Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Moor End Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > York > Moor End Farm Reviews

Moor End Farm
Acaster Malbis
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO23 2UQ
Tel: 01904 706727  or  07860 405872
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 13
Open: 04/07/2020 to 31/10/2020
           01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 28 Reviews
                9/10 from 28 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  28 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Northbankscunny 1 review from this member

 A lovely little site and I will definitely be returning. We booked in to stay for 4 nights as the location suited exploring York. Don't be put off by other reviews that suggest small pitches, while we were there the owner was turning people away because he was full and there was plenty of room.

The owners are very friendly and even after a particularly heavy storm popped round to check we were alright.

The facilities are modest but with the size of the site it was never a problem, they were always clean. There is a communal fridge for people to use, which works due to the decency of the people on the site, though I will say that if you go and are struggling for space in the fridge check the due dates on some of the food/drink in there as some things must have been left behind by previous campers as they were very out of date.

You can catch a riverboat during the summer to York this picks up within walking distance of the site, but only operates on a Thursday, Saturday and Sunday.

What we tended to do was drive to Askham Bar park and ride and take the bus into york, these buses are very frequent and cost 2. 50 per adult return (this also allows 2 children per adult for free) so I only paid 5. 00 for myself, wife and 3 children, as opposed to the 2. 00 an hour in the city car parks. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bennetts 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from 6 nights at Moor End Farm and have had a great time. The site is really nice and seems to be kept fairly quiet by the owner, who was turning people away as often as taking them in. The ground we were on had a few holes in it but nothing serious.

The shower block is nice and has lovely warm showers, no push buttons to get the water, and they are free too! Would be lovely if there was more than one per gender. The family room has two showers in and we were lucky enough to be able to use this facility.

There is quite a nice pub a shortish walk through the village, food was reasonable and they were very accommodating. The ring road is easy to get to from the site so getting to the Park & Ride sites is easy.

We've had a great time and will go back. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Babydaisy 8 reviews from this member

 Well, what a little gem! This is a quiet little site, unspoilt by commercialism. There are two small fields, one with some static caravans in it, but they are tucked along one side and don't detract from the camping feel. The larger field has camping along the road side, but there are not too many cars along this road, so don't be put off.

The toilet block is simple, with one shower in the boys and one in the girls, but Roger has put a disabled/family room with two showers inside (open plan). To be honest, there wasn't enough people there to warrant any more showers. There was loads of hot water- and no queues!

I had also lugged my hairdryer all the way there, to find one in the girls side- all free!

No shop on site, but Bishopthorpe has a Co-op, post office and chip shop there, only 1 mile down the road. The Ship Inn was within easy walking distance and does lovely food.

We caught the riverboat to York (catch it outside the Ship Inn), which was a great way to travel into the city as I understand the parking in York is expensive. (There are park and rides of course).

Also, a must, is the steam train from Pickering to Whitby. What a fab experience.

Moor End Farm has ducks that waddle around, and we also had the pleasure of seeing their ducklings. There are some pigs in the field next door, and if you park under any trees, the dawn chorus starts at about 4am. However, isn't this all part of camping??

I don't think this would suit older kids, who may get bored, but there are swings for younger ones.

All in- we would definitely go there again -talk about relaxing. Well done Roger! 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fireballjan 1 review from this member

 After reading the previous reviews for this site I decided that I must visit and see for myself. The site was lovely. Very clean and tidy. I am a complete novice at caravanning having only bought our 'van' that afternoon, I wasn't quite sure how the water should get from the bottle to the tap! luckily there were some very helpful caravanners who soon had me up and running ( pardon the pun!). My 6 year old soon made friends with other children on the site. The site is small but there is a mixture of statics, touring vans and tents, each having access to a picnic bench, there are even some site 'ducks' which the children loved feeding bread to. There are some swings which my son enjoyed with no complaints of there not being more equipment, he was very happy to make his own enjoyment and ride his bike around the site. The toilet and washing facilities were kept very clean and looked like they had been recently repainted, the shower was great, good water pressure, and nice and warm, but as there was only one I had to wait a little while for my turn. Our pitch backed onto the country lane but there was so little traffic it didn't bother us at all. I would definitely recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: February 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sidloz 3 reviews from this member

 What can I say? I shall be brief but there is a story behind this. I was going to York to meet an old friend. If you have ever been to York you'll know how expensive it is, and B and B's are no exception so decided to take the van, even though it's only February! Due to a misunderstanding on the phone (I won't bore you with the details) but the open all year site I planned to stay at was closed. So at 4pm on a Friday afternoon I started driving round in circles looking for somewhere to stay. Not fun. The first 2 sites I tried were closed the next two were full. So I was pointed in the direction of Acaster. It's nearly dark and I saw some caravans parked in a field so pulled in. Knocked on the door of the farmhouse and the friendliest bloke in the world greeted me. I asked if I could pitch up for a couple of nights and he said yes. Great. I was not expecting what happened next. The other vans were empty and just being stored. In fact, I was the only person on the site. The owner, whose name I didn't get then cleaned the showers toilet and washing up area. Amazing. It was only about 10 minutes ago when I went on to write this review I noticed that the place doesn't open until April! Even though officially the site itself was closed and I was the only occupant I could not have wished for anything better. Clean, comfortable, quiet and very friendly without being intrusive. I won't say how much he charged but for 2 nights with electric it was less than a meal for one in a half decent restaurant. Any downsides. Not really, some of the pitches back onto the road, so could be a bit noisy with early morning tractors, but the road is hardly the M6. All in all an exceptional place. I'm looking forward to going again. Probably when its open. And thanks to first place for being closed and helping me find this gem of a site!

Just one word of warning, and this has nothing to do with the site, even though the place is less than 4 miles from the centre of York a cab charged me 12 at 2.30pm. Oddly, another cab only charged me 11.50 at half past midnight. Choose your cabs wisely. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Grahamterry1000 1 review from this member

 This was our first ever time camping and we were recommended to this site by someone we met in the local camping shop. We weren't disappointed.

We wanted a quiet location to avoid being embarrassed in front of too many people while erecting our tent outside of our garden and that's what we got.

It was a nice site with good facilities; toilet / shower block with male / female facilities as well as a disabled / family room which had 2 showers in it (ideal for someone with small children), washing up room with fridge / freezer and microwave (free of charge and honestly shared!), washing machine (coin operated) and electric hook-ups (on certain pitches). Everything was clean and papertowels, soap etc topped up daily.

We walked from Acaster to Bishopsthorpe along the river and just outside Bishopsthorpe was another campsite right next to the river adjoining some moorings. This site looked packed and the tents and caravans were really close together verging on being crammed in. Not somewhere we would want to go!

We thought we had a good first time (the weather definitely helped there) and have booked to go back with the children in September although we would recommend taking something for them to play with as there were a couple of swings but that was all.

All in all a nice site with friendly owners. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Thurmanandrew 1 review from this member

 I am a happy caravaner who's van is at the moment seasonal and I have been bribed once again in purchasing a tent by my 16 and 11 year olds after 8 years. This was our first outing, just me and the wife, the kids stayed at home as it was our 20th wedding anniversary and our first visit to york.

Yes the site was small and not commercialised but it was well maintained, the showers were always hot and clean, there is a fridge freezer and microwave in the pot wash room which is free to use. There is a a lot of trust as people left wine, beers and food in the fridge with no problems.

Some comments say there is not enough room I disagree I have a large 3 bedroomed tent and had plenty of room and as from what I could see the other pitchers where all adequate. The village chinese takeway was the best I have ever had and the ship pub was welcoming and right at the side of the river.

The river bus to york was a real treat and the cost was reasonable as parking in york was 2 per hour. There is a small co-op in both villages just a couple of miles away, a large Tesco Extra and park and ride about 5 miles away.

The best advantage of of this site is the owners I have rarely met owners that were so friendly and trusting with there guests. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Darrenm42 2 reviews from this member

 A very small but pleasant site on the edge of the village. Facilities basic but very clean and centrally located. Plots are level, well drained with trees and picnic benches to break up the site. A few swings for the kids and some space for running around.

Pub within 5 minutes - The Ship - excellent food, but be careful on Saturday nights (no space for eating due to reservations), otherwise take away and shops are a mile away. Highly recommend River bus to York - leaves from next to pub car park at weekends (only one trip per day at 09:45, but gives plenty of time for a day in York).

This seemed to be the smallest and quietest of the campsites in the area - but we thoroughly enjoyed it. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Catsanddogs 6 reviews from this member

 This was our first ever family camping trip and turned out to be a bit of a mixed bag. The weather was sunny for a bit, then raining for a bit- repeat until bored.

The welcome we received from the owners on arrival was very friendly and helpful, explaining the rules and letting us know that we could spread out due to no booking on the adjacent pitch. This site is big on recycling which is a good selling point for us, wish more sites would pull their fingers out.

First impressions were that the site is quite compact but we were lucky in that we visited when the site was quiet. Even though at the time we only had a 4 man tent (instead of the 8 man tent we subsequently bought) we would have been a bit squashed in if we'd had neighbours.

Site facilities are quite basic but adequate for the number of pitches, always kept clean and tidy with hot water at all times (so far as we could tell). Children's playground consisted of a few swings which seemed to be enough to keep ours entertained for brief periods. Ball games and bike riding is also welcome.

Plenty of picnic benches around the site, almost 1 bench per pitch so eating ouside is easy and convenient.

Good location for day trips into York but beware of the timetable for the river boat, they don't run as frequently as one may hope or expect and certainly not every day. We missed out on this (one of the main reasons for using this site) so had to rely on the car.

We didn't visit the local pub so cannot comment on the food or drink, although there is a nice Chinese takeaway on the Wetherby road out of York.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay here. That said, now that we have a much bigger tent, we probably won't visit again as I doubt that we'd fit! 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tafuller 2 reviews from this member

 We turned up to this site and were a little disappointed. Although it does have a lovely rural setting, it was a bit too small for our liking - we were told to pitch our tent literally RIGHT next to the farm house and buildings and it felt horribly overlooked with no privacy at all. There was a small grass area adjoining this bit, which perhaps would have been a bit better, but the spot offered to us was just too exposed for our liking - so unfortunately we decided to leave and go somewhere else. The owner was great about it - said there was no point staying if we weren't happy and didn't charge us, so we appreciated that. In summary - great location, helpful owner, seemed to be pleasant enough - just too cramped and small a site for OUR preference - your likes/dislikes may be different! 


Previous     28 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Moor End Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Moor End Farm?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Moor End Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1976 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 865

Get an email reminder on 1st December