Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Wicksteed Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Northamptonshire > Kettering > Wicksteed Park Reviews

Wicksteed Park
Barton Road
Kettering
Northamptonshire   (Browse area)
NN15 6NJ
Tel: 01536 512475
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 200
Open: 28/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 45 Reviews
                7/10 from 45 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  45 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Nichod 1 review from this member

 Great facilities

Nice big open space

Fab ww2 event

Disappointed that a few of the rides were shut

Felt safe to let the kids roam

Kids older and younger 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Suggsy 2 reviews from this member

 Always look forward to our annual camping trip to Wickstead.

Loving the new reception office, car park renovation and STUNNING array of flowers and plants that have obviously been planted by dedicated gardeners!

Choosing our pitch for our 2 tents and 2 caravans are always so easy because of the size of the site. Toilets and showers are great with long lasting push buttons for the shower.

The tap pressure in the wash up area needs to be adjusted but did give us a few laughs ! A peaceful site in the height of season with only the noise of the amusement park when it opens.

Will be back next year. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Sendero 1 review from this member

 Found campsite, but had to go back in car to check in as reception is bit of a walk.

Had to wait in queue with same people buying ride tickets. Needs reception book in at campsite.

Could pick your own pitch. Nice views of lake and plenty of space.

Toilet blocks ok but had a leak from couple of the toilets every day.

Hot water tap in one of the washing up sinks was a health hazard. Tap sprayed with such force and very hot. Like a jet of hot steam.

We didn't have a good nights sleep for the two nights we stayed. I know it's not Wicksteeds fault. But railway runs very close to site and so noisy at night. Train peeping horn in early hours of morning and clanking noises where they were doing things to tracks.

Also sound from traffic loud and lasting till early hours of morning.

So very annoying, unless you are heavy sleeper.

But cannot fault park for rides and amenities and had lovely time with grandson. Plenty of things to do and keep him occupied. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jonnyw83 1 review from this member

 Basic but ideal campsite for young family short break away. Lots of things to do on site for free (play parks, lakes and 5km parkrun on Saturdays, picnic areas, etc. ) as well as the park which you can buy wrist bands or tickets for. Lovely views of the lake from the top of the site.

Washing up area with two sinks - the hot water was a bit hit and miss (either freezing or boiling!) but the showers were good.

Loads of space and pitches not marked out so you can just chose your spot on the field(s).

We don't live far away so ideal to pop to on a nice bank holiday with the kids. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cholly 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed August Bank Holiday, the Park was great, yes, some of it is a bi8t faded, however some of it is tip top.

The campsite is large, very large, and with only one shower/toilet block, a long way away. Expensive for the services provided, however still a great weekend, thunderstorms too ! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mariefly 1 review from this member

 This was my first camping trip with my new tent. My sister & I took my two nieces.

The camp site was pretty quiet, as the weather was appalling!

The toilet facilities were clean and regularly replenished. Also a great idea to have the family bathrooms. The park was clean and tidy, with a good grounds men & security presence.

There was loads for the kids to do, even in the rain, with lots of walks, rides & lake activities.

We purchased 2x wrist bands for the rides- as I hate rides in thought this was great value, as I wasn't stung for a big entrance fee! The staff were really helpful & friendly

I thought the pitch costs were very reasonable & we will definitely be going back! 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: H.korbey 1 review from this member

 We had a sunny weekend camping with friends. The field was sloped at top and level further down. Plenty of space between campers on a busy weekend. Fantastic toilet block and showers were hot enough. Separate field has family cricket match on. All rides open but day trippers don't pass through field. Small train round park is fun.

Plenty of extras can be brought from on site take away or cafe food to theme park rides. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jonesfamily5 2 reviews from this member

 Our group of 12 adults, 15 under seven year olds, 2 dogs and 1 teenager have just returned from a lovely long weekend camping here. We arrived early Friday morning and picked a spot at the top of the huge, sloping, un-marked site. The fact that we could create a mini 6 tent village was perfect, meaning we could all sit in the middle in the evenings safely in view and in earshot of our sleeping children.

The site filled gradually throughout the weekend and was very busy by Saturday afternoon. We saw a 'security' truck buzzing around with flashing lights on a couple of times, it would have been nice to see them late evening to remind people to keep noise down but to be quiet honest it wasn't needed. There were only a few up after midnight and they were very quiet.

The toilets were really nice. Obviously you will get muddy foot prints and grass - it's a campsite - but overall the block was clean and the family showers are an absolute dream for us with three young kids. I was shocked and disappointed at there being only two dish washing basins though! There are bins everywhere and the wardens drove around handing out bin liners to us all to put our rubbish in, which was great, but we still had a couple of wasp stings which I guess is inevitable.

Wicksteed Park itself is good. The walk around the lake is lovely, and it worth getting bitten by midges for the view across to the campsite at sundown. There are a number of free play areas including the sand and water section which was superb. The park itself has a number of rides which work out quite expensive if you buy tickets, but with three children we didn't know whether the wristbands would be worth it. Having now seen the whole park and the discovered that virtually EVERY ride (including a walk through aviary!) requires tickets/wristband, I think, if we do come again, we will bite the bullet, buy three wrist bands and get as much in as possible. Despite the park being very busy, the queue time seems relatively low - possibly due to the cost and I imagine that the kids with wristbands could go on rides all day long.

There is a chip shop, co-op, Tesco, McDonalds, Frankie & Benny's, Nandos etc all close by, and the town centre is only 10 minute drive away - Sports Direct was very useful for the football that we forgot and Halfords has camping equipment too.

Overall 8/10. Would we come again, possibly. Would I recommend it to others, definitely. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Carolanddee 5 reviews from this member

 What a fabulous site. Close to Alton Towers and the beautiful Derbyshire Dales. Lots to do and see in the area. The site was green lush and very well kept. Toilet washing up and shower block was immaculate.

We had a warm welcome and enjoyed a peaceful stay, the weather was fantastic but of course you can't book that. We'll definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Aahbarnes 10 reviews from this member

 We stayed here over a busy July weekend where there was a lot going on in the park. The Citroen and Nissan car clubs had events taking place, there were a lot of other campers too. We arrived at around 7:30 on the Friday evening, the reception was closed but we were able to drive onto the camping field with no problems. There are no marked pitches, the area around the circumference of the field was already full. We pitched further in where there was plenty of space, we were also about 30 seconds walk from the shower block.

The field is sloping, we tried to find as flat an area as possible because of this, it didn't prove to be a huge problem. The grass was well kept and there were plenty of rubbish bins dotted around which were emptied about twice a day by a wicksteed park pickup truck.

OK, let's cut to the chase. Our first night's sleep was ruined by other noisy campers. Right up until 1am kids were running around screaming (our kids were tucked up by 9 by the way!). Someone decided to start their car engine at around 2 am and at 3 am some lads decided to chase each other around the field shouting 'BOO'. Not great. The silence after 10pm rule needs to be publicised and enforced.

OK, the shower block. Well it could be a really nice experience, it's very new, bright and airy, but sadly it was filthy. OK, the dirt and grass on the floor can't really be helped, but those toilets need a real thorough clean. The hinges on the seat and the area underneath hadn't had a proper clean for a while. There are no mops, or toilet brushes around for campers to clean up after themselves, not like many campsites these days. The other problem was that some of the basin taps only produced a trickle of water.

The washing up facilities are fine, but there are only 2 sinks! There were queues of around 20 minutes at peak times to wash your dishes. Not good enough. Similar campsites of this size have 8 or 10 washing up sinks.

For 20 a night, I would have expected clean facilities and to be able to wash up without queuing.

On the positive side, the field had plenty of space for games and for my daughter to ride around on her bike. Wicksteed park itself was great for the children, they loved it!

I probably would visit again, at least I know what to expect this time. Maybe I'll bring a mop. 


Previous     45 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Wicksteed Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wicksteed Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Wicksteed Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kettering      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northamptonshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2146 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement