Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Minehead Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Minehead > Minehead Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Minehead Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Hopcott Road
Minehead
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA24 6DJ
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 49
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 32 Reviews
                8/10 from 32 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  32 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ct955 50 reviews from this member

 Spent 4 nights here, our first Caravan Club site. We were not disappointed.

Checked in easily and had a choice of pitches. Were advised to walk and choose as each area is a dead end. Upper level is in shade and has no grass between pitches. Although site is on a hill the pitches were mostly level.

Facilities were spotless and site well maintained. Dog walk was nice with a sea view at the top.

Excellent position, a 15 min walk takes you into Minehead and a further 10 mins to the sea front.

We went to the Britannia Inn twice as they allow dogs in the bar. A friendly pub with good pub grub. Lots to do and see in the area.

A good start to our CC membership, friendly and helpful Wardens, lovely quiet site. Would return 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jayarbee 31 reviews from this member

 This was our third visit to this site. Being a C. C. Site it is as you'd expect. Toilet/shower block always very clean and tidy. Site generally is kept very tidy. Wardens very nice, friendly and helpful.

The site is in a residential area on a main road but that doesn't seem to cause any problems.

All the lanes on this site are dead ends so you must walk it first to find your pitch. I believe all the pitches have hook ups. The main site is down on road level but there is a higher part of about ten pitches. We prefer this higher site but it will cause you problems if you're not to good on you pins. The climb up is short but steep.

There is a dog walk but no children's playground. An enclosed washing up area is handy when it's a bit chilly.

The wardens encourage wildlife here and in fact the deer watched us putting up the awning although they weren't too critical.

There is a van which comes in every morning about nine with papers, bread and such. If you turn right out of the gate, a five minute walk gets you to the local shops including a Co-op supermarket, Spar, newsagents, hardware store, chippie and other fast food takeways. There are a couple of supermarkets just down the road at Minehead.

We always enjoy the walk into Minehad town. It only takes about 15 minutes and there are some interesting old houses along the way.

Minehead has a biggish high street with a variety of shops. Butterflys is good for meals but there is a plethora of cafes and restaurants on the way down to the sea.

It's a nice walk along the front and there is a really good train ride from the station.

A walk well worth doing starts just up the road from the site, up a steep path, along a ridge behind the site, down into Dunster, through the castle, along to the sea and back to Minehead town.

Porlock Weir is nice as is Lynton and Lynmouth. There are a lot of pretty villages round about and the whole of Exmoor.

There is a pleasant bus ride through the countryside to Taunton.

All in all this is a nice, quiet little site. You can even hear the sealions at night. 


Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sheiladore 22 reviews from this member

 Summary A well located camp site, great for oldies.

We stayed here in a caravan for 5 nights in March. When we first arrived we thought the road noise would be a problem but most pitches were quiet. The site is located in an old quarry and there are plenty of trees around to give a pleasant feel to the site. The facilities block is fine with hot showers etc.

The best thing about the site is it's location, being an easy walk into Minehead. A good site for exploring the Coast and Exmoor.

The dog walk is fine with a view point out over the town.

There are no children play area and this site is not really one for the kids. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Vw dub camping 2 reviews from this member

 My first review :)

Just spent Friday night at this site, We arrived at 13. 00 on Friday and were shown to our pitch which was at what I would have to say 'the last turkey in the shop'

When I asked the Warden was it possible to move they eventually moved us to another pitch slightly better but out of the sun. It was only downhill from here. We had the pleasure of being pitched next to ' 5yr old Connor and his family plus another two families (5 kids in total)

If we had a pound for every time the parents or other kids shouted CONNOR! we could have bought a new van! I could hear, Connor, Connor being shouted in my sleep! (that and the dogs barking)

After being told that the site was full we noticed that there where empty pitches by the 'posh vans'

I do think we were just slotted in as we were not in a big posh van or caravan.

We were told on arrival that the caravan club does not reserve pitches, When we pointed out a pitch that was available we were told it was reserved!

When our subscription runs out we wont be rejoining! 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cloud9 7 reviews from this member

 We chose this site for it's location as we wanted our 19 year old son and his girlfriend to have a little bit of independence from us. To this end it worked well as it was a 15 minute easy walk down to the town which had a good variety of shops and nice seafront.

They were also able to spend a day at the Butlins. We had some nice trips out together to Lynton and Lynmouth, Woolacombe, Burnham on Sea and a ride on the Somerset Steam Railway to Bishops Lidyeard.

There is a good Morrisons just up the road and a Tesco, which was in our opinion not so good. I wouldn't recommend this site for children as there is not a play area or any open space to play ball.

The site was very clean and tidy and the amenities block was always spotless, although it was always quite busy. The wardens were very friendly and welcoming.

The majority of the pitches were large gravel ones separated by large grass areas except for 8 on the top level which was a completely gravelled area and very closed in. We had to pitch in this area and it's not really suitable for 'family' holidays with a caravan and full awning as pitches were not big enough and all on top of one another with no grass to separate them.

It's also quite a way from the amenity block. We felt that these pitches should have been sold as 'non awning' pitches and for people only staying a short while. Not for families such as us staying for 9 nights with a full set up. It was really annoying watching the big spacious pitches down below being used by couples with camper vans and no awnings and staying just a couple of nights. Caravan Club, you need to manage this situation!  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: February 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jayarbee 31 reviews from this member

 This is our second visit to this Caravan Club site and it is as clean and tidy as you would expect.

You must walk this site before pitching or you may have problems as all the lanes are dead ends.

Two lovely wardens here who went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. Although we're really old we're still fit and found no problems walking up and down from the top level. However if you're not too good on your feet you may want a lower pitch.

The toilet is locked, however everyone is given their own key. I found if I put the key in the lock and turned it the door opened. Magic. Never had a problem getting in to do what I had to do without waiting.

This site is in a residential area but that is not a problem.

There is no playarea but there is a dog walk. I believe all pitches had hook-ups The rear of the site is quite high and wooded and some may see it as dark and dreary but I can honestly say we didn't find it so. We take our own bird feeders and were visited by the avian world and his brother. Nice.

There was a van visited about 0900 every morning with papers, bread and such but turn right out the gate and five minutes walk gets you to the shops. Co-op, Spar, newsagents, chippie, burgers, hardware, pet shop and I think an undertakers. There is a Tesco and Morrisons down near Butlins.

15/20 minutes easy walk to Minehead town gets you most other things. Nice little seaside town with a nice walk along the front.

A Friday market, see the cheese man and buy some bits from the lady who does her own baking. If you want a nice simple meal try Butterflies. A good days walk starts just up the road, up onto 'The Ridge' and along into Dunster. Then down to the beach and walk back to Minehead. In season there is a really lovely steam railway, well worth the fare.

You're close to Exmoor, Dunster and it's castle, Porlock and Porlock Weir, Lynton and Lynmouth in fact lots to do if you do a bit of digging before you go.

All in all a good site, we shall go again. You can even hear the sea lions at night.  


Date of Visit: December 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Drjbc 60 reviews from this member

 I don't normally review Caravan Club sites because they're usually reliably good. This particular location suited us well, with easy access to the excellent walking on the ridge behind the site, then to the still more spectacular coast path leading back (eastwards) to Minehead. And the wardens were especially charming - we were delighted to find that an awkward one night gap in the middle of our stay had been booked without our asking, as soon as there was a cancellation. Nor do I agree that the site is 'cramped', though some units these days have grown grotesquely large. However, I do feel that criticism of the shower block is justified: (i) the paucity of showers meant people had to queue. Why does the Caravan Club so often waste space with too many washbasins when it's more showers that are needed?; (ii) Twice the showers ran cold, and in the middle of winter!; (iii) The men's cubicals were badly constructed, so there was always a cold puddle left under the shower, impossible to clear with a mop; and (iv) The block was kept permanently locked, so everybody had to carry a key. There was no evident reason for this. Perhaps some rare incident in the past has been used to justify inconveniencing everybody ever afterwards? 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Martin_yvonne 1 review from this member

 We visited this site with our two dogs knowing nothing of the area, but what a lovely site it is.

Surrounded by woods and very well laid out in a terrace system.

This site has no children's play area but the dog walk is wonderful, it is on a slope which may be awkward for some people but it is a lovely walk through a wooded area with a lookout point looking out over the bay. The site is on a main road but because of the woodland and the terracing the noise is minimal.

The facilities are some of the best we have seen on our travels in Britain. The only slight down side is there are only 3 showers so at times there could be a short wait to use them, although I did not have to wait at all. They are kept spotless by the wardens, who are lovely and very helpful.

Within a few minutes walk of the site there is a Co-op, Spar, Pet Shop, Bakery, Hairdressers and a very nice fish and chip shop and Chinese Take Away.

Within a 20 minute walk you are in the middle of Minehead with it's many amenities and entertainments.

This was our first visit to this site but it definitely won't be our last.

I can highly recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Animac 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely site in a lovely location. Just at the edge of the town, a 15 minute walk to the beach. On the first night we saw a large deer on the campsite and on several nights we enjoyed the badgers who came out by the feeding station that the Wardens had set up - almost felt like Snow White (the Disney version)! A McDonalds and KFC to keep the kids happy, Morrisons and Tescos in easy reach for supplies. We enjoyed the sheepdog trials at Dunster Castle and had a lovely day at Lynmouth. We stayed for 9 days and that is usually just right for us but we all felt we would have liked another week as there were so many nice places around. We liked having a walk round the harbour on an evening and for dog walkers the beach along the other end of town behind the golf course is perfect for getting rid of some energy! 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Patez 3 reviews from this member

 Visited this site to attend a function nearby. When we arrived the office was shut (2. 30 in afternoon !)

We were advised by note on door to put membership card through door and then go and find a pitch. Another caravanner came and showed where the empty ones were.

It was fortunate that we did not try and take caravan up or would not have been able to turn around. The whole site cramped. We ended up on the upper level.

It was uneven pitches too small and totally drab and dark because of the trees out of control. Could only be described as the black hole of calcutta.

Only one shower and toilet block too far away for anyone with mobility problems. Water had to be hauled up a steep slope. For what they charged 17 a night was a total rip off.

The top tier should be made much more user friendly or cheaper as it is totally second rate. The area it is in to be fair is accessible to shops etc so guess that's why they can get away with the price.

I would not under any circumstances go back. The Warden had evidently just got a new leaf blowing machine which he proceeded to annoy people with the awful sound most afternoons about 3pm. Needless to say 5 minutes later leaves were back.  


Previous     32 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Minehead Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Minehead Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Minehead      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3310 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement