Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Laxdale Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Hebrides > Isle Of Lewis > Laxdale Holiday Park Reviews

Laxdale Holiday Park
6 Laxdale Lane
Stornoway
Isle Of Lewis
Hebrides   (Browse area)
HS2 0DR
Tel: 01851 706966
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 43
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 52 Reviews
                7/10 from 52 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  52 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Philt5 4 reviews from this member

 Straight off the ferry so super handy - lovely site with great facilities and really friendly greeting.

Would be great for time in stornoway on our next visit 


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Capaldi 2 reviews from this member

 Nicely laid out site with hardstanding pitches and tented area. Site was very clean with excellent shower and toilet facilities (this had all been renewed during lockdown period).

Waste disposal area was nicely out of site behind shower block.

Large grey waste area on exit from camp.

Fresh drinking water well situated beside all pitches.

Laundry area with large drying area with washing line.

Staff were all very helpful and accomodating. Site is approx 20 min walk into Stornoway or alternately a £4 taxi ride.

All in all a very well kept and organised campsite.

Very handy for the ferry. 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trevor + Jo 109 reviews from this member

 The best thing about this site is the fact that it is close to Stornoway and ideal as the first, or last, place to stay for the ferry. The tent field slopes down to some flatter (and wetter) areas by the boundary.

The hedge contains many mature trees so it is fairly sheltered from all directions. You cannot park on the grass so be prepared to carry your kit. There is no view.

We arrived on a particularly wet and windy day. We were told we could pitch anywhere but when we were seen preparing to erect our tent in the shelter of the pods the site warden wasn't having any of it, and informed us by shouting across from his caravan.

No problem with abiding by the rules but a big issue with his attitude and delivery. Big loss of points for customer service there.

The facilities are OK and despite the bad taste left by the overly aggressive warden I've got to admit the showers are fantastic and the campsite kitchen is really good too.

They calculate the tariff by adding up people, tents and nights. I think it was £18 for the two of us

Visit MacLeod's Butcher's and stock up with food and fuel, then get away from here asap, there's far better places on Lewis and Harris to stay. 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Bobc51 22 reviews from this member

 Well where to start, not what I expected, we probably had one of the best pitches with a view of the site below which seemed to empty of motorhomes on a rather cramped hard standing each morning and fill up on a night(could be very early or late ? ferry arrival/depart. )

On the plus side very convenient for Stornaway center and ferry.

Showers and toilets clean very good shower pressure.

Not a bad place to tour from as nowhere is too far away. Stornaway I quite like but I enjoy walking round harbors.

A must is to call at Macleods butchers 1st. Class meat and pies but the best is their black pudding (I thought I did not like till I tried theirs) 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dlgb 10 reviews from this member

 Location - outskirts of Stornaway and good / practical stop off for ferry, but few pitches with views. Busy with arrivals at all times (one night noisy, late arrival setting up awning to 1 am - was beginning of carnival weekend). About 11/2 mile from centre - good walk, better with bike.

Sheltered from all directions.

Facilities clean but cramped and mens urinal visible when door open (which was left open a lot of time). Showers good but small cubicle, no extra charge.

Proprietor helpful, 24h presence. Site well organised, pitch prebooked and allocated.

Kitchen and wash up good, washing machine worked well and several outside clothesline (and 2 night stop) meant no need to use drier.

Priced at £24 per night include EHU 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jsun 19 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for one night in May with an electric hookup. The site is in a good location for touring Lewis.

With hindsight we would have stayed longer here and not bothered with a site on the west coast. The owners are making a big effort here but the pitches for small motorhomes are very tight.

The toilet block was very clean but the shower cubicles are small. There was a good washing up and laundry area. There was no free wifi, but you could purchase wifi for your stay.

This site was £5 per night more expensive than the others we stayed at on the western isles and I don't think that was reflected in any better site.

There is no view. You can get a bus or taxi into Stornoway. We had a lovely lunch at the Digby Chick in Stornoway and the Museum at the Castle is well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Reuben 14 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for the first 2 nights of our 8 night tour. Handy for the ferry as we didn’t arrive until after 10pm. Decent, clean facilities but the shower cubicles are pretty small.

The pitches were fine for our van - an Elgrand. Pretty level but would be a struggle with an awning. There looked to be a separate area for overnighters either with EHU or not.

All in all a fair site to see a Stornaway & the excellent museum by the castle - the Lewis Chessmen are a must see. Remember, Stornoway’s shut on Sunday - no shops, fuel or much else. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: GillOK 8 reviews from this member

 Popped in on the off chance on our tour of Skye and the Outer Hebrides. Sadly they were full, but were able to offer us a pitch with their parents, walking distance, down the road, but allowing us to use all the facilities on offer at this site. Excellent layout, on the bus route into town (bottom of the rd) Friendly, welcoming and very helpful. Only stayed one night on our way to Harris. I would love to stay on the site next time - parents pitch was fine, but would be nice to be closer to showers! so my recommendation would be to book ahead if you would like to stay here. Great place to tour the island from and near town for shopping, pubs, restaurants, supermarket etc 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stuand 1 review from this member

 Reading the reviews on this site we were a bit nervous about what we would find on arrival, particularly as it was likely to be a very busy week due to HebCeltFest.

True, the caravan / motor home spots are very tight, and with no parking alongside if you have an awning. We were lucky, a few campers gave us a hand to push the caravan into its spot. This is not a big site and the owners have tried to use as much space for accommodation as possible. The site was well kept and the staff very friendly, attentive and helpful. The toilets were checked many times a day from what I could tell, and the staff seemed to be always on the go.

Accepting the size of the pitches as others have noted, we enjoyed our stay here, and the site is a short trip from the centre of town. There are clothes washing and drying facilities, good hot and refreshing showers and indoor dishwashing etc. There is even a 'vanity room' for drying hair and preening.

This is not a site for spending all day on as there are not any particular circulating / socialising spaces. We enjoyed our stay, though we used the site as a base for sight seeing. Some of the previous comments to us do seem a little harsh. I did note that the on-site visitor book is overflowing with good comments (even when it's been bad weather !) 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Srlfamily 3 reviews from this member

 Cramped pitches, toilets/showers cramped in need of updating. In one of the men's toilets a notice reads 'poor flush minimise toilet paper if won't flush use bowl of water' - £26 per night 2 adults, ehu, internet. 


Previous     52 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Laxdale Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Laxdale Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Laxdale Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Isle Of Lewis      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hebrides

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3949 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement