Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Highfield House Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > West Yorkshire > Wakefield > Highfield House Caravan Park Reviews

Highfield House Caravan Park
Clough Road
Flockton
Wakefield
West Yorkshire   (Browse area)
WF4 4AQ
Tel: 01924 840124
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 14
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 35 Reviews
                8/10 from 35 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  35 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Billlio51 1 review from this member

Lovely site, well situated for Huddersfield and Wakefield. Bus stop outside the gate, buses every half hour, last one from Huddersfield at 11pm, good service.

Quiet site, lovely views over golden corn fields, small, but adequate toilet blocks and very friendly owners. We walked into Flockton Sunday evening, to visit the Sun Inn, got there at 9. 30pm, and it was shut? A pleasant enough walk though, just under a mile, check it's open before you go.

Liked it a lot, and we plan to visit another time

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Purplebean 19 reviews from this member

This is the fourth time I have stayed at this site which says something. It is only 25 mins from home and is my site for just one or two nights.

I have never had a problem getting a pitch, this time I stayed for 3 nights there were 4 units the first night, then 6, then 8 and all but 1 left on the Sunday. It is a small site taking around 13/14 units.

Had electric for the first time and although it is only a 10amp supply we had no problems.

The site is well kept with the grass cut short, no facilities for kids but as they only pitch round the perimeter this leaves the centre for running round on.

The site is sloping top to bottom and from the middle to both edges but there are enough flat spots at the edges for this not to be too much of a problem.

Facilities are old but adequate for the size of the site, if you want all singing and dancing new facilities this is not the site for you. But if you are happy with a toilet, shower (50p) and washing up sink then this site will be perfect. There is always hot water in the toilets but no soap or towel, we solved this by having a dedicated soap and small towel to take with you each time. I knew this in advance and therefore went prepared for this.

The site is quiet and has nice views over fields and at £15 a night including electric is a bargain

We will be back next time we want a sneaky night or two away :)

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Crossfire 15 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 1 night. Very reasonable pricing for a caravan and camping club site. No issues because I wasn't a member.

I actually only live 1/2 an hour away in the car, I stayed because my neighbours were having a kids party in their garden and I also was seeing what our new puppy would think of camping.

The site is a small site but the grass is well kept and as it was not busy I was pitched with no one else round me. The toilet and showers were clean enough, 50p for a shower but I didn't use them with only staying 1 night.

No facilities for kids but there we some riding bikes round and my two played football in-front of our tent very relaxed atmosphere.

Electric Hook up worked a treat and being near Emley Moor the TV signal was top notch.

Ideal little stop over site if travelling around. There is a shop in the village and it is close to the M1 but not close enough to hear it.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ceilingfish 3 reviews from this member

A lovely little field out the front of a gorgeous old farmhouse. It's about an acre of land, with electrical hookups around the perimeter. The site has wonderful views, and the site is sunny all day.

The facilities are a little on the small side, however this is excusable given the small size of the site. There's one shower in each of the cubicles and a disabled toilet. The showers are a little expensive at 50p for 2 minutes.

There's a washing up station outside both bathrooms, and an extensive array of recycling bins.

The owners are very friendly, and gave very clear instructions, they are a little tricky to find though, you need to go through the white gate and ring the doorbell.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lynmar 1 review from this member

We have just spent a few of weeks staying on this site whilst waiting to move into our new home. The site owners Sheila and Rob have been fantastic, nothing has been too much trouble for them. We have never stayed on a site for this length of time but we would most definitely stay with them again. They have all the amenities you will need and a new shower block has been ordered for the end of this year. There is a bus stop directly outside the site taking you to either Huddersfield or Wakefield. There is plenty of beautiful walks and local pubs too. They welcome children and well behaved pets too. So whether you have a caravan or a tent you will definitely find a warm welcome here. This is truly a hidden gem that we will be going back to.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Julie528 5 reviews from this member

Just come back from a 3 night stay and will definitely be going back some time. It is just a field but every thing was lovely especially the owners who talked to you like you were friends. Nice soft ground, no stones, for pitching tents. Toilet block basic but did the job. The owners said another new one was on order. There were 3 or 4 picnic tables around the field for anyone to use, basically first come first served. While we were pitching the owner arrived with leaflets for days out and advice on where to go which was really nice of him. Close to main road but had a large gate which would keep little ones in. Didn't really notice any traffic after the first day. We went with friends and they agreed it was a lovely little site and at £15 a night with electric was very reasonable. It is 50p for a shower but lasted longer than you needed.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Belleshell 1 review from this member

Stayed here after an impromptu camping weekend, what a little gem of a site, beautiful views, welcoming hosts, simple yet did the job facilities, and for £15 a night with electric hook up we will defo go again.

The site is a farm so safety was high on the agenda, but the kids loved opening and closing the gate for anyone wanting to come in or out, also the little signs all over the site gave me a chuckle. Proper Yorkshire Humour.

There was a lovely pub a short walk (up hill along a dirt footpath) that was dog and child friendly.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cinderhills 2 reviews from this member

We've just had two nights here. A beautiful, grassy site: very well maintained and in a pretty location. Plenty of flat spots for our small tent. A few tents on site, and a couple of caravans but lots of peace and quiet, and lots of birdsong. Welcoming, informative owners. This is a working farm, and it was interesting to chat with the farmer about life and work on the farm. Facilities are simple but did the job, and everything was clean and well-looked after.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JUSSI75 5 reviews from this member

This was our first stay at Highfield House and we thoroughly enjoyed the 3 nights we spent there.

Our hosts advised the best place to pitch and then offered local places to visit that the kids would enjoy. Very relaxing, no little Hitler owners like some small campsites we have been to.

Showers & toilets were basic but clean.

Visited the local pub (George and Dragon I think) a few times which was a nice 15 minute leisurely stroll to build up a thirst and the pub has a great large beer garden with a playground which the kids loved.

Would definitely recommend and will be visiting again.

No negatives what so ever.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wooleycats 1 review from this member

Just spent 2 nights here with friends. Lovely small site, with very friendly and helpful owners. Lovely pitch flat for tents despite field being on a slope. Moveable picnic benches available.

No silly rules, just a list of 'pleases'.

50p for a 3 min shower. Plenty of hot water and facilities.

Ten minutes drive to the Sculpture Park which was a great day out.

Would definitely go to this site again.

Previous     35 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2739 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019