Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Laxdale Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Hebrides > Isle Of Lewis > Laxdale Holiday Park Reviews

Laxdale Holiday Park
6 Laxdale Lane
Stornoway
Isle Of Lewis
Hebrides   (Browse area)
HS2 0DR
Tel: 01851 706966
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 43
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 52 Reviews
                7/10 from 52 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  52 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bodiddly 29 reviews from this member

 First the good bits, you can get the bus into Stornoway from near the site, or it will take about 30 mins to walk. The lady owner is very friendly and helpful, the toilets and showers are very clean (best showers are the ones behind reception, large shower heads 15 min of hot water, temperature adjustable, and plenty of hanging for clothes and towels).

Now the not so good, we have a medium sized motorhome and could not get anywhere near level, even with ramps, on our allocated pitch on the large parking area outside reception as it sloped quite badly, so we had to move to the flatter area opposite, which has 6 pitches, 3 on each side, which is OK if they are small campervans. We were opposite a large caravan and struggled to get in, thankfully nothing parked on the pitch next to us or we would not have got out again. If you put up an awning, prepare for even the best rock pegs to bend, 6 of ours could never be used again! Basically it was like camping on a car park. The bunk houses and pods were right behind and to the side of us, so if they were occupied it would be noisy and crowded. The nice level hardstandings divided by grass shown on their website are only big enough for small campervans or 2 berth caravans. If you need to be near Stornoway and have a small outfit it's fine, if expensive, but would we stay again? No. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Smithsontour 3 reviews from this member

 This site is the worse site visited so far on our tour of Scotland. It is cramped, completely lacking in any sort of outlook (the pictures do not depict it in true life), and most unappealing. The grassy tent area shown on the site is a small sloped corner, however, all areas allocated for motor homes and caravans are on what is nothing more than a car park with hook up facility. Thankfully we had only booked for one night, the thought of staying more than that would be most depressing. The proximity to the town and ferry terminal was good and the only other good point I would add is the fact that the showers behind reception are very, very hot and very powerful probably the best shower I've had in a while. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Smudgerosie 1 review from this member

 Stayed here for 4 nights. Staff friendly and site clean and tidy. Facilities are a little dated though clean. Found walks for dogs and supermarkets are nearby. Different units available on site from wigwams, bunkhouse, tents, static vans motorhomes and caravans. Bus service available from bottom of road though don't know frequency. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: HermanHymer 14 reviews from this member

 The most expensive site I have stayed on in 2 months in Scotland. That said there's not a lot of choice so they have the market cornered. The site is pleasant and clean, the owners are very friendly and helpful. Conveniently situated on the outskirts of Stornoway, 15 minutes from the ferry. There's a variety of accommodations on offer and although the facilities are not glamorous, there's everything you need. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Audia6 8 reviews from this member

 Handy for the ferry is the only good point. Spent three nights on what felt like a car park and booked early ferry back to Ullapool. Nothing whatsoever like the pictures and the facilities are dark, dated and very cramped. Expensive at 25. 00 per night. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trevor + Jo 109 reviews from this member

 Stopped here for two nights. Perfectly functional site near Stornoway but nothing to rave about. The pitch slopes gently but does afford some shelter from the wind. You'll have to carry your kit across the field. Not really walking distance but only 5 minutes drive to town.

Not a lot to say about the site but plenty to enjoy in Stornoway. Mr MacLeod's blackpudding and haggis and Mrs Alex Frances' shortbread to name but three! Plenty of Harris tweed and gift shops. Try the hardware shop for some amazing homemade samosas, unbelievably good. Tesco's not open Sunday's! Apparently Lews castle opens December 2015. Plenty to do for a day out. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Iandjp 8 reviews from this member

 Is this the only site located, effectively in Stornaway itself? It has two areas of hardstanding for motorhomes/caravans, the one to the left of the entrance, where we were, newer and flatter but possibly more cramped than the other. On the positive side our pitch had EHP and freshwater yet overlooked camping pods to the left, tents in front and another motorhome right next door! Whilst not desirable in itself, these were not 'deal breakers'. The showers were cramped and in need of upgrading and the outdoor washing up facilities - when we were there - looked unhygienic and unattractive. Yet if you are looking for a site with all the facilities and conveniently situated in Stornaway - this is it. Whilst we would not rave about the site, would we return - certainly. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Motorhomeliz 4 reviews from this member

 I think this is probably the largest site in Lewis & Harris - in the suburbs of Stornaway. We stayed here for convenience on our first night as we had arrived late and were tired.

When we were arrived we were welcomed by the chap from the office, he was quite friendly and helpful. We had pre-booked a plot with electric hookup which was a hard gravel area, 3 units parked next to each other facing another 3. We were about 2 metres from the next caravan. We were right next to the camping pods and a bunkhouse & toilet block on the other side and it was really very noisy in the night. It doesn't really look anything like the pictures on its website.

The facilities were OK - we didn't use the showers but the women's toilets were fine. The closest men's toilets were shut throughout our stay, there was another in a different block. We used the laundrette which was good (2 washing machines 1 dryer). We didn't see any area suitable for children to play so my son took to climbing & walking on all the small walls dividing the site up. The whole place had quite a suburban / urban feel so we moved on to wild camp rather than stay the second night we had booked.

On the whole if you are passing through on or off a ferry from Stornaway it is a reasonable place to set down, and probably better for caravans or people who need electric hookup for a longer stay. There are a few things to do close to Laxdale (walk into Stornaway for the castle) but you need to drive quite a bit to see what the islands really have to offer. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: BobChris 6 reviews from this member

 This site is very well situated for exploring Lewis. After reading some of the previous reviews we were a little concerned about where we could walk our two collies, but it wasn't a problem as there is a lane just outside the site. The owner was very welcoming and helpful, the facilities were very clean but would benefit from updating a little that said we would certainly stay again. Stornaway is well worth a visit, the town is very nice and would recommend eating at the Palace Hotel, the food was good and reasonably priced, it is advisable to book as it gets very busy there. We had a lovely circular walk from Cuddy Point through the gardens surrounding Lewis Castle, the Woodland Trust cafe do a nice lunch. Having two energetic dogs we are always looking for places to walk them, and had a lovely time walking on the beautiful beach at Tolsta Head, well worth going to. A visit to Garenin to see the Black Houses and museum is recommended and the cafe there serves really nice food. We didn't really have time to do the area justice but will certainly return and to the same site. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Brockville 8 reviews from this member

 Went to this site for 2 nights as we didn't like the one we were originally booked on. This site is well located for going into Stornoway, less than 5 minutes drive away. There are two hardstanding areas for touring caravans. Access is OK although not much room to manoeuvre and space between caravans is on the small side. The showers are hot and clean but a bit dated. The owners were extremely friendly and the site is kept immaculate. There is a good area under the eaves for washing up etc. The site was full when we were there but it wasn't noisy. If you have a dog there is no dog walking area and you need to either be prepared to walk up the road and through the housing estate or jump in your car and drive 10 minutes to the local beach. I wouldn't choose to go to this site for a weeks holiday but if you're looking for some where to base yourself for a couple of days while exploring Stornoway and the adjacent area it's fine. Far better than the site at Shawbost. 


Previous     52 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Laxdale Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Laxdale Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Laxdale Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Isle Of Lewis      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hebrides

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4343 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement