Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Capesthorne Hall

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Cheshire > Macclesfield > Capesthorne Hall Reviews

Capesthorne Hall
Siddington
Macclesfield
Cheshire   (Browse area)
SK11 9JY
Tel: 01625 861221
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 12/04/2021 to 20/12/2021
           01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 24 Reviews
                9/10 from 24 Reviews

Photos (14)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  24 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mottys 15 reviews from this member

 What a gem of a site. Beautiful, peaceful location. Great pitches laid out well. Toilet block excellent, spotless at all times of the day. In the grounds of a manor house which has wonderful woodland walks and cafe in the manor house that opens occasionally.

No playground for children, but lots of open space and lovely grounds to explore.

Lots of places to visit in the area and lovely villages close by. 


Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: AdrianPB 6 reviews from this member

 Fabulous setting for this site with excellent shower block. Wifi included traveled to our pitch which was not near the utilities. Ideal site for a quiet restful day or two. 


Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bilko2 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed for 5 nights up to closure of the site on 31st October. If you want a site a little different from the norm, this could be for you. The pitches are fairly level and well spaced out. The facilities block is new, warm and clean. The site's 'usp' is its setting in the grounds of a gothic mansion house. The grounds are lovely and for most of the time you have them to yourself - public only allowed in two days per week. The site is fairly rural so not good if you want to walk to pub or shop. There are many attractions nearby - Lyme Park, Tatton Park, Jodrell Bank, Knutsford to name but a few.

Note for Corrie fans - Capesthorne was the setting for a wedding featured early November. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JADE2 10 reviews from this member

 We visited this site on 26/27th July and were blessed with excellent weather. Beautiful campsite nicely laid out and well maintained. A little more expensive than we usually pay at 25. 00 per night but worth every penny of it. The grounds are amazing and we were lucky to have arrived on a weekend with a wedding taking place and treated to an super display of fireworks and also it was the weekend of a classic car show which all added up to a fabulous weekend break. We visited the house and found it wonderful. The utility block was modern and spotless. We could not find any fault with this site and will return and would recommend. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dragon31 7 reviews from this member

 What a gem of a site. Grand entrance through the auto barrier up a long drive leading to the manor house. Caravan site clearly marked to the left of the main hall. Large mainly grassy area with ample space and hardstandings. As previous reviews mention very modern, immaculate shower/toilet block which also houses a washer dryer. We only stayed 1 night so didn't use facilities but they looked spotless. Plenty of local pubs to grab a pint and food. (rec Davenport Arms approx 2-3 miles away, excellent food) The estate grounds/gardens were beautiful and we had a lovely stroll around on a gorgeous sunny day. Not really one for the children although there was plenty of open space there was no kids playground etc. This added to the peace and tranquillity of the place to be honest, just how we like it. Not the cheapest place to stay at 25 per night but worth paying a little extra for the grand surroundings and excellent shower/toilet facilities. Highly recommended for a peace and quiet weekender. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Maboitelo 1 review from this member

 Why were we the only people here? I have no idea as this is a beautiful site. Nothing to add to previous review actually. Amazing setting. With just the sounds and sights of the countryside -pheasants, owls, hares, bats etc. Excellent toilet block, although I think it would be inadequate if the site was full. Never met any staff, but there was a phone contact number. The place to be if you want to get away from it all. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jfa110n 16 reviews from this member

 Found this site really handy for a concert we went to at Gawsworth Hall just a few miles away.

The site is very nicely maintained with mainly hard standing pitches. The entrance is particularly grand as you drive down towards the stately home. The site was virtually empty for the 2 nights we were there with only 5 units on site. Perhaps the rather steep 25 per night for 2 persons kept some people away. The on site facilities include lots of drinking water taps, several grey water disposal points - (one especially for motorhomes) and a hedged off chemical toilet disposal point. The surroundings are very nice being in the grounds of a stately home. The site is unusual in as much as there is no reception - when we rang to book a pitch we spoke to a very nice lady who was helpful and friendly. We were asked to pay at the time of booking by card and were allocated a pitch number later by email - No. 20 in our case. You also get some general information and the rules of the site. When you arrive at the entrance a barrier blocks your progress for a moment and then magically raises to let you in. You then simply follow the signs and head for your pitch. We had no contact with any staff whatsoever (apart from the phone call) except for an envelope left in the toilet block with our name on it which contained the receipt for the card payment and a car and caravan pass for display in the windscreen. None the less this is a great site with very modern and clean toilets/showers. If you can swallow the hefty nightly fee of 25(30 on Bank Holiday Weekends) it is definitely recommended. By the way - you do get free entry into the Gardens and walks for your money. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bizz 1 review from this member

 We had the good fortune to stay at this site recently. It is tranquil and beautiful if you want to get away from it all so to speak. Staff are courteous and polite and couldn't have been more helpful when we needed somewhere to stay at short notice after being let down by another site. Plenty of open space and large pitches, both grass and hard standing, with electric hook up make it easy to select exactly what you want.

Marked facilities as 8/10 as nothing extra like fully serviced pitches for example, but had everything that we personally needed.

There are no specific facilities for children, for example a dedicated play area like some other sites, but this only added to our enjoyment as it meant even more peace for us! (Nothing against children really!)

There is an immaculate, facilities block housing, toilets, bathrooms with showers as well as laundry facilities. The site is within the grounds of Capesthorne Hall, a stately house where the Bromley-Davenport family still dwell.

Staying on the site entitles you to enjoy the gardens, lakeside and grounds freely (some 100 acres). The main house is only open on certain days but you get a reduced entrance fee for a tour of part of the house, if you are staying on site.

While we were there, there was also a classic car show in the grounds on the Sunday, which was a bonus for us. Weddings are held at the house on some Saturdays meaning that sometimes access to some of the grounds may be restricted. All in all though a great little find

We are so delighted to have found this site which we believe has only reopened last year. Think we will be back again soon! 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: The Gamblers 14 reviews from this member

 This was our first return to Capesthorne Hall Caravan Park for over three years. The touring park had been closed for this time for other projects within the park. It was a very welcome return. Gone were the cosy, yet a little dated toilet / shower facilities in the courtyard. Replaced by an ultra modern, eco friendly stunning shower block. With two shower cubicles with there own wash basin, mirror and toilet providing a spacious area in both the mens and womens. Plenty of hot water and very modern hand driers and baby changing facilities in both areas. The facility block was a little cold, this may be just teething problems as we were literally the first to stay after the re-opening on 1. 10. 12.

The pitches were a little narrow but offer enough room for a unit on the hard standing and cars parked on the well kept grass next to the pitch. Space between the pitches was very generous offering privacy and the access road adequate if again a little narrow.

With the hall and beautiful gardens literally on your doorstep this makes for a very pleasant stay. The village of Chelford is 3.5 miles away and has enough to meets your shopping needs.

For the price of 25. 00 per night I was expecting a serviced pitch, whilst a little disappointed to discover they are not serviced pitches I was not disappointed with the overall stay and I strongly recommend Capesthorne Caravan Park.

Imagine telling your friends and family you are going to your weekend retreat at Capesthorne Hall and then driving up the long drive infront of the hall to pitch up for a lovely weekend.

Thanks to the owner who was extremely helpful and we will see you again in 2013. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Likleoldlady 3 reviews from this member

 Well what can I say! This is a beautiful site in a fabulous setting with no noise other than cows and sheep!Spent 6 nights here and will be going back for more. Toilet block very clean,with plenty of hot water and did not have to queue once, even when all the pitches were full (about 30+ pitches).
Good well spaced pitches , lovely walks in the grounds very tranquil at night. Good shopping in Macclesfield which is only 8 miles from site. Not for the faint hearted at night, bring a powerful torch if you want to use toilet block! 


Previous     24 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Capesthorne Hall child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Capesthorne Hall?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Capesthorne Hall dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Macclesfield      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cheshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3255 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement