Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Llwyngwern Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Machynlleth > Llwyngwern Farm Reviews

Llwyngwern Farm
Pantperthog
Machynlleth
Powys   (Browse area)
SY20 9RB
Tel: 01654 702492  or  07765160708
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 13/07/2020 to 31/10/2020
           01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 28 Reviews
                8/10 from 28 Reviews

Photos (4)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  28 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Thall0 1 review from this member

 Lovely green location with good hard standing, a Central area edging on to Grass all around. Easy and accessible electric.

Great comms from the owner when I enquired through this site.

2 people mh and electric £18 ppn.

Great welcome on arrival.

Very quite and 1 min walk from Centre for alternative technology.

Cader Idris just nearby too. 30 mins drive to beaches.

Suggestions. The permanent vans are tatty and lower the perception. My suggestion is clean them and move them to a storage corner. This would

Make the site perfect.

So in summary a well recommended site With good flat parking. Will stay again. Thanks 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Hbrai1 2 reviews from this member

 Fabulous and well signposted location for local mountain biking and Dyfi Bike Park all within a 2 mile radius.

The site has amazing potential but sadly looks very neglected and tired and Dyfi Bike Park had never heard of it.

Despite looking busy on arrival as there are several caravans on the site, there was just one other person in A VW campervan and we quickly realised the caravans were all empty or abandoned.

Despite Covid the owners could have easily have opened the toilet block as there was absolutely no risk with just 3 people on the whole site.

All in all a disappointing site but we would return given it's location close the Dyfi etc. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Djplas 1 review from this member

 Great campsite ! Fabulous surroundings with great walking and cycling to be found nearby.

Kids are safe and have loads of space to run and explore. Toilets and shower block are nice and clean.

Not far from the beach or head into the hills and get away from it all !

Heaven 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sheila Thackwray 3 reviews from this member

 We were pleased to find the site open as many still closed due to Coronavirus. The owner explained the lack of communal facilities before taking our booking, which was very helpful. We are unable to comment on the showers and toilets, therefore.

Caravan pitches are on hardstanding, but we were offered to park "sideways" to the grass so that we could erect our porch awning. Good spacing between pitches.

The site was in a quiet spot, although a bit of road noise from across the river at busy times, but it's in a great location for exploring locally:

- Cadair Idris not far away and had a long walk up the mountain on a glorious day

- Machynlleth only a few minutes away (recommend Hennighan's Chip Shop at the top of town - though make sure you preorder by phone before you go)

- Not far to some lovely beaches (Aberdovey, Aberystwyth)

- Had a wonderful time at the local RSPB site Ynys-Hir (SY20 8TA)

- Local craft centre just up the hill (has great loos also open to the public)

- River running past the site is beautiful.

- Plenty of water points (don't use the one by the disposal area for drinking water!)

Downsides:

Our car has a small engine and while can usually tow the caravan no problem, we did get stuck coming out of the site on the hilly driveway which has a gritty surface which we couldn't grip despite "keeping up the revs". Site owner was helpful and towed the van up for us but we were a bit embarrassed!

Could have managed without the loud music from a neighbouring camper on our last night, but they did stop before 10. 30pm so it could have been worse!

Some previous reviews have mentioned the old scruffy caravans on the site and the less than picturesque bin store/disposal area - improvements would vastly improve the ambience.

It was only for 3 nights and very handy for Centre for alternative Technology (also closed due to Covid) which is well worth a visit (have been several times on previous trips).

We've put 10/10 for child friendliness as the children on site seemed to be having a great time, but no personal experience. 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Adi lawton 1 review from this member

 I attended a course at the Center of Technology up the hill from Campsite.

Campsite is brilliantly close and could take camper vans/caravans too.

The toilet/shower was modest but everything there, working and clean enough. Nice warm shower after 2 days of rain!

Camping was cheap. Lovely sound of river right next to campsite whilst camping - elemental feel. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Climbergirl 14 reviews from this member

 I was quite disappointed with the site, it had the potential to be amazing, but fell short.

The good bits, the owners were really friendly and the toilet, wash up black was lovely

The not so good bits, there were lots of old caravans permanently sited which looked like the had been dumped. One had loads of rubbish left under it. It made the site feel unloved and uncared for. The rubbish area was in the middle of the site and was a mess. It felt much like a dumping ground.

Sorry I won't be back 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: CunninghamP-L 11 reviews from this member

 Stayed for one night as I was touring around Wales. There was very few people about and was invited to park sideways as it was a more level option.

The showers and toilets are basic but clean and with plenty of hot water and toilet paper.

The dogs had fun playing down by the river. I wouldn't hesitate to come back to this site.

It was lovely and quiet. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gill43 1 review from this member

 This is a fantastic beautiful campsite with a river running through it. Been going for many years with the family.

The site has now upgraded the toilet block and has great hot showers and is kept spotlessly clean.

Love this place. Also great local shops and pubs in machynlleth town. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tourer2 6 reviews from this member

 Once again we visited. Splendid, what a very nice place. Lovely owners who are glad to help.

Its not posh, its just beautiful-now that is posh.

Cycling, mountain biking, walking, exploring. Local pub. What more do you want. No childrenís playground, but the whole valley is a childrenís playground.

I believe Disneyland has a childrenís playground-but thatís in Paris.

The site, which has recently been re-landscaped, is about 3-4 miles north of Machynlleth, which is a friendly and interesting town with superb fish and chips and a selection of pubs.

The Corris Craft centre is close by (short drive) and has a brilliant cafeteria with home-made scones ta-boot. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BranBucca 3 reviews from this member

 Would like to say a huge thank you to Raiph for allowing us to stay at the site, when we did our 175 mile trek for Cerebra! He gave a warm welcome, had put up the walk posters and even gave a rare appearance for our event photos with Sir E Bear the charity mascot!

The site is in a gorgeous spot and I would heartily recommend people visit as there is loads in the local area to visit! I shall be making the journey up to visit again soon! 


Previous     28 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Llwyngwern Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Llwyngwern Farm?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Llwyngwern Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Machynlleth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...







Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1995 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £865

Get an email reminder on 1st December