Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Heathy Roods Farm Caravan & Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Staffordshire > Leek > Heathy Roods Farm Caravan & Camp Site Reviews

CLOSED: Heathy Roods Farm Caravan & Camp Site
Heathy Roods Farm
Butterton
Leek
Staffordshire   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 31 Reviews
                9/10 from 31 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  31 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site has closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Artymandy 24 reviews from this member

 I can only describe Heathy Roods campsite as the perfect site for me! Excellent value for money and tucked away in a very peaceful plot with stunning views. The grounds were immaculate, the showers fantastic with plenty of space and the 1 for 4mins was plenty of time, toilets were beautifully clean and well maintained. It was a shame I had to leave so early, and that it was raining!

I walked to the local pub for an evening meal, that was excellent value for money and the bar staff very helpful. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rah87 1 review from this member

 Spent three nights at the site. It consists of two areas with plenty of room for tents. The fields are fairly flat and level so pitching wasn't a significant issue. The place was great value for our trip at 5 pp per night. The site has clean toilet facilities with hot water and a washing up area. The showers cost a little extra, however given how cheap the site is, it is hardly a bind. It was 1 per 4 minutes of shower. Again kept clean. One of the fields is situated next to a road, however it was mostly incredibly quiet and you could probably count the number of cars that pass in an evening on one hand. The site is keen on recycling and offers a variety of bins for all possible kinds of domestic waste. Owners are friendly.

It's fairly close to Butterton, maybe 15 minutes walk, where there is a fairly typical village pub. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cabravieja 16 reviews from this member

 Nice views and plenty of space. Few rules and they allow camp fires. Easy reach of Leek and Ashbourne. Plenty to do in the area, near to but not as busy as Derbyshire. Very reasonably priced. They do have DoE groups who hog the facilities on arrival and first thing in the morning but they're not too bad. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dubdogs 147 reviews from this member

 Stayed for a couple of nights based on the reviews on here, and they were pretty accurate. A nice site set in picturesque countryside.

There were two fields, we parked up in the larger field on the right as you drive in. The one on the left had better views but other campers, so we opted for a field to ourselves.

There was plenty of nice footpaths for walking and the manifold valley just a mile or so walk down the hill. We visited the pub in Butterton but wouldn't recommend the food or beer unfortunately.

The facilities at the site were good and it was nice to have the free range chickens as visitors. If we were in the area again, we wouldn't hesitate in using this site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Markrollings 5 reviews from this member

 We chose Heathy Roods Farm in the Peak District for a weekend getaway and it was absolutely stunning. The small site is quite remote, up on top of a hill with beautiful views all around.

There are two level fields to this site and I think the larger one has the best views. It sits next to a sloping field that had just been harvested for hay as the bails sat dotted around.

The larger field has a corner sectioned off for Duke of Edinburgh groups and one such group was there on our first night. They didn't make too much noise and were quiet by at least 10pm until they packed up about 8am in the morning.

The charge of 4. 50 per person per night was a bargain, even accounting for the 1 you must spend for four minutes in the shower. All the facilities are unisex. There are two nicely maintained showers, two toilets, two washbasins and two sinks for dishwashing. We didn't have to queue to use any facilities over the course of the weekend.

The location is the main selling point of this site. It's a walker's paradise. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pebblemole 1 review from this member

 Having never camped before I didn't know what to expect. There was a large group of us and the owners let us pitch in the smaller field (we were noisy!)

The views are fantastic. The toilet block and showers were spotless. We hired a 'camp fire' from the site.

We had breakfast delivered to our tent and that was very nice. Only there 1 night but I intend on purchasing a tent ( I borrowed one from a friend) and taking my kids. Wetton Mill is not far if you wish to take kids for a paddle.

Brian and Lily were very welcoming. I would recommend this site 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Krisjay42 1 review from this member

 Visited this site on a Thursday for a one nighter with two friends and loved it so much brought my wife her sister and our niece back on the Saturday.

The location is beautiful with outstanding views of the country side wherever you pitch.

Toilet and washing facilities are in an outbuilding next to the owners house and only a minute or two's walk from anywhere on the site.

One part of the outbuilding houses two toilets and wash basins. A little verandah has three washing up sinks and round the corner are two showers. The facilities are clean and well maintained. The showers cost 1 for about 4-5 mins. (Considering how little it costs to camp this was no hardship)Water temp is very easy to control. As the price to stay is so reasonable this

No play area but an old tractor provided lots of entertainment for the kids that were there.

The nearest pub The Black Lion is in Butterton village a mere 15-20 min walk away. The beer and the food are both very good and reasonably priced.

The site is perfectly located for walkers and cyclists with an abundance of trails for both.

An extra bonus NO MOBILE PHONE SIGNAL :)

We will definitely be revisiting this gem. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Thehoogs 7 reviews from this member

 We stayed here in our campervan for a weekend in June. We can't comment about prices as we won this weekend from the Waterhouses duck race!

We can comment however about the fantastically friendly couple who run this little gem. So nice to be welcomed personally.

We had no trouble pitching our awning and the choice of 2 fields were both pretty level. The campsite is a basic field, 2 loos, 2 showers set up, but for a weekend it was ideal. The kids had great fun playing on the old tractor and it was great to see them racing around the ample space enjoying themselves. We enjoyed a great bike ride from the site over to Wetton mill, but it was a very steep ride back up to the site.

All in all if you like to get back to a real camping experience this is for you.

If you want electric hook ups, bars and staff dressed in animal outfits- maybe not! 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cyberdave 1 review from this member

 Heathy Roods was our second family camping trip since buying our tent, we spent a long weekend there on the recommendation of a friend who lives in Leek.

The site owners are extremely friendly and helpful.

The site is beautifully situated with great views in all directions.

A real bonus is that there is no mobile phone reception on the site!

Pitches are pretty level and space isn't a problem. The grass was a bit long making walking across to the showers a bit of a damp affair first thing in the morning after a good dew.

There are only 2 toilets and 2 shower cubicles(Unisex)on site, they're basic but kept nice and clean and are adequate but timing your visit is essential to avoid queues. Hot water for the showers is on a 4 minute timer and costs a pound but given how cheap the site tarrifs are it's no hardship.

4 minutes may not sound long but if you go organised and have your toiletries ready to go then it's more than long enough for a good shower! Remember to keep a few pound coins at hand though!

In addition to camping the site offers bed and breakfast in the farmhouse and there are two Yurts on site that can be rented out, they don't belong to the campsite but the owners of the site can give you full details of who to contact if you're interested.

There's an old tractor that the kids can play on but aside from that there are no other facilities for kids so be sure to take bats, balls etc!

There's a pub just up the road from the main entrance which unfortunately we didn't discover until it was too late! We did manage a swift pint of 'Buxton Blonde' in the Royal Oak at Wetton.

The site has no electric and no freezer pack service (which would be useful) and as shops are few and far between tinned and dried food goods are essential if you don't want to be driving back to Leek to restock supplies!

All in all we spent a very pleasant week-end at Heathy Roods and I would heartily recommend it to anyone looking to enjoy some peace and quiet in a beautiful location. 


Previous     31 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Staffordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3815 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement