Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Llwyngwern Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Site Reviews

Llwyngwern Farm
Pantperthog
Machynlleth
Powys   (Browse area)
SY20 9RB
Tel: 01654 702492  or  07765160708
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 23 Reviews
                8/10 from 23 Reviews

Photos (4)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  23 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Barney n Chi 2 reviews from this member

June 2010 was our 3rd visit to this site, we will be back very soon.

It is basic but that is how we like it, the showers and washing up facilities are always clean and tidy, there is hot water any time of the day.

We swim in the river, have camp fires all night long, Barney and Chi (our dogs) are welcome, and the owner is a quiet but friendly chap, as others have said, the pub down the road is very nice. If you like a swim be careful it is very cold water, great once you've acclimatised though.

The only drawback about this site is the midgies, but with with the smoke from the fire and plenty of repellent we manage to survive.

The only difference about this years visit is we now have a caravan.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cyclekitty 13 reviews from this member

We passed through here on Cycle Route 8, it's in a beautiful location down the road from some lovely little old mining villages alongside the river.

If the weather had been less damp, this would have been a great site and a lot more popular I imagine. As it was we shared the site with around 10 other tents, the whole site was pretty wet and waterlogged which was a shame but we still managed to find somewhere dry to pitch our tent.

There wasn't really anywhere to chain our bikes, we ended up chaining it to a tree. The toilets and showers were a little damp because of the rain which wasn't ideal. The owner was friendly and we saw him up the local pub a bit later on.

The pub was about a mile up the road and was fantastic! It was the perfect place to hang out for the afternoon while it was raining outside, the owners were incredibly welcoming, the food was great and they sold some nice ales.

Would loved to have paid a visit to the Centre for Alternative Energy but didn't make it because of the rain.

So apart from being damp, it's a really nice place to spend a few nights.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: J + J 17 reviews from this member

Stayed for a long weekend-Sat to Tue second weekend in August what a lovely quiet site. We were meet by the framers wife you who told use where to camp i.E. Away from the caravans / campers. We camped in a two man tent so we were able to find a level pitch on the field on the river side of the track, but watch out for the midges. The field had obviously had a lot of water on it as there were plenty of ruts from cars / vans. Plenty of water taps however there were puddles around some. If you like open camp fires this is a site for you as they allow fires- you will find plenty of rocks to form a hearth, but wood can be in short supply, so bring your own.

The plate wash is OK two sinks plenty of hot water and under cover, toilets are tidy and clean first thing in the morning but can be rather wet latter on in the day and they are shared by various insects-nay midges. The pub in Ceinws is about 1 mile away and sells good bear canít vouch for the food, but it looks good. It is nice, quiet with a few books to read, painting to buy. But take a torch.

Centre for Alternative Energy (CAT) is about a 5 min walk away is very informative and thought provoking. Machynlleth is fine for provisions having a butchers, bakers small Spar etc. There are some nice beaches nearby and if mountains are your thing then there is Cadair Idris some 5 miles away.

Planning to return in October half term to bring the children.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tourer2 6 reviews from this member

Well, here we go. Great place, beautiful in fact. I have read previous reviews and some are fair and, fair enough.

This area is in one of the most spectacular valleys in wales. The river (Dulas) here is superb, but only when it rains!

Relax, calm down, enjoy yourself. Because you can here.

Enjoy the fishing when it's wet, enjoy the scents of the trees when it's dry and enjoy your children playing and having a good time.

OK, a coat of paint on the facility block, but come on, doesn't your front room need decorating yet again?

Pub is down the lane a Welsh mile away (food good-not cheap)and a bus at the gates into town £4.90 return for two. Superb. Have it! No. I am not the owner.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Delphi 36 reviews from this member

The place looks great in pictures, and from the other side of the busy Dolgellau road as you drive past(as we did, having missed the turning). Granted, the weather wasn't great, but we have stayed at many sites in bad weather and been fine with it. The site was waterlogged, and churned up with mud from vehicles crossing it. Where there was no mud, the slates in the ground made it really hard to peg in a tent/awning. Perhaps a site like this should try to organise where vehicles are driven to protect the ground from such churning? A few more hardstanding areas, and places where people should leave their cars might help.

The toilet/shower block was positioned in the cellar of the owner's farmhouse, it was cold and permanently damp. I'd have been happy to have shared the facilities with a thousand creepy crawlies, because that means a warm, dry environment, not something that resembled a cave.

On a plus side,being able to make an open fire to keep warm in the evening was good, and other campers appeared to be really enjoying the river. However, one family chose to start a loud disco for their kids at ten o'clock at night, playing the same two tracks over and over for at least an hour. 'Evacuate the Dancefloor' was one of them - and it made me wish I could evacuate the campsite.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Klompen 1 review from this member

Lovely setting, very peaceful. The ground was boggy in places and midges were a problem in the evening. Water taps are easily accessible around the site but they could benefit from better drainage underneath as it quickly gets muddy around the tap especially in the wet weather.

The river is beautiful and easily accessible but due to heavy rainfall recently it was fast flowing and quite deep in places. I'm sure that during a dry spell older children could play in it but we found it a bit of a steep drop to the river off the side of the field too so we had to look out for our children all the time.

The showers and toilets are basic and really in need of a good spring clean and a lick of paint. Our children were a bit scared of the buildup of spider webs. However, the shower worked well and hot water was always available and the floors were kept clean. There were sinks for washing up too which were always clean.

It is ideally situated for visiting CAT and a short drive from the beach and Cader Idris. The owners were very friendly and the whole place has a relaxed feel about it. Fires are allowed which was lovely in the evening, toasting marshmallows and baking potaoes.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pajones08 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here for a couple of nights in June. Lovely quiet site, only a couple of vans and 2 or 3 tents whilst we were there.

Loos and showers very basic, though plenty of hot water.

The only negative that would stop us visiting again is that the site is by the side of a small river and stream. We were eaten alive by gnats early evening and had to batton the the hatches in the van to stop millions of them getting in.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Jill Weedon 8 reviews from this member

Stayed over the bank holiday weekend in a large group of campers and tents. We were very lucky with the weather and the kids loved swimming (and body boarding) in the very cold river. Overall we felt positive about this site.
It is in a lovely setting, allows campfires by the river, is not too expensive and is quite sheltered. It is a short (1 mile) walk to the pub.
We did have problems with midges in the morning and evening, and the site was very boggy in places (some cars got stuck in the mud). The loos and showers are very basic but reasonably clean and free - however getting hot water was a bit hit and miss.

Generally, we felt that the pro's outweighed the con's and we would recommend this relaxed and simple site to others.

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tanjarine 4 reviews from this member

Friendly, basic and informative. Camp right by the river. Peaceful and great access to CAT. Walk down the road to a fab pub (1 mile away down the lane - details at the campsite). Pub has great atmosphere with free-range foods. Wonderful food.

Peaceful campsite, free showers - basic. Washing up sink outside. Pitch or park up anywhere.Can get muddy. Area next to river has drainage stones underneath.Making it a good pitch and most pegs go in easily still.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Spanner1 4 reviews from this member

Another fantastic campsite. Owner was very friendly and even offered the use of his tractor if we got stuck in mud!(think we did pick the wettest week!) The facilities were basic but all that you need- lots of different places for drinking water. Lots to do by car (went to the beach and king Arthurs- good gift shops) and a pub in walking distance although do remember to take a torch.

Previous     23 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2005 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019