Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Minehead Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Minehead > Minehead Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Minehead Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Hopcott Road
Minehead
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA24 6DJ
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 49
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 30 Reviews
                8/10 from 30 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  30 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Jadsett 49 reviews from this member

 A group of 3 adults and 2 children. This was our first time on this site and it proved to be a good choice. Although direct access is off the A39, it is a very peaceful site.

We received a warm welcome on arrival, made even better by the loan of a lump hammer when the ground proved unusually resistant to our heavy duty awning pegs. The facilities on site are well up to the standard we have come to expect from CMC sites

We had trips out to Dulverton (been there, done that, no urge to go back), Dunster, Watchet and Lynmouth.

We were disappointed to find that in school holidays in a tourist area it is quite difficult to find "lunchtime" food service (apart from fast food chains) after 2pm. However, we can highly recommend the castle Coffee House in Dunster where the welcome is very warm and food is freshly cooked to order

The only fault we could find with the site is the lack of a children's play area. That won't prevent us returning 


Date of Visit: January 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: BeachDog 26 reviews from this member

 Weekend winter stay, nice dry weather meant a a few other visitors about, more than expected. Convenient location, about 15 mins walk to Minehead seafront and walks from the site to the edge of Exmoor forest and hills.

Usual CAMC standards on site, tidy, clean and ordered. Wardens very friendly and helpful. Level, compact site. Co-op 5 mins walk away.

Lovely stay, would return but probably out of season, guess it gets quite busy in summer. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lovetheoutdoors 7 reviews from this member

 Clean, nice and in a nice location. Staff friendly and somewhat helpful. Excellent for visiting for local history and nice places to go walking - very glad we came. A bit too far from home so will not able to return. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: S64miller 40 reviews from this member

 I loved Minehead, its the first time we'd been but we will be back. First the site, a tiered site on three levels with plenty of shade. And with most CMC the facilities were excellent, nice friendly welcome.

Secondly the town, 10-15 mins from the site and you're in town, lovely shops and plenty of good pubs. Had a day on the West Somerset Steam Railway and very enjoyable it was getting off at Bishop Lydeard and Watchet. 


Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: David Klyne 228 reviews from this member

 To Find Site:- We approached the site using the A39 from Bridgewater as signs on the M5 instruct you to use junction 23 for Minehead. In future I would stay on the M5 and leave at junction 26 heading back towards Taunton and out to Minehead on the A358.

The location of the Minehead Caravan Club members only site was originally a quarry. This obviously impacts on the layout and feel of the site. The 50 pitches all of which are on hardstandings are set out in terraces some levelling might be required. Even when the sun is out some of the pitches will be in shade, particularly going into autumn, due to a high bank topped with trees on the southern edge of the site. This also makes getting satellite reception difficult from some pitches. Electric points are convenient to pitches and are rated at 16 amps and use CEE17 blue connectors. There are a couple of service points for water and waste amongst the pitches but for some it will be quite a walk to fill up and empty waste. Likewise the chemical emptying point which is at the lower part of the site behind reception and depending on how you approach will involve a steep access if the shortest route is taken. The motorhome service point is next to reception and has an open grill for the disposal of grey water. The toilet block is of a good standard and has a covered washing up area but only two sinks. At the back of reception is an information room. There is site wide WiFi and time can be purchased online. It would hardly be described as fast but it was generally reliable.

The main attraction to this site will be the closeness to Minehead which is about a twenty minute walk away and reception will provide instructions. The 28 bus, a short walk from the site, runs from Minehead to Taunton with a half hour frequency Monday to Saturday. It is an alternative for getting into town from near the campsite. For those without their own off site transport the bus will also take you to Dunster which makes an interesting excursion from the site. For steam enthusiasts the West Somerset Railway runs regular steam trains from the station down on the seafront in the town. For shopping there is a parade of shops about a five minute walk from the site entrance with a fish and chip shop, Chinese takeaway and a Co-Op convenience store. If you want a more substantial shop there is a Morrisons and a Tesco in the town. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Paul + stella 21 reviews from this member

 Great site made even better by the helpful and cheerful site wardens. Easy walk into Minehead (about 15 mins max) and all the quality showers and facilities you expect from Caravan club. Lots of busses available to various locations, nearby Dunster being a real gem. 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Scarletsfan 90 reviews from this member

 Access to this site is easy with a wide sweeping entrance directly off the A39.

The wardens are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. All pitches are hard standing set out in separate areas. The site is in an old quarry and slopes considerably which would make staying for the less mobile among us a little difficult.

Most pitches are sloping so expect to do some levelling.

A Co-op is within walking distance along with numerous takeaways. Larger supermarkets are Morrisons and Tesco just a short drive away.

Mobile signal on Orange and Tesco good as was the digital TV reception.

Marvellous wooded dog walk on site too. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ljamfam 33 reviews from this member

 This is our first stay on a Caravan Club site and we were a bit anxious about the rules with regard to the placement of our van on the pitch following adverse criticism is in both magazines and from fellow motorhome owners. However we had no problem at all. We were told to go in either front or back first so long as we did not go across ways and stayed within our area we could pitch to suit us.

Location is within easy walk to Minehead or if you like to travel out more then there are plenty of nice places to visit. A van arrives each morning selling newspapers and a few essentials or it's just a five minute walk to a parade of shops which include a supermarket and fish'n chip shop.

The wardens keep the site lovely. All the facilities are spotless and it's nice to have plenty of hot water without keep pressing a button. Nice dog walk area.

A very nice site and well worth a visit 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ct955 49 reviews from this member

 Spent 4 nights here, our first Caravan Club site. We were not disappointed.

Checked in easily and had a choice of pitches. Were advised to walk and choose as each area is a dead end. Upper level is in shade and has no grass between pitches. Although site is on a hill the pitches were mostly level.

Facilities were spotless and site well maintained. Dog walk was nice with a sea view at the top.

Excellent position, a 15 min walk takes you into Minehead and a further 10 mins to the sea front.

We went to the Britannia Inn twice as they allow dogs in the bar. A friendly pub with good pub grub. Lots to do and see in the area.

A good start to our CC membership, friendly and helpful Wardens, lovely quiet site. Would return 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jayarbee 29 reviews from this member

 This was our third visit to this site. Being a C. C. Site it is as you'd expect. Toilet/shower block always very clean and tidy. Site generally is kept very tidy. Wardens very nice, friendly and helpful.

The site is in a residential area on a main road but that doesn't seem to cause any problems.

All the lanes on this site are dead ends so you must walk it first to find your pitch. I believe all the pitches have hook ups. The main site is down on road level but there is a higher part of about ten pitches. We prefer this higher site but it will cause you problems if you're not to good on you pins. The climb up is short but steep.

There is a dog walk but no children's playground. An enclosed washing up area is handy when it's a bit chilly.

The wardens encourage wildlife here and in fact the deer watched us putting up the awning although they weren't too critical.

There is a van which comes in every morning about nine with papers, bread and such. If you turn right out of the gate, a five minute walk gets you to the local shops including a Co-op supermarket, Spar, newsagents, hardware store, chippie and other fast food takeways. There are a couple of supermarkets just down the road at Minehead.

We always enjoy the walk into Minehad town. It only takes about 15 minutes and there are some interesting old houses along the way.

Minehead has a biggish high street with a variety of shops. Butterflys is good for meals but there is a plethora of cafes and restaurants on the way down to the sea.

It's a nice walk along the front and there is a really good train ride from the station.

A walk well worth doing starts just up the road from the site, up a steep path, along a ridge behind the site, down into Dunster, through the castle, along to the sea and back to Minehead town.

Porlock Weir is nice as is Lynton and Lynmouth. There are a lot of pretty villages round about and the whole of Exmoor.

There is a pleasant bus ride through the countryside to Taunton.

All in all this is a nice, quiet little site. You can even hear the sealions at night. 


Previous     30 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Minehead Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Minehead Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Minehead      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2885 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement