Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Highfield House Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > West Yorkshire > Wakefield > Highfield House Caravan Park Reviews

Highfield House Caravan Park
Clough Road
Flockton
Wakefield
West Yorkshire   (Browse area)
WF4 4AQ
Tel: 01924 840124
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 14
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 35 Reviews
                8/10 from 35 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  35 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kerryo231 8 reviews from this member

Nice little site. Spent 2 nights there with our young family when visiting Yorkshire Sculpture Park (10 mins away). Toilet blocks clean - 2 toilets and 1 shower. Plenty of hot water for washing up.

Great for young families as it was nice and quiet - just a field! Picnic benches dotted around for you to use which was good for us as we didn't take a table.

On a bus route to and from Huddersfield. Local shop a short drive away but we couldn't find a supermarket closer than Huddersfield (9 miles away).

Would recommend for those wanting a quiet break away.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Purplebean 19 reviews from this member

Just stayed here for two nights with my son. It is a very small very friendly site. Toilets clean and adequate for the number of units. Only one washing up sink but it always had hot water and as the site is small it was very easy to wander down when you could see it was free. The owners are very friendly, they froze my ice blocks and offered information about the area.

This site is only 30 mins from my house but I will certainly go again

Date of Visit: November 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: KMUNDY 1 review from this member

Just stayed at this site. Very friendly & helpful.

The sites on a slight incline. We arrived on a very wet day the grass slippy but the owner put our caravan on the site for us with his 4 x 4 & not only did he put it on the pitch but he put in on timber to level it & got spirit level out to make sure it was level. Ive been caravaning for many year and never had service like this. Good value for money. 2 pubs in village one lets dogs in. Also in village a shop a fish & chip shop & a workingmens club. Very good walking area we walked to emley all off road then looped round back to flockton easy walking found a few more pubs on route. Footpaths easy to follow.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JoBeanz 1 review from this member

Really friendly little campsite. Excellent value for money. Facilities simple but very cleanand more than adequate. Nice grass and flowerbeds. Dogs made very welcome as long as on a lead.

Constant hot water in dish washing area. Separate bins for recycling but not enforced.

There's a bus stop right outside the campsite. Very near to the village of Emley where there was a village shop and a fabulous pub, the White Horse. Dogs were very welcome and the food was really nice and great value for money. There is a quiz on a Tuesday night and we were made to feel welcome as 'non locals' they had cask ales and a takeout facility.

The Yorkshire Sculpture Park was a great day out. Just 5 to park the car all day and that was the only expense ( unless you treat yourelf in the cafes).

Gorgeous walks and scenery and plenty of sites for picnics and dogs on leads were welcome.

The best thing about the campsite were the owners. They were so friendly and welcoming and were more than happy to help with anything they could. Offers to help put up the tents if we needed it and lots of info on attractions. They couldn't have been more accommodating if they'd have tried.

Would def return to this site and would have no problems in recommending it it to anyone.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Insurancegeezer 4 reviews from this member

Been to this site twice now.

We really like this site, it is small but very relaxed, owners are both friendly and helpful (we lost our skylight on way!)

Site is well maintained, would be lots of grass for kids, the site has sensible pricing policy and no petty rules. They treat adults like adults!

Yes there is only 1 shower in each mens and women. But they only have 15 pitches so no problem, showers are kept clean. 50p for showers for family of 4 did add a bit to the cost. We kept forgetting to get 50ps. But owners were helpful and changed some.

This would be an ideal site for family and friends to gather together in one place and have a bbq. I believe they also have a barn with chairs tables etc.

We will defo be using this site again and even thinking of storing our caravan here next season.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mand1 13 reviews from this member

Such a friendly welcome and lots of local information given to us. This was a lovely little site, well kept with mown grass, separated recycling,

clean toilets and a hot shower (50p for 3 minutes - just enough) great walking, loads to do in the area,nice pub a 20 minute walk across the footpaths with lovely food at good prices, about 6-7 for a main course.

Shame we only had 1 night but already plan to go back with our caravan for a longer stay later on this year. Charged 12.50 for the night, and very happy with that.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Barrie n Lynda 9 reviews from this member

What a lovely gem of a place.

The owners were very friendly and supplied loads of information about our surroundings.

We used our own facilities so can't comment on the site's but if the camping field is anything to go by they must have been immaculate.

Travelled into Wakefield via bus from the nearby village and were surprised by how clean and new the town was. Great for shops and pubs.

Village pubs near the site.

We stayed for 2 nights and we will be booking again next year and inviting our friends to join us.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jonluvsnique 1 review from this member

August Bank Holiday, we stayed there for our 'annual family camp'!

My sisters and parents had been before but we hadn't.

Small family owned site, slightly uneven, but otherwise ok.

Single shower and toilet in both ladies and gents.

Robin and Sheila are a really lovely couple, made us feel really welcome.

Slightly noisy because of the size of the land and the fact that the 'noisy people', about 3 or 4 families, had been drinking all afternoon and had finally shut up about 1:30am.

Showers are ok, but a 50p slot for about 3 minutes is what you get.

Close to the mining museum, which was free BUT UNDER 5'S ARE NOT ALLOWED IN.

Really good time was had, and the nearest pub-George&Dragon, was pretty busy but our 3yr old was allowed in cos she was well behaved and very quiet.

Served fantastic food until 9pm, 8pm on Sundays.

The mining museum is well worth a visit if you get there early enough.

Back on site, lovely well maintained site with flower beds.

Close to the Emley Moor transmitter, and a working farm/dairy/ice cream place where you can actually see the cows being milked and fresh ice cream also being made with a choice of actually buying some, it was absolutely FANTASTIC!

Not too bad, but I prefer the East Coast to be honest!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brownies 2 reviews from this member

My Husband and myself stayed for 1 night in our campervan with our 2 small dogs. This site was ideal for us as we just required somewhere to chill for a night. The campsite itself is well maintained with a very slight incline the grass is well kept and flower beds very pretty. Toilets where clean with a shower in both the ladies and gents.

Lovely views over the surrounding countryside which our dogs gave ten out of ten to after exploring with us.

There are pubs and local shops a short 2 minute drive away or alternatively a good 10 minute walk uphill. There is also a bus stop right out side the camp gates for anyone not wishing to drive. The site is a handy peaceful base for exploring surrounding towns such as wakefield and Huddersfield.

The site owners Sheila and Robin made us very welcome and were warm and friendly. We will be returning in a fortnight for another night of de stressing

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ANNIE1971 6 reviews from this member

We had one night on this site. The owners were very friendly. The toilet block was basic but clean. There was one shower in each toilet block.

At ten pounds a night with no electric it was cheap. We visited Yorkshire Sculpture park which was about 4 miles away. The local amenities were a good 10minute walk up rather a steep hill.

We enjoyed our stay on this site and would return if we were visiting the area again.

Previous     35 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Wakefield      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5678 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019