Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Laxdale Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Hebrides > Isle Of Lewis > Laxdale Holiday Park Reviews

Laxdale Holiday Park
6 Laxdale Lane
Stornoway
Isle Of Lewis
Hebrides   (Browse area)
HS2 0DR
Tel: 01851 706966
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 43
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 51 Reviews
                7/10 from 51 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  51 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lakesman4 2 reviews from this member

 Very clean and well organised site. Check in was easy and straightforward, full explanation of procedures and locations explained fully. Hard standings and gravel pitches were more than adequate. Toilet block clean, showers worked, not over hot and a bit tight for me! Discovered another two showers adjoining reception were hotter, more powerful and roomier. Easy walking distance into Stornoway, plenty of shops nearby and buses stopped on main road. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Annies 67 1 review from this member

 Great site what a warm welcome. We had trouble with van arrived at 10am no problem let us stay for last 3 nights. Showers toilets all very clean. Lots of supermarkets in Stornoway. Prices just like home. We paid 21 a night large motorhome. Will defo go back may-june next year. We are 76years old. Isle of lewis and harris is well wort a visit. Lots of photo's of standing stones. Easy to find well marked and visited lots of tourist from overseas. Laxdale is short walk into Stornoway. Roads are first class. We rough camped with no trouble at all. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Manx fairy 10 reviews from this member

 We stayed for 2 nights - pre-booked, and that was quite long enough, for the area was not the most picturesque of those we had stayed at on our island hopping adventure. The site was a good walk into the town of Stornoway (which was quite commercialised and with the usual 'chain' stores, could have been almost any town in the UK). A bus stop was at the end of the road but, we didn't use it.

As for the site itself, there appeared to be 2 areas of hardstanding for tourers. We were directed to a gravel one which was very cramped when 5 other large motorhomes also parked up. Turning/ getting in and out was a tad difficult for some. Unfortunately our pitch was directly overlooking 2 camping pods/ wigwams and each time we opened our door, we felt we were invading the privacy of our glamping neighbours. On a positive note, the EHU facility and water stand pipes were easily accessible.

Facilities were adequate and although appearing a little dated, served the purpose. Site owners were pleasant enough.

We had a dog with us and there appeared to be no dog walk as such. We tried walking up the road and ended up in a housing estate, then back along the main road. Not good with a young pup who needs exercising last thing at night and first thing in the morning.

The camping area seemed to be well organised and was busy, but not overcramped whilst we were there. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rikaram 25 reviews from this member

 Decided to stop here a couple of nights whilst cycle touring the Hebrides.

The site has the advantage of being near the town, a bit of a walk but not far on a bike.

Its not a bad view from the site but there are better sites if its the view you want rather than the town.

The toilet block was clean and adequate. The owners were friendly.

Plenty of room for tents on a well maintained field.

Even though it was summer it was not crowded and was lovely and quiet in the evening. In the morning you may be woken by sheep who seem to be allowed to graze the field on occasions. I have no problem with this but be warned.

Dont leave food around because there are some opportunist gulls waiting to pounce 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Clare74 3 reviews from this member

 What a disappointment! This site is crowded, outdated (it didn't even allow enough space for us to put up an awning), lacks children's facilities and frankly seems (for motor homes and caravans) more like a parking lot than a campsite. The pitches for the tents seemed OK to us from what we could see, but we were more than overlooking our motorhome neighbours and on a very small pitch which we even struggled to park on.

On the plus side, the staff were very accommodating and even gave us a refund when we said we needed to move on because the site was not for us.

If you're looking for space and tranquillity this is not the site for you, but you can walk into town! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: WrenSO 7 reviews from this member

 We arrived early at Laxdale and the owner was out. So we pitched our tent as asked.

The grass bank just under the vans parking place is very comfortable and the small wall separating the vans parking and the camping site itself can be used as a 'shelf' to store clothes or stuff.

A small shed is provided for campers to cook in if the weather turns bad. Which was not the case.

Concrete bricks are also provided to put the stove on (so the grass is not burned and the stove won't collapse).

Facilities are very clean. Hot shower works with token. Free hair-dryer. Laundry for 3. Spin-dryer for free.

In the evening the place was full, but still very quiet and peaceful. Stornoway is at 10 mn by bikes, much more busy and noisy.

Although two giant and green wooly midges were waiting us at the entrance, we were not annoyed by them. Note that a big seagull seems to be a regular customer of the place and may visit your tent if you feed it.

We paid 15 for both of us and our tent. God price considering the quality of the place. One of our best camping experience in Scotland. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Truediamond 90 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 3 nights, using the Site as a base in Lewis. It is, as other reviewers have commented, a bit industrial with concrete & gravel hard standings along with little in the way of views, other than a housing estate down the road or some static caravans. Toilets and showers were plentiful with separate facilities for campers, bunkhouse users and caravans/motorhomes. Showers were operated by a token and always hot.

The site is ~20-30 minutes from town & 15 or so from the Coop supermarket which stocks just about everything. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chrose 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 2 nights in September. We had booked more, but the owners had arranged work to be done at that time, and it got a bit noisy, having said that, we just packed up to go, expecting to be out of pocket, and they offered us a refund so we could go elsewhere. The site is situated in Stornoway, and had 2 areas for tourers - one was on tarmac, and one had hard standing plots, but they were very tight - ok if you have a caravan mover or a motorhome, but we have a touring caravan, so we had to park on the tarmac, which felt a bit like camping in an Asda carpark! The showers were a bit dated, and not the cleanest. Location IS Stornoway, so brilliant if you just want a base, but not so if you are looking for more. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Bendwg 14 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for one night on our tour of Scotland and the Isles. We rang the campsite last minute and the friendly staff accommodated and welcomed us with no fuss. The hard standing pitches for the campervans fit the van on nicely but any awning would end up on the grass between pitches. The view from the pitches is good out of the bay. We had electric hook up, and the price for pitch with this seems consistent with others on our trip. About 17 if I remember right.

Facilities were clean and tidy and the showers token operated but free and hot. The washer facilities were handy for us and again all in good working order.

Half hour walk into Stornoway itself and facilities are nearby. We basically turned up on site, had a BBQ and went to bed for the night.

Site is quiet, there were a few tents on the pitches in front of us but no noise from them.

Only down side for me was the midges but I guess they are to be expected in summer. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Sunnycamping 6 reviews from this member

 The facilities at this site are adequate and clean, but would probably not be enough when the site is very busy. There are hook ups, washing machine and tumble dryer, dish washing area and several toilets and showers.

The showers are free but you have to remember to put a token in the box outside the shower cubicle to get hot water.

There were quite a few campervans and caravans when we were there and it felt cramped. The hardstandings are very small. There is a large area for tents which was not too busy.

The site is about 30 minutes walk from the harbour in Stornoway so it is handy for the town but remember that everything in Lewis is closed on Sundays! 


Previous     51 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Laxdale Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Laxdale Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Laxdale Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Isle Of Lewis      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hebrides

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3929 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement