Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Moor End Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Moor End Farm
Acaster Malbis
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO23 2UQ
Tel: 01904 706727  or  07860 405872
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 13
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 25 Reviews
                9/10 from 25 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  25 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jackiedoodah 1 review from this member

This was our first ever time out with a caravan and the weather wasn't great. We had a few teething problems with our initial set up as we weren't really sure what we were doing. Billy who runs the site was amazing, he spent so much time (in the rain) making sure we were ok, showing us what to do and giving us advice. We couldn't have chosen a better place for our first outing. The site is small but really lovely and must be so much lovelier in the sunshine. The facilities were basic but spotlessly clean and there was everything we needed. If we ever revisit York we will definitely return to this site and hopefully then we will be seasoned caravanners and not totally clueless as we were this time.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jakencharlie 1 review from this member

First time we have visited here, it's a lovely clean site, staff are really friendly and it's dog friendly too, it has a lovely pub close by and there are lots of places for walking, you can walk by the river or go on the boat all way into York, really enjoyed our stay, would definitely recommend

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ThomasH 1 review from this member

For all readers from Germany who are looking for a lovely quiet place on the outskirts of York:

Sometimes I'm lucky I'm alive ...

It was pure coincidence that I landed in my search for a place for my tent on the outskirts of York on Moor End Farm. But I think already I'm everyday, still happy to go back to the days there. It was exactly what I was looking for.

All that is said in the foregoing reviews, I can affirm and affirm. Moor End Farm is a quite small, very well-kept and quiet place to unrestrained well-being. It is simply a loving place to be found.

From the directly approaching narrow, very little busy road the campingareal is safely separated by a dense, carefully cut, almost brusthohe hedge. (I'm a little over 1, 80m tall.) Children are thus reliably protected from being trapped by the game, running on the road. I had my tent in a corner, almost on the street. However, I have felt quite honestly and unprejudiced at no time by bothered by traffic noise.

A particularly praise worth the sanitary facilities. These were at all times of my stay very clean. Also they are very well maintained. We all know here that this is not always so. That there is only one shower for women and men, was for me no problem at all. For the size of the facility is obviously comfortable.

For a visit to York, Moor End Farm is an ideal starting point. York is indeed a remarkable city. But you should take more than a day to explore. The National Railway Museum is sure to be an absolute highlight for railway and technology enthusiasts.

I decided to go on a boat trip on the River Ouse to York on Sunday and enjoyed them very much. In fine weather, this is a very attractive alternative. To the mooring is about 700 m walk. The boat sails from April to September only on Saturdays, Sundays and a few selected other days. Directly opposite the pier is the Pub Ship Inn. It is a very nice, lovingly furnished hospitable place. They serve food there. Also the prices are, according to my feeling, reasonable.

Special recognition deserves the hospitality, the support and the warmth that Bill and his wife have given me in the days at Moor End Farm. This was a truly extraordinary impressive experience. Thank you very much again Moira and Bill!

Bill has been the owner of the Moor End Farm, which exists as a farm in the immediate neighborhood.

For me, it is clear that I will not pitch my tent anywhere else on Moor End Farm when I stay next time in the area. I can only confirm: Highly recommended!
---------------
Für alle Leser aus Deutschland, die einen liebenswerten ruhigen Platz am Rand von York suchen:

Manchmal hat man Glück I'm Leben…

Es war purer Zufall, dass ich bei meiner Suche nach einem Platz für mein Zelt an der Peripherie von York auf Moor End Farm gelandet bin. Aber ich denke, bereits wieder I'm Alltag, immer noch gern an die Tage dort zurück. Es war exakt das, wonach ich für mich gesucht habe.

All das, was in den vorstehenden Reviews gesagt wird, kann ich bestätigen und bekräftigen. Moor End Farm ist ein ziemlich kleiner, sehr gepflegter und ruhiger Platz zum uneingeschränktem Wohlfühlen. Es ist einfach ein liebevoller Platz, wie man ihn sich zu finden wünscht.

Von der direkt vorbeiführenden schmalen, sehr wenig befahrenen Straße ist das Campingareal durch eine dichte, sorgfältig geschnittene, fast brusthohe Hecke sicher abgetrennt. (Ich bin etwas über 1, 80 m groß. ) Kinder sind dadurch zuverlässig davor geschützt, vom Spiel gefangen, unbedacht auf die Straße zu laufen. Mein Zelt hatte ich in einer Ecke, quasi direkt an der Straße, stehen. Ich habe mich aber ganz ehrlich und unbefangen zu keinem Zeitpunkt durch von dort kommenden Verkehrslärm belästigt gefühlt.

Ein besonders Lob verdienen die sanitären Einrichtungen. Diese sind zu jedem Zeitpunkt meines Aufenthaltes sehr sauber gewesen. Auch sind sie sehr gepflegt. Wir alle hier wissen, dass das nicht immer so ist. Dass es für Frauen und Männer jeweils nur eine Dusche gibt, war für mich überhaupt kein Problem. Für die Größe der Anlage reicht das offensichtlich komfortabel aus.

Für einen Besuch von York ist Moor End Farm eine idealer Ausgangspunkt. York ist in der Tat eine bemerkenswerte Stadt. Man sollte sich aber mehr als nur einen Tag Zeit nehmen, um sie zu erkunden. Für an Eisenbahnen und Technik Interessierte ist sicher das National Railway Museum dort ein absoluter Höhepunkt.

Ich habe mich am Sonntag für die Fahrt mit dem Schiff auf dem River Ouse nach York entschieden und sie sehr genossen. Bei schönem Wetter ist das eine sehr attraktive Alternative. Bis zur Anlegestellen sind es ca. 700 m Fußweg. Das Schiff fährt jedoch von April bis September nur an Samstagen, Sonntagen und wenigen ausgewählten anderen Tagen. (näher Infos hier: https://www. Yorkboat. Co. Uk/daytime/river-bus-service/ ) Direkt gegenüber von der Anlegestelle ist der Pub Ship Inn. Es ist eine sehr schöne, liebevoll eingerichtete gastliche Stätte. Sie servieren dort gutschmeckendes Essen. Auch die Preise sind, nach meinem Empfinden, vernünftig.

Besondere Anerkennung verdient die Gastfreundschaft, die Unterstützung und die Herzlichkeit die mir Bill und seine Frau in den Tagen auf Moor End Farm entgegengebracht haben. Das war eine wirklich außergewöhnliche beeindruckende Erfahrung. Thank you very much again Moira and Bill!

Bill hat während meiner Zeit auf Moor End Farm, die als landwirtschaftlicher Betrieb in direkter Nachbarschaft existiert, als Platzwart den Besitzer vertreten.

Für mich steht fest, dass ich bei meinem nächsten Aufenthalt in der Gegend mein Zelt nirgendwo sonst, als auf Moor End Farm, aufschlagen werde. Ich kann nur bestätigen: Highly recommended!

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Terrythetalbot 1 review from this member

What a lovely quiet site, clean showers with lots of hot water, washer and dryer (if you need them) free hairdryer in the ladies.

Friendly helpful people too. We enjoyed our stay

Check bus times because we waited half an hour then decided to walk in and the next village

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gyrotom 1 review from this member

I have just come back from Moor End Farm from the second one week stay there and agree with the good reviews I have seen here.

I am a caravan newbie and need to stay in the area for a flying instructor course.

The site is family run and very clean and tidy and feels very welcoming and Roger has been very patient and helpful advising me how to set up etc. The electric hook-ups were easy to use and in good condition. I left my steps when I went home the first time and Roger had kept them safe for me!

The toilet block and showers were very clean and bright and the water hot and easy to adjust to temp.

As has already been said the locals are all very friendly and the area is lovely and quiet yet with great access to York and the surrounding area.

All in all a really ideal site to act as base for the York area.

Although I did not have children with me I give it 10/10 for child friendliness because all the families with children I saw there seemed to be having a great time.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: ML60BAR 15 reviews from this member

This has been a wet winter for the Vale of York! We booked in here after a nearby site turned us away as the ground was too wet. When we arrived we had doubts as to whether our T5 would manage to reach the pitch offered, but Roger said 'give it a go'. In retrospect possibly not the best idea, and we duly got stuck. However he (with the help of his tractor) was more than helpful in getting us out of our predicament and found us a lovely alternative in the shelter of his hay barn, offering us pallets to put down to avoid the worst of the mud. Our own private decking! This was not a 'regular' pitch, but served our purposes more than adequately, we didn't want electric. A site with a combination of seasonal pitches and tourers, more than adequate facilities (two WCs one shower for ladies and gents, with a free hairdryer) plus a family shower room, washing up sink and washing machine/tumble dryer. Some swings for children to play on. A lovely feel to the site, no regimented rows which was why we rejected the other sites in the village. True, some pitches do back on to the road with very little protection, but not a busy road. All in all a lovely site if you go when it has dried up a bit, good walking/cycling around and an excellent pub in the village.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Joanne m 1 review from this member

Hi there we have just came back from this site and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The proprietors are such nice people. Roger is a very helpful chap. The toilet blocks and showers were very clean. Our caravan was pitched near to roadside of site. But the traffic was never a problem. Infact I wouldn't have it any other way because we spoke to lots and lots of villagers who were strolling by. Everyone had time to chat. This site is ideally situated for lovely river walks and into Bishopthorpe or a little drive for local tesco or other shopping outlets

We have already booked to go back and take family.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Northbankscunny 1 review from this member

A lovely little site and I will definitely be returning. We booked in to stay for 4 nights as the location suited exploring York. Don't be put off by other reviews that suggest small pitches, while we were there the owner was turning people away because he was full and there was plenty of room.

The owners are very friendly and even after a particularly heavy storm popped round to check we were alright.

The facilities are modest but with the size of the site it was never a problem, they were always clean. There is a communal fridge for people to use, which works due to the decency of the people on the site, though I will say that if you go and are struggling for space in the fridge check the due dates on some of the food/drink in there as some things must have been left behind by previous campers as they were very out of date.

You can catch a riverboat during the summer to York this picks up within walking distance of the site, but only operates on a Thursday, Saturday and Sunday.

What we tended to do was drive to Askham Bar park and ride and take the bus into york, these buses are very frequent and cost £2. 50 per adult return (this also allows 2 children per adult for free) so I only paid £5. 00 for myself, wife and 3 children, as opposed to the £2. 00 an hour in the city car parks.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bennetts 1 review from this member

We have just returned from 6 nights at Moor End Farm and have had a great time. The site is really nice and seems to be kept fairly quiet by the owner, who was turning people away as often as taking them in. The ground we were on had a few holes in it but nothing serious.

The shower block is nice and has lovely warm showers, no push buttons to get the water, and they are free too! Would be lovely if there was more than one per gender. The family room has two showers in and we were lucky enough to be able to use this facility.

There is quite a nice pub a shortish walk through the village, food was reasonable and they were very accommodating. The ring road is easy to get to from the site so getting to the Park & Ride sites is easy.

We've had a great time and will go back.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Babydaisy 8 reviews from this member

Well, what a little gem! This is a quiet little site, unspoilt by commercialism. There are two small fields, one with some static caravans in it, but they are tucked along one side and don't detract from the camping feel. The larger field has camping along the road side, but there are not too many cars along this road, so don't be put off.

The toilet block is simple, with one shower in the boys and one in the girls, but Roger has put a disabled/family room with two showers inside (open plan). To be honest, there wasn't enough people there to warrant any more showers. There was loads of hot water- and no queues!

I had also lugged my hairdryer all the way there, to find one in the girls side- all free!

No shop on site, but Bishopthorpe has a Co-op, post office and chip shop there, only 1 mile down the road. The Ship Inn was within easy walking distance and does lovely food.

We caught the riverboat to York (catch it outside the Ship Inn), which was a great way to travel into the city as I understand the parking in York is expensive. (There are park and rides of course).

Also, a must, is the steam train from Pickering to Whitby. What a fab experience.

Moor End Farm has ducks that waddle around, and we also had the pleasure of seeing their ducklings. There are some pigs in the field next door, and if you park under any trees, the dawn chorus starts at about 4am. However, isn't this all part of camping??

I don't think this would suit older kids, who may get bored, but there are swings for younger ones.

All in- we would definitely go there again -talk about relaxing. Well done Roger!

Previous     25 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in North Yorkshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


546 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.0947