Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Capesthorne Hall

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Cheshire > Macclesfield > Capesthorne Hall Reviews

Capesthorne Hall
Siddington
Macclesfield
Cheshire   (Browse area)
SK11 9JY
Tel: 01625 861221
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 12/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 24 Reviews
                9/10 from 24 Reviews

Photos (14)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  24 in total, now showing 21 to 24                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ranger150 3 reviews from this member

 Visited this site when very muddy following plenty of rain. The surrounding grounds and gardens are really breathtaking with immaculately kept gardens and lakes and great on-site walks. The touring field is nicely laid out and very quiet as there is no traffic noise. My only criticism is the shower & toilet facilities which are clean but very basic. The gents shower is hot but only a trickle and it would be a nightmare if several people needed to use the single shower at the same time. The groundsman was happy to help tow some caravans which were bogged down on soaked grass pitches. The cost should be much lower considering the minimal basic facilities. 
Management response: Please note, in October 2012 we opened a brand new state of the art facilities block.


Date of Visit: October 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bindyindi 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed on this site as we were taking our motorhome to a nearby caravan merchants (which I won't use again!) for a habitation check early the next morning. I would however return to this campsite. We had one of those crazy days where the campsite details were left on the kitchen table and we arrived there late afternoon after the staff had headed home(about 4:30pm). We didn't even know if the site was still open for the year but thankfully it was and the barrier went up for us!

We drove up the long driveway cracking 'sweety darling' jokes about returning home to the mansion. It is a beautiful old building with amazingly kept grounds. Then we followed signs around to the campsite.

There were signs up with instructions for what to do if you were arriving unannounced. Which pitches you could use, and envelopes to pop your payment into. Take pen and paper if you have to do this as it made my brain hurt trying to remember the codes to both the mens and ladies toilets which are located in a courtyard just across from the field. I never did find the electric hook up key. Even though I was only looking out of curiosity as we had plenty of charge in our battery!

The toilets were nice and clean (although we were one of 3 campervans on site) and heated which was wonderful as it was freeezin! They felt homely too. Wooden doors etc. It felt like you were getting a little peek into the house. The servants quarters perhaps!?

The pitches were pretty level, and some of them with gravel hard-standing (not for those who havenae booked!)and went around the outside of the field, and in lines up the middle. They were nicely broken up with little wooded areas.

Campers get free access to stroll the grounds (not with dogs)which are stunning and full of interesting plants, fungi and immaculately shaped hedges.

We could pretty much hear the cows chomping grass from our pitch and had a fab nights sleep after a fabulous sunset, and arose with a gorgeous sunrise and had to be off. Would have liked to spend more time, especially in this nice quiet season.

Fees were reasonable, and especially so we thought for units with a good few children as they only charged the same or a couple o quids more than we paid.

Recommended! 
Management response: Please note, in October 2012 we opened a brand new state of the art facilities block.


Reviewer: Mamf 3 reviews from this member

 July 2005
We stayed her for 1 night as a maiden trip in our van. Its a beautiful setting, the Hall and gardens are lovely. The caravan site is surrounded by great views. The pitches are roomey, some are gravel and some are on a slight slop so, I would suggest early booking to get the best pitches. The showers and toilets are as mentioned before within the courtyard of the hall they are clean, free and meet your needs.
You may want to check if there is a wedding on before you stay, as there was on the night we stayed and although we were some way away from it, the music was quite load. Some pitches are right next to where the weddings are held so, I would think that the noise maybe too much in those pitches if you had young children or wanted peace.
Its a good location for visting local places of interest. There is a little hut on the site containing information leaflets etc.
Overall very nice, would stay again. 


Reviewer: Kilmory26 5 reviews from this member

 May 2005
Caresthorne Hall is a lovely, peaceful site in Macclesfiled. We visited early May bank holiday. The site is situated within the grounds of a stately home - which offers reduced admission prices to caravan guests. The grounds and chapel are free to access and make lovely walks. Views of Jodrell bank telescope greet you as you drive up the impressive drive towards the main house.

The campsite is just to the side. Toilets are clean but situated within the courtyard of the main house and obviously very old/traditional. There is only one shower in the ladies and one in the gents. The site is essentially just a field, but well laid out with lots of room between pitches - and lots of EHU. We were in the centre situated around a triangle structure with tree etc in the centre. Each side if the triangle was one pitch (approx 30 foot in length) This was great - no neighbours could park next to you!

There is no shop or other facilities on site, so you need to be self sufficient. I sent hubby out for a paper and he returned an hour later - he had headed for the nearest shops. However, if you turn left (rather than right) at the traffic lights leading up to the site, there is a garage selling most essentials. (5 mins drive!)

The field adjacent to the site is sometimes used for functions. When not in use, it is the dog walk - fully enclosed but not escape proof. There are some lovely trips out to Buxton etc if you fancy a day out.  
Management response: Please note, in October 2012 we opened a brand new state of the art facilities block.


Previous     24 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 24     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Capesthorne Hall child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Capesthorne Hall?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Capesthorne Hall dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Macclesfield      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cheshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4889 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement