Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Highfield House Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > West Yorkshire > Wakefield > Highfield House Caravan Park Reviews

Highfield House Caravan Park
Clough Road
Flockton
Wakefield
West Yorkshire   (Browse area)
WF4 4AQ
Tel: 01924 840124
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 14
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 35 Reviews
                8/10 from 35 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  35 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ukhondacrx 2 reviews from this member

Just spent a really great weekend at this little gem. Yes its not as flat as Table Mountain overall but there are plenty of flat spaces on which to pitch.

We received a warm welcome from Robin & Sheila who were great. Facilities were spotless - the only issue for some might be that there was only one shower for each gents and another for ladies which might put some people off but it really is a minor gripe. No playground for the kids but the camping field is plenty big enough to play football without getting in other people's way.

Plenty of things to do around the area. National Coal Mining museum is well worth a visit. There is also the Kirkless Light Railway - a narrow gauge scenic railway that runs at the weekends. A round trip takes about an hour - our kids loved it. Yorks Sculpture Park isn't too far away either.

All in all a great place to stay.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kerrysykes 10 reviews from this member

What a lovely little campsite. The owners were very helpful. Very well kept, grass well mown, and facilities clean. On a very slight gradient, but that was no problem. Great little campsite !

There are two pubs nearby: The Sun Inn and George and Dragon, which brew there own ales. It's near the national coal mining museum, which is free and is worth a visit. Near Huddersfield and Wakefield, both with lots of attractions. Well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: The camping man 1 review from this member

My family and I have just had 2 nights at this lovely site. We have recently purchased a new (well very old) campervan and needed somewhere to try it out for our first visit to a commercial campsite in some 10 years. The site was very quiet as we went after the Easter Holiday. The grass was green, smooth and very tidy. Yes the site is slightly sloping but there are plenty of flat areas and we were perfectly level. Robin and Sheila couldn't have been more helpful if they had tried.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Nannycatch 6 reviews from this member

What a fantastic campsite.The location. The facilities. And the lovely owners were all second to none.A few of us spend three nights there over August Bank Holiday and had a great time.We were made very welcome indeed.Lovely showers.Well the male one was.I didn't go in the ladies.

Clean.Hot.We will definitely be using this site again.And is already down on our 'Fav' list

Shops and pubs about 10 mins away after a lovely walk down a country lane.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wychwoodzippy 10 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 2 nights as we were visiting our daughter in Emley. We had a wonderful warm welcome and were told to pick our own pitch and were then helped to straighten and level up. The grass pitch was dry and the site was peaceful (we were concerned about late night niose after reading a couple of the earlier reviews but we needn't have worried) and surrounded by public footpaths.

Toilets and showers were cleaned regularly but afraid that some users didn't always leave the facilities as clean as they found them so used our own in the van! A lovely good value site at 12.50 per night which we will be using again.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Smithski 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a few nights here and I cant believe the negative comments! The hosts were really welcoming and its a beautifully kept, quiet, friendly site (but nice and informal (just how we like it).

The toilet & shower blocks were immaculate at all times and there are a couple of really welcoming pubs just a short walk away. We will definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ksparky 9 reviews from this member

We stayed here for a weekend as we have friends nearby and it was easier for us to take the caravan than move people out of beds.

The owners were very friendly, we are new to caravanning and they were so helpful.

As I say we were visiting friends so we didn't use the toilet block or showers on the site. We had electric hook up.

The surrounding countryside is beautiful and you feel you are miles from anywhere but you are only a short drive to main roads.

The site was very peaceful when we were there, only us and 2 other vans.

We will definitely stay here again next time we go visiting.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tronk 4 reviews from this member

This is a lovely family site that is very welcoming.

This was our second visit to the site and we enjoyed every minute. On both occasions we arrived on Friday and Left on Sunday the facilities were immaculate both times, and the hot shower is lovely, the site is on a slight slope but nothing to worry about, there are plenty of electric hook ups and the grass is well tended.

The owners are lovely, friendly and very funny. The only thing missing is a small playground (but don't know where they would put it!)

Some of the other comments seem rather harsh and very unfair!

Can't wait until our next booking.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mike Richardson 7 reviews from this member

Lovely small site in the country side with so much to do within a short car ride (there is a bus stop at the site entrance if you don't feel like driving.

Most of the pitches are slightly sloping but but not enough to cause a problem. We stayed for three nights (10 per night with hook up) and had 3 caravans, a TT and 11 tents for company. During our stay the toilets were only cleaned once and the gents was out of toilet roll for two days. Late night noise was a problem from one party of mixed sex youths but the owners did nothing to stop the noise.

If you head towards Wakefield you can visit The Yorkshire Sculpture Park, Bretton Country Park, Pugneys Country Park, Newmillerdam Country Park and The National Coal Mining Museum (all free. Huddersfield is great for shopping. There is a vast array of pubs and restaurants to suit all pockets (try Holmfield House in Wakefield Park for vfm)

If the owners got their act together and paid attention to detail they would have a little goldmine.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bertie34 6 reviews from this member

Just spent 3 nights at this site. Its a basic site but has clean modernish loos (2 in ladies) and a good hot shower. Not coin operated! It is a field surrounded by a hedge! The site is on a slight slope but there are plenty of areas to pitch and you can carry a picnic table to your pitch provided by owners to use for your stay.

Its a short walk (10-15mins) up a foot path through fields to the village that has a post office ,chippy ,off licence and pubs serving food.

It was very quiet whilst we were there except for the last night when a family in a caravan thought it was ok to return from the pub shouting (we are talking loud here!) and singing . The owner came out and told them to be quiet and this sorted them out.

Lovely friendly owners and at only 8.50 a night its great as a base for local attractions like the mining museum and sculpture park. The price includes EHU but we didn't use one. We used this site as a quick, close to home get away and its perfect for a short stay!

Previous     35 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Wakefield      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7625 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019