Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Castle Bay Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Stranraer > Castle Bay Holiday Park Reviews

Castle Bay Holiday Park
Portpatrick
Stranraer
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG9 9AA
Tel: 01776 810462
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 35 Reviews
                7/10 from 35 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  35 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ticky 4 reviews from this member

 I had two breaks at castle bay caravan park on 2010, both breaks were for three days, one break was for friday saturday and sunday and second break was for sunday monday and tuesday.

It appears to me that portpatrick is used for weekend breaks away as from sunday the place was so quite with very little happening.

I would say that the staff on site are very pleasant and I enjoyed the walk into town along the seafront. I paid 13 per night without electric plug in on my two visits but am informed that its for 2011 its 17 per night for fri/saturday nights which I think is a little expensive for what's on offer, so doubt I will be returning

Even when I was there at all times I found the site quiet though the town was busy and I feel many people come from surrounding areas.

A friendly town which doesn't require an a to z map to get around, everything is close by. Not sure if the site wants tourers or tents, perhaps there's more money in letting out there own units/statics. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: JACANWYL 3 reviews from this member

 Wow what an amazing site! We were only meant to stay here for one night but could not leave, so we ended up staying for three nights. The weather was fantastic with clear views over to Ireland. The newly appointed wardens (one month), were a great help, even lending us a water hose as our was too short.

The view of Dunskey castle was breath taking well worth waking up to every morning.

The walk down into port Patrick was a joy. Fantastic pubs, all dog friendly, serving meals.

Walked the southern upland way one day well worth the effort.

The walk back up to the site is not as bad as people have made out. We even managed it at night with a couple of torches.

I agree that there could be more showers but we managed.

The positives make this site fantastic, can't wait to return. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: The warrior 3 reviews from this member

 This site is right on the sea front overlooking the Irish coast. Nice walks across the cliff tops into Portpatrick a few pubs selling food, shops to get daily papers and groceries, amusements. There is a small harbour, there is a mobile take away van serving fish and chips but if you want a larger variety of take away food you have to go to Stranraer which is about 7 miles from the campsite. The site has a small shop and games room, toilet/shower block was very warm plenty of free hot water but quite small facilities they were very clean and tidy and so was the campsite, a little water logged but you cant help the weather. Staff very friendly and helpful. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: TOMANDMAGGIE 1 review from this member

 My wife and I had a thoroughly enjoyable stay on this site. First impressions were of an exceptionally friendly staff who could not do enough for us. They were always welcoming and always had cheery smiles.We were given loads of advice on the area (and what a beautiful part of the country) Now for the down side- 15 steps up then a super cliff top walk looking over the sea to Ireland (easy day trip to Belfast on the Stanraer high speed ferry)followed by a 125 step descent to the village of Portpatrick. The village is so worth the 15 minute walk but the return is a fairly strenuous one up all these steps. There are seats on the way up so you can pretend to be enjoying the views whilst getting your breath back. The only other fault I had with my stay was the limited and compact shower facilities(2)There is a lot of change happening on this site and I am sure that improving the facilities will be on the agenda. That said, we will definitely return to this site as the staff and location certainly made it a very pleasant trip 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Johanisk 2 reviews from this member

 We took our young daughters (15mnths, 20mnths and 30mnths) for two nights and had a brilliant time. It was their first time camping and they loved it.

The camping area is mostly on a bit of a slope but we were able to pitch at the rear which meant we had clear sitelines to allow our kids to run amok down the slope towards the sea!

The toilet and shower facilities were very clean but it seemed to be a bit of a lottery regarding the temperature of the water - I experienced both scaldingly hot and mildly tepid water temperatures during our stay. Would have been great if there had been a family room in the shower block to take the kids to get cleaned up.

The playground was excellent for the kids with the usual swings, chutes and seesaw things that they love.

We didn't try the coastal walk to Portpatrick as it looked unsuitable for buggies (107 steps at the other end) but we did spend a bit of time in Portpatrick as there was a nice wee beach and plenty of places to get ice lollies etc.

We also got a nice Saturday night dinner from the fish and chip van that was located in the harbour. Very tasty and made feeding the weans easy.

Other campers were friendly and seemed to be fairly toddler-resistant, which was good.

Would probably go back, definitely would if they built bypasses round Maybole and Girvan. The trip to and from Glasgow was a bit of a drag. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Camper_cruz 23 reviews from this member

 Lovely campsite overlooking the sea with Ireland visible in the distance. Yes the facilities may be a little tired but purely as a stopover for the ferry it is a lovely spot. Portpatrick is only a 15 minute stroll away along the cliff path by the ruined castle and on a warm sunny and still June evening it was just what the doctor ordered. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fiona W 201 reviews from this member

 Good points as follows: views of the sea, Dunskey Castle and the short walk down to the pubs of pretty harbour town of Portpatrick (130 steps back up); this walk also serves as the off-site dog walk. (The touring areas at next door Galloway Point and Sunnymeade sites were by the road with no views.)

Bad points as follows: hugely expensive - I expect much better facilities for 18 GBP per night. Management not in evidence. At least eight dogs running free all weekend (despite standard site rules that dogs stay on a leash), so there were several dog fights. Radios stayed on loud until midnight. No water pipe in the huge touring / tent area, and it's a fair step to get water at the basic loos and pot wash building. No doors to the showers - a curtain isn't secure enough for me, so I didn't shower. No motorhome service point and the CDP is out in the open beside the road - not pretty, and messy in a strong wind. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Warbuj 19 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a long weekend at this little gem of a site. The setting is beautiful and the coastal walks nearby are breathtaking- the best we have ever seen.
The toilet block could be a little larger and the men's showers were a tad cold but on the whole they were clean and sufficient for a short stay. Lots of space for camping and playing games and lots of rabbits to keep the kids entertained.
The site seems to attract very friendly campers and we would like to thank the gents who helped us with our tent on a very windy morning- there was a strong possibility that we could have been blown away!
Would definitely recommend this site and will be returning very soon. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Happycamper4692 3 reviews from this member

 Just back from a glorious Easter weekend at Castle Bay. Have visited this lovely site before staying in a static caravan but this was our first time camping. The camping area has beautiful views over the cliff and the sunny warm weather made it all the better. My only complaint with this site (as a camper) was the complete lack of any power sockets in the toilet block I was informed by the lady at reception that it was against health & safety rules because of the showers, but other campsites manage to have them. We were there for 3 nights and found it very distressing as a female not being able to blowdry or straighten my hair for my nights out in Portpatrick (even us campers like to look good on a night out!) The showers were also luke-warm as was the water in the washing up sinks making it impossible to clean greasy pots and dishes. These factors would make me think twice about returning to Castle Bay 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Amh_20 1 review from this member

 Arrived a Friday night. Pitch for the tents is fantastic with views over to Ireland. Luckily not windy, I can imagine it would get quite windy as it's on top of a cliff. Pleasant walk into Portpatrick, about 15 mins. Not a lot on the site itself. Toilet block clean with plenty of hot water. Portpatrick is a lovely village, with plenty of pubs. Start of the Southern Upway walk. If you start along this and walk past the golf course, there is a lovely secluded beach.

Would highly recommend and would return. 


Previous     35 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Castle Bay Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Castle Bay Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Castle Bay Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Stranraer      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1965 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement