caravan. The site is very clean and tidy and the atmosphere is pleasant and calm with kids out and about having fun.

The facilities are good, toilets and shower blocks are clean and kept well.

The pub on site has a fantastic atmosphere, every body is very friendly and easy to get on with. And with walkers from the pennine way there is always someone to have a chat with. The bingo and entertainment was good and kept us going over the weekend, beers well priced too.

Nearby there was plenty to do, the village has some nice gift shops and walks by the river are lovely.

I enjoyed it so much I am now thinking about getting a permanent site here. I couldn't recommend it more highly. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Averrema 1 review from this member

 This is a very friendly site, just a short stroll to the village.

Ideally situated near a river and exceptional walking area. The onsite pub is very welcoming with a variety of ales and spirits to include an extensive food menu. New owners continue to improve the site. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Gem-Andy 1 review from this member

 We visited this site a few years ago a couple of times and stayed in the touring area in our campervan and we always found it to be OK. But around a year ago we visited and met the new proprietors Leanne and Keith. They were very welcoming and had lots of great ideas for the park. We then decided to invest in a static and Leanne was really helpful in getting everything sorted out for us. Since then we have been visiting on most weekends and what a difference they are making to park. They have tidied it up dramatically, decorating the club, putting up new fencing, new benches and lovely hanging baskets in the beer garden. The general appearance and cleanliness of the park has improved incredibly and they are continually looking at what needs doing next. The clubhouse is now Fantastic, Leanne and Keith put on lots of different types of entertainment to suit all ages. They have done theme nights, had singers, hypnotists, bingo. They also do lots of things for the kids. They supply a variety of drinks and food at a great price. The atmosphere is always friendly and welcoming. We love this park, and would recommend it to anyone wanting to go somewhere relaxed and fun in the beautiful picturesque village of Middleton-in-Teesdale. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: C41063 1 review from this member

 We have been coming to daleview for 12 years and every year we have a smashing time everyone is so friendly and welcoming. Would highly reccomend. The caravans are always clean and tidy and if there is a problem it is dealt with straight away. We have seen pictures of the improvements the new owners have made and it looks good and we are looking forward to coming again in August next year. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Loverton 4 reviews from this member

 We booked this site for 3 nights early in June 2012, but only stayed for only 2. The sign at the entrance to the site should have given us an insight to what lay ahead and unfortunately, I didn’t read the reviews before I booked.

I booked after reading the brochure which states:

1. “All Camping and Touring Caravan pitches are level hard stands. ” In fact, the pitches are all grass and the one we eventually used had a tree stump at the back of it, which meant that our motorhome was parked almost on the road! The other vacant pitches were very muddy and had been churned up.

2. “Daleview is a modern caravan park”. In fact, the site is long overdue for a facelift.

· The toilet block is very dated – the ladies had only 3 loos and 2 showers and the sanitary ware was old and tired and very dingy.

· The block is also situated near to the entrance to the site and is a very long walk from the touring pitches. It is also used by the pub clients and the pub gets very busy at the week-end, so it is well used!

· The site has a large number of “longstay” caravans as well as statics and as such the grassed areas are quite untidy.

3. “Panoramic view of Teesdale and the River Tees” - Perhaps at one time you could see the views, but the trees surrounding the site are now too high to allow this.

Something that the brochure doesn’t mention is that it is next door to a recycling plant!

Not worth £23 per night!

The pitches are very close together and the caravan on the pitch next to us was surrounded by green plastic fencing. We were puzzled about this until we realised that there were 4 (very large) dogs occupying the caravan with their owners. Not a pleasant sight when you are eating your tea to look through the window and see a dog doing it’s business so close (not entirely the site's fault, but they should not allow unsightly 'fencing')

The TV signal for Freeview was very poor and mobile phone/Internet reception almost non-existent.

The on-site pub was packed when we went in on Sunday night and it was obvious that most of the people in there were regulars and as some of the other reviewers stated, we felt a bit like intruders.

Middleton village is about a 10 minute walk and is quite picturesque and has a Co-op / pub / café / hotel / gift shops and tourist information office

The surrounding area is beautiful and if the site was modernised would be the perfect place for touring and walking. However, we will definitely not be visiting again. All in all a very disappointing visit. 


Previous     31 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Daleview Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Daleview Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Durham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Co Durham

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Stratford Caravan & Motorhome Show 26/06 to 28/06
Over 350 new and used caravans and motorhomes, camp over with 3 nights of fantastic live entertainment, bar and food ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3762 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020