Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Moor End Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > York > Moor End Farm Reviews

Moor End Farm
Acaster Malbis
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO23 2UQ
Tel: 01904 706727  or  07860 405872
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 13
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 32 Reviews
                9/10 from 32 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  32 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Thurmanandrew 1 review from this member

 I am a happy caravaner who's van is at the moment seasonal and I have been bribed once again in purchasing a tent by my 16 and 11 year olds after 8 years. This was our first outing, just me and the wife, the kids stayed at home as it was our 20th wedding anniversary and our first visit to york.

Yes the site was small and not commercialised but it was well maintained, the showers were always hot and clean, there is a fridge freezer and microwave in the pot wash room which is free to use. There is a a lot of trust as people left wine, beers and food in the fridge with no problems.

Some comments say there is not enough room I disagree I have a large 3 bedroomed tent and had plenty of room and as from what I could see the other pitchers where all adequate. The village chinese takeway was the best I have ever had and the ship pub was welcoming and right at the side of the river.

The river bus to york was a real treat and the cost was reasonable as parking in york was 2 per hour. There is a small co-op in both villages just a couple of miles away, a large Tesco Extra and park and ride about 5 miles away.

The best advantage of of this site is the owners I have rarely met owners that were so friendly and trusting with there guests. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Darrenm42 2 reviews from this member

 A very small but pleasant site on the edge of the village. Facilities basic but very clean and centrally located. Plots are level, well drained with trees and picnic benches to break up the site. A few swings for the kids and some space for running around.

Pub within 5 minutes - The Ship - excellent food, but be careful on Saturday nights (no space for eating due to reservations), otherwise take away and shops are a mile away. Highly recommend River bus to York - leaves from next to pub car park at weekends (only one trip per day at 09:45, but gives plenty of time for a day in York).

This seemed to be the smallest and quietest of the campsites in the area - but we thoroughly enjoyed it. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Catsanddogs 6 reviews from this member

 This was our first ever family camping trip and turned out to be a bit of a mixed bag. The weather was sunny for a bit, then raining for a bit- repeat until bored.

The welcome we received from the owners on arrival was very friendly and helpful, explaining the rules and letting us know that we could spread out due to no booking on the adjacent pitch. This site is big on recycling which is a good selling point for us, wish more sites would pull their fingers out.

First impressions were that the site is quite compact but we were lucky in that we visited when the site was quiet. Even though at the time we only had a 4 man tent (instead of the 8 man tent we subsequently bought) we would have been a bit squashed in if we'd had neighbours.

Site facilities are quite basic but adequate for the number of pitches, always kept clean and tidy with hot water at all times (so far as we could tell). Children's playground consisted of a few swings which seemed to be enough to keep ours entertained for brief periods. Ball games and bike riding is also welcome.

Plenty of picnic benches around the site, almost 1 bench per pitch so eating ouside is easy and convenient.

Good location for day trips into York but beware of the timetable for the river boat, they don't run as frequently as one may hope or expect and certainly not every day. We missed out on this (one of the main reasons for using this site) so had to rely on the car.

We didn't visit the local pub so cannot comment on the food or drink, although there is a nice Chinese takeaway on the Wetherby road out of York.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay here. That said, now that we have a much bigger tent, we probably won't visit again as I doubt that we'd fit! 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tafuller 2 reviews from this member

 We turned up to this site and were a little disappointed. Although it does have a lovely rural setting, it was a bit too small for our liking - we were told to pitch our tent literally RIGHT next to the farm house and buildings and it felt horribly overlooked with no privacy at all. There was a small grass area adjoining this bit, which perhaps would have been a bit better, but the spot offered to us was just too exposed for our liking - so unfortunately we decided to leave and go somewhere else. The owner was great about it - said there was no point staying if we weren't happy and didn't charge us, so we appreciated that. In summary - great location, helpful owner, seemed to be pleasant enough - just too cramped and small a site for OUR preference - your likes/dislikes may be different! 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bench 3 reviews from this member

 Only stayed for the one night but enjoyed our stay very much. Owner was very helpful and provided advice on local amenities. We weren't aware of any local shops close by but there was a local pub within walking distance. Large Tesco was a short drive away, where there was also a bus stop into York Centre which returned fairly late at night. We stayed up quite late around a fire pit and were left to our own devices so can only assume there are no general rules regarding noise.

Only one shower but this was clean and big enough for the sixe of the site. Good washing facilities and a fridge available also.Would definitely recommend as a fairly remote yet relaxing site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Phlebby 1 review from this member

 Fab Fab Fab what can I say, we loved it, in our 4 man tent, with two children, with the worst weather ever, lol

Small friendly site with hookup, where the shower block was always clean with plenty of hot water and a free hairdryer, good dishwashing facilities with use of a fridge if required and a washing machine and tumble dryer available for a small cost and some swings that our children made good use of.

There is a good local pub with a river boat opposite that takes you into york or Tesco is only a couple of miles away with a excellent park and ride into the centre of york and all its attractions.

Well worth a visit and slightly higher ground than its neighbouring larger site that flooded while we were there. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Grumpysimon 21 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site as it is close to home and we wanted a quick weekend away for the first camping trip of the year - really a shakedown weekend to make sure everything still worked before we venture further afield.

A lovely small site, very peaceful and not at all commercial. We have 2 young children and they were happy and safe, plenty of room for them to run around and hardly any vehicle movement to worry about.

Toilets and showers small but very clean and more than up to the job. Tumble dryer proved useful after our soaking putting the tent up. The field is flat and appears well drained, there are static caravans on site as well as tents and tourers.

Owner very pleasant and helpful and a nice relaxed atmosphere. The revelation for me was picnic benches. Why doesn't every site have them? Brilliant - there were enough for everyone so we basically had our own that we could sit at and eat - right outside our tent.

Recommend this site as quiet, small and well looked after. I would say good for young families or for more mature people after a peaceful location. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Eagerbeaver 17 reviews from this member

 Have just spent 3 nights on this site and wish it could have been more. The facilities are excellent and spotlessly clean. The ground is level and we had plenty of room and the owners are friendly and helpful. There are three resident ducks with good appetites.

Highly recommended for those who enjoy peaceful uncommercialised camping. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Simonlho 1 review from this member

 We stayed at Moor End Farm because it was within easy travel distance (5/10 mins) to the race course and the park and ride for York city(based at one of the big Tesco's extra stores), but was still far enough out into the countryside so as not to be noisy.

The site is a great quiet site, the local pub, doing really nice food, is only 2 or 3 mins walk away, and after you have eaten you can walk it off down the banks of the river.

The facillities were very clean and of a high standard. Having showers, washing machine and a fridge freezer available to use meant that you don't have to worry about anything.

Roger, the owner should be mentioned with a note of thanks for being very helpful and running the site to the standard he does.

We would recommend this site to anyone looking for a nice, quiet and tidy place to stay whilst either visiting the race course or exploring this fantastic area. 


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nicola4210 1 review from this member

 My husband and I, along with our family and friends stayed at Moor End Farm at the beginning of September 2007.

What a wonderful little campsite! The owners are extremely friendly, nothing is too much for them.

The owners policy of not overcrowding made the campsite even more special.

The toilets are clean and bleeched everyday, there is a wonderful 'family room', where you will find 2 showers, a sink and toilet in one room, ideal for the family!

You are allowed dogs at no extra cost.

There is a pleasant little walk down to the canal front which you can take a waterline taxi (massive boat) that takes you into York for approx 8 return. Dogs are allowed on the boat too!

Would certainly return to this campsite. Highly recommended! 


Previous     32 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Moor End Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Moor End Farm?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Moor End Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3360 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement