Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Laxdale Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Hebrides > Isle Of Lewis > Laxdale Holiday Park Reviews

Laxdale Holiday Park
6 Laxdale Lane
Stornoway
Isle Of Lewis
Hebrides   (Browse area)
HS2 0DR
Tel: 01851 706966
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 43
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 48 Reviews
                7/10 from 48 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  48 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dlgb 10 reviews from this member

Location - outskirts of Stornaway and good / practical stop off for ferry, but few pitches with views. Busy with arrivals at all times (one night noisy, late arrival setting up awning to 1 am - was beginning of carnival weekend). About 11/2 mile from centre - good walk, better with bike.

Sheltered from all directions.

Facilities clean but cramped and mens urinal visible when door open (which was left open a lot of time). Showers good but small cubicle, no extra charge.

Proprietor helpful, 24h presence. Site well organised, pitch prebooked and allocated.

Kitchen and wash up good, washing machine worked well and several outside clothesline (and 2 night stop) meant no need to use drier.

Priced at £24 per night include EHU

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jsun 19 reviews from this member

Stayed here for one night in May with an electric hookup. The site is in a good location for touring Lewis. With hindsight we would have stayed longer here and not bothered with a site on the west coast. The owners are making a big effort here but the pitches for small motorhomes are very tight. The toilet block was very clean but the shower cubicles are small. There was a good washing up and laundry area. There was no free wifi, but you could purchase wifi for your stay. This site was £5 per night more expensive than the others we stayed at on the western isles and I don't think that was reflected in any better site. There is no view. You can get a bus or taxi into Stornoway. We had a lovely lunch at the Digby Chick in Stornoway and the Museum at the Castle is well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Reuben 14 reviews from this member

Stayed here for the first 2 nights of our 8 night tour. Handy for the ferry as we didn’t arrive until after 10pm. Decent, clean facilities but the shower cubicles are pretty small. The pitches were fine for our van - an Elgrand. Pretty level but would be a struggle with an awning. There looked to be a separate area for overnighters either with EHU or not.

All in all a fair site to see a Stornaway & the excellent museum by the castle - the Lewis Chessmen are a must see. Remember, Stornoway’s shut on Sunday - no shops, fuel or much else.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: GillOK 8 reviews from this member

Popped in on the off chance on our tour of Skye and the Outer Hebrides. Sadly they were full, but were able to offer us a pitch with their parents, walking distance, down the road, but allowing us to use all the facilities on offer at this site. Excellent layout, on the bus route into town (bottom of the rd) Friendly, welcoming and very helpful. Only stayed one night on our way to Harris. I would love to stay on the site next time - parents pitch was fine, but would be nice to be closer to showers! so my recommendation would be to book ahead if you would like to stay here. Great place to tour the island from and near town for shopping, pubs, restaurants, supermarket etc

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stuand 1 review from this member

Reading the reviews on this site we were a bit nervous about what we would find on arrival, particularly as it was likely to be a very busy week due to HebCeltFest.

True, the caravan / motor home spots are very tight, and with no parking alongside if you have an awning. We were lucky, a few campers gave us a hand to push the caravan into its spot. This is not a big site and the owners have tried to use as much space for accommodation as possible. The site was well kept and the staff very friendly, attentive and helpful. The toilets were checked many times a day from what I could tell, and the staff seemed to be always on the go.

Accepting the size of the pitches as others have noted, we enjoyed our stay here, and the site is a short trip from the centre of town. There are clothes washing and drying facilities, good hot and refreshing showers and indoor dishwashing etc. There is even a 'vanity room' for drying hair and preening.

This is not a site for spending all day on as there are not any particular circulating / socialising spaces. We enjoyed our stay, though we used the site as a base for sight seeing. Some of the previous comments to us do seem a little harsh. I did note that the on-site visitor book is overflowing with good comments (even when it's been bad weather !)

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Srlfamily 3 reviews from this member

Cramped pitches, toilets/showers cramped in need of updating. In one of the men's toilets a notice reads 'poor flush minimise toilet paper if won't flush use bowl of water' - £26 per night 2 adults, ehu, internet.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bodiddly 29 reviews from this member

First the good bits, you can get the bus into Stornoway from near the site, or it will take about 30 mins to walk. The lady owner is very friendly and helpful, the toilets and showers are very clean (best showers are the ones behind reception, large shower heads 15 min of hot water, temperature adjustable, and plenty of hanging for clothes and towels).

Now the not so good, we have a medium sized motorhome and could not get anywhere near level, even with ramps, on our allocated pitch on the large parking area outside reception as it sloped quite badly, so we had to move to the flatter area opposite, which has 6 pitches, 3 on each side, which is OK if they are small campervans. We were opposite a large caravan and struggled to get in, thankfully nothing parked on the pitch next to us or we would not have got out again. If you put up an awning, prepare for even the best rock pegs to bend, 6 of ours could never be used again! Basically it was like camping on a car park. The bunk houses and pods were right behind and to the side of us, so if they were occupied it would be noisy and crowded. The nice level hardstandings divided by grass shown on their website are only big enough for small campervans or 2 berth caravans. If you need to be near Stornoway and have a small outfit it's fine, if expensive, but would we stay again? No.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Smithsontour 3 reviews from this member

This site is the worse site visited so far on our tour of Scotland. It is cramped, completely lacking in any sort of outlook (the pictures do not depict it in true life), and most unappealing. The grassy tent area shown on the site is a small sloped corner, however, all areas allocated for motor homes and caravans are on what is nothing more than a car park with hook up facility. Thankfully we had only booked for one night, the thought of staying more than that would be most depressing. The proximity to the town and ferry terminal was good and the only other good point I would add is the fact that the showers behind reception are very, very hot and very powerful probably the best shower I've had in a while.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Smudgerosie 1 review from this member

Stayed here for 4 nights. Staff friendly and site clean and tidy. Facilities are a little dated though clean. Found walks for dogs and supermarkets are nearby. Different units available on site from wigwams, bunkhouse, tents, static vans motorhomes and caravans. Bus service available from bottom of road though don't know frequency.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: HermanHymer 13 reviews from this member

The most expensive site I have stayed on in 2 months in Scotland. That said there's not a lot of choice so they have the market cornered. The site is pleasant and clean, the owners are very friendly and helpful. Conveniently situated on the outskirts of Stornoway, 15 minutes from the ferry. There's a variety of accommodations on offer and although the facilities are not glamorous, there's everything you need.

Previous     48 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Isle Of Lewis      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hebrides

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5436 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019