Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Minehead Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Somerset > Minehead > Minehead Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Minehead Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Hopcott Road
Minehead
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA24 6DJ
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 49
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 39 Reviews
                8/10 from 39 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  39 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2024 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jayarbee 38 reviews from this member

 This is probably our sixth visit to Minehead site, due to it being relatively close, and it never disappoints.

We think itís a nice little site, well looked after by the two lovely wardens. (Although no Haribos this visit😊).

Lavatories and showers always clean with piping hot water. Shame the MACC still use the silly little shower heads.

The site generally is kept clean and tidy so pleasant to stay here.

All the roads here are, I believe, cul-de-sacs so you may need to walk the site to find a pitch you like. Having said that I think all the pitches are nice.

There is a dog walk here. We didnít use it but a Labrador I spoke to quite rated it.

If you walk out of the gate and turn right 5 mins get you to a parade of shops. There is pretty much all you might need, including an undertaker. I canít recommend the chippie.

There are several supermarkets about 10 minutes drive away.

We always enjoy the walk to Minehead through the backstreets. There are some lovely houses and at this time of year some nice gardens.

If you want to eat I highly recommend Cream. Smashing little coffee shop/restaurant who do superb sandwiches.

If you turn left out of the gate and walk about 15 minutes you come to a small road or footpath with some houses at the start. Walk up here to a map and bear right.

Eventually you will come to MacMillan Way, turn left and a level walk along the ridge all the way to Dunster.

In Dunster I recommend Lockís Tea Rooms.

From there go out through the N. T. Car park, across the main road and turn left into a field, follow the river and the you can navigate all the way to the beach by the golf course.

Turn left and keep walking back into Minehead and the caravan site.

You can even hear the sea lions at night. 


Date of Visit: April 2024 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 200 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 2 nights over the Easter period. First time in about 10 years for us as it's not an easy site to access from Cornwall in a 7m motorhome.

Lovely, friendly welcome. You have to park up and walk around to choose your pitch, which we can understand, however it can get a bit congested near reception if everyone turns up at 1pm!

Great choice of pitches and we chose to be tucked away in a small section near the facilities block. Very quiet for Easter so we were happy.

Facilities block was always very warm and extremely clean. However, it does need updating.

Bins and recycling all in one place near entrance to site.

Easy walk into Minehead, follow the sites instructions for quickest route in.

Nice walk into Dunster (couldn't find the route site suggested for some reason so found our own and it was fine).

Co-op, fish & chip shop, Chinese takeaway (that wasn't great in our opinion!) and Indian restaurant just down the road (5 minute walk) so all very convenient.

Minehead is a bit of a 'tired town' now (again only our opinion), full of tat shops for charity shops (that I love going around!). We found the Wheelhouse Restaurant to eat in on the Saturday night and it was fantastic. Proper home-made food in a friendly environment.

Would stay on this site again but only if coming from the North back home to Cornwall and able to access it via the A39. 


Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Tmhayes59 1 review from this member

 I needed to leave this review. Itís the first time in my life Iíve been upset to be going home.

The site is perfectly situated for peace and quiet yet close to amenities. Shops chemist takeaways just a few yards from entrance.

Town a nice leisurely walk and beach at end of town.

The site was immaculate, showers toilets washing facilities spotless. Water and waste areas immaculate and whole park top marks for pretty and litter free.

Iím sad to say I couldnít bring myself to say goodbye to Zoe Sam and Mouse without crying, they really helped make my holiday and we will be back.

Loads of hugs from Tina Jim and Willy the whippet. X 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pca1958 78 reviews from this member

 Enjoyed a 4 night stay at Minehead. Although a small site it felt quite cosy with its cul-de-sacs.

The pitches were mostly flat or had slight slopes that will require ramps.

Wardens were helpful and courteous on arrival, giving us info to our questions, or directing us to the well laid out info room.

Facilities were normal Club site decor and were kept clean and tidy.

Walked to Blue Anchor along the coastal path and also through the woods (hilly in places) to Dunster castle, and the pretty Dunster Village.

Minehead itself, whilst dominated by Butlins, was a nice little town with plenty†of independent shops and cafes.

It's a 15m walk to a Tescos to stock up. Would certainly†recommend this site 


Date of Visit: May 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Gjcam6 1 review from this member

 Very friendly and helpful, site clean

Well maintained lovely toilet and shower block.

Loads of lovely walks and some good eating places locally

A site we shall definitely return to. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Doulajulie 57 reviews from this member

 Well kept small site.

Pitches are in cul de sac style & feel private.

Spotless shower & washing up facilities. Just 10 minutes walk into Mibehead.

Also a lovely 30 minute walk to Dunster & the NT castle. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Frankval 6 reviews from this member

 Site was so clean and tidy

Excellent position for walking into minehead,

So quiet and peaceful, relaxing

Site warders so friendly and helpful

Would go back there any time 


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Popeyeandolive 5 reviews from this member

 Typical CAMC site, spotlessly clean but soul less. Views were only of white vans and hedges and the staff were quite officious with hardly a smile to be had.

The bottom of the site is close to the main coast road and traffic noisy, but its where the sun is. I camped at the top, no sun but quieter. Also the grass at the top was plastic astro turf decorated with flower tubs.

This site served its purpose of charging the van after a few nights off grid.

There's some good walks up in the hills and over to Dunster and it's a 15 minute walk to seafront. 


Date of Visit: April 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jayarbee 38 reviews from this member

 This would be our 5/6th visit here and enjoy it every time.

Unusual in that COVID ruled. We received a Ďphone call from lovely warden prior to leaving and arranged an arrival time and booked a particular pitch. Donít think this will happen again.

Nice welcome on arrival, told what was what. Even had a small bag of Haribos in the welcome pack. Good news was the lavatories were available but not the showers.

This is a CAMC site and is exactly what you would expect, clean, tidy and organised.

I believe all pitches have EHU. I think the main roadways are dead ends so you may have to walk the site first to find a pitch.

There is a dog walk, washing up point, laundry room and so forth. Not sure how much is available during pandemic.

Site is on a main road but we didnít hear any traffic noise.

Turn right from the gate and a few minutes walk gets you to a small shopping area with pretty much all you might need including an undertakers.

Visited the chippy. Wife had fish which she pronounced excellent. I had pie and chips again excellent with shed loads of chips.

Walking into Minehead is pleasant. Takes about 15/20 minutes with nice houses and gardens to see.

Minehead is a typical seaside town. Pretty busy with no empty shops. Plethora of eating places. A steam railway but not sure when it operates. Nice walk along the prom, prom, prom but no brass bands playing tiddly-om-Pom-Pom,

Turn left from the gate, after about 10 minutes find a track with a few houses at the bottom. Go up the track, bear right at a map board then on to the Macmillan Way. Turn left then down into Dunster. A nice little town with the N. T. Castle. Or carry to the sea and walk back into Minehead.

Porlock is worth a visit as is Lynton and Lynmouth. Go up by the cliff railway and walk down by the zig-zag path.

We like it here and itís close so we can fit in a 4/5 day stay. You can even hear the sea lions at night. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Jadsett 52 reviews from this member

 A group of 3 adults and 2 children. This was our first time on this site and it proved to be a good choice. Although direct access is off the A39, it is a very peaceful site.

We received a warm welcome on arrival, made even better by the loan of a lump hammer when the ground proved unusually resistant to our heavy duty awning pegs. The facilities on site are well up to the standard we have come to expect from CMC sites

We had trips out to Dulverton (been there, done that, no urge to go back), Dunster, Watchet and Lynmouth.

We were disappointed to find that in school holidays in a tourist area it is quite difficult to find "lunchtime" food service (apart from fast food chains) after 2pm. However, we can highly recommend the castle Coffee House in Dunster where the welcome is very warm and food is freshly cooked to order

The only fault we could find with the site is the lack of a children's play area. That won't prevent us returning 


Previous     39 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Minehead Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Minehead Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Minehead      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3411 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement