Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Duloch Hamlet Gimme Shelter Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Fife > Dunfermline > Duloch Hamlet Gimme Shelter Camping Reviews

Duloch Hamlet Gimme Shelter Camping
Inverkeithing
Dunfermline
Fife   (Browse area)
KY11 7HR
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: May To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 30 Reviews
                9/10 from 30 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  30 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JimCall 12 reviews from this member

This was my first visit to this little gem of a place and it wont be my last. It hides in a corner of Fife, near a motorway and the village of Inverkeithing.

When I arrived, the owner met me and he was delighted to have our group there. This is true, back to nature camping. No hot water, no showers, no electrickery and I love it! If you are looking for an all singing all dancing site with pitches in neat rows, move on, this site isnt for you.

This place reeks of atmosphere, its odd, its quirky and its brilliant!

The pitches are well laid out and hidden away in little nooks and crannies so you feel as if you are the only person there. There's about 15 acres of land but a lot of it is broad leafed woodland and its great just to wander through the woods. You suddenly come across the odd shack or shed and they look totally in keeping with the place.

The toilets are composting and scary! They are clean though and that's the main thing.

If I could rate it by half stars it would loose half a star purely because of the background drone of the motorway traffic. My pitch was near the top of the site and you were aware of it at times. Further down the site you don't hear a sound so its worth checking out if background noise disturbs you (it was never too loud, just sometimes you were aware of it).

There is no need of a kids play area, the whole site is a playground! Oh and the best of all is you can have a camp fire, that's a big thing for me, especially in the winter.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Plumevincent 3 reviews from this member

Stayed in the camping shack, a really unique experience so relaxing and peaceful and wonderfully designed. There is road noise in the distance but the place is such a little haven we didn't notice

Loved being able to use the wood burners and a campfire which is rare on campsites now

No showers but an unusual but not at all smelly compost toilet! a little shop for basics

The owners are just as you would want, friendly and helpful but give you your own space

Perfect base for walking or a visit to Edinburgh only 15 minutes drive away

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Armchaircamper 22 reviews from this member

This unique site is set in an area of woodland with pitches set amongst the trees or in a more open area further up the hill. It's a very relaxing and peaceful place. In the background is the continual swish of cars on the motorway but this isn't particularly noticeable, and the constant birdsong is more than a match for it.

The pitches only take up part of the area and you can wander around through the trees and down by the stream and discover secluded little places.

The compost toilets, as others have mentioned, really are okay and don't smell. Bear in mind that there is no hot water or showers. The various buildings around the site such as the toilets, shacks and badger hide are all assembled from an assortment of bits and pieces which is quite amusing and gives them great character.

The owner is very welcoming and approachable. Near the entrance there is firewood for sale for campfires, as well as food and other camping necessities, and a gift section with wooden handcrafted items made by Chris. This area is open and unstaffed. Any purchases can be paid for by leaving money in a blue teapot - an indication of the trusting and easygoing attitude there is towards guests. Food items can be stored in a labelled bag in the fridge. You can also pick up Wifi near the entrance.

It's only a mile to Inverkeithing station with frequent trains to Edinburgh, and the Park & Ride to Edinburgh is also fairly close.

You won't find another site quite like this one!

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lorr40 1 review from this member

Fantastic campsite been coming here for a couple of years but this year we've had 4 visits already looking for a couple more before it gets too cold, we also take our 14 yr old daughter who loves camping here because of the natural environment, no play park or swings but any child would find it an adventure! Toilet facilities are compost toilets but very clean and also a couple of new toilets have been built recently. The owners are a lovely and welcoming couple, a joy to camp at Duloch Hamlet (gimme shelter) Looking forward to our next visit.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tracy Crisp 2 reviews from this member

Had a night here at weekend with my son spur of the moment and what a great camp site. Loved the fact we could have a camp fire.

The plots were really well laid out and had their own names ours was tilt.

The toilets were really clean and for being sawdust toilets didn't know what to expect but was happy with them.

The owners were very polite also and made you feel welcome. Will defo be back with both my sons when off on hols in next couple of weeks :-)

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fay Fife 14 reviews from this member

Kind relatives offered to look after our three kids for the weekend to give us some time off, and given my husband had to work Friday as usual, we decided to try Gimme Shelter as it is fairly local to us, meaning we'd get the tent up before dark.

The site is a wee gem of a place, with all pitches being secluded with their own fire pit and wooden benches. There are two composting toilets which were wonderfully constructed by hand, and don't smell bad at all. I was very taken with the toilets, it must be said!

A lovely ambient place to stay, Chris met us at the gate and was most helpful and pleasant in his manner. I loved the way everything was hand constructed out of wood and other scrap materials. The reception, little gallery and honesty shop, all very attractive and clever.

We got exactly what we wanted out this weekend. Peace, privacy and liberty to please ourselves. This is not a campsite with a list of rules. It is a place that attracts people who know how to enjoy themselves without impinging on others. Relaxed and easygoing - just how we like it.

I don't think we would return to this particular site, as we are used to camping in far more dramatic scenery. But would absolutely recommend this site to anyone who asked, particularly those who wish to visit Edinburgh.

As an asides, we purchased a very lovely table hand made by Chris for a really reasonable price. A great souvenir from a priceless weekend.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Redguscat 15 reviews from this member

A fantastic site, and I will definitely be back to visit again. Quite early in the season (first weekend in April) so only us and one other couple on the site, and it was a bit muddy - a wet week - but no more than you would expect for this time of year.

You can hear the M90 in the background but it didn't bother us, and it is astonishing that such a rural, wild feeling campsite is only a few miles from Dunfermline! A very well kept secret.

There is very little choice for campers in Edinburgh or Fife, so this site is a fantastic find. Generous and private pitches, composting loos were fine and I believe there is a leisure centre in Dunfermine which has showers etc.

Brilliant - very helpful and you couldn't really ask for more in a site!

Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MnDJ 1 review from this member

Visited last weekend of October.

As it was the first camping trip for my wife and kids, we decided on 2 nights, but could easily have stayed longer.

The area was extremely clean and tidy, and we struck lucky with the weather as the days were clear and sunny. Unfortunately, the nights were the same meaning we spent 2 chilly nights - but it was a lesson learned for next time, and no fault of Chris or Yvonne's!

We didn't meet Yvonne, but had communicated via email - with comprehensive instructions for arrival. Chris met us as we arrived, and was extremely helpful - to the point of helping me bump start our land rover after we suffered an unexplained breakdown!

Chris also allowed the kids to feed his hens, before we purchased some of their eggs and had the best fried egg sandwiches we've ever had.

The composting toilet, as so many have said, had no odour and was more than comfortable - Chris even explained the theory behind it after I expressed surprise at it!

The kids didn't stop running from the moment they got up to the minute they went to bed. They had a wonderful time running through the woods and collecting dead wood for the fire. We supplemented this with Chris's excellent value tubs of wood that contained everything we needed - old paper, matches, firelighter, kindling and wood!

We'll definitely be back in the summer as it was so easy to switch off and just enjoy the surroundings - we were visited by friendly Robins around the tent, and saw so much wildlife it was hard to remember we were just off the M90 and so close to civilisation!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dalesayboy 6 reviews from this member

Second visit to this great little campsite. This time nice and dry! Although on this occasion there were a number of campers, each camping area is quite private, with its own area for a fire and they differ in size - (good that they take more than a 2 man tent!) and so you never feel that the site is busy or intrusive. The feeling of being in the country away from it all is ever present with the encouragement of a campfire being a real plus to this well run and friendly site. Don't expect high amenity but enjoy the benefits of fresh water and an eco friendly clean sawdust toilet. Kids love this site with much exploring to do - definitely recommend and will enjoy going again and again - be sure to book as it is getting popular!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kvz1975 1 review from this member

Wonderful, wonderful site. We arrived last minute as another site wasn't suitable for us (Pettycur, Kinghorn - pitch dangerously close to road for our children's safety) and the owner/manager couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming.

They try to give you a pitch that suits you, your tent, your party and your intentions. Pitches are huge with a campfire at most of the pitches we could see - campfires also have lovely wooden benches and tables to make things a bit easier. Pitches are far enough apart that we couldn't easily talk to our neighbours - we had to walk over to them.

Composting toilet was absolutely fine - less odour than you'd find in regular communal loos, in my opinion.

This was a very child-friendly site. Only a single track lane running up the side, and you can't take cars to the pitches meaning there was no traffic at all. Also, there was a locked gate at the entrance, meaning you knew nobody was driving around that had no good reason to be there.

There is noise from a 'big road' somewhere (M90?) but not enough to annoy any of our party.

A wee bit pricey for big families as you pay per person, not per tent. As a family of 6, we'd be paying 36 per night, plus 6 for the car (one-off charge for the car). On the plus side, you are allowed whatever you like in your pitch - gazebos, kitchen huts etc. I THINK, maybe, also another wee tent but not sure about that.

All in all, a beautiful, natural, clean, simple campsite. We'll be back.

Previous     30 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Dunfermline      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Fife

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4962 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019