Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Duloch Hamlet Gimme Shelter Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Fife > Dunfermline > Duloch Hamlet Gimme Shelter Camping Reviews

Duloch Hamlet Gimme Shelter Camping
Inverkeithing
Dunfermline
Fife   (Browse area)
KY11 7HR
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: May To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 30 Reviews
                9/10 from 30 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  30 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cora82 2 reviews from this member

What a fantastic hidden gem this campsite is. I was tempted to give it a bad review just so I could keep it to myself and be guaranteed my favourite pitch, but Chris and Yvonne deserve credit where credit is due.

Firstly the pre-visit communication was excellent. Once I'd called to reserve our pitch, Yvonne emailed three very detailed emails outlining directions, facilities, nearby attractions etc. Upon arrival Chris escorted us to our pitch and even lugged our heavy bag on his landmower!

The couple obvious care about the place and the experience their guests have as wooden furniture, gift stalls, food supplies and other personal touches were there in abundance.

It lives up to it's 'semi-wild' reputation in that there is no running water or electricity, only two compost toilets. At first I was a bit confused by this, only to be told that Chris was away emptying the compost bucket and we didn't have to wee on to the ground! It didn't smell and was remarkably effective. Location is great, five minutes from Forth Road Bridge.

The slight downside of this is the road noise, but we didn't hear it after a while. Each pitch has a campfire area set up and kits are available for 5 a time which we loved.

For the two of us it was 18 on the first night but 12 each night after. Steep in a sense giving that there are no flushing toilets or showers, but worth it for other reasons. Don't know if I could cope for more than two nights without a shower (or rather my boyfriend's sense of smell couldn't cope!).

Overall a superb site for couples and families, well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: BriNic 1 review from this member

My wife and I made our debut camping expedition to this lovely little site. Despite living just 8 miles away, we had been completely unaware of its existence, such is its hidden nature, tucked away in an area of woodland surprisingly close to the M90.

Upon arrival, we were met at the gate by owner Chris, who made us feel very welcome and personally directed us to our pitch. The natural setting strikes you immediately and the individual camping pitches are carved from otherwise untouched woodland, giving a sense of privacy, yet interlinking paths make it easy to explore the site.

Our allotted pitch was more than adequate for housing a large 4-person tent and the hand-made wooden table and bench, plus the circular stone fireplace produced a nice homely feel. Baskets of firewood were available from the little shop, which also stocked a range of farm produce such as eggs, jam and ice cream with an honesty box collecting payment. We were also offered space in the fridge to store our own supplies which was a nice touch.

We were a little concerned at the fact that only a compost toilet was available but it was located in a well-ventilated log cabin and added to the authenticity of the semi-wild camping experience. Despite the constant rain on our second day, there were absolutely no problems with pitch drainage and we are already planning to return to this hidden gem of a site in the near future.

The only slight downside is the distant drone of motorway traffic but this also highlights the plus point of having a secluded campsite within easy reach of Edinburgh and the historic town of Dunfermline. Fife coastal villages such as Aberdour and Kinghorn are also just a short drive away.

This campsite is perfect for getting away from it all for a couple of days.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rueandairy 1 review from this member

My husband and I spent a fantastic two nights here. We decided on this site because it was advertised as semi-wild, rural and set in woodland. We really needed somewhere to chill out and that is what we got!

Good for those who want proper camping ie. no electric, or want to try wild camping. We loved exploring the 15 acres of woodland and sitting at the campfire at night.

The toilet is fine and not a problem. Chris was great and talented to boot. We loved it and will go back!

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Leafletter 27 reviews from this member

Magic woodland feel with mowed paths meandering between individual named pitches, quirky but cute handbuilt tables and benches, with stone built fire pits. A perfect place to try wild camping without the challenges, and for children to enjoy a safe, exciting natural environment.

We turned up after a long day's cycling and were just grateful to have a site very near Edinburgh, so the warm, friendly welcome we received, and Chris's help with the bikes was a real bonus.

We didn't explore the whole site but the woodland area where we were was a joy for the bird song which drowned out the traffic noise from the motorway.

Realistically, for more than one person, other sites probably offer far better facilities for the same price or less, but we feel the ambience goes a long way to compensate. The owners are to be commended for creating something different from the usual regimented rows of touring caravans and motorhomes found at most campsites.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kellyboast 7 reviews from this member

We've just had a fantastic weekend and been made to feel very welcome by Chris at Dales.

The site was well kept and maintained with individual campfire areas and handmade tables and seats in the camping areas all made by Chris.

It was lovely and quiet, the woodland sites were well sheltered. We didn't have kids with us this time but saw other peoples' small children enjoying the tyre swing and exploring. The football / playing field area at the top of the site looked good too. We had a long walk around the woods and felt like we were a million miles away from everything!

Compost toilet was absolutely fine, no smell or anything. Only trouble was it's quite high up, I bashed my leg a few times getting down! I'd guess younger kids may need help when using it.

Lots of good ideas from the site owners too, such as the trug of campfire supplies you could purchase in the gallery for a fiver.

Fantastic weekend, would highly recommend to anyone that isn't bothered by the lack of hot water and showers.

Date of Visit: February 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Stash29 9 reviews from this member

We only came here to practise pitching our new tent as the site is just a couple of miles away from us. It is a really cool little site though.

The pitch we were at, up the back, had it's own little fireplace of rocks (think they all may do) with little rustic looking handmade wooden benches. This would definitely be a great place to come for an overnight camp and a campfire.

The sawdust toilet seemed fine and I would not let it put you off coming.

You could hear the road but it really wasn't bad at all. Would just remind you that you were camping rather than rushing to/from work unlike some.

The owners were extremely friendly and even though they knew we were only needing to practise pitch our tent said that we could come as early as we liked and leave as late a we liked, have a campfire and make a day of it.

Think I'll definitely find a way of coming back here for an overnighter with friends.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dalesayboy 6 reviews from this member

This is a fab site! It is semi-rural so don't expect flush toilet or fancy facilities, however it is magical! My son and I camped on what is probably one of the wettest weekends, nevertheless, we had a ball!
The owners were very friendly, accommodating and welcoming. Before arriving they ask what your preferences are for pitching so that they can accommodate you. You can have a pitch in the woods or a bit more open with a nice view over the fields. There is much to explore and a badger hut.
There is a compost toilet which I was unsure about, yet visiting it, it was fine, no smell and quite cosy, with basin, towel, reading material and soap and running water. Basic yet functional cleaning area for dishes and eco friendly recycling point.
Definitely bring wellies and waterproofs if wet, yet we were encouraged to have a camp fire, and wood and fire making kit was provided for a small fee. If you fancy a camp site to 'really' camp, yet have the security of a site and not have to 'dig' a toilet, then this is a must!
Will definitely be visiting here again and again, next time hopefully it will not be so wet!

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rgoughcooper 1 review from this member

The thing that attracted us to this campsite was that the pitches are in clearings in the wood and each has a fire place. Our pitch was easily big enough to hold our 6 berth tent although some are smaller so probably best to specify when you book.

This campsite was great for the kids as it was so small. There is a dangerous ravine but they would have had to climb a steep hill to get to it so for our 2 and 4 year olds it was fairly relaxed. It was also really quiet with only 4 other pitches taken on the bank holiday weekend. The kids loved the open fire, the chickens, fetching eggs and sticks, the badger hide (didn't see any but didn't matter). There is also a big tractor tyre tree swing and a football goal. We cooked over the open fire and foraged for wood to burn.

The site is quite close to the motorway so you can hear cars going past but into the night this dies away. Then there is just the crackings and hootings of owls, foxes (?) and other things in the woods. There is a composting toilet which was fine and didn't smell bad at all. It is really cool as it has been built out of bits and bobs, a huge mirror, old windows etc as has the badger hide.

There were no showers and no hot water but if you're only away for a short time and want to do 'proper' camping with young kids then this site is really interesting and pretty and I would recommend checking it out.

The people that run it are really nice.

Date of Visit: March 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Colinandrachel 1 review from this member

Fantastic wee site just a stones throw from the Pub, shop, train station to Edinburgh. Not much more you can ask for, properly thought out pitches with established campires (although may need dug out a little at start of season).

We had a brilliant 2 nights stay here with Chris and Yvonne who made us feel more than welcome with eggs from they're own chickens and bacon and sausage from the farm shop, simply fantastic!

Does get a little muddy after 2 days constant rain with snow to finish things off on the Sunday, so remember your wellies and winter woolies if your as mad as we were.

Great site all to oursleves, but can imagine you'd still have quite a lot of privacy later in the year with the way they have set out the pitches. Beautiful surrounds and short walks, brilliant wildlife. What more can you ask. Oh yes dry weather!

We will be back if you'll have us.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Purpleturtle 7 reviews from this member

We've just returned from a fantastic weekend at woodland cottages. Exactly as described, "semi-wild", only a few sites scattered over a private wooded area. Perfect for us. No crowds but a few other friendly campers nearby. We sat at the campfire with our neighbours into the wee small hours. This is a far as one can get from these busy 300+ pitch campgrounds.
I suppose the lack of facilities (no showers and a single sawdust toilet) put some campers off, but this is what makes it attractive to us. We will definitely return.
The site has a playing field for kids, maintained paths around the grounds and even a badger watching hut!
We love wildlife but didnt have time for the badger hut on this occasion as we were visiting Edinburgh for the Festival and the rugby at Murrayfield. Inverkeithing railway station is about 1 mile away and then Edinburgh is just 4 stops on the train. Perfectly easy (and cheap) public transport links.
Good pre-arrival communications and a warm welcome from Yvonne and Chris, the owners. We'll be back.

Previous     30 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30     Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Dunfermline      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Fife

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4139 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019