Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Minehead Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Minehead > Minehead Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Minehead Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Hopcott Road
Minehead
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA24 6DJ
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 49
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 31 Reviews
                8/10 from 31 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  31 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jayarbee 31 reviews from this member

 This would be our 5/6th visit here and enjoy it every time.

Unusual in that COVID ruled. We received a Ďphone call from lovely warden prior to leaving and arranged an arrival time and booked a particular pitch. Donít think this will happen again.

Nice welcome on arrival, told what was what. Even had a small bag of Haribos in the welcome pack. Good news was the lavatories were available but not the showers.

This is a CAMC site and is exactly what you would expect, clean, tidy and organised.

I believe all pitches have EHU. I think the main roadways are dead ends so you may have to walk the site first to find a pitch.

There is a dog walk, washing up point, laundry room and so forth. Not sure how much is available during pandemic.

Site is on a main road but we didnít hear any traffic noise.

Turn right from the gate and a few minutes walk gets you to a small shopping area with pretty much all you might need including an undertakers.

Visited the chippy. Wife had fish which she pronounced excellent. I had pie and chips again excellent with shed loads of chips.

Walking into Minehead is pleasant. Takes about 15/20 minutes with nice houses and gardens to see.

Minehead is a typical seaside town. Pretty busy with no empty shops. Plethora of eating places. A steam railway but not sure when it operates. Nice walk along the prom, prom, prom but no brass bands playing tiddly-om-Pom-Pom,

Turn left from the gate, after about 10 minutes find a track with a few houses at the bottom. Go up the track, bear right at a map board then on to the Macmillan Way. Turn left then down into Dunster. A nice little town with the N. T. Castle. Or carry to the sea and walk back into Minehead.

Porlock is worth a visit as is Lynton and Lynmouth. Go up by the cliff railway and walk down by the zig-zag path.

We like it here and itís close so we can fit in a 4/5 day stay. You can even hear the sea lions at night. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Jadsett 49 reviews from this member

 A group of 3 adults and 2 children. This was our first time on this site and it proved to be a good choice. Although direct access is off the A39, it is a very peaceful site.

We received a warm welcome on arrival, made even better by the loan of a lump hammer when the ground proved unusually resistant to our heavy duty awning pegs. The facilities on site are well up to the standard we have come to expect from CMC sites

We had trips out to Dulverton (been there, done that, no urge to go back), Dunster, Watchet and Lynmouth.

We were disappointed to find that in school holidays in a tourist area it is quite difficult to find "lunchtime" food service (apart from fast food chains) after 2pm. However, we can highly recommend the castle Coffee House in Dunster where the welcome is very warm and food is freshly cooked to order

The only fault we could find with the site is the lack of a children's play area. That won't prevent us returning 


Date of Visit: January 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: BeachDog 26 reviews from this member

 Weekend winter stay, nice dry weather meant a a few other visitors about, more than expected. Convenient location, about 15 mins walk to Minehead seafront and walks from the site to the edge of Exmoor forest and hills.

Usual CAMC standards on site, tidy, clean and ordered. Wardens very friendly and helpful. Level, compact site. Co-op 5 mins walk away.

Lovely stay, would return but probably out of season, guess it gets quite busy in summer. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lovetheoutdoors 7 reviews from this member

 Clean, nice and in a nice location. Staff friendly and somewhat helpful. Excellent for visiting for local history and nice places to go walking - very glad we came. A bit too far from home so will not able to return. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: S64miller 40 reviews from this member

 I loved Minehead, its the first time we'd been but we will be back. First the site, a tiered site on three levels with plenty of shade. And with most CMC the facilities were excellent, nice friendly welcome.

Secondly the town, 10-15 mins from the site and you're in town, lovely shops and plenty of good pubs. Had a day on the West Somerset Steam Railway and very enjoyable it was getting off at Bishop Lydeard and Watchet. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: David Klyne 230 reviews from this member

 To Find Site:- We approached the site using the A39 from Bridgewater as signs on the M5 instruct you to use junction 23 for Minehead. In future I would stay on the M5 and leave at junction 26 heading back towards Taunton and out to Minehead on the A358.

The location of the Minehead Caravan Club members only site was originally a quarry. This obviously impacts on the layout and feel of the site. The 50 pitches all of which are on hardstandings are set out in terraces some levelling might be required. Even when the sun is out some of the pitches will be in shade, particularly going into autumn, due to a high bank topped with trees on the southern edge of the site. This also makes getting satellite reception difficult from some pitches. Electric points are convenient to pitches and are rated at 16 amps and use CEE17 blue connectors. There are a couple of service points for water and waste amongst the pitches but for some it will be quite a walk to fill up and empty waste. Likewise the chemical emptying point which is at the lower part of the site behind reception and depending on how you approach will involve a steep access if the shortest route is taken. The motorhome service point is next to reception and has an open grill for the disposal of grey water. The toilet block is of a good standard and has a covered washing up area but only two sinks. At the back of reception is an information room. There is site wide WiFi and time can be purchased online. It would hardly be described as fast but it was generally reliable.

The main attraction to this site will be the closeness to Minehead which is about a twenty minute walk away and reception will provide instructions. The 28 bus, a short walk from the site, runs from Minehead to Taunton with a half hour frequency Monday to Saturday. It is an alternative for getting into town from near the campsite. For those without their own off site transport the bus will also take you to Dunster which makes an interesting excursion from the site. For steam enthusiasts the West Somerset Railway runs regular steam trains from the station down on the seafront in the town. For shopping there is a parade of shops about a five minute walk from the site entrance with a fish and chip shop, Chinese takeaway and a Co-Op convenience store. If you want a more substantial shop there is a Morrisons and a Tesco in the town. 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Paul + stella 21 reviews from this member

 Great site made even better by the helpful and cheerful site wardens. Easy walk into Minehead (about 15 mins max) and all the quality showers and facilities you expect from Caravan club. Lots of busses available to various locations, nearby Dunster being a real gem. 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Scarletsfan 91 reviews from this member

 Access to this site is easy with a wide sweeping entrance directly off the A39.

The wardens are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. All pitches are hard standing set out in separate areas. The site is in an old quarry and slopes considerably which would make staying for the less mobile among us a little difficult.

Most pitches are sloping so expect to do some levelling.

A Co-op is within walking distance along with numerous takeaways. Larger supermarkets are Morrisons and Tesco just a short drive away.

Mobile signal on Orange and Tesco good as was the digital TV reception.

Marvellous wooded dog walk on site too. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ljamfam 33 reviews from this member

 This is our first stay on a Caravan Club site and we were a bit anxious about the rules with regard to the placement of our van on the pitch following adverse criticism is in both magazines and from fellow motorhome owners. However we had no problem at all. We were told to go in either front or back first so long as we did not go across ways and stayed within our area we could pitch to suit us.

Location is within easy walk to Minehead or if you like to travel out more then there are plenty of nice places to visit. A van arrives each morning selling newspapers and a few essentials or it's just a five minute walk to a parade of shops which include a supermarket and fish'n chip shop.

The wardens keep the site lovely. All the facilities are spotless and it's nice to have plenty of hot water without keep pressing a button. Nice dog walk area.

A very nice site and well worth a visit 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ct955 49 reviews from this member

 Spent 4 nights here, our first Caravan Club site. We were not disappointed.

Checked in easily and had a choice of pitches. Were advised to walk and choose as each area is a dead end. Upper level is in shade and has no grass between pitches. Although site is on a hill the pitches were mostly level.

Facilities were spotless and site well maintained. Dog walk was nice with a sea view at the top.

Excellent position, a 15 min walk takes you into Minehead and a further 10 mins to the sea front.

We went to the Britannia Inn twice as they allow dogs in the bar. A friendly pub with good pub grub. Lots to do and see in the area.

A good start to our CC membership, friendly and helpful Wardens, lovely quiet site. Would return 


Previous     31 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Minehead Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Minehead Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Minehead      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3957 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement