Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Castle Bay Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Stranraer > Castle Bay Holiday Park Reviews

Castle Bay Holiday Park
Portpatrick
Stranraer
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG9 9AA
Tel: 01776 810462
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 35 Reviews
                7/10 from 35 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  35 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Wyrdcrow 3 reviews from this member

 The location is glorious - wonderful sea views, easy access to the coastal path, and the town of Portpatrick is only a short walk away.

Pitch sizes are adequate - not generous but ok. However, some caravans were badly positioned in them. Our immediate neighbours were so close to our motorhome that often it felt as if they were in there with us. The site managers either didn't notice the chaotic, crowded positioning of caravans or they didn't care.

The shower block is appalling for a site that charges 22 a night in July. Four very 'tired' toilet cubicles and two showers is totally inadequate on a site that has 100+ people in tents, caravans and motorhomes. The two showers have no doors - just curtains. The water reduces to a trickle whenever anyone flushes a toilet or runs a tap in the block. The washing-up area was also far too small for the number of people using it.

The site shop is hopeless, constantly running out of basics such as milk. Again, there seems to be a complete lack of thoughtfulness and care. With so many touring visitors and many more in the scores of statics surrounding them, you'd think the site shop would be a good little business. But no.

There's no dedicated MSP and the CDU is a slog to get to - thoughtlessly positioned too far away from where tourers and campers are actually pitched.

We've stayed on so many lovely sites, from little CLs to big Club sites, where the owners have gone to great lengths to give their guests a pleasant stay. Such a shame, because with some investment, thoughtfulness and care, this could be a fantastic site. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: THOMPSONTENT 2 reviews from this member

 We camped at Castlebay for 4 nights through midsummer & the summer solstice. Having arrived later on our first evening, we didn't pick up the welcome information provided & being more intent on pitching before the sun set, pitched in an area outside the invisible line flanked by 2 small bollards. Being very happy with the tents position & overlooking the Irish sea on a warm, calm night, we settled down to rest. There were no other tents whatsoever on the site. In the morning having gone to reception to pay for the stay & pick up the loo/kitchen block key, we were asked to move the tent because, 'everyone likes to camp down there & have BBQs & don't use the toilet block. We can't have that & you must pitch above the (invisible) line. It's been a site rule that goes back many years'. Despite explaining that we had a portable loo, we were still asked to move, much to our disappointment due to the sloping nature of the tenting area. Only one more tent appeared for the rest of the weekend.

The toilet block provides adequate facilities & hot showers although no power points for e. G. Hairdryer. There is a small area to wash utensils that accommodates one person at a time. The site shop had very little stock & many empty shelves & doesn't sell the basics, morning rolls or newspapers. The shop staff were very nice & very helpful.

The picturesque village of Portpatrick is a short walk away either on the coastal path or down through the old railway track, both very nice walks. There are 3 hotels, all serving food all day & with live music. We have never experienced such helpful, can do, staff in each! How nice.

In all the stay was fine & the summer solstice very special as we looked out over the Irish sea from our pitch & watched the various lighthouses flashing in the dark. The site is worth visiting just to experience the views! 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Liane1948 11 reviews from this member

 The location of this site is just fantastic. Lovely sea views and a great walk into Portpatrick which is stunning. A great walk in the other direction along the cliff tops to Morroch Bay, beautiful!

What a shame to have a Campsite with all this going for it and make no effort at all to look after the campers! There is a tatty toilet/shower block that looks like it has never had a through clean. It had only shower curtains, no doors, and these were mouldy on the bottoms! Just not good enough when you are charging 22 per night.

The camping field does not have a water point and it is a bit of a trek to the toilet block to get water.  


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: ElandCa 2 reviews from this member

 A fantastic site with stunning views and wonderful countryside. Great walks from the site to Portpatrick and the Bay. Clean and tidy facilities, well kept site with pleasant staff. We arrived unexpected about 7pm when shop was shut. But found great instructions for late arrivals or unexpected 'on spec' arrivals (which is what we were). The envelope and instructions were great and gave you confidence to just organise yourself and set up without wondering what the rules were, as they were all written down for you and you sorted it all out in the morning.

We really enjoyed our stay and looking forward to returning to Port patrick and most certainly to the Castle Bay Camp site. Would highly recommend. The facilities are clean, well kept and adequate. I agree the kitchen is a little on the small side and maybe a side return or somewhere to put the dry pots/plates may be useful if washing up a lot of dishes. Otherwise great. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Ymac 13 reviews from this member

 Views and Portpatrick made our visit enjoyable but we probably wont go back to Castle Bay.

The toilet and dishwashing facilities were not nearly adequate for the amount of tents and caravans and the pitches were almost all on sloping ground.

Staff very helpful and explained investment will be made by new owners. Worthwhile looking at again in a year to see if improvements have been made.

Portpatrick never disappoints and there was a RLNI gala week taking place which finished with a terrific firework display on Saturday night.

All in all a good weekend. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Romerem 3 reviews from this member

 We spent 3 nights here over the Jubilee weekend and had an enjoyable time despite one of the rainiest days we have ever had on a camping trip. The site overlooks the Irish Sea with excellent views of Northern Ireland.

It is perfectly placed for walking access to Portpatrick which has an excellent harbour with 3 lovely hotels for eating out and a wee drink. The check-in process was simple and quick and we were told to choose a space to pitch, we were lucky and got a flat spot on the top of the hill. Very lucky to get that as the rest of the site is quite steep.

The toilets are looking past their best and could do with renovation although they were kept clean but not by the efforts of the campers.

The dishwashing area however is way too small with no room to place the dried dishes without some inventive thinking. Overall it is a good place for a short visit and we will return soon. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mattv 7 reviews from this member

 Stayed here with the family for 7 nights in June 2012. The site has stunning views of Dunskey Castle, the sea and Northern Ireland from the site.

There is a small playground that the children used a few times.

There is a pleasant coastal walk into Portpatrick which is a lovely little town. I would recommend the pubs and we ate at the Crown Hotel and the food was very good especially the fish platter.

The facilities on the site are good enough, hot water on tap and the place is cleaned although it isn't what I really look for in a site. The tent field is sloped towards the sea but this causes no issues.

The shop on site is handy and there are a couple of shops in the town with supermarkets in Stranraer. Also got to play the local golf course which was excellent.

A quiet site that I would recommend and will be returning to. Their website doesn't show the views that can be seen but its worth a trip. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dynamite 1 review from this member

 Easy booking by telephone. On arrival booked in by very friendly helpful staff. Plenty room on pitches although most on a slight slope but caused no concern.

It rained while we were there but ground drained quickly so no muddy feet. Site very clean. Location perfect for views and access to surrounding areas.

Showers nice and hot all the time I was there, only problem if busy was dish washing area which is really not big enough for two people to use at once but perfect if quiet, could do with a larger area and draining board.

No noise on site after dark which was good to get the kids to sleep. Prices are great and no charge for extra vehicle and although our tent was enormous no extra charge for that either where others sometimes charge for two pitches.We will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: CD04 1 review from this member

 Arrival at Castle Bay was hassle free. After a quick check in my fiance and I went to the camping area and found a place to pitch our tent. Campers can choose where to pitch their tents within this area without being given an exact pitch to set up. This allowed us to choose and excellent spot with a stunning view of the sea and the castle. The camping area has the advantage of being right in front of the sea with the caravan area being further back.

It was immediately obvious that the campsite is well maintained. When we arrived there were several members of staff going around the park working on various jobs.

We found Castle Bay to be a relaxing and quiet holiday park. When we visited the site was being used by families, couples and small groups on fishing trips. The fact that there is plenty of space allowed everyone to get on with their own thing without any disruption.

One possible area for improvement is the toilet and shower block. While they are kept clean on the whole the area could use some upgrading to provide more comfort and a little extra privacy. However, this shouldn't put anyone off too much as the rest of the campsite certainly made up for it.

Finally, we found the location of the campsite to be excellent for visiting Portpatrick itself. A half mile walk along the coastal path brings you out at the beautiful Portpatrick. We found that we could happily spend the day there (mostly visiting the fine selection of pubs)! 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mitchellscamping 6 reviews from this member

 Great spot, the views are absolutely amazing and better than the other portpatrick sites. I called up late on a Thursday and got booked for Fri and Sat, they had a great late arrival system as we were getting there about 8pm, left a key in an envelope in a box outside reception. Reasonably well stocked shop with all the basics

Really relaxed place, with plenty of open space, toilets are small but OK, the town is brilliant, really nice pubs and great food with a nice walk back along the cliffs. We will definitely be back here. 


Previous     35 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Castle Bay Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Castle Bay Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Castle Bay Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Stranraer      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2312 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement