Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Castle Bay Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Stranraer > Castle Bay Holiday Park > Reviews

Castle Bay Holiday Park
Portpatrick
Stranraer
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG9 9AA
Tel: 01776 810462
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 37 Reviews
                7/10 from 37 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  37 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: March 2024 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Gipojoe 1 review from this member

 Recently taken over by new company, it’s not the same as previous, check in 3 pm ! And check out 10 am this is just not right unheard off in our experience of opening /check out times.

We arrived 3 10 pm, no one in reception, rung the number and told to proceed to park up, 15 mins later half way through unloading got told we can’t stay in that spot ! Not really professional service at all. We were given a leaflet in which there’s no contact number on !

Prices have gone up for 2024 to 30 a night from 25 a night re new company !

There is now No laundry services !

Shower block is good, views are excellent

Been coming here for a fw years but all I can say is it’s a shambles and will not be coming back. It’s going to be Galloway point for us next time 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ian buc 3 reviews from this member

 Great views from the van, over the sea and a castle.

Good toilets and showers. Very clean.

Could do with an upgrade on the waste side of things.

Would stay again if in the area. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: 1019438613 1 review from this member

 Fabulous location with stunning views.

Toilet block is now open, beautifully fitted out and immaculately clean. The laundry and kitchen area is still to be completed but this wasn't an issue for us.

Fab walk along the cliff path to Portpatrick.

As it's cliff top it's inclined to be hit by the wind but that's the trade off to the clifftop views. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Razamataz 9 reviews from this member

 Brilliant site

Love the Hobbit Style layout!

Very tidy and well kept landscape

Lovely walk to Portpatrick and good bars and restaurants

There’s a local bar just at campsite entrance 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Anseo 1 review from this member

 Having decided to leave the site we were on in the Port Logan area (it was just too quiet us being the only people there) we headed for Stranraer area.

A stop at the roadside and a login to UKCampsite found a listing for Castlebay Holiday & Residential Park, so I phoned up and asked about serviced pitches and did they have drainage, running water and EHU, I was told that there was no drainage but EHU and water were available.

There was EHU, but the response relating to water supply was economical with the truth, having been allocated a pitch we proceeded to our location, EHU only?, OH well I thought, water and waste should not be too far away, how wrong I was.

Lovely pitch location and great views, but the trek for water was so great that I used my car to transport the Aquaroll and waste and toilette cassette, what a major chore.

There is a new toilet block under construction, and it has been for a couple of years according to a fellow camper.

There is also a bare concrete base that is apparently destined to become a water supply and disposal point at sometime in the future according to the site manager.

Whether there is any intention to provide water to serviced pitches I do not know; I was so displeased with the chore of traveling such a long distance for water and waste disposal that I did not inquire, by now I had given up any interest in the site.

Regrettably things got worse when we used the toilet block (next to the water collection point), yes another long trek, 2 toilets and 2 showers in the gents for a very large and busy site, a shower curtain only, dismal and smelly with liberal black mould around the shower trays, a place I just wanted to get out of as soon as possible, there is also a most basic dish washing area that could only accommodate one person at a time.

Cost £20. 00 per night, lovely views and walks but I was most happiest when I was packing up to leave, you can guess I won't be returning. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LBBK 56 reviews from this member

 This site is about location, location, location. If it facilities you are looking for then this is not the place for you!

It is essentially a static caravan park with an area set aside for touring caravans and tents. The setting is stunning - cliff top overlooking the Irish Sea and the wonderfully photogenic Dunksey Castle. There is a cliff top walk of about 20 mins into the equally picturesque village of PortPatrick (plenty of shallow steps but there are benches if you want a rest) which has small shops, pubs, a lifeboat and black guillimots in the harbour.

But back to the campsite: the camping field is exposed. Check the weather forecast before you arrive! If a storm comes in you will need to be pitched correctly in a decent tent to survive intact. This includes the month of June!

As mentioned in other reviews the toilet block is small and basic but there was plenty of hot water and it was kept clean. The foundations have been laid for a new one but it doesn't look like it will open until next season?

There is a small playarea, shop and games room on site but we didn't use them so can't really comment. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mollys Owners 4 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 3 day weekend at this site. As others have posted the views are impressive and Portpatrick is a great wee fishing village only a 15 minute, dog friendly walk away. ( dog friendly pubs too - the crown hotel and the downshire hotel both allowed dogs in where food and drink is available)

The site has a high proportion of static caravans and there appear to be works underway to increase the capacity for both tourers and statics. If that is the case then there needs to be some improvement to the toilet facilities. They were clean and bright but only 2 toilet cubicles (mens block) 2 showers (only curtained and not great water pressure) and 2 washbasins were inadequate.

Nice friendly welcome at reception and an electrical problem dealt with quickly and successfully by the owner were pleasing aspects.

Our hardstanding pitch appeared to be newly laid and was level with only a short trip to the water, waste and CDU.

All in all we would return to Portpatrick at the drop of a hat, whether or not we returned to Castle Bay is up for debate. At £24 per night I feel it is overpriced for the facilities it offers. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Currycampers 19 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for my husband and son to start the Southern Upland Way, which is within a few minutes walk of this site. We arrived in our campervan but also had two small tents on the tent field. The location is superb with castle and sea views. Having seen my husband and son off on their walk I decided to stay another night as this was such a lovely spot.

Portpatrick is only a few minutes (cliff top) walk away and is delightful. I found the manager friendly and helpful and would certainly return. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alan-c1 10 reviews from this member

 We visited this site as we'd heard it was well located and Portpatrick was close by; on both points this was indeed the case. However following check in the location was the only positive point in the sites favour.

The entire touring area of the site was as bumpy and uneven as I've ever seen, making levelling the caravan very awkward and time consuming; worse was to come though. The shower block is appalling; dated, dirty pre-fab miles from the touring pitches and very unpleasant to use being too small, full of cob-webs and not at all what I'd expected for the hefty pitch fees. Added to this the shop/reception had very restricted opening hours, there was no lighting after dark, no nearby stand pipes for filling up with/disposing of water and as stated toilet block a near 5 minute walk from the pitches. Suffice to say despite the beauty of Portpatrick I won't return to this site. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Simpson36 1 review from this member

 Views stunning, toilet/showers not so stunning, (as mentioned in previous feedback)

The facilities and the distance between campers/units, was a let down, when I contacted the owners and expressed my concerns that a caravan next to me had a large awning attached to it, and then placed a gazebo in front of it, resulting it being approximately only 18inches away from my camper, I was informed that the 6 metres from units means just that! Meaning awnings and Gazebos do not have to be 6 metres away.

I was informed that the people in the caravan “were regulars”, and that they had “assured” the owner of the site that they were not cooking in the gazebo and it would be taken down that evening, the owner gave his reassurance that he would check “in an hours time that the gazebo had been taken down” it was taken down two days later after the wind had blown it about.

Also the 18inch gap between my van and the gazebo was used as a smoking area.

There were also dogs not on leads, and dog poo bags stacked in the hedge.

Overall rating 7 just for the views. 


Previous     37 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Castle Bay Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Castle Bay Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Castle Bay Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Stranraer      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


47111 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement