Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Moor End Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > York > Moor End Farm Reviews

Moor End Farm
Acaster Malbis
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO23 2UQ
Tel: 01904 706727  or  07860 405872
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 13
Open: 04/07/2020 to 31/10/2020
           01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 28 Reviews
                9/10 from 28 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  28 in total, now showing 21 to 28                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bench 3 reviews from this member

 Only stayed for the one night but enjoyed our stay very much. Owner was very helpful and provided advice on local amenities. We weren't aware of any local shops close by but there was a local pub within walking distance. Large Tesco was a short drive away, where there was also a bus stop into York Centre which returned fairly late at night. We stayed up quite late around a fire pit and were left to our own devices so can only assume there are no general rules regarding noise.

Only one shower but this was clean and big enough for the sixe of the site. Good washing facilities and a fridge available also.Would definitely recommend as a fairly remote yet relaxing site. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Phlebby 1 review from this member

 Fab Fab Fab what can I say, we loved it, in our 4 man tent, with two children, with the worst weather ever, lol

Small friendly site with hookup, where the shower block was always clean with plenty of hot water and a free hairdryer, good dishwashing facilities with use of a fridge if required and a washing machine and tumble dryer available for a small cost and some swings that our children made good use of.

There is a good local pub with a river boat opposite that takes you into york or Tesco is only a couple of miles away with a excellent park and ride into the centre of york and all its attractions.

Well worth a visit and slightly higher ground than its neighbouring larger site that flooded while we were there. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Grumpysimon 21 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site as it is close to home and we wanted a quick weekend away for the first camping trip of the year - really a shakedown weekend to make sure everything still worked before we venture further afield.

A lovely small site, very peaceful and not at all commercial. We have 2 young children and they were happy and safe, plenty of room for them to run around and hardly any vehicle movement to worry about.

Toilets and showers small but very clean and more than up to the job. Tumble dryer proved useful after our soaking putting the tent up. The field is flat and appears well drained, there are static caravans on site as well as tents and tourers.

Owner very pleasant and helpful and a nice relaxed atmosphere. The revelation for me was picnic benches. Why doesn't every site have them? Brilliant - there were enough for everyone so we basically had our own that we could sit at and eat - right outside our tent.

Recommend this site as quiet, small and well looked after. I would say good for young families or for more mature people after a peaceful location. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Eagerbeaver 17 reviews from this member

 Have just spent 3 nights on this site and wish it could have been more. The facilities are excellent and spotlessly clean. The ground is level and we had plenty of room and the owners are friendly and helpful. There are three resident ducks with good appetites.

Highly recommended for those who enjoy peaceful uncommercialised camping. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Simonlho 1 review from this member

 We stayed at Moor End Farm because it was within easy travel distance (5/10 mins) to the race course and the park and ride for York city(based at one of the big Tesco's extra stores), but was still far enough out into the countryside so as not to be noisy.

The site is a great quiet site, the local pub, doing really nice food, is only 2 or 3 mins walk away, and after you have eaten you can walk it off down the banks of the river.

The facillities were very clean and of a high standard. Having showers, washing machine and a fridge freezer available to use meant that you don't have to worry about anything.

Roger, the owner should be mentioned with a note of thanks for being very helpful and running the site to the standard he does.

We would recommend this site to anyone looking for a nice, quiet and tidy place to stay whilst either visiting the race course or exploring this fantastic area. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nicola4210 1 review from this member

 My husband and I, along with our family and friends stayed at Moor End Farm at the beginning of September 2007.

What a wonderful little campsite! The owners are extremely friendly, nothing is too much for them.

The owners policy of not overcrowding made the campsite even more special.

The toilets are clean and bleeched everyday, there is a wonderful 'family room', where you will find 2 showers, a sink and toilet in one room, ideal for the family!

You are allowed dogs at no extra cost.

There is a pleasant little walk down to the canal front which you can take a waterline taxi (massive boat) that takes you into York for approx £8 return. Dogs are allowed on the boat too!

Would certainly return to this campsite. Highly recommended! 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pennine Plodder 24 reviews from this member

 I don't really like to share 'finds' because I'm always afraid we won't be able to get on again when we want!† However, in the spirit of UKCS I can tell you that this site is in a rural location, very near the other 2 more busy sites in the village.† It is a family run site and we weren't expected to pay until we departed.† The shower/toilet block were freshly painted for this season and I saw the owner cleaning all the floors each day - bless him!† The showers and hair dryer were free and both were hot.† As was the washing-up facility and the microwave - what a good thought!†

The site is situated within easy strike of York and only 5 or so mins drive from a 24 hour Tesco supermarket and Petrol station.† Considering the busier sites nearby†and this site's proximity to the road we were very pleasantly surprised with the peace in the area ( the pub is on the river side of the other camp site).† Not oodles of space for children to play, although there are swings.
As for the cost - not the cheapest we've stayed on but equally not the most expensive either -£14 per night inc. EHU this year(2007).† The site is open Easter(April) until October. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: David Bain 9 reviews from this member

 Moor End Farm was yet another happy find on a recommendation by a friend. The site is flat, grassy and easy to peg into and borders the owner's farmyard. The facilities are good and really well maintained. The owners were welcoming and our only disappointment was that we couldn't stay to enjoy the peace and quiet for longer.

It's easy to get to - only a couple of miles off the York bypass - and is only about five miles from the city centre. Parking in York is awful, of course, so it's worth noting that the Askham Bar park and ride is only about three miles, beside a very handy Tesco supermarket. There are pubs close by, one of which faces the jetty from which you can take a boat ride into York. The boat leaves at 10am, then returns from York at 4pm; ideal timings for a day's sightseeing. 


Previous     28 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 28     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Moor End Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Moor End Farm?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Moor End Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2226 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £865

Get an email reminder on 1st December