Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Wicksteed Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Northamptonshire > Kettering > Wicksteed Park Reviews

Wicksteed Park
Barton Road
Kettering
Northamptonshire   (Browse area)
NN15 6NJ
Tel: 01536 512475
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 200
Open: 28 March - 31 October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 42 Reviews
                7/10 from 42 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  42 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Thereluctantcamper 1 review from this member

Jubliee weekend - stayed 2 nights - Saturday & Sunday with 2 other families. Rained all day Sunday but field not too soggy. Toilet block kept clean and warm. Visited the on-site restaurant Sunday evening for some good value, tasty pub grub. They don't do puddings but kids had an ice-lolly from the freezer so they were happy. Children had a fantastic time (weather permitting) on all the rides. There was a hen-party on site but I wasn't aware of any problems with them. Some people had camped right down the bottom field and drove dangerously fast as they went too and fro. 2 gripes - 'hot' water for washing-up needs to be (a lot) hotter. A freezer for ice-packs would be a most welcome addition.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gloucester 13 reviews from this member

We visited over the Jubilee bank holiday weekend.

The site was very quiet - the forecast wasn't great! Many people left over the course of Sunday due to the heavy rain.

The field did get a bit boggy and muddy (36 hours continual heavy rain), but these sections were quickly marked off so people didn't drive through them.

I only used the toilet block to go to the loo / brush teeth, but it seemed nice and warm and bright. It was clean and tidy at all times.

The washing up area didn't have constant hot water - take a washing up bowl to catch it when it's there! But was clean and tidy.

Checking in to the site was quick and painless.

We were allowed to pitch anywhere we wanted, and formed a group with other family members.

There was a hen party there the same weekend so careful about where you pitch if these groups are allowed in.

Bins were emptied very regularly and placed near groups - amazing service.

There is a lake close by to the camping field which you can access easily. Amazing with older children, I might have worried about a younger toddler.

My only gripe would be that there is no playground close to the camping field. The big playground in the park is a good 10 minutes walk away and was locked up on one of the nights (at about 9pm) so there was little for the kids to do. Not sure what time it was locked from.

Would definitely go back in sunnier weather. Wasn't so great in pouring rain. Remember to swap your Tesco clubcard vouchers to themepark vouchers.

KidsPlay in Kettering is a great soft play centre (we had kids aged 4-14) for a wet day.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Heidibear 9 reviews from this member

We stayed here for a VW Campervan (California) meet and found the rally field to be an excellent location.

There is a new shower block with more than enough facilities. Very clean and the head groundsman was very on the ball.

The field was well drained, even with all the rain!

Friendly staff and the town was a 30 minute walk away where our friends found the local Wetherspoons!

The site is actually inside the park and you can hear the rides going during the day and the children enjoying themselves.

The circus was there whilst we were there but unfortunately we didn't go.

Excellent weekend had by all.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: BadBoyBushy 15 reviews from this member

We stayed for 1 weekend (Friday to Sunday) in July 2011 in a caravan.

The whole site is on a gradual incline so levelling boards were required. We found the camp site to have clean modern facilities, with plenty of water taps sited around the site, however there are no electric hook up points.

The toilet block became very crowded and had long queues in the morning as there are only about 6 showers in both the men's and ladies. There are also family rooms available. The toilet/wash room was kept stocked with toilet rolls and was kept very clean. However in my opinion the site could do with another shower block further down the field for use in peek season to avoid the queues I experienced.

Dogs are allowed on the site, and are subject to the normal camp site rules. Mine thoroughly enjoyed himself.

The cost per night for our unit (up to 20' or 6M) was 20 which we found quite expensive, however if you off set the 6 parking charge that the public have to pay per day @ 14 per unit per night it wasn't that bad.

Would I go there again? - Yes I would, but only for a short stay, not a weeks holiday

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lucy Carr 1 review from this member

When we arrived we were directed to a large sloping field with no set pitches, although we had to pay an additional 10 per night for a large pitch as we have a big tent (22' long). So we were charged 30 per night (90 for a 3 night weekend).

The toilet blocks were new and the family rooms looked lovely. However, some doors didn't lock, some toilets were completely blocked and some were left in such a state that it was nicer to go to the Tesco down the road! There were no toilet brushes for people to use, and no mops in the showers. Also, there was nowhere to keep your clothes dry in the shower so everything had to be balanced on top of the door!

The washing up facilities would have been good, but they only had cold taps - we found it easier to boil the kettle and wash up in the tent.

There was no concession price for the theme park which we found very overpriced for what was there.

The positives - nice surroundings (excluding the train line that runs right along the side of the campsite all day and night), plenty of drinking water and rubbish points.

We did complain - the first thing they said was that they have a no refund policy - we didn't ask for a refund! They were very unhelpful and full of excuses. We did however pack up and leave a day early.

Not recommended by me!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Barvye 5 reviews from this member

We only stayed here one night and was a bit reluctant to use it at all because of previous reviews on this web site. It would seem that in the main most negative points were about the toilet/shower blocks.

We were pleasantly surprised as, what we found was, what was probably a brand new toilet block which was very clean and having ample facilities. There were also a number of family bathrooms available.

Sadly some vandalisation had taken place and none of the toilet compartments would lock as they were all misaligned with the catches, due to one cubical wall being kicked outwards.

If there were any kids in our party, there would have been plenty for them to do in the mini Themepark on site. Although most of the rides had a modest charge via wristbands or tickets, there was a vast array of free and unusual playground equipment for use.

It was a shame that no electric hook ups are installed but at 15 per night, which includes the 6 parking fee, it was very reasonable.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Campingfamily5 1 review from this member

Have just returned from a five day break at Wicksteed park. On arrival to the park, we was greeted by a very friendly and welcoming gate person, who told us exactly where to go and where we could place our tent.

The site was always very clean, lots of collection bins, which was regularly collected from. The toilet block was one of the best I have seen, very hot showers, plenty to cope with the demand. Washing up sinks unfortunately only cold water, so ended up taking a flask of hot water down with us. Due to terrific rain, winds, thunder and lightening the area around the new toilet block became very muddy, caused by the cars getting to their pitches on the far side of the site, we slipped quite a few times, the toilet block, could have done with a gravel path going all the way round the outside of it. This would have it much safer.

Would have been a bonus if there was an on site shop for basics (and somewhere to freeze ur coolblocks!) and something to do in the evenings for the campers. There is plenty to do, within a short car ride, but it would have been nice to support the park for these things.

The park itself is great, lots for every age to do from a sandpit and their famous play area to rollercoasters and pirate ships.

Can't wait to go again, just hope next time we manage to get good weather to go with it!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: The Vet 1 review from this member

After reading the index for the facilities for the campsite I decided to stay one night.

I was on a 2 day course some 3 miles away from the site.

The toilets and shower block was nice and the site very large although there were not a lot of people there. Nice area to walk my dog.

The down side of the site was that the information sent was not very clear.

The key indicates that there is a cafe and bar (The Hexagon) which is shown on the small map sent to me.

This is not open once the park is closed. There was no indication of when the gate would be closed.

The gate man was not very helpful about any information.

Very basic site. Would think twice about staying again.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: GM8179 2 reviews from this member

We stayed at the Wickstead Park at a cost of 15 per night. That was for a 4-man tent.

A good amount of detail was sent through the post after we booked so we were pleased with that(even though we'd visited the park a few times before we'd never camped so it was good to have extra details)

We arrived at around 5pm on the friday night, told were to head for and off we went, when actually arriving at the camping field it was unclear where we were to pitch, there were no marked areas or anyone around to ask (apart from other campers) the site is surrounded by hedgerows but we chose a spot above a slope not too far from the toilet/shower block.

The toilet/shower facilities are new and very impressive with hot showers (even at 5am!) and free hairdryers, plenty of toilet cubicles and sinks. Also 3 larger separate family / disabled toilet / shower rooms.

There were enough water stations positioned around the camp-site for clean drinking water and waste facilities.

Washing up sinks were in the same area as the toilet / shower block and could have been slightly bigger (or at least a little more space around the sinks)

The site doesn't have a shop/store for campers but in easy cycling / car drive distance there are plenty of stores (Tesco, Morrisons etc as well as local shops)

The campsite gives access to the open areas of Wickstead Park after the Park has closed, including walks around the lakes and use of the small play-areas and sandpit with lots of widlife to be seen. Plenty of room to kick a football around.

I would recommend this site, especially if it was in conjunction with a visit to the park itself and the lovely nearby Stanwick Lakes.

All in all, would stay again. Hopefully this review will be of use to potential campers.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Crawfords 1 review from this member

We stayed for 2 nights (Friday and Saturday) and were very impressed. Lovely new shower block and toilets. We liked the family rooms which each had a shower, basin and toilet and were very roomy.

There were only 2 washing up sinks and they only had cold water, but it just meant boiling the kettle or nipping in to the toilet block for some hot water.

Site was a bit noisy but security (who patrolled periodically) kept any noise in order and after 11pm it was quiet. There was a number to call for security on the booking confirmation if needed too which was reassuring.

Would definitely camp here again. A brilliant setting with the lake, railway, park and play areas. All for 15 per night. 10 out of 10.

Previous     42 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Kettering      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northamptonshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5761 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019