Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Moor End Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > York > Moor End Farm Reviews

Moor End Farm
Acaster Malbis
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO23 2UQ
Tel: 01904 706727  or  07860 405872
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 13
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 32 Reviews
                9/10 from 32 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  32 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rowe1960 2 reviews from this member

 Small friendly site and spotlessly clean with great walks, and good pubs nearby,

Handy bus into York, or a ferry boat to York,

we've been to the site several times and always enjoyed it. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Cazzatutbury 2 reviews from this member

 We have stayed at Moor end Farm several times now and every time we enjoy it.

It’s a lovely well kept site and the owners Roger and Dawn are really friendly.

The facilities are always clean and tidy. There is an undercover washing up area with a fridge freezer for all to use there are also laundry facilities.

There is easy access into York on the park and ride at Askham Bar the river Bus (from the ship inn) is also a great way to get into the city.

We look forward to going back again soon. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Rcambe 1 review from this member

 We really loved this site. So peaceful with only a few pitches.

Showers were not operational due to covid regs. But loos were open and were lovely and clean.

We will be back 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Davem3 1 review from this member

 Fantastic site. Site manager was fabulous, warm, friendly and very helpful.

Site was really quiet and facilities very clean.

Will definitely stay again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Pwebs2 1 review from this member

 Lovely little site. Stayed 2 nights with my brother, 2 campervans, no issues over size of pitch, very relaxed about it. Site is well kept, clean & very peaceful.

Owners are lovely, very friendly & keen to make sure everything is ok. The farm kitten 'Doris' kept dropping by to see us, which was lovely.

Would recommend without any hesitation. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Clpagp 2 reviews from this member

 Had a wonderful stay at Moor End Farm Acaster Malpas. Site very clean and very friendly. Lovely touch with a microwave and fridge freezer.

Special mention to our boy Bill who helps look after the site. Very helpful guy who could not do enough for us on arrival. We had not had a caravan before and had great difficulty putting up the awning. Bill was there helping out straight away. Love you Bill. See you in September. There is a song in there somewhere!

Not far from the River Ouse and you can get a boat taxi into York. Ship Inn close by and Ebor pub in Bishopthorpe lovely food. Dave and Chris Pontefract. 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Debora 1 review from this member

 Adorable small site with helpful staff, clean grounds and facilities (toilets, showers, fridge/freezer, dishwashing, laundry, small play area).

Pitches well spaced and with picnic tables to use. 5 mins walk to Ship Inn pub by the river, bus stop in to York and York water bus (prebook). Range of takeaways 5 to 15 mins drive.

Really enjoyed our 3 night stay and will return.

NO ISSUES with Covid 19, measures in place and all adhered to in a respected and friendly manner. :-) 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jackiedoodah 1 review from this member

 This was our first ever time out with a caravan and the weather wasn't great. We had a few teething problems with our initial set up as we weren't really sure what we were doing.

Billy who runs the site was amazing, he spent so much time (in the rain) making sure we were ok, showing us what to do and giving us advice. We couldn't have chosen a better place for our first outing.

The site is small but really lovely and must be so much lovelier in the sunshine. The facilities were basic but spotlessly clean and there was everything we needed.

If we ever revisit York we will definitely return to this site and hopefully then we will be seasoned caravanners and not totally clueless as we were this time. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jakencharlie 1 review from this member

 First time we have visited here, it's a lovely clean site, staff are really friendly and it's dog friendly too,

It has a lovely pub close by and there are lots of places for walking,

You can walk by the river or go on the boat all way into York, really enjoyed our stay,

Would definitely recommend 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ThomasH 1 review from this member

 For all readers from Germany who are looking for a lovely quiet place on the outskirts of York:

Sometimes I'm lucky I'm alive ...

It was pure coincidence that I landed in my search for a place for my tent on the outskirts of York on Moor End Farm. But I think already I'm everyday, still happy to go back to the days there. It was exactly what I was looking for.

All that is said in the foregoing reviews, I can affirm and affirm. Moor End Farm is a quite small, very well-kept and quiet place to unrestrained well-being. It is simply a loving place to be found.

From the directly approaching narrow, very little busy road the campingareal is safely separated by a dense, carefully cut, almost brusthohe hedge. (I'm a little over 1, 80m tall.) Children are thus reliably protected from being trapped by the game, running on the road. I had my tent in a corner, almost on the street. However, I have felt quite honestly and unprejudiced at no time by bothered by traffic noise.

A particularly praise worth the sanitary facilities. These were at all times of my stay very clean. Also they are very well maintained. We all know here that this is not always so. That there is only one shower for women and men, was for me no problem at all. For the size of the facility is obviously comfortable.

For a visit to York, Moor End Farm is an ideal starting point. York is indeed a remarkable city. But you should take more than a day to explore. The National Railway Museum is sure to be an absolute highlight for railway and technology enthusiasts.

I decided to go on a boat trip on the River Ouse to York on Sunday and enjoyed them very much. In fine weather, this is a very attractive alternative. To the mooring is about 700 m walk. The boat sails from April to September only on Saturdays, Sundays and a few selected other days. Directly opposite the pier is the Pub Ship Inn. It is a very nice, lovingly furnished hospitable place. They serve food there. Also the prices are, according to my feeling, reasonable.

Special recognition deserves the hospitality, the support and the warmth that Bill and his wife have given me in the days at Moor End Farm. This was a truly extraordinary impressive experience. Thank you very much again Moira and Bill!

Bill has been the owner of the Moor End Farm, which exists as a farm in the immediate neighborhood.

For me, it is clear that I will not pitch my tent anywhere else on Moor End Farm when I stay next time in the area. I can only confirm: Highly recommended!
---------------
Für alle Leser aus Deutschland, die einen liebenswerten ruhigen Platz am Rand von York suchen:

Manchmal hat man Glück I'm Leben…

Es war purer Zufall, dass ich bei meiner Suche nach einem Platz für mein Zelt an der Peripherie von York auf Moor End Farm gelandet bin. Aber ich denke, bereits wieder I'm Alltag, immer noch gern an die Tage dort zurück. Es war exakt das, wonach ich für mich gesucht habe.

All das, was in den vorstehenden Reviews gesagt wird, kann ich bestätigen und bekräftigen. Moor End Farm ist ein ziemlich kleiner, sehr gepflegter und ruhiger Platz zum uneingeschränktem Wohlfühlen. Es ist einfach ein liebevoller Platz, wie man ihn sich zu finden wünscht.

Von der direkt vorbeiführenden schmalen, sehr wenig befahrenen Straße ist das Campingareal durch eine dichte, sorgfältig geschnittene, fast brusthohe Hecke sicher abgetrennt. (Ich bin etwas über 1, 80 m groß. ) Kinder sind dadurch zuverlässig davor geschützt, vom Spiel gefangen, unbedacht auf die Straße zu laufen. Mein Zelt hatte ich in einer Ecke, quasi direkt an der Straße, stehen. Ich habe mich aber ganz ehrlich und unbefangen zu keinem Zeitpunkt durch von dort kommenden Verkehrslärm belästigt gefühlt.

Ein besonders Lob verdienen die sanitären Einrichtungen. Diese sind zu jedem Zeitpunkt meines Aufenthaltes sehr sauber gewesen. Auch sind sie sehr gepflegt. Wir alle hier wissen, dass das nicht immer so ist. Dass es für Frauen und Männer jeweils nur eine Dusche gibt, war für mich überhaupt kein Problem. Für die Größe der Anlage reicht das offensichtlich komfortabel aus.

Für einen Besuch von York ist Moor End Farm eine idealer Ausgangspunkt. York ist in der Tat eine bemerkenswerte Stadt. Man sollte sich aber mehr als nur einen Tag Zeit nehmen, um sie zu erkunden. Für an Eisenbahnen und Technik Interessierte ist sicher das National Railway Museum dort ein absoluter Höhepunkt.

Ich habe mich am Sonntag für die Fahrt mit dem Schiff auf dem River Ouse nach York entschieden und sie sehr genossen. Bei schönem Wetter ist das eine sehr attraktive Alternative. Bis zur Anlegestellen sind es ca. 700 m Fußweg. Das Schiff fährt jedoch von April bis September nur an Samstagen, Sonntagen und wenigen ausgewählten anderen Tagen. (näher Infos hier: https://www. Yorkboat. Co. Uk/daytime/river-bus-service/ ) Direkt gegenüber von der Anlegestelle ist der Pub Ship Inn. Es ist eine sehr schöne, liebevoll eingerichtete gastliche Stätte. Sie servieren dort gutschmeckendes Essen. Auch die Preise sind, nach meinem Empfinden, vernünftig.

Besondere Anerkennung verdient die Gastfreundschaft, die Unterstützung und die Herzlichkeit die mir Bill und seine Frau in den Tagen auf Moor End Farm entgegengebracht haben. Das war eine wirklich außergewöhnliche beeindruckende Erfahrung. Thank you very much again Moira and Bill!

Bill hat während meiner Zeit auf Moor End Farm, die als landwirtschaftlicher Betrieb in direkter Nachbarschaft existiert, als Platzwart den Besitzer vertreten.

Für mich steht fest, dass ich bei meinem nächsten Aufenthalt in der Gegend mein Zelt nirgendwo sonst, als auf Moor End Farm, aufschlagen werde. Ich kann nur bestätigen: Highly recommended! 


Previous     32 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Moor End Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Moor End Farm?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Moor End Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3284 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement