Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Wicksteed Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Northamptonshire > Kettering > Wicksteed Park Reviews

Wicksteed Park
Barton Road
Kettering
Northamptonshire   (Browse area)
NN15 6NJ
Tel: 01536 512475
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 200
Open: 28 March - 31 October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 42 Reviews
                7/10 from 42 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  42 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TheHootons 5 reviews from this member

A basic site, that to be honest is explained when you book. Being fairly local we knew what to expect on arrival. There are no facilities here the loo and shower block did the job. There are loads of portaloos round the sides of the field. There were 4 at the front end of the field which gets used most. Everyone seemed to cram in around us rather than camp further down the field, I guess anything more than a few mins walk into the park is unacceptable these days!

You are camping in a theme park so expect some noise. The field itself is surrounded by large hedges which gave shelter from some large wind this weekend.

Bear in mind the field is open to the general public so anyone can walk in. Lock all valuables in the car during the day. Park security did make regular patrols around the field in their vans though.

Like most things you get what you pay for and £10 per night is not unreasonable here, esp when they charge £6 to park for the day!

Nearest shop is Tesco in nearby Kettering. Has everything you need or could forget for a couple of nights away. Kids enjoyed it. So well worth the money.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Stickie 15 reviews from this member

We spent two nights here this year and two the year before.

It's ok for a couple of nights, as it's quite basic.

It has a toilet & a shower (but could do with more for the size of the site.

There NO electric hook up's as yet.

It is in the theme park it's self, at the back on a really big field & you can pitch were ever you like.

There's fishing on site, just over the back of the camp site.

When the site is closed a night the kids can still play on the big play ground that's on site.

It has a steam railway, rowing boats,bumper boats, roller coaster,the oldest water shoot in the country and loads more.

There are shops & takeaways near by in kettering.

Great for weekend away with kids.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Moplatt 3 reviews from this member

Pretty much agree with the previous people, this is not really a site to go to unless you have a caravan as the facilities are basically non-existent.

This was actually only our second outing in our caravan so were a little apprehensive, especially as the field is all sloping but as you choose where to go and which direction to face you can get around this.

It can be very noisy at night and although there are the standard rules such as no noise after a certain time, people did ignore this. After the first night we did actually move to the other side of the field as the people next to us were quite noisy until very late.

The park itself is pretty good, we met up with my wife's brother in law and his family and their kids just loved it. As they had kids in the evening we just cooked and drank outside our 'van which is pretty much all we want in a site anyway!

The price of £10/night also includes the £6/day parking fee so for £4/night for the 'van it was never going to have full facilities!

Overall, don't expect too much and you'll have a great time, but go in a camper/caravan if you can!

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Justy 13 reviews from this member

We visited this site on one of the few nice weekends this summer.  We had visited Wicksteed Park last year and noticed they had camping too.  We visited with my parents and their caravan.
 
The first thing that is vital to mention is that currently they do not have any electric hookups and only 1 unisex toilet cubicle and 1 shower.  There are 2 temporary 'thunderbox' toilets but they were absolutely disgusting and it was preferable to queue for the 'proper' one.  It is an enormous camping field so you can imagine there is a lot of demand on the facilities (which were not cleaned the whole weekend. ) There are however toilets throughout Wicksteed Park itself which can be used during their opening times.
 
Wicksteed park itself is great and a nice fun day out for younger children.  It has a huge free playground which is fantastic and you can buy wristbands for additional rides (can use Tesco vouchers!) I do not know what else there is in the area as we were really only staying to visit the park and the Festival of History which was just down the road.
 
The site was quite noisy until late but the field was so big that we didn't notice it where we were.
 
The prices are OK at the moment (£10 per night) however I have stayed on sites with vastly better faciliies for a similar price.
To be honest we would not visit with just our tent while the facilities are so poor - we really needed mum's caravan. However I believe they are planning on upgrading the facilities next year and I think that providing they do not hike up the prices too much we would visit again. 

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Marynov 23 reviews from this member

Had a few days here midweek with the kids - brilliant theme park, more old fashioned but very friendly. Campsite leaves a lot to be desired though, we knew it was basic but expected more than 1 loo and 1 shower once we bought the key for the block (£10 returnable) clean at times but at least had loo roll, shower was adequate. Seemed to be a shortage of fresh water taps and the one near us was taken into an encampment made by a massive group of tents etc so we felt awkward heading for water. Elsan point was a hole in the ground and no tap to sloosh out either - good job it was no 1's only!
Tesco nearby and Kettering itself handy.
All in all though good value, kids loved it, just be prepared for basic and don't leave it tooooo late for a meander to the loos!

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lara1 11 reviews from this member

Had a brill stay here, the sunny weather helped. 1 shower and toilet in a massive room (you need to pay £10.00 refundable deposit for key).  2 Portaloos in field that were kept spotless whilst we were there.  The park has plannng permission in for proper facilities that will make this park even more popular.  £10.00 a night though you really can't grumble, I'm sure this will go up once electric hookup etc is there.  Loads of room in camping field.  Children can play in the giant sandpit once all the "visitors" have gone home and stroll around the park/lakes.  We camped right under the Roller Coaster, great fun eating your breakfast and waving to the screaming people on it, made us laugh.  Staff on the gates were extremely helpful and friendly and always made a fuss of the kids when we came in/out of the park.  All in all we had a brilliant time and would come back (midweek) again when there were only a handful of people so no queues for shower/toilet.  Can get very busy on weekends as you would expect.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rjjo 2 reviews from this member

Just got back from a stay at Wicksteed park.
We knew the shower block would be basic (1 Loo & 1 shower) There was 4 adults & 5 kids in our group & I can honestly say that we never had to queue for the either unless we took the kids with us! The pitches were huge, the view from camp field really nice. We limited the kids to the free park & row boats most days (£4 a boat) then wrist bands on one day (£50 for a 2 adult 2 children) The gate entry people were very friendly. We had a really great time, we even stayed an extra night (4 in total) On one night we only had 6 other tents in a huge field with us. On the Fri morning lots of caravans started to turn up & they would just pitch it were they liked with no thought for tents already there, but caravans are banned Mon-Thurs. Tesco, Lidl & Aldi all nearby, as well as Mcdonalds, Pizza Hut, Nandos & we could see Frankie & Bennys in the distance. The park itself could do with staying open later (rides close at 5pm) If you are planning to chill around your tent having a drink, playing with the kids etc then this is a excellent place to go. The noise from the park is not noisy, even though some rides are close by. We shall be going back again to stay & once the new shower block is built it will be a 5* place to stay.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Madwoman4kids 5 reviews from this member

Went with a friend with 6 kids between us between the ages of 3 and 8. We booked for only one night as we were aware that the bathroom facilities were a bit lacking and there was no electric hook up. The camping field was enormous and there was more than enough room for the few campers who had risked the changeable weather. The weather varied between scorching sunshine and torrential rain but we had a fantastic time.
The park is excellent and you can spend as much or as little money on entertainment as you like. There is a huge free playpark along with rides you pay for by ticket/wristband. There is a Pizza hut and a Mcdonalds nearby for kids meals along with a cafe on site.
The temporary toilet and shower facilities are horrible but for an overnight stay this did not worry us. When they put in electric and proper shower facilities(next year I believe?) we will be regular visitors.

Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kmartin 3 reviews from this member

We had a great weekend. Ideal for groups of friends. The children had freedom and the field was fine. However, this was one of the hottest weekends I can remember and a shower would have been most welcome- we kept running out of drinks for the children- there's a Tescos nearby, but some facilities for freeze blocks for cool boxes and would have been nice.
Nevertheless, good value for money, easy to reach and plenty to do. If we go again, we might visit Kettering Leisure Centure- for a wash!

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dennis john 4 reviews from this member

What a weekend, what an atmosphere. The weather was well a storm lasting an hour and a half.
As for the facilities a very basic toilet block and a way to walk. The plus side is the theme park. A very nice local pub called the piper. All the staff are very friendly and polite. Next time we stay we will be going fishing has the lake looked so lovely and relaxing.
Dennis and Hilary

Previous     42 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Kettering      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northamptonshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5272 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019