Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Castle Bay Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Stranraer > Castle Bay Holiday Park Reviews

Castle Bay Holiday Park
Portpatrick
Stranraer
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG9 9AA
Tel: 01776 810462
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 33 Reviews
                7/10 from 33 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  33 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Liane1948 11 reviews from this member

 The location of this site is just fantastic. Lovely sea views and a great walk into Portpatrick which is stunning. A great walk in the other direction along the cliff tops to Morroch Bay, beautiful!

What a shame to have a Campsite with all this going for it and make no effort at all to look after the campers! There is a tatty toilet/shower block that looks like it has never had a through clean. It had only shower curtains, no doors, and these were mouldy on the bottoms! Just not good enough when you are charging 22 per night.

The camping field does not have a water point and it is a bit of a trek to the toilet block to get water.  


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: ElandCa 2 reviews from this member

 A fantastic site with stunning views and wonderful countryside. Great walks from the site to Portpatrick and the Bay. Clean and tidy facilities, well kept site with pleasant staff. We arrived unexpected about 7pm when shop was shut. But found great instructions for late arrivals or unexpected 'on spec' arrivals (which is what we were). The envelope and instructions were great and gave you confidence to just organise yourself and set up without wondering what the rules were, as they were all written down for you and you sorted it all out in the morning.

We really enjoyed our stay and looking forward to returning to Port patrick and most certainly to the Castle Bay Camp site. Would highly recommend. The facilities are clean, well kept and adequate. I agree the kitchen is a little on the small side and maybe a side return or somewhere to put the dry pots/plates may be useful if washing up a lot of dishes. Otherwise great. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Ymac 12 reviews from this member

 Views and Portpatrick made our visit enjoyable but we probably wont go back to Castle Bay.

The toilet and dishwashing facilities were not nearly adequate for the amount of tents and caravans and the pitches were almost all on sloping ground.

Staff very helpful and explained investment will be made by new owners. Worthwhile looking at again in a year to see if improvements have been made.

Portpatrick never disappoints and there was a RLNI gala week taking place which finished with a terrific firework display on Saturday night.

All in all a good weekend. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Romerem 3 reviews from this member

 We spent 3 nights here over the Jubilee weekend and had an enjoyable time despite one of the rainiest days we have ever had on a camping trip. The site overlooks the Irish Sea with excellent views of Northern Ireland.

It is perfectly placed for walking access to Portpatrick which has an excellent harbour with 3 lovely hotels for eating out and a wee drink. The check-in process was simple and quick and we were told to choose a space to pitch, we were lucky and got a flat spot on the top of the hill. Very lucky to get that as the rest of the site is quite steep.

The toilets are looking past their best and could do with renovation although they were kept clean but not by the efforts of the campers.

The dishwashing area however is way too small with no room to place the dried dishes without some inventive thinking. Overall it is a good place for a short visit and we will return soon. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mattv 7 reviews from this member

 Stayed here with the family for 7 nights in June 2012. The site has stunning views of Dunskey Castle, the sea and Northern Ireland from the site.

There is a small playground that the children used a few times.

There is a pleasant coastal walk into Portpatrick which is a lovely little town. I would recommend the pubs and we ate at the Crown Hotel and the food was very good especially the fish platter.

The facilities on the site are good enough, hot water on tap and the place is cleaned although it isn't what I really look for in a site. The tent field is sloped towards the sea but this causes no issues.

The shop on site is handy and there are a couple of shops in the town with supermarkets in Stranraer. Also got to play the local golf course which was excellent.

A quiet site that I would recommend and will be returning to. Their website doesn't show the views that can be seen but its worth a trip. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dynamite 1 review from this member

 Easy booking by telephone. On arrival booked in by very friendly helpful staff. Plenty room on pitches although most on a slight slope but caused no concern.

It rained while we were there but ground drained quickly so no muddy feet. Site very clean. Location perfect for views and access to surrounding areas.

Showers nice and hot all the time I was there, only problem if busy was dish washing area which is really not big enough for two people to use at once but perfect if quiet, could do with a larger area and draining board.

No noise on site after dark which was good to get the kids to sleep. Prices are great and no charge for extra vehicle and although our tent was enormous no extra charge for that either where others sometimes charge for two pitches.We will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: CD04 1 review from this member

 Arrival at Castle Bay was hassle free. After a quick check in my fiance and I went to the camping area and found a place to pitch our tent. Campers can choose where to pitch their tents within this area without being given an exact pitch to set up. This allowed us to choose and excellent spot with a stunning view of the sea and the castle. The camping area has the advantage of being right in front of the sea with the caravan area being further back.

It was immediately obvious that the campsite is well maintained. When we arrived there were several members of staff going around the park working on various jobs.

We found Castle Bay to be a relaxing and quiet holiday park. When we visited the site was being used by families, couples and small groups on fishing trips. The fact that there is plenty of space allowed everyone to get on with their own thing without any disruption.

One possible area for improvement is the toilet and shower block. While they are kept clean on the whole the area could use some upgrading to provide more comfort and a little extra privacy. However, this shouldn't put anyone off too much as the rest of the campsite certainly made up for it.

Finally, we found the location of the campsite to be excellent for visiting Portpatrick itself. A half mile walk along the coastal path brings you out at the beautiful Portpatrick. We found that we could happily spend the day there (mostly visiting the fine selection of pubs)! 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mitchellscamping 6 reviews from this member

 Great spot, the views are absolutely amazing and better than the other portpatrick sites. I called up late on a Thursday and got booked for Fri and Sat, they had a great late arrival system as we were getting there about 8pm, left a key in an envelope in a box outside reception. Reasonably well stocked shop with all the basics

Really relaxed place, with plenty of open space, toilets are small but OK, the town is brilliant, really nice pubs and great food with a nice walk back along the cliffs. We will definitely be back here. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ticky 4 reviews from this member

 I had two breaks at castle bay caravan park on 2010, both breaks were for three days, one break was for friday saturday and sunday and second break was for sunday monday and tuesday.

It appears to me that portpatrick is used for weekend breaks away as from sunday the place was so quite with very little happening.

I would say that the staff on site are very pleasant and I enjoyed the walk into town along the seafront. I paid 13 per night without electric plug in on my two visits but am informed that its for 2011 its 17 per night for fri/saturday nights which I think is a little expensive for what's on offer, so doubt I will be returning

Even when I was there at all times I found the site quiet though the town was busy and I feel many people come from surrounding areas.

A friendly town which doesn't require an a to z map to get around, everything is close by. Not sure if the site wants tourers or tents, perhaps there's more money in letting out there own units/statics. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: JACANWYL 3 reviews from this member

 Wow what an amazing site! We were only meant to stay here for one night but could not leave, so we ended up staying for three nights. The weather was fantastic with clear views over to Ireland. The newly appointed wardens (one month), were a great help, even lending us a water hose as our was too short.

The view of Dunskey castle was breath taking well worth waking up to every morning.

The walk down into port Patrick was a joy. Fantastic pubs, all dog friendly, serving meals.

Walked the southern upland way one day well worth the effort.

The walk back up to the site is not as bad as people have made out. We even managed it at night with a couple of torches.

I agree that there could be more showers but we managed.

The positives make this site fantastic, can't wait to return. 


Previous     33 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Castle Bay Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Castle Bay Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Castle Bay Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Stranraer      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Campervan Show, Peterborough 11/06 to 13/06
Browse new and used motorhomes for sale from a huge range of local and national dealers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4768 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement