Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Laxdale Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Hebrides > Isle Of Lewis > Laxdale Holiday Park > Reviews

Laxdale Holiday Park
6 Laxdale Lane
Stornoway
Isle Of Lewis
Hebrides   (Browse area)
HS2 0DR
Tel: 01851 706966
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 43
Open: 01/04/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 56 Reviews
                7/10 from 56 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  56 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lee 60 24 reviews from this member

 This is probably as close to a traditional campsite as you'll find on Lewis & Harris. It's very convenient for the ferry, walking into Stornoway and exploring Lewis, but more of a practical choice than a scenic one.

All van pitches are hardstanding with EHU and plenty of water points, there are a number of pods, a lodge and a bunkhouse, plus a small (sloping) field for camping.

The facilities are modern and clean, but they could do with a few more toilets and showers as they are pretty busy in the morning and you will probably will have to queue. There is also a drive over grey waste, plus chemical waste point and a small laundry with washing lines.

We were mildly annoyed by random kids running around the site, but otherwise a pleasant stay.

When put into the context of where you are, this isn't a bad choice as a base for touring the island and we would stay again. 


Date of Visit: October 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: BeachDog 30 reviews from this member

 Lovely site close to Stornoway, very handy for ferry. Friendly welcome - staffed reception.

Clean and ample facilities.

Very well laid out with hard standings, all level. Campers kitchen & laundry room. Pods and bunkhouse also available.

Dog friendly. 22 without electric for hardstanding. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dianes 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely little campsite handy for touring around Lewis and Harris. Great, clean facilities with lovely hot showers as well as washing lines, campers kitchen and particularly loved the Vanity Room.

Only negative for us would be, as we live in the country where it is very quiet, we found site a bit noisy in mornings (one of the nearby houses have dogs that bark constantly all and every morning from early hours,

Also pitches are surrounded by gravel paths which are noisy with people back and forth to facilities).

However that said we would still recommend this site and would stay again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Philt5 4 reviews from this member

 Straight off the ferry so super handy - lovely site with great facilities and really friendly greeting.

Would be great for time in stornoway on our next visit 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Shelley84 4 reviews from this member

 Beautiful little campsite that is really well maintained. Very friendly owner who was really knowledgeable and helpful.

Facilities were lovely and it was great to get a proper decent piping hot shower.

Wished we had booked a few nights here, it was a great base for us and I'd definitely go back. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Capaldi 2 reviews from this member

 Nicely laid out site with hardstanding pitches and tented area. Site was very clean with excellent shower and toilet facilities (this had all been renewed during lockdown period).

Waste disposal area was nicely out of site behind shower block.

Large grey waste area on exit from camp.

Fresh drinking water well situated beside all pitches.

Laundry area with large drying area with washing line.

Staff were all very helpful and accomodating. Site is approx 20 min walk into Stornoway or alternately a 4 taxi ride.

All in all a very well kept and organised campsite.

Very handy for the ferry. 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trevor + Jo 132 reviews from this member

 The best thing about this site is the fact that it is close to Stornoway and ideal as the first, or last, place to stay for the ferry. The tent field slopes down to some flatter (and wetter) areas by the boundary.

The hedge contains many mature trees so it is fairly sheltered from all directions. You cannot park on the grass so be prepared to carry your kit. There is no view.

We arrived on a particularly wet and windy day. We were told we could pitch anywhere but when we were seen preparing to erect our tent in the shelter of the pods the site warden wasn't having any of it, and informed us by shouting across from his caravan.

No problem with abiding by the rules but a big issue with his attitude and delivery. Big loss of points for customer service there.

The facilities are OK and despite the bad taste left by the overly aggressive warden I've got to admit the showers are fantastic and the campsite kitchen is really good too.

They calculate the tariff by adding up people, tents and nights. I think it was 18 for the two of us

Visit MacLeod's Butcher's and stock up with food and fuel, then get away from here asap, there's far better places on Lewis and Harris to stay. 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Bobc51 22 reviews from this member

 Well where to start, not what I expected, we probably had one of the best pitches with a view of the site below which seemed to empty of motorhomes on a rather cramped hard standing each morning and fill up on a night(could be very early or late ? ferry arrival/depart. )

On the plus side very convenient for Stornaway center and ferry.

Showers and toilets clean very good shower pressure.

Not a bad place to tour from as nowhere is too far away. Stornaway I quite like but I enjoy walking round harbors.

A must is to call at Macleods butchers 1st. Class meat and pies but the best is their black pudding (I thought I did not like till I tried theirs) 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dlgb 17 reviews from this member

 Location - outskirts of Stornaway and good / practical stop off for ferry, but few pitches with views. Busy with arrivals at all times (one night noisy, late arrival setting up awning to 1 am - was beginning of carnival weekend). About 11/2 mile from centre - good walk, better with bike.

Sheltered from all directions.

Facilities clean but cramped and mens urinal visible when door open (which was left open a lot of time). Showers good but small cubicle, no extra charge.

Proprietor helpful, 24h presence. Site well organised, pitch prebooked and allocated.

Kitchen and wash up good, washing machine worked well and several outside clothesline (and 2 night stop) meant no need to use drier.

Priced at 24 per night include EHU 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jsun 19 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for one night in May with an electric hookup. The site is in a good location for touring Lewis.

With hindsight we would have stayed longer here and not bothered with a site on the west coast. The owners are making a big effort here but the pitches for small motorhomes are very tight.

The toilet block was very clean but the shower cubicles are small. There was a good washing up and laundry area. There was no free wifi, but you could purchase wifi for your stay.

This site was 5 per night more expensive than the others we stayed at on the western isles and I don't think that was reflected in any better site.

There is no view. You can get a bus or taxi into Stornoway. We had a lovely lunch at the Digby Chick in Stornoway and the Museum at the Castle is well worth a visit. 


Previous     56 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Laxdale Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Laxdale Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Laxdale Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Isle Of Lewis      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hebrides

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


32188 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement