Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Heathy Roods Farm Caravan & Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Staffordshire > Leek > Heathy Roods Farm Caravan & Camp Site Reviews

CLOSED: Heathy Roods Farm Caravan & Camp Site
Heathy Roods Farm
Butterton
Leek
Staffordshire   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 31 Reviews
                9/10 from 31 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  31 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dingdong55 1 review from this member

 The campsite is in a really good location with a wonderful view of the countryside and lots of wonderful walks to go on.

The toilets and showers are extremely clean and tidy you always saw someone going into clean them. The bins were never over flowing with them being emptied regularly. There was an old broken down tractor which was great for kids to play on.

There was lots of walks to go on and pubs sold really tasty food (the devonshire arms in Hartington) with a good atmosphere.

If you wanted a quiet relaxing holiday I would recommend this one however if you wanted fun filled rollercoaster holiday this would not be for you.

Cannot wait to go back. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JADE2 10 reviews from this member

 Just spent the Easter weekend at the site and what a delightful site it is. Beautiful views and as a working farm there are the spring lambs to watch. The site owners are very friendly and their newly laid eggs went down well with the bacon. Butterton village is pretty and the local pub there serves good meals at a 2 for 1. Would highly recommend the site for its location and it's cleanliness and the easy going atmosphere there. Just a short ride/walk to Wetton Mill in the middle of the Manifold valley with the cycle tracks and Thors Cave. We shall return. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LesD 19 reviews from this member

 We enjoyed our stay at this campsite. There are 3 different camping fields.The fields are generally flat with a gentle slope Views from the campsite are very good.

There is a shared toilet block with 2 WCs and 3 wash hand basins with hot water. Outside is a covered dishwashing area then a separate room with two nice shower cubicles. The showers are £1 coin operated giving about 4 minutes of hot water.

The campsite owners were very helpful and friendly.

This area is good for walking with the popular Manifold valley less than 1km away. The nearby Village of Butterton has a Pub and a shop. The town of Leek is not far for main shopping.

Camping cost £4 per person. It is a nice Farm type site with Chickens wandering about. We will go back there. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wild Camper 10 reviews from this member

 Heathy Roods Farm is well worth a visit. The owners are helpful and friendly. The facilities are pretty good, with a couple of showers and toilets in a small outbuilding.

The location is pretty much spot on. The views from the site are really pleasant, and the area is quiet and peaceful because it is far enough off the beaten track.

There is a good local pub, and the Manifold Way is very close to the farm. I can't fault the site, and the price of £4 per person is excellent value. A great little campsite. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: D03f8c 3 reviews from this member

 What a hidden gem. This little campsite was quite hard to find - just keep driving through Butterton and it is on the otherside! (Well signed once you actually find it! We stayed for two nights in June.

A good size flat field which was in excellent condition and very well drained. It has beautiful views in three directions over the peak district. We did a ten mile walk from the campsite and could view many of the hills we had climbed once we were back with a beer!

A separate field is used for Duke of Edinburgh visits. There were loads of girls staying on this field on the Saturday night but no problems at all.

The toilets and showers were immaculately kept - only two of each but we didn't end up queuing. The owner limits the number of visitors due to this so the field will never be very busy. Can imagine some of the field would be very exposed in bad weather as you are out in the open on top of a hill.

Owners are very helpful and friendly. An old tractor provided lots of entertainment for the children to climb on.

Very pretty / friendly pub in Butterton. About a 20 minute walk away (downhill back!) 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Team Monkey 19 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a couple of nights short break over the Aug Bank Holiday weekend. Not crowded and we had a good spacious area to pitch.

Ground was level where we pitched but can be slightly slanted higher up the field. Owner just let us pitch whereever we wanted, which we like.

Would recommend this site for good basic site at a great price for anyone not minding being self-sufficient and doing without elec hookup.

Good cycle route we did straight from site up to Hulme End and onto the Manifold Trail, doing a loop back round to the site via the country lanes and roads. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jonnmedds 70 reviews from this member

 Just stayed at this site whilst on a two day backpacking trip with my daughter.

Even though it poured down with rain overnight the site wasn't waterlogged.

I was a bit worried when I arrived as there were about 30ish D of E explorers staying. They were noisy early evening as you'd expect but come 9.30, quiet as mice.

The owner are very friendly, the price for me and my 11 year old daughter was only £6 per night. The site is basic but then it's not a holiday camp. I'd say it's sufficient for what we needed, though the 2 unisex toilets did get a little busy for the D of E lot woke up.

Would I go back, oh yes 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Flappingcanvas 3 reviews from this member

 Just had a fantastic 2 nights at this hideaway site in a small tent. Camped on sunday/monday nights in July- and was not at all busy. Some DofE groups there sun night but they didn't bother us in the slightest. One small field with fab views but very exposed to the elements as its at the top of a steep hill. The main field has good views, but is a bit more sheltered along the edge. 2 showers (with a £1 slot for 4 mins - a bit pricey!)2 toilets and 2 sinks. Outside is a covered wash up area with free hot water. We never had to queue or wait - but apparently the owner can take over 120 campers - and I would imagine this would prove the ablution facilities somewhat stretched! They were very well maintained and spotlessly clean always. They are located at the farmhouse bit of a treck to get there. Sounds of sheep cows and birds all over! Very remote spot.

Nearest pub is about 15 mins walk. Great beer - lovely atmosphere (alas played only dire straights for over 1 and half hours on second night! But company was good so was the beer).

Manifold trail close by as are lots of other walks.

This is NOT a camp-site for those that like activity and manicured fields. Proper camping with no frills- except a (pricey!) hot shower! Facilities are basic but adequate and well looked after.

Best variety of re-cycling bins I have ever seen on a camp-site!

We will def re-visit this site, on an off peak, midweek night. Fantastic. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Megdale 2 reviews from this member

 This is a great campsite stayed 3 nights and would go back again - Owner very helpful - Although it was a Bank Holiday weekend and plenty of people on site it did not feel crowded. Tolet and shower block basic but very clean. We went with four children under 6 no play area but it was a nice safe environment for them to go off and play but still keep an eye on them

Butterton Village is 10-15 minutes walk away and site is within easy reach of the Maniford Valley we did a couple of really nice walks from the site. Price reasonable. Would recommend and will go back again. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mandybob 1 review from this member

 Just got back from a lovely camping trip to this site. We stayed for 4 nights although we had booked for 5 the weather was so bad from the bank holiday Monday we decided to leave Wednesday night. The site is set in a lovely location in the quiet village of Butterton.

It has 2 showers in one end of the block and at the other end 2 toilets and 2 sinks for having a wash (these are communal) considering the amount of people using these they were kept scrupulously clean. Outside there are a further 3 sinks for washing up and also an area for recycling the usual waste. The owners were lovely and even said we could have a free night the next time we stayed as we were leaving early!

The site is situated on top of a hill with not much shelter so if there are strong winds you may wish to bear this in mind - however all said we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and most definitely will be returning.

As this was a bank holiday the site was full but there was not much noise of an evening and the owner would have a walk round to check we were all OK.

For the walkers out there this site is a stones through from the Manifold Valley, Dove Dale and The Roaches to name but a few. 


Previous     31 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Staffordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the country’s leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3035 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Get a Reminder